Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "DuraVent DuraPlus 36in. Chimney Pipe, Model# 9017"

"DuraVent DuraPlus 36in. Chimney Pipe, Model# 9017"

Item# 36628
"36in. triple-wall chimney pipe has a 1/2in. ceramic insulating blanket. 6in. diameter 10in. outer diameter. U.S.A. Adjustable No, Color Silver, Material Type Stainless steel, Outside Diameter in. 10, Pieces qty. 1, Pipe Design Triple wall, Fuel Type Wood burning, Length in. 36, Pipe Diameter in. 6, Product Style Chimney pipe."
Average Customer Rating:
4.95 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (20 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
20 of 20(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 26 Answers
Customer Reviews for "DuraVent DuraPlus 36in. Chimney Pipe, Model# 9017"
Review 1 for "DuraVent DuraPlus 36in. Chimney Pipe, Model# 9017"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a GREAT product

,
November 17, 2014
By Haggardhag
from Tulsa, OK
" The stainless steel looks AMAZING and I know that my chimney will last a lifetime! The triple wall in the attic reduces the clearance of combustibles and meets city code. With minimum required chimney maintenance, I know that I will never have a problem with this product. I have read all kinds of great reviews on the DuraPlus products that I have also purchased other products that work and look amazing! We used this pipe to install a wood burning EPA stove in our Great Room during new construction. It was a simple installation process and again looks and works amazing! Simply snap the pipe together and turn to lock. Use sheet metal screw to secure and then you are done! We had to have a 20' chimney so we have to purchase 7 units but still the installation was simple and easy! I recommend this product!! "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "DuraVent DuraPlus 36in. Chimney Pipe, Model# 9017"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Class A chimney

,
October 6, 2014
By Aug9
from Basehor, KS
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" Beautiful fit and finish. Easy to put together. Used 3 3' sections total to get through attic and required height outside. Also used short self tapping screws on the joints and to hold the cap on just to sleep better at night. I feel very safe with this insulated pipe in my attic and going out my roof. Worth every penny. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "DuraVent DuraPlus 36in. Chimney Pipe, Model# 9017"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Can't beat the heat!

,
September 17, 2013
By offthegridgrin
from The Berkshires (Massachusetts)
" I'm so happy I made the investment in this product. It is very well made and exceeds my expectations. I hope the price drops again like last year because I think it's time to add another 3 feet to the stack. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "DuraVent DuraPlus 36in. Chimney Pipe, Model# 9017"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This stuff is the Stainless Steel in & out. WOW!!

,
December 11, 2012
By zeuszepp
from California
" Its mostly going in my attic but I was not aware that this is not the galvanized outer product it is the SS model that is mirror finish stainless on the outside. Really beautiful and durable for the part that is above roof. In my case 7 Feet.. This is the best buy I could possibly find on a Chimney product. Beware the 12" piece available here is the galvanized outer. It is compatible but make sure the 12" sections will be non visible or it will look different. Most wood stoves require 15 feet of total pipe to create proper draft so the Stainless above the roof line can be a very nice touch. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "DuraVent DuraPlus 36in. Chimney Pipe, Model# 9017"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
October 19, 2012
By J668
from NC
" A very good product, easy to install, and for a good price! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "DuraVent DuraPlus 36in. Chimney Pipe, Model# 9017"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simpson Pipe

,
May 9, 2012
By bombard
from San Antonio, TX
" Dura Vent is good quality pipe. It is easy to work with and has good instructions if needed. Replaced old piping on my stove. One thing I found is that you need to use all Dura Vent, from stove to outside top cap. Northern has the best price if they have the parts you need. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "DuraVent DuraPlus 36in. Chimney Pipe, Model# 9017"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

,
January 12, 2012
By buford223
from State Of Jefferson
" All I have to say is it's stainless and it is 35-45 dollars cheaper than anywhere. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "DuraVent DuraPlus 36in. Chimney Pipe, Model# 9017"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This Chimney Pipe Looks Beautiful!

,
January 9, 2012
By vigor
from Harvest, AL
" The DuraVent DuraPlus chimney pipe not only functions very well, but also looks beautiful when installed. Amazingly simple to put together. Simply twist and it locks into another chimney pipe piece or ceiling box. Also, good luck trying to find this pipe anywhere else for this price. I don't understand how Northern Tool can offer this so low. Prices found everywhere else ranged from $130-$220!
Anyway, great product from a great retailer! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "DuraVent DuraPlus 36in. Chimney Pipe, Model# 9017"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product at a decent price

,
October 30, 2011
By akgarbageman
from South Central, Alaska
" This is good stovepipe. I bought three sections of it for a woodstove install up here in Alaska. Two sections arrived all banged up but NT made it right. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "DuraVent DuraPlus 36in. Chimney Pipe, Model# 9017"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Duravent 36in chimney pipe

,
October 20, 2011
By ryan1985
from Lafayette, LA
" I ordered 2 of the 36in lengths they both arrived and were slightly dented I was able to get most of the dents out. Manufacturer neesd to pack a little better. Otherwise the pipes slide right into another making a great tight fit. Havent been on the roof yet to feel if they are cool when a fire is going, but I will. Good product, made in the USA. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "DuraVent DuraPlus 36in. Chimney Pipe, Model# 9017"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

cblentz

,
October 19, 2011
By CBCconst
from Fayettevlle Nc.
" This product is first class it fits togeather with no effort It feels solid a great product and also I feel much safer with this chimney system than the other brand out there. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "DuraVent DuraPlus 36in. Chimney Pipe, Model# 9017"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best For LE$$

,
October 10, 2011
By Mindseye
from Northern Burbs of Atlanta
" After doing some homework about class A chimney piping, the consesus is that Dura Vent is the best. Imagine the shock when I found it at such a low price at Northern Tools. This is Dura Vents Plus series piping; their best! While doing a price comparison at a local fireplace/stove shop, the owner asked me, "why do I need the plus series?" He claimed it was a over kill. I replyed, cause my life and home depends on it. Enough said! Thank you Northern Tool for making this customer happy "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "DuraVent DuraPlus 36in. Chimney Pipe, Model# 9017"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

,
March 14, 2011
By mack22
from Atlanta Ga
" You can't go wrong with DuraVent. Totally pleased. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "DuraVent DuraPlus 36in. Chimney Pipe, Model# 9017"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Chimney Pipe Simpson Dura-Vent

,
March 14, 2011
By mda1
from Cleveland, UT
" good product best price around. Easy to put together and install. NT actually put this on sale after I ordered and gave me the differnce back. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "DuraVent DuraPlus 36in. Chimney Pipe, Model# 9017"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

DURAVENT DURAPLUS 36IN. CHIMNEY PIPE,MODEL#9017

,
March 14, 2011
By eugene3041
" I PURCHASED 5 SECTIONS AND EVERYONE WAS SHIPPED IN PERFECT CONDITION.THE PIPE IS VERY EASY TO PUT TOGETHER.AND IT REALLY DOES WORK AS FAR AS BEING COOL SO IF YOU HAVE CLEARANCE ISSUES.IT MAKES A REAL NICE LOOKING AND WORKING CHIMNEY. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "DuraVent DuraPlus 36in. Chimney Pipe, Model# 9017"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stove pipe

,
February 15, 2010
By Greenebean45
from Maryland
" Pipe well made.Very easy to install.Did a test. ran the temp.of the oven up to 600 to see if the pipe would stay cool. works great and it did. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "DuraVent DuraPlus 36in. Chimney Pipe, Model# 9017"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Check this review before ordering

,
January 2, 2010
By AllanS
" I ordered this product (January 2010) and received it in good order. However, what I received was not as described online. The online description identifies this as Simpson product #9017, which is a Dura-Plus vent pipe with galvanized outer shell. What I received was a Simpson #9017SSCF, which has a stainless steel outer shell (SS) and extra protective carton foam for shipping (CF). In my application it doesn't match the existing pipe sections, and is thus unacceptable. The item listing doesn't say anything about this. "
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "DuraVent DuraPlus 36in. Chimney Pipe, Model# 9017"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great stuff. You won't find a lower price than NT

,
December 30, 2009
By oldnfat
from Macon, GA
" I didn't realize when I ordered this that it would be the top of the line stainless steel clad pipe. That was a pleasant surprise. It has a mirror finish. I never found a lower price on this same product anywhere else on the Internet that I looked.
With a roaring fire in my new Vogelzang "The Colonial", I went outside and put my bare hand on the chimney nearest the heat. It was cool to the touch. No wonder the manufacturer recommends this triple wall for homeowners to self install. It's hard to beat the protection it gives. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "DuraVent DuraPlus 36in. Chimney Pipe, Model# 9017"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

safe chimney pipe

,
November 17, 2008
By thepitchpatch
from Langley, Arkansas
" After my brick chimney caught fire and nearly destroyed my home I installed this triple wall system. No more fire worries!! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "DuraVent DuraPlus 36in. Chimney Pipe, Model# 9017"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Master Carpenter

,
November 12, 2008
By DannyNJ
from NJ
" This product was very simple to install.After wrestling with the through wall kit the pipe sections were very simple to piece together.The interlocking pieces made it very easy to handle.Out of curiousity I went outside to see how hot the pipe was and with the fire burning.It wasn't hot at all.It is a great product and simple for anyone to install.
Danny NJ
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.