Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Ironton Battery Load Tester - 125 Amps

Ironton Battery Load Tester - 125 Amps

Item# 37800
"The Ironton Battery Load Tester is designed specifically to test 12V batteries battery not included. Features a test range of 200-1000 CCA. Accurate to 0.1V. LCD Display Yes, Battery Required Yes, Battery Type 12V, Battery Included No, Application Battery. High bright LED indicator displays voltage and results"
Average Customer Rating:
3.954 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (22 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
3
18 of 22(82%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ironton Battery Load Tester - 125 Amps
Review 1 for Ironton Battery Load Tester - 125 Amps
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works as desribed

,
March 28, 2016
By
from Missouri
I was a professional mechanic at one point. Of course when I get a new toy I have to play with it. Tested this out on a few vehicles when I got it and it works as it should.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ironton Battery Load Tester - 125 Amps
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works as described!

,
March 19, 2016
By
from Massena, NY
I have so many batteries that having the load tested was costing me money or time in bringing it into the store. hen this went on sale I said why not! As soon as I purchased it, read the instructions and it worked!! I love it... now I can save time and money,
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ironton Battery Load Tester - 125 Amps
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Value

,
March 16, 2016
By
from Austin, Texas
This item worked as described. Good value for the occasional user.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ironton Battery Load Tester - 125 Amps
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Batt. Tester

,
March 9, 2016
By
from Lead Hill, AR
Having 3 batts. in my boat, 3 in cars, 2 in riding mowers and 1 in tractor, this was a product I REALLY needed. Price was great and works as advertised. Has help in maintaining my batts. and helped me know what all of the batts. status are.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ironton Battery Load Tester - 125 Amps
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Tester

,
February 22, 2016
By
from Missouri City, TX
Great tester - great price. I have used this numerous times at my shop and farm and it has given me great results I can rely on. I would have given it 5 stars for its features, abilities and pricing, it only missed that start for not have capabilities of doing a 6 volt battery system.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ironton Battery Load Tester - 125 Amps
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not calibrated

,
February 1, 2016
By
from Antioch, IL
Easy enough to use but used it on my truck and the batteries tested "WEAK". I was about to go by new and decided to test the like new battery in my Mark VIII. It also test "WEAK". So I have lost confidence in the results.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ironton Battery Load Tester - 125 Amps
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ironton Battery Load Tester - 125A

,
December 17, 2015
By
from KC area
Very nice load tester, worked right of the box with good instructions. My current battery is less that one year old and it checked out ok as expected. This will come in handy when testing all of our car batteries next fall to make sure they will make it through the winter. Please note that a similarly priced unit from a well known discount tool store is only rated at 100A, an important distinction given today's high amperage car batteries. Well worth paying a little bit more at the sale price.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ironton Battery Load Tester - 125 Amps
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

BATTERY TESTER

,
December 17, 2015
By
from HOUSTON TX
Item works great, it save me time and trips to the parts store. Helps trouble shoot vehicle electrical and starter problems.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ironton Battery Load Tester - 125 Amps
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Battery Load Tester

,
November 16, 2015
By
from Lewisburg, WV
Worked perfectly, right out of the box. Much lighter than old models I have used. Great price. Have recommended to others.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ironton Battery Load Tester - 125 Amps
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works good

,
November 16, 2015
By
from springfield, il
This product functions as described. Slightly confusing at first but got it figured out.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ironton Battery Load Tester - 125 Amps
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Battery Load Tester

,
September 10, 2015
By
from Houston
It works very well, but I wish it would work on 6 volt batteries as well. My golf cart has 6 volt batteries.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ironton Battery Load Tester - 125 Amps
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Know when the battery is going!

,
August 12, 2015
By
from Fairfax, VA
My family has several cars and now I don't have to wait till a car wont start. I check once a month and am ready to replace those dying batteries!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ironton Battery Load Tester - 125 Amps
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

battery tester

,
July 25, 2015
By
from vienna, Mo.
great part. works wonderful. !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ironton Battery Load Tester - 125 Amps
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Product

,
July 23, 2015
By
from Tucson, AZ
This product was great. WE were purchasing this for an outrageous amount and tried this product and it works just as good even better than the more expensive one, i highly reccommend this product
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ironton Battery Load Tester - 125 Amps
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

125A Load Tester

,
April 25, 2015
By
from Redding, CA
This load tester has now saved me from buying new batteries by following the directions included. A total savings of more than 6 large battery replacements in my trailers. I only had one bad battery in my series that was failing and until I tested it I would never had guessed it was the newer one that gave up. Thanks Ironton for time and money saved. I would recommend this to anyone who has many batteries. It saves you money! It has saved me hundreds of dollars!
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ironton Battery Load Tester - 125 Amps
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Battery Tester

,
March 11, 2015
By
from Fort Pierre, South Dakota
I bought this product for the purpose to be able to test Deep Cycle Batteries, after trying three or four times, I have found that it works great.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ironton Battery Load Tester - 125 Amps
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

This may not work like you think!

,
January 2, 2014
By
from East TN
Of the few reviews that I saw of this (old Wel-Bilt brand), I didn't see any that specifically addressed it's operation. So, I felt compelled to leave one. First off, the description appears that this unit gives you an actual readout of CCA from 200-1000. IT DOES NOT!!! This unit uses a heater element (much like a mini oven element) to draw a claimed 125Amp pull. This current draw is the LOAD. Without a load, you can't know the performance of a battery. A starter should draw more current than this. So that said, I want to say that how this displays your battery condition on the readout is by showing you the VOLTAGE during the load. When you first hook it up, the unit will display the current voltage of the battery and, after the load applied, the unit STILL DISPLAYS CURRENT VOLTAGE during the load. So, a good battery should show around 12.6-12.8 V once it's hooked up. During the test (load), the voltage will probably display in the 10V range. PLEASE UNDERSTAND that this tells you nothing more than a cheap multimeter will tell you! You hook the multimeter up [red to +] and [black to - ] the set the multimeter to VDC (Voltage - Direct Current). This will give you the current voltage. Then while it's on, have a friend start the vehicle. While the motor is cranking, see how low the voltage goes on the battery. If your lucky enough to have a multimeter with a max/min function, than this will be a 1 person job. So, a multimeter does exactly what this does for less $ and a ton more functionality if you know how to use it. Bottom line, don't waste $50 or less on this. Spend it on a good multimeter. Lastly, the directions are readable but a very poor computer translation when it comes to grammar. Apparently, they weren't proof read and edited by a fluent English speaking individual. There are numerous grammatical errors but with a basic technical knowledge, you can make sense of it. Hope this helps!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+34points
40out of 46found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ironton Battery Load Tester - 125 Amps
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dead on arrival

,
June 12, 2013
By
from nj
Item received, but not working correctly. Voltmeter works, but load tester does not. Cannot set battery CCA. Instructions poor.
Defective!
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
12out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ironton Battery Load Tester - 125 Amps
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good basic tester.

,
April 27, 2013
By
from MN
For the price, this is a good basic tester. Yes, the instructions are poorly written and not very helpful, but useful none the less. With a little internet research (YouTube and the like), you can get the information you need to use the tester the way it was intended. I'm a weekend mechanic on my cars and other family members vehicles. If you are a pro, you may want to upgrade. But even with that said, this appears to be a hearty, well built tool that should last.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ironton Battery Load Tester - 125 Amps
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does what it says

,
December 4, 2012
By
from Kansas
First off, there is nothing wrong with the directions. There are written in plain English and very easy to understand. My 7 year old daughter figured out how to use this from the directions and my supervision. Second it does what it says but sadly when you are done with the test it does not give you a CCA reading of whats left in your battery so it's hard to judge the remaining life left in it. But for $50 it's good. If you can't figure out how to use this product with or without the directions you probably shouldn't be near it or a car for that matter. Cheers!
Describe Yourself: Professional
-3points
14out of 31found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.