Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hopkins Smart Hitch Camera and Sensor System - 12.5in.L x 6.5in.H x 1.5in.D, Model# 50002

Hopkins Smart Hitch Camera and Sensor System - 12.5in.L x 6.5in.H x 1.5in.D, Model# 50002

Item# 38373
The Hopkins Smart Hitch Camera and Sensor System helps you easily align the ball to the trailer for hassle-free trailer hitch alignments every time. Weather-resistant backup camera and sensor with exclusive hitch mode has 110 viewing angle to increase visibility, eliminate guesswork and see behind the vehicle for everyday backing safety. Product Style Camera, Length in. 12 1/2. Smartzone Sensor camera plugs into existing tow wiring, no splicing needed Clearly watch right where you're backing on the 3.5in. color monitor Includes loud audible sensors up to 95dB with 3 audible detection zones for additional safety 0-5.5ft. sensor range. 12.5in.L x 6.5in.H x 1.5in.D overall size
Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 of 8(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hopkins Smart Hitch Camera and Sensor System - 12.5in.L x 6.5in.H x 1.5in.D, Model# 50002
Review 1 for Hopkins Smart Hitch Camera and Sensor System - 12.5in.L x 6.5in.H x 1.5in.D, Model# 50002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hopkins Trailer Camera

,
September 21, 2014
By Electrician55
from Pennsylvania
"Ordered and received in less than one week. Product works as stated and am very pleased with quality. Plug and play for my Silverado. Was able to hook to trailer without help within minutes of assembly. Very pleased with product and also like the audible alarm along with the visual. This combo of visual and audible was reason for my purchase of this product."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hopkins Smart Hitch Camera and Sensor System - 12.5in.L x 6.5in.H x 1.5in.D, Model# 50002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hitch Camera

,
September 8, 2014
By giti
from Raleigh, NC
"Arrived very quickly, easy to install especially due to the fact that a harness in included which avoids cutting/splicing into factory wiring. Great device to have on a rig in which you can't just move the trailer by hand. Saves a lot of time anf very safe item to have."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hopkins Smart Hitch Camera and Sensor System - 12.5in.L x 6.5in.H x 1.5in.D, Model# 50002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hopkins back up cam.

,
September 5, 2014
By HSM777
from Ga
"Just installed this today. It was so user friendly. Installed it in 30 minutes."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hopkins Smart Hitch Camera and Sensor System - 12.5in.L x 6.5in.H x 1.5in.D, Model# 50002
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Seems OK

,
September 3, 2014
By Thisisrediculous
from Texas
"Installation was pretty simple and the unit works as advertised. Two changes I would recommend: add about 2' of cable to the kit and include instructions for hooking up on a separate switch rather than the reverse circuit."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hopkins Smart Hitch Camera and Sensor System - 12.5in.L x 6.5in.H x 1.5in.D, Model# 50002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

I Can SEE ! (when backing)

,
August 27, 2014
By Maxjr
from Hickory, NC
"Bought this Back Up Camera to assist me, due to a spinal condition, that limits my ability to turn my head, when backing. Installation was straight forward, with plenty( 3" to spare) of cable for my 2010 Ford F-150 Super Cab. Moniter is very clear, with adjustments for Brightness, Contrast, Color, Sharpness as well as Volume for the alert. You can also switch between Hitch, and everyday mode."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hopkins Smart Hitch Camera and Sensor System - 12.5in.L x 6.5in.H x 1.5in.D, Model# 50002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Smart Hitch

,
August 14, 2014
By Effdub
from Fountain Inn, SC
"This was definitely a "Plug and Play" right out of the box. I noted the connector was made by Delphi who makes GM so it mated instantly to my Silverado. The screen mounting was excellent and the picture was very clear. From other reviews I knew I wanted a wired model vs. Bluetooth so as not to interfere with my hands-free cell device. The lens is perfectly focused so as to show the hitch ball and a good distance behind the vehicle. Excellent product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hopkins Smart Hitch Camera and Sensor System - 12.5in.L x 6.5in.H x 1.5in.D, Model# 50002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Overall fantastic product

,
August 12, 2014
By Mikelden
from Memphis, TN
"Bought this after viewing a YouTube video demonstrating it's capabilities. It met every expectation and am thrilled with the purchase. Has helped incredibly with backing up to trailers and even into parking spots. I installed it on my 2008 F350 crew cab, short bed and didn't have any issues with the wires reaching from monitor to camera."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hopkins Smart Hitch Camera and Sensor System - 12.5in.L x 6.5in.H x 1.5in.D, Model# 50002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

,
February 27, 2014
By bridge80
from Vicksburg, MS
"I purchased one of these for my company truck, because I have a long bed 4 door, the initial cable was short, but I called Hopkins tech help line and they sent me 2 extension cables. The thing works like a champ. I have no problem seeing behind when I am backing or hooking up a trailer. It works flawlessly. I am buying a second one for my personal truck. A++++++ rating."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.