Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Ironton Battery/Carbon Pile Load Tester - 500 Amp

Ironton Battery/Carbon Pile Load Tester - 500 Amp

Item# 37805
Portable Ironton Battery/Carbon Pile Load Tester unit load tests 12V batteries, alternators, regulators and starters. Handles load capacity of 500 Amps and tests batteries up to 160Ah/1000 CCA. LCD Display No, Application Battery/carbon pile, Battery Required No, Battery Included No, Battery Type 12V. Heavy-duty battery clamps with 4-ga., 40in. cables provide quick connections Separate DC Volt and DC Amp meters offer at-a-glance readouts Temperature compensation chart for additional accuracy Top carry handle for portability
Average Customer Rating:
4.647 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (17 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 of 17(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Ironton Battery/Carbon Pile Load Tester - 500 Amp
Review 1 for Ironton Battery/Carbon Pile Load Tester - 500 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Essential Item for the garage/truck

,
October 17, 2011
By 01Viper
from Morris, Illinois
"This is the perfect tester to have when you have a boat, truck, car, and everything else that has a battery. Works great for testing batteries while they are still in the boat vs. having to pull them to be tested to see if the batteries are still good for the trolling motor.
I have not found anything bad about this tester, and it is one of those items that really pays for itself when it is on the shelf in the garage to load test batteries."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ironton Battery/Carbon Pile Load Tester - 500 Amp
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great tool

,
June 13, 2011
By OneDayOneTyme
from Dayton, Tx
"I've seen people use this at autoparts places. Highly reccommened"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ironton Battery/Carbon Pile Load Tester - 500 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Carbon Pile Load Bank

,
August 23, 2010
By Buck999
from Sacramento
"This is a very good Load Bank for Home & Shop use. I needed a small more compact unit for field work. It has worked very well. I service a small fleet of heavy tucks and forklift. I was amazed at the quality for the price point of this load bank. I tested the unit alongside my $700.00 tester and got the same results. Would recommend this unit to my colleagues."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ironton Battery/Carbon Pile Load Tester - 500 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tester

,
June 3, 2010
By Guido56
from Tullahoma TN.
"This is one of the first pieces of equipment I bought for my new repair shop, It has paid for itself over and over ,not to mention the time it has saved me in diagnosing charging and starting problems.
It is built as well if not better than one costing five times more that the shop I use to work for had.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ironton Battery/Carbon Pile Load Tester - 500 Amp
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Trips to the Store

,
June 1, 2010
By JMack1
from Chicago, IL
"For home use and the price, this product is perfect to help in figuring out starting issues. Directions are poor, so it take a bit of trail and error reading the scales, but overall has been very accurate in telling you the condtion of batteries. I would suggest this for any hone garage."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ironton Battery/Carbon Pile Load Tester - 500 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

hi end shop

,
May 24, 2010
By gstent
from Prescott, AZ
"This tester is exactly what I wanted. I have a fleet of vehicles and a small shop. It works fine for all my vehicles and is easily portable. It is easy to use and easy to read."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ironton Battery/Carbon Pile Load Tester - 500 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it

,
October 28, 2009
By timmy80
from Garner, NC
"I've tried other testers and this one by far is the best. Can test just about anything, love it! Highly recommend. Love the ease of use."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ironton Battery/Carbon Pile Load Tester - 500 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

battery,carbon tester

,
July 21, 2009
By repairman57
from philadelphia,pa
"this product is every mechanics tool that solves any problems dealing with any type of batteries,you can put a load on any battery and see how your electrical system holds up i would reccomend this to any novice mechanic who is starting out new dealing with any electrical problems starting with the battery and working through the system its a great item to have in any shop."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ironton Battery/Carbon Pile Load Tester - 500 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

HVAC Contractor

,
August 11, 2008
By khix
from Greer S.C.
"Excellant product and well worth the money. Saves me from having to take our vehiciles or equipment to be serviced if the problem is only a battery, alternater, or starter."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ironton Battery/Carbon Pile Load Tester - 500 Amp
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Norther 500amp Battery/Carbon pile tester

,
April 15, 2008
By Deuceowner
from Idaho
"Great product, easy to use, easy to read and durable. This is superb value compared to similar products. Would highly reccomend."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ironton Battery/Carbon Pile Load Tester - 500 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product and Company

,
April 14, 2008
By Mikey2k
from Honolulu, HI
"Very pleased with product and company. We need to test a wide variety of batteries and this product has already paid for itself in helping us to determine whether there is a problem with the battery backups."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ironton Battery/Carbon Pile Load Tester - 500 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

500 amp battery carbon pile tester

,
January 14, 2008
By bigtonyndeb
from east haven , ct
"As with everything I get from Northern this product did not dissapoint me. The tester is easy to handle, easy to store, easy to use and easy to read, ready for work. I used it on my van, the car and the boat."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ironton Battery/Carbon Pile Load Tester - 500 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

service manager.

,
October 15, 2007
By bosstim
from philadelphia, pa
"good tool, helps my tech's make better decisions without me on battery and charging situations. We have a large mixed fleet of trucks and equipment with many different starting arrangements. Tool is a must for any shop."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ironton Battery/Carbon Pile Load Tester - 500 Amp
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Auto mechanic

,
October 8, 2007
By JCBaggie
from Wallikill NY.
"I had to use this product several times. It proved to be accurate and easy to use."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ironton Battery/Carbon Pile Load Tester - 500 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

,
March 10, 2007
By roadwarrior
from Va
"used to test 450 amp car batteries and 1000 amp sealed truck batteries.
a good choice for quickly testing completely sealed batteries.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ironton Battery/Carbon Pile Load Tester - 500 Amp
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

murry

,
March 7, 2007
By murry
from Iowa
"Seems to do a good job. Easy to use and very acurate."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ironton Battery/Carbon Pile Load Tester - 500 Amp
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

battery tester

,
March 6, 2007
By stormydennis
from central MN
"it worked great on fully charged battery worth the money"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.