Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Ironton Utility Trailer Kit with 40in. x 48in. Bed - 1060-Lb. Capacity

FREE SHIPPING - Ironton Utility Trailer Kit with 40in. x 48in. Bed - 1060-Lb. Capacity

Item# 37560
"The Ironton Utility Trailer Kit is a complete road-ready kit with fenders. Includes 1 7/8in. coupler assembly with safety chains, approved lighting, wiring and connector, tail and turn signals, side running lights, two 4.80-12in. tires and slipper springs. Large capacity 40in.W x 48in.L bed is ideal for hauling mulch, dirt, machinery, or a variety of other cargo. Overall size of 78in.L x 52 1/4in.W. Decking not included. Assembly required. Assembly Required Yes, Bed Tilt No, Brakes No, Coupler Size in. 1 7/8, Fenders Yes, Frame Material Steel, Gross Vehicle Weight Rated lbs. 1,200, Jack Type No, Lights Yes, Load Capacity lbs. 1,060, Overall Dimensions L x W x H in. 78 x 52 1/4 x 16 1/4, Ramps Included No, Rear Gate No, Side Rails Included No, Wheel Size in. 4.8 - 12, Deck Size L x W ft. 4 x 3 5/16. Sturdy steel frame for long life 1,200 lb. GVWR with a maximum load capacity of 1060 lbs. to handle a variety of cargo Includes wheel fenders to prevent rocks and debris from damaging cargo 1 7/8in. coupler assembly with safety chains so your trailer stays secure Tail lights, turn signals and side running lights keep you visible on the road"
Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (16 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 of 16(94%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Ironton Utility Trailer Kit with 40in. x 48in. Bed - 1060-Lb. Capacity
Review 1 for FREE SHIPPING - Ironton Utility Trailer Kit with 40in. x 48in. Bed - 1060-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Trailer

,
December 10, 2014
By Rowland
from Bainbridge Ga
" Trailer is a very sturdy trailer for its size with large tires. All parts received and assembled without much trouble. Some of the bolts were difficult to install due to space limitations and not having the proper tools. Directions difficult to read and need improvement. I would recommend this trailer. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FREE SHIPPING - Ironton Utility Trailer Kit with 40in. x 48in. Bed - 1060-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

40" x 48" Trailer

,
December 3, 2014
By JCB2014
from Leesburg, Georgia
" Product was basically identical to one I had purchased 30 years ago to use as a welder trailer and now as a trailer for a two man plastic boat. It went together well with all parts and necessary fasteners complete in the two boxes. Fenders were painted before proper sanding and are a little rough. But this is not a big issue. (Painted over some rust) Trailer frame paint is fine and overall quality is good. Plan to add deck and side rails for use behind a hunting golf cart for transporting deer stands, etc. Also may use around the house performing yard maintenance. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FREE SHIPPING - Ironton Utility Trailer Kit with 40in. x 48in. Bed - 1060-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Small utility trailer

,
October 8, 2014
By RNS57
from Fort Worth, TX
" This small trailer kit went together with no issues. We added a 3/16 deck plate to the trailer and mounted a 525 lbs welder on the trailer. The trailer will handle the rated capacity with no problem. The lights hook up and worked great. This is a good trailer for small projects. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FREE SHIPPING - Ironton Utility Trailer Kit with 40in. x 48in. Bed - 1060-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

As advertised no problemo

,
September 24, 2014
By dogbreath321
from San Jose, CA
" Kit is easily assembled in an hour, then just bolt on your own wood. I prefer adding my own separate ground wire everywhere, and using my own external stake pockets versus the internal cut-in holes provided, so the full 40x48 pallet-size floor space is clear. A heavy-duty Gaylord type cardboard box, such as those used to display watermelons at grocery stores, is ideal for hauling wood with this mini-trailer. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FREE SHIPPING - Ironton Utility Trailer Kit with 40in. x 48in. Bed - 1060-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ironton Utility Trailer For 50 Gallon Water Tank

,
September 1, 2014
By Beretta
from Texas
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" Even though not made in USA am very pleased with this trailer. Exactly as expected. Had shipped to home address. Requires assembly. All bolts and parts were shipped complete, nothing missing. Instructions easy to read. All bolted assembly. Plan to weld joints at later time. Needed small trailer for 50 gallon water tank used to fill wildlife troughs. Size and capacity perfect for pulling behind an ATV or vehicle. Hitch provided fits1-7/8" ball. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FREE SHIPPING - Ironton Utility Trailer Kit with 40in. x 48in. Bed - 1060-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

trailers

,
July 29, 2014
By 13racer
from cape may nj
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" the unit is ok, however have issues with the ball connection (does not pull off ball). you have to remove the ball mount from the hitch and "break" the connection... also it is so short that backing up is a challenge (had a 4x8 before this one).
The pre formed stake holders are nice feature
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FREE SHIPPING - Ironton Utility Trailer Kit with 40in. x 48in. Bed - 1060-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

tool trailer

,
July 27, 2014
By MK2014
from greenwood lake , ny
" The only hard part is squaring the frame and arm , parts slip while tightening . Built a wood box on my frame to keep and transport woodworking tools . "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FREE SHIPPING - Ironton Utility Trailer Kit with 40in. x 48in. Bed - 1060-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Deal

,
July 25, 2014
By Jeepcreeper
from Colorado Spring,Colorado
" Bought this to carry my dirt bike, also use it for backwoods camping. Shipping was fast and assembly was simple, I like the black finish compared to the same trailer at harbor frieght, theirs are red and look cheap! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for FREE SHIPPING - Ironton Utility Trailer Kit with 40in. x 48in. Bed - 1060-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good little trailer

,
July 9, 2014
By Blakenstein
from Lagrange, GA
" I haven't had an opportunity to get it out on the road yet but it seems very sturdy and with it being so lightweight my motorcycle should have no issue pulling it.
The only complaint I have is the assembly instructions were basically useless. Although the instructions had the parts labeled, the parts themselves were not and there were a few pieces I had no idea how they assembled ... and there ought to be some hints in the instructions on how to attach the leaf springs - that was the most difficult part but after 5 hours, a lot of sweat and cursing ...it came together and it's ready to go. I would recommend this trailer for your touring motorcycle or small car - it's very handy and the price is really good.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for FREE SHIPPING - Ironton Utility Trailer Kit with 40in. x 48in. Bed - 1060-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

trailer

,
June 12, 2014
By bs3956
from Centralia Il.
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" I used the trailer to mount a smoker I built on it. With a few modification it worked perfect. I could not build one for the price "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for FREE SHIPPING - Ironton Utility Trailer Kit with 40in. x 48in. Bed - 1060-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

camping gear trailer

,
May 24, 2014
By tct46
from pasadena tx
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" I needed a small trailer I could build a box on for camping gear and pull with my scion xb . This trailer was easy to put together but the instructions werenn't much help . I used the pic.s on northern tool to see how to put it together . It appear's to be good quality .I put 450 miles on it with my first camping trip with no problems . I pulled it with highway speeds to 75mph , it pulls straight and true . Just remember to square the frame before tightening all the bolts . "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for FREE SHIPPING - Ironton Utility Trailer Kit with 40in. x 48in. Bed - 1060-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Light duty Trailer

,
May 19, 2014
By CalCAP
from CA
" I read reviews before putchasing this trailer. I found assembly staright forward. After bolting together and squaring, I being somewhat OCD, used a wirefeed to glue it together. The intended use is to carry about 700 lbs. So this review is a little early to make any claims. So far it appears to be good for what I want. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for FREE SHIPPING - Ironton Utility Trailer Kit with 40in. x 48in. Bed - 1060-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice trailer for it's size

,
March 6, 2014
By Sideshowracing1
from Sanford, NC
" Over all I'm pleased with it for my application. I was in need of a small trailer to mount a automatic clay thrower, battery that is needed to run it as well as a box to store a few box's of clay pigeon's in. The over all quality of the trailer seams to be nice, had some surface scratch's on it from shipping but the whole thing come's in 2 small box's so it's packed in them tight. But none of the scratch's where down to the metal, so that tells me the powder coating is thick on it . I also like the fact that it has 12" tire's and not something smaller that was one of the main reason's why I bought this trailer. The only complaint that I would have is the instruction manual, the picture's were not very clear on what it was talking about, but I still put it together in about an hour by my self. I did use a battery powered 1/4" impact driver so that sped up the assembly. The bolts have nylon lock nut's so they take a little time if you only use a wrench. Over all I would have no issue getting another on to just haul my four wheeler during hunting season so I wouldn't have to use my bigger trailer! And for the price I couldn't build one this cheap!!!!!!!!!!! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for FREE SHIPPING - Ironton Utility Trailer Kit with 40in. x 48in. Bed - 1060-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fits the Need

,
February 4, 2014
By Bearcub2
from Greeley Ks
" Assembled trailer with NO problems. Have no electrical problems with lights if using a grounded vehicle connector, so it doesn't have to ground through the hitch. I use this trailer for my gas powered air compressor , extra air tanks, and hose reel. Perfect to pull around the farm, even if using the ATV. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for FREE SHIPPING - Ironton Utility Trailer Kit with 40in. x 48in. Bed - 1060-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

All good, 'cept electrical...

,
November 16, 2013
By butchergg
from CO
" Trailer went together okay. NyLock nuts on all the bolts, didn't need to get my own as suggested in a few forums. Did have a bit of a fight mounting the right hub. The biggest frustration was electrical; just plan from the start on running ground wire to all your lights. The only place through the trailer that made ground was the right running light. Powder coat is nice, but you can't rely on the mechanical connections to breach it for grounding. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for FREE SHIPPING - Ironton Utility Trailer Kit with 40in. x 48in. Bed - 1060-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

It's ok but don't expect great

,
October 28, 2013
By Davebrave
from Austin
" I purchased this trailer with the hope of using it for my job. I need to tow around a cart that weighs about 150lbs.
First off this trailer is a PAIN to put together. The instruction manual is almost totally useless. TAKE YOUR TIME and eventually you will figure it out. It took me about 5 hours. You also need a socket wrench and combination wrench set.
Once you get everything together it is a pretty solid and sturdy trailer. I haven't tested it up to it's rated 1200lbs but I have little doubt it can support that amount of weight.
My problem is that I don't have enough weight on it and it bounces around while I drive. I'm looking to have a 200-300lb sheet of metal installed for the deck to get more weight low and centered. Problem is that will cost about $300.
Bottom line is this is a great trailer for the money if you need it for the occasional trip to home depot but it's not really intended for daily use or speeds above 55mph and it needs a minimum of 300-400lbs on it to not bounce around. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
18out of 23found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.