Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Generac Guardian Air-Cooled Standby Generator - 8kW (LP)/7kW (NG), 50 Amp Transfer Switch, Model# 6237

FREE SHIPPING - Generac Guardian Air-Cooled Standby Generator - 8kW (LP)/7kW (NG), 50 Amp Transfer Switch, Model# 6237

Item# 37245
This Generac Guardian Series Standby Generator provides peace of mind with 24/7 automatic power protection from blackouts whether you're home or away. Backup preselected circuits or the whole house. When connected to your existing LP or natural gas fuel supply, this Generac Guardian Series Standby Generator automatically kicks in within seconds of determining power loss. Plus, it runs for as long as necessary until utility power returns. You enjoy easy hands-free operation with no fueling, no manual starting and no extension cords. Add even greater convenience with a Mobile Link or remote monitoring system, Item#s 37871, 167223 and 167218 sold separately. Not intended for use as primary power in place of utility or in life-support applications. Read the owner's manual in its entirety before using this product. Auto Shutdown Yes, Battery Included No, Battery Required Yes, Dimensions L x W x H in. 48 x 25 x 29, Enclosure All-weather steel, Engine Cooling Air cooled, Fuel Type LP or NG, Mounting Pad Yes, Noise Level dB 66, Phase Single, Safety Alerts Yes, Start Type Automatic, Transfer Switch 50A w/10 circuits, UL Listed Yes, Rated Watts LP kW 8, Rated Watts NG kW 7, Amps 33.3 LP/29.2 NG, Engine Generac OHV, Engine Displacement cc 410, Volts 120/240, Rated Watts kW 8 LP/7 NG. Includes 50-Amp 10-circuit pre-wired transfer switch Generac OHVI engine is designed to run for extended periods, ensuring reliable, uninterrupted power Generac's Evolution Controller features a dual-line, improved multilingual LCD display for easy monitoring and management of generator functions, built-in hour meter and external at-a-glance indicator lights Install as close as 18in. to home as certified by NFPA standards or directed by local codes True Power technology provides clean, smooth operation of sensitive electronics and appliances Quiet-Test weekly self-test mode runs at lower RPM, is quieter and consumes less fuel Sturdy, all-weather steel enclosure with Rhino Coat finish for superior weather protection to withstand 150 MPH winds Tool-less fuel conversion with swivel-action fuel selector dial allows for easy switching between natural gas and LP fuels Mobile Link compatibility for adding Mobile Link wireless remote monitoring system to receive status updates using your computer, tablet or smart phone Battery required, not included 24/7 Generac customer care support 365 days a year Engineered and built in U.S.A. 5-year limited warranty
Average Customer Rating:
4.867 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(113 Reviews) 113
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (113 reviews)
5 stars
101
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
110 of 112(98%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions | 41 Answers
Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Generac Guardian Air-Cooled Standby Generator - 8kW (LP)/7kW (NG), 50 Amp Transfer Switch, Model# 6237
Review 1 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac Guardian Air-Cooled Standby Generator - 8kW (LP)/7kW (NG), 50 Amp Transfer Switch, Model# 6237
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Generac 8KW Generator

,
May 26, 2014
By RSolace
from Plymouth, NH
"I found that Northern offered the best price, but when I went on line the information was that according to my zip code I would be notified of the shipping cost and my card would not be charged until then. A few days later my card was charged and I was notified the generator was on it's way. To my surprise the shipping was free and the delivery person was great helping to get it up my long driveway. Haven't installed it yet, but look forward to using it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac Guardian Air-Cooled Standby Generator - 8kW (LP)/7kW (NG), 50 Amp Transfer Switch, Model# 6237
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for peace of mind

,
September 16, 2013
By cap29
from Seattle, WA
"I just wanted to back up the essential circuits because I have a house full of princesses as well as elderly parents who will at some point move in with us. This generator fit the bill. The included cable was a bit short so after doing some math to make sure voltage drop was acceptable (mine was around 3%, still well-under the 5% limit allowed by code), I spliced another 25 feet to the main cables with 6 gauge (using a large accessible junction box), as well as 18 gauge outdoor lighting control wires - I just had to make sure everything was well-labeled. I also switched out a few of the breakers in the transfer panel using siemens breakers, ending up with 8 20s and 2 15s. (I only had to replace one 14 gauge wire with a 12 to adhere to code). Made a concrete pad, connected the gas, and voila! Everything works like a charm. It was very easy and the most difficult part of this project was to physically pull the wire through the joists. Very nice product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac Guardian Air-Cooled Standby Generator - 8kW (LP)/7kW (NG), 50 Amp Transfer Switch, Model# 6237
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Machine - Amazingly Quiet

,
June 6, 2013
By pboot
from East Haddam, CT
"I was a bit concerned when buying this machine in January, 2012 because of some negative reviews that I had read. But now that I've had this machine for 1.5 years and have had absolutely no issues, I would recommend it to others. I thought the price was decent, although I have noticed that it is now offered with a 50 amp switch, whereas mine came with a 70 amp switch. A 50 amp switch won't even handle the 8000 watt (liquid propane) output of the machine. Doesn't make sense...sounds to me like inflation by degradation...where manufacturers control price by reducing value. Anyway, I perform maintenance on it once a year, which is really easy because of the design of the machine. Everything is easily accessible and the owners manual is great. It doesn't read as though it was written by someone in another country.
My wife and I feel that what is most impressive about it is how quiet it is. We have it outside of our bedroom because that is the only place where code would allow it (it has to be a minimum of 60 inches from any opening in the building - window, door, vent, etc.). We can hear it from our bedroom, which is at ground level, but it's quiet. We can't hear it from anywhere else in the house when it's running.
The transfer switch has always worked flawlessly. I had read a review about someone having a faulty voltage regulator in theirs, which lead to them "frying" some appliances. While I believe this to be a valid concern, we have had no issues with ours.
Do your research and pick what is right for you. Hopefully this will help you make a decision with which you feel comfortable."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
17out of 26found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac Guardian Air-Cooled Standby Generator - 8kW (LP)/7kW (NG), 50 Amp Transfer Switch, Model# 6237
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding generator

,
April 26, 2013
By Margosdad
from Hamilton, Montana
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I chose this unit because it would sufficiently handle all my essential circuits. I employed a Plummer and electrician due to codes in our area. The install was pretty flawless.
The unit ran great for our test runs as well as the exercise mode that it goes thru each week.
The construction and quality of the unit as well as the transfer switch was excellent. The unit also looks very nice near the house, not an eye sore.
The unit is also very reasonably quiet for it's size. The transfer switch in the laundry rm. is quite loud, but only comes on or off once in its cycle.
Overall, would reccomended to anyone and am very happy!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac Guardian Air-Cooled Standby Generator - 8kW (LP)/7kW (NG), 50 Amp Transfer Switch, Model# 6237
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

It Works!

,
November 2, 2011
By SanDiegoBob
from San Diego, CA
"I like to think of this purchase as an "Event". It only took 6 weeks from order to activation. I self installed with the help of an electrician. All of the manuals and installation guides were very good. My two day order was backordered so it took the 10 business days to ship & 5 days for shipping.. The shipping company was great with the delivery. The shipping weight was approx. 540 lbs with the transfer switch, cables & etc. We used his pallet jack to get within 4 feet of the installation site. No way could we offload @ the curb. My installation was on the other side of the house from the utility circuit breaker box, so we had to run an additional 55 feet of wire and an additional junction box. All the information for installation is contained in the included manuals & guides. If at first you don't understand go back & review. I did not have to call tech support. Today, we have area high winds & the utility is promising to shut the power off with the "red" flag warning."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
14out of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac Guardian Air-Cooled Standby Generator - 8kW (LP)/7kW (NG), 50 Amp Transfer Switch, Model# 6237
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Generac 8kw Generator

,
June 13, 2011
By BigMac45
from Upper Sandusky, OH
"I have had the Gernerac 8kw Generator for over 2 years now and since I got it installed the power has not gone off long enough to have it kick on. But it is nice to know that it is there and I do not have to worry about loosing power and the sump pump not working. For the price of the 8kw it is big enough to run everything that we need. This is an excelant product.
My neighbor and I put the Generator in on a sunday afternoon. Very easy to hook up.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+20points
26out of 32found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac Guardian Air-Cooled Standby Generator - 8kW (LP)/7kW (NG), 50 Amp Transfer Switch, Model# 6237
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Guardian 8kW Generator

,
November 23, 2010
By RM99
from Pittsburgh, PA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I have had a Guardian generator in use since October, 2009. It is rated 8 kW and runs on Propane. The longest duration of a power outage at my home was 7 days. I shut it down once a day to check the oil. The transfer switch was easily installed as line and load flexable conduits are included and prewired to the switch. Documentation is very easy to follow since all steps have an accompaning photo. I have not had to adjust the output since setting it on initial startup. After more than one year of operation, you can set your watch to the weekly automatic exerciser. I did have to clear snow away from the side vents during that 20" snowfall."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+54points
54out of 54found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac Guardian Air-Cooled Standby Generator - 8kW (LP)/7kW (NG), 50 Amp Transfer Switch, Model# 6237
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

8kW Generac Generator

,
August 30, 2010
By IMTan
from Ashland, Nebraska
"The model #5870 Generac generator came with everything, but a few feet of conduit that was needed to install it. It was pre-programmed to come on every Saturday for about 10 minutes to keep it in good operating condition. It has worked perfectly everytime the power has gone out. To date, the longest it's been needed was about 1 1/2 days but it provides me peace of mind 24/ 7. My only complaint is that I wish I had gone to the next higher kW generator.
If you decide to buy one, you'll need to know what size circuits you want to run off of it and discuss it with the dealer. The pre-wired box is limited to 8 circuits of a specific wattage, so the combination it contains may or may not cover what you plan on running with it. Find this out before you buy it. Also, if you install it yourself, you will need to have the installation verified by a Generac installer/ repairman in order for the warranty to be valid.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+34points
39out of 44found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
YourCousinVinny
NOVA 
 
Please wait while more information about YourCousinVinny is loaded.
Additional information about YourCousinVinny could not be loaded.
verify warranty
July 4, 2012
"What did it cost to have the DIY install verified?"
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac Guardian Air-Cooled Standby Generator - 8kW (LP)/7kW (NG), 50 Amp Transfer Switch, Model# 6237
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding!

,
August 23, 2010
By JorgenK
from Running Springs, CA
"This generator is easy to install, I'm a DIY'er with average skills and it only took a couple of days to get everything hooked up and running. Although it's not as quiet as we had hoped, it makes less noise than most portables and the automatic start is worth every penny (and decible!)"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.