Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Ironton Battery/Carbon Pile Load Tester - 500 Amps

Ironton Battery/Carbon Pile Load Tester - 500 Amps

Item# 37805
"Portable Ironton Battery/Carbon Pile Load Tester unit load tests 12V batteries, alternators, regulators and starters. Handles load capacity of 500 Amps and tests batteries up to 160Ah/1000 CCA. Battery Included No, Battery Type 12V, Battery Required No, Application Battery/carbon pile, LCD Display No. Heavy-duty battery clamps with 4-ga., 40in. cables provide quick connections Separate DC Volt and DC Amp meters offer at-a-glance readouts Temperature compensation chart for additional accuracy Top carry handle for portability"
Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (27 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
26 of 27(96%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ironton Battery/Carbon Pile Load Tester - 500 Amps
Review 1 for Ironton Battery/Carbon Pile Load Tester - 500 Amps
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Failed in 14 months after less than 6 uses.

,
April 9, 2016
By
from Virginia
I purchased this Feb 10, 2015. I went to use it today (April 9) and the amp needle would not work. The product was almost 2 months out of warrantee to the day. I've tested maybe 6 batteries over the course of a year. You get what you pay for. I recommend saving your money and buying a hand-held unit that has the same features. The one feature I liked about this product was that the instructions were written on the front and both the amp and volt meters were easy to read. Really simple to use, too bad it was not built to last.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ironton Battery/Carbon Pile Load Tester - 500 Amps
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Ironton Battery/Carbon Pile Battery Tester

,
February 12, 2016
By
from Sidney,Nebraska
Battery Tester is exactly what I wanted to test various batteries in my vehicles and machinery. Works fine.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ironton Battery/Carbon Pile Load Tester - 500 Amps
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Product

,
February 2, 2016
By
from Lake Arthur, La
Works as described, but knob does not go back to zero, it just keeps turning..
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ironton Battery/Carbon Pile Load Tester - 500 Amps
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does the job!

,
January 29, 2016
By
from Munising, Michigan
Only recently used the battery tester, knob was loose out of the box but a quick re-secure solve that.
Battery clips could be more effective, experienced poor connection a couple of times.
Be sure to choose the right scale on the DC ammeter before winding up the load knob, are you checking CCA or Ah rating, it would be easy to overload the tester/battery with the wrong choice of current setting and scale, follow the instructions closely.
The battery tester does work very effectively and is good value for money, I would recommend it.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ironton Battery/Carbon Pile Load Tester - 500 Amps
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

well worth it

,
June 6, 2015
By
from pa
this load tester is well worth the money. its the right price and size. there is not a battery out there you cannot test. i have used $1200 load testers and this one works just as good or better.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ironton Battery/Carbon Pile Load Tester - 500 Amps
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good piece of diagnostic equipment

,
March 18, 2015
By
from mineola ny
this saves some trips to the mechanic, can test our truck batteries ourselves, but ready the directions, if you leave it connected too long it gets hot.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ironton Battery/Carbon Pile Load Tester - 500 Amps
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

500 Amp Carbon Pile Tester for under $100, WOW

,
January 18, 2015
By
from Mpls, MN
So far just used it twice, worked perfect. Can't say anything about how long it will last, but I gave it five stars because it's compact and the price was fantastic.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ironton Battery/Carbon Pile Load Tester - 500 Amps
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Questionable Quality

,
January 12, 2015
By
from Delaware County, PA
I was disappointed with the overall quality of this load tester. Right out of the box, the load control knob was loose. The carbon pile tightening mechanism was binding up a bit such that the small diameter knob (even after I tightened it to the shaft) made it harder than necessary to adjust. The battery connection clamps were rather flimsy and poorly assembled such that the jaws are not parallel and do not mesh well. When placed onto the battery terminals, proper contact with the terminals is tricky, and more times than not, requires fiddling to get it right. On the bright side, the unit seems reasonably accurate when the meter readings are compared to a clamp-on DC ammeter and digital voltmeter.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ironton Battery/Carbon Pile Load Tester - 500 Amps
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Carbon Pile/Battery Tester

,
December 19, 2014
By
from Effingham il
This was a great purchase for our business . We purchased several cheap testers before . this will last a lot longer than the cheap ones. Great price also from Northern Tool.
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ironton Battery/Carbon Pile Load Tester - 500 Amps
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Battery Carbon Pile Load tester

,
December 18, 2014
By
from Centennial, Colorado
This is the best I have found. Works just like $500.00 Vat 40 at work. Works perfectly as described. Perfect for home technician get professional results at a fraction of the cost of going to a repair shop. Easy to use
Reccommend as good purchase
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ironton Battery/Carbon Pile Load Tester - 500 Amps
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Essential Item for the garage/truck

,
October 17, 2011
By
from Morris, Illinois
This is the perfect tester to have when you have a boat, truck, car, and everything else that has a battery. Works great for testing batteries while they are still in the boat vs. having to pull them to be tested to see if the batteries are still good for the trolling motor.
I have not found anything bad about this tester, and it is one of those items that really pays for itself when it is on the shelf in the garage to load test batteries.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ironton Battery/Carbon Pile Load Tester - 500 Amps
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great tool

,
June 13, 2011
By
from Dayton, Tx
I've seen people use this at autoparts places. Highly reccommened
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ironton Battery/Carbon Pile Load Tester - 500 Amps
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Carbon Pile Load Bank

,
August 23, 2010
By
from Sacramento
This is a very good Load Bank for Home & Shop use. I needed a small more compact unit for field work. It has worked very well. I service a small fleet of heavy tucks and forklift. I was amazed at the quality for the price point of this load bank. I tested the unit alongside my $700.00 tester and got the same results. Would recommend this unit to my colleagues.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ironton Battery/Carbon Pile Load Tester - 500 Amps
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tester

,
June 3, 2010
By
from Tullahoma TN.
This is one of the first pieces of equipment I bought for my new repair shop, It has paid for itself over and over ,not to mention the time it has saved me in diagnosing charging and starting problems.
It is built as well if not better than one costing five times more that the shop I use to work for had.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ironton Battery/Carbon Pile Load Tester - 500 Amps
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Trips to the Store

,
June 1, 2010
By
from Chicago, IL
For home use and the price, this product is perfect to help in figuring out starting issues. Directions are poor, so it take a bit of trail and error reading the scales, but overall has been very accurate in telling you the condtion of batteries. I would suggest this for any hone garage.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ironton Battery/Carbon Pile Load Tester - 500 Amps
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

hi end shop

,
May 24, 2010
By
from Prescott, AZ
This tester is exactly what I wanted. I have a fleet of vehicles and a small shop. It works fine for all my vehicles and is easily portable. It is easy to use and easy to read.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ironton Battery/Carbon Pile Load Tester - 500 Amps
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it

,
October 28, 2009
By
from Garner, NC
I've tried other testers and this one by far is the best. Can test just about anything, love it! Highly recommend. Love the ease of use.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ironton Battery/Carbon Pile Load Tester - 500 Amps
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

battery,carbon tester

,
July 21, 2009
By
from philadelphia,pa
this product is every mechanics tool that solves any problems dealing with any type of batteries,you can put a load on any battery and see how your electrical system holds up i would reccomend this to any novice mechanic who is starting out new dealing with any electrical problems starting with the battery and working through the system its a great item to have in any shop.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ironton Battery/Carbon Pile Load Tester - 500 Amps
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

HVAC Contractor

,
August 11, 2008
By
from Greer S.C.
Excellant product and well worth the money. Saves me from having to take our vehiciles or equipment to be serviced if the problem is only a battery, alternater, or starter.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ironton Battery/Carbon Pile Load Tester - 500 Amps
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Norther 500amp Battery/Carbon pile tester

,
April 15, 2008
By
from Idaho
Great product, easy to use, easy to read and durable. This is superb value compared to similar products. Would highly reccomend.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.