Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Ironton Utility Trailer Kit with 40in. x 48in. Bed - 1,060-Lb. Capacity"

"FREE SHIPPING - Ironton Utility Trailer Kit with 40in. x 48in. Bed - 1,060-Lb. Capacity"

Item# 37560
"The Ironton Utility Trailer Kit is a complete road-ready kit with fenders. Includes 1 7/8in. coupler assembly with safety chains, approved lighting, wiring and connector, tail and turn signals, side running lights, two 4.80-12in. tires and slipper springs. Large capacity 40in.W x 48in.L bed is ideal for hauling mulch, dirt, machinery, or a variety of other cargo. Overall size of 78in.L x 52 1/4in.W. Decking not included. Assembly required. Bed Tilt No, Gross Vehicle Weight Rated lbs. 1,200, Frame Material Steel, Lights Yes, Assembly Required Yes, Coupler Size in. 1 7/8, Fenders Yes, Load Capacity lbs. 1,060, Side Rails Included No, Brakes No, Ramps Included No, Rear Gate No, Deck Size L x W ft. 4 x 3 1/3, Overall Dimensions L x W x H in. 78 x 52 1/4 x 16 1/4, Jack Type No, Wheel Size in. 4.8-12. Sturdy steel frame for long life 1,200 lb. GVWR with a maximum load capacity of 1060 lbs. to handle a variety of cargo Includes wheel fenders to prevent rocks and debris from damaging cargo 1 7/8in. coupler assembly with safety chains so your trailer stays secure Tail lights, turn signals and side running lights keep you visible on the road"
Average Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (28 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
27 of 28(96%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
27 Questions | 39 Answers
Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Ironton Utility Trailer Kit with 40in. x 48in. Bed - 1,060-Lb. Capacity"
Review 1 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ironton Utility Trailer Kit with 40in. x 48in. Bed - 1,060-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Little Trailer

,
June 11, 2015
By Woodwalker
from Arizona
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" This is a great little trailer. Easy to assemble. Just make sure you square it up before tightening bolts. My only thought about it is I wish it was wider by maybe eight inches. Great traileer "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ironton Utility Trailer Kit with 40in. x 48in. Bed - 1,060-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Little Trailer Frame

,
June 9, 2015
By KenL2015
from Granada Hills, CA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" I bought this trailer frame a couple of months ago. I have been wanting this trailer for two years now for family camping trips. I finally had the time to build this trailer.
I mounted some plywood to the trailer to create a box to put all of our camping gear in it. I designed it so I could take the sides off for storage.
My family just went camping last week and the trailer worked great. No more cramming all of our gear in the and on the car. We received some cute comments on our paint job we put on the sides. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ironton Utility Trailer Kit with 40in. x 48in. Bed - 1,060-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

ALL assembly required!

,
June 9, 2015
By WVBiker
from Alderson WV
" The trailer itself is outstanding, and it was really easy to put together once I deciphered the miniature pictures. Trailer is a great buy for the price. I am putting a cart op carrier on it to pull behind my Trike. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ironton Utility Trailer Kit with 40in. x 48in. Bed - 1,060-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Perfection

,
June 4, 2015
By Warehousedude
from Maryland
" This is exactly what I need to transport heavy pallets!!! "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ironton Utility Trailer Kit with 40in. x 48in. Bed - 1,060-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Quality

,
May 1, 2015
By BedrockBob
from Idaho
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" I was thoroughly impressed with the quality of the parts upon opening the packages. Heavy gauge frame, stout fasteners and really quite simple to assemble. I utilized the side stake pockets to secure an 8" tall plywood box to the frame. Finished it off with a coat of paint and a bungie style cargo net. This trailer is now worth twice what I paid for it. Keep Northern Tools in your bookmark folder as you never know what other smoking deals will come up. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ironton Utility Trailer Kit with 40in. x 48in. Bed - 1,060-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid Little Trailer

,
April 23, 2015
By Backwoods13
from Upstate, NY
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" Nice quality kit, went together well. Took me a about 1 1/2 hrs. without putting the light kit on (only using it on my property). Built a box on it out of rough cut hemlock from local saw mill. Works great for cleaning up the yard, and taking back on trails to get firewood. I pull it with just my garden tractor.
No complaints-would def. recommend. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ironton Utility Trailer Kit with 40in. x 48in. Bed - 1,060-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

OK

,
April 13, 2015
By wisconsinray
from Kenosha WI
" Heavy duty material. Good tires. Performed well once I got it together. Need some common sense as the instructions are not very well written and any pictures are impossible to see. I looked at the box it came in and put it together "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ironton Utility Trailer Kit with 40in. x 48in. Bed - 1,060-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Real nice trailer

,
March 18, 2015
By LMTexas
from Dallas, Texas
" The trailer is great for using with a 4 wheeler or lawn tractor. The assembly is easy but the illustrations in the assembly instructions are kind of worthless so you kind of need to figure out some of the details yourself. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ironton Utility Trailer Kit with 40in. x 48in. Bed - 1,060-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Firewood Trailer

,
February 18, 2015
By BJohnson60
from Ashfield, PA
" I bought this mainly to use in my woods for hauling out cut firewood. It's small size allows me to drive it between trees. I built an extended box bed (40x60 inches) with treated deck boards, 2x4s, and a frame made from salvaged oak 3x3s. I can haul 1/3 of a cord if I stack it carefully in the box. The instructions are not great but anyone that has experience building things from kits can figure it out. I would have liked tubing or something to protect the wiring harness. And the drawbar is about 12-18 inches too short. Other than that it works perfectly for my use. It is very well ballanced; even with a full load I can unhook it from my tractor and roll it to my truck to hook-up and drive it to my house. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ironton Utility Trailer Kit with 40in. x 48in. Bed - 1,060-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good for fuel oil smoker

,
February 17, 2015
By Whodey
from Ohio
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" Went together very easy in about 45 min. Sturdy little trailer. Pulls great for how small it is. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ironton Utility Trailer Kit with 40in. x 48in. Bed - 1,060-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Utility Trailer Kit

,
December 29, 2014
By MaxHendrix
from Northeast Texas
" I had looked at these trailers in the store but the free shipping was very attractive in how to get one to my home. My wife and I assembled it in approximately 2 hours without difficulty. The assembly instructions were not that useful but provided enough information to be able to assemble. I built a wooden bottom with side rails and use the trailer to pull behind my golf cart and lawn tractor to pick up sticks and brush on my 12 acres. I was able to turn the trailer hitch assembly over and remove the mechanism so I could use a single pin to hook to the lawn tractor and golf cart without having to fabricate an adapter. The kit is very sturdy and built very well and works great for my needs. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ironton Utility Trailer Kit with 40in. x 48in. Bed - 1,060-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Ironton Utility trailer kit

,
December 23, 2014
By 4wheelhotdog
from ND
" Quality is ok for the price paid, the instructions are not so hot for a beginner, for myself it was not a problem. Once its all together, it is a sturdy little trailer. Will be using it to mount a large heavy generator I bought from Northern Tool several years ago. Will be able to store and use much easier and makes it more portable. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ironton Utility Trailer Kit with 40in. x 48in. Bed - 1,060-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Trailer

,
December 10, 2014
By Rowland
from Bainbridge Ga
" Trailer is a very sturdy trailer for its size with large tires. All parts received and assembled without much trouble. Some of the bolts were difficult to install due to space limitations and not having the proper tools. Directions difficult to read and need improvement. I would recommend this trailer. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ironton Utility Trailer Kit with 40in. x 48in. Bed - 1,060-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

40" x 48" Trailer

,
December 3, 2014
By JCB2014
from Leesburg, Georgia
" Product was basically identical to one I had purchased 30 years ago to use as a welder trailer and now as a trailer for a two man plastic boat. It went together well with all parts and necessary fasteners complete in the two boxes. Fenders were painted before proper sanding and are a little rough. But this is not a big issue. (Painted over some rust) Trailer frame paint is fine and overall quality is good. Plan to add deck and side rails for use behind a hunting golf cart for transporting deer stands, etc. Also may use around the house performing yard maintenance. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ironton Utility Trailer Kit with 40in. x 48in. Bed - 1,060-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Small utility trailer

,
October 8, 2014
By RNS57
from Fort Worth, TX
" This small trailer kit went together with no issues. We added a 3/16 deck plate to the trailer and mounted a 525 lbs welder on the trailer. The trailer will handle the rated capacity with no problem. The lights hook up and worked great. This is a good trailer for small projects. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ironton Utility Trailer Kit with 40in. x 48in. Bed - 1,060-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

As advertised no problemo

,
September 24, 2014
By dogbreath321
from San Jose, CA
" Kit is easily assembled in an hour, then just bolt on your own wood. I prefer adding my own separate ground wire everywhere, and using my own external stake pockets versus the internal cut-in holes provided, so the full 40x48 pallet-size floor space is clear. A heavy-duty Gaylord type cardboard box, such as those used to display watermelons at grocery stores, is ideal for hauling wood with this mini-trailer. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ironton Utility Trailer Kit with 40in. x 48in. Bed - 1,060-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ironton Utility Trailer For 50 Gallon Water Tank

,
September 1, 2014
By Beretta
from Texas
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" Even though not made in USA am very pleased with this trailer. Exactly as expected. Had shipped to home address. Requires assembly. All bolts and parts were shipped complete, nothing missing. Instructions easy to read. All bolted assembly. Plan to weld joints at later time. Needed small trailer for 50 gallon water tank used to fill wildlife troughs. Size and capacity perfect for pulling behind an ATV or vehicle. Hitch provided fits1-7/8" ball. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ironton Utility Trailer Kit with 40in. x 48in. Bed - 1,060-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

trailers

,
July 29, 2014
By 13racer
from cape may nj
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" the unit is ok, however have issues with the ball connection (does not pull off ball). you have to remove the ball mount from the hitch and "break" the connection... also it is so short that backing up is a challenge (had a 4x8 before this one).
The pre formed stake holders are nice feature
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-3points
3out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ironton Utility Trailer Kit with 40in. x 48in. Bed - 1,060-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

tool trailer

,
July 27, 2014
By MK2014
from greenwood lake , ny
" The only hard part is squaring the frame and arm , parts slip while tightening . Built a wood box on my frame to keep and transport woodworking tools . "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ironton Utility Trailer Kit with 40in. x 48in. Bed - 1,060-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Deal

,
July 25, 2014
By Jeepcreeper
from Colorado Spring,Colorado
" Bought this to carry my dirt bike, also use it for backwoods camping. Shipping was fast and assembly was simple, I like the black finish compared to the same trailer at harbor frieght, theirs are red and look cheap! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.