Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "Hopkins Smart Hitch Camera and Sensor System - 12.5in.L x 6.5in.H x 1.5in.D, Model# 50002"

"Hopkins Smart Hitch Camera and Sensor System - 12.5in.L x 6.5in.H x 1.5in.D, Model# 50002"

Item# 38373
"The Hopkins Smart Hitch Camera and Sensor System helps you easily align the ball to the trailer for hassle-free trailer hitch alignments every time. Weather-resistant backup camera and sensor with exclusive hitch mode has 110 viewing angle to increase visibility, eliminate guesswork and see behind the vehicle for everyday backing safety. Length in. 12 1/2, Product Style Camera. Smartzone Sensor camera plugs into existing tow wiring, no splicing needed Clearly watch right where you're backing on the 3.5in. color monitor Includes loud audible sensors up to 95dB with 3 audible detection zones for additional safety 0-5.5ft. sensor range. 12.5in.L x 6.5in.H x 1.5in.D overall size"
Average Customer Rating:
4.647 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (17 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 of 17(94%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Hopkins Smart Hitch Camera and Sensor System - 12.5in.L x 6.5in.H x 1.5in.D, Model# 50002"
Review 1 for "Hopkins Smart Hitch Camera and Sensor System - 12.5in.L x 6.5in.H x 1.5in.D, Model# 50002"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Smart switch back up camera system camera

,
August 10, 2015
By
from ROANOKE,VA.
" I Love this item! Easy install! works perfectly with many available personal preference adjustments! Definitely feel much safer backing up ! Only minor change I would recommend is make the cable a few feet longer. Although I was able to route mine to work on a 2006 Chevy work truck, it would not reach my desired location on the dash!
Still Great product and would definitely buy again!!!!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Hopkins Smart Hitch Camera and Sensor System - 12.5in.L x 6.5in.H x 1.5in.D, Model# 50002"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hopkins Smart Hitch Camera

,
July 16, 2015
By
from Cedar Bluffs, NE
" Installation was straight forward by following directions. Performance after installation has been excellent. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Hopkins Smart Hitch Camera and Sensor System - 12.5in.L x 6.5in.H x 1.5in.D, Model# 50002"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Product

,
May 18, 2015
By
from Columbia, SC
" Been struggling alone hooking up boat & utility trailers for years. This product really solves the problem. Have been using it regularly for about 6 months now, with very good results. Would suggest that you set the trailer tongue height 3"-6" higher than your hitch height before backing up, just makes the final position easier to see. Installation on my pickup was simple, took me less than 1 hour. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Hopkins Smart Hitch Camera and Sensor System - 12.5in.L x 6.5in.H x 1.5in.D, Model# 50002"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great help

,
May 14, 2015
By
from Temple texas
" I have to hookup trailers all the time, mostly by myself. This device simplifies that process. No more backup, get out and check, reposition, get out and check, backup again, get out and .... You get the picture. One time and it's done. Real time saver. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Hopkins Smart Hitch Camera and Sensor System - 12.5in.L x 6.5in.H x 1.5in.D, Model# 50002"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Back up camera

,
April 29, 2015
By
from Missouri
" The web site was easy to us the camera was very easy to install since I have a Chevrolet pick up . It took less than one hour to install and it works great.I would buy it again for my next truck. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Hopkins Smart Hitch Camera and Sensor System - 12.5in.L x 6.5in.H x 1.5in.D, Model# 50002"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

4 Runner

,
January 12, 2015
By
from Montgomery,AL
" Not able to use. SUV with tailgate difficult to wire camera to license plate. Returned to NT. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Hopkins Smart Hitch Camera and Sensor System - 12.5in.L x 6.5in.H x 1.5in.D, Model# 50002"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Backup Camera

,
December 29, 2014
By
from New York
" Installed the product Yesterday in my Ford F250. The cable was a little short for my long truck so I placed the screen down low, where it would reach. The screen is a little small but the resolution is good. Because it is hard wired, it does not have the distance and interference issues that the wireless devices have. Overall I am happy with the product so far. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Hopkins Smart Hitch Camera and Sensor System - 12.5in.L x 6.5in.H x 1.5in.D, Model# 50002"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very Helpful

,
December 18, 2014
By
from TX
" I ordered this backup camera for my pickup with a camper shell. I am often hooking up to my boat trailer with no one to guide me. I am pretty good at getting the hitch lined up but I have to climb in and out of the cab multiple times to adjust forward and backward unitl the hitch is over the ball. With this camera I can now get much closer before I having to exit the cab. The installation was pretty easy. I have an after market bumper so mounting required drilling for the mounting screws and a hole to pass the coax through. I could not use the adaptor connector becasue the first owner of my truck cut off the factory wire harness but splicing into the backup feed was simple (you only need to power the camera with a red (hot) wire and black to ground. The rest was routing the coax and getting it through the firewall. Because of my after market bumper and proxcimity of the ball to the camera I had to adjust the lens were it points down at a steep angle. That reduces the field of view to just a couple feet behind the truck. If I use my draw bar setup (pushes the ball away from the bumper) I would have more range. When I am not trailering I adjust the camera angle for normal back up mode. Now I have a view of the huge blind spot behind my truck. I like that a lot. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Hopkins Smart Hitch Camera and Sensor System - 12.5in.L x 6.5in.H x 1.5in.D, Model# 50002"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hopkins Hitch Camera

,
October 28, 2014
By
from Tolar, Tx
" I found the product as advertised when put into use shortly after receiving it. I had difficult getting out the 7-pin connector but my neighbor was younger and stronger and got it right out. Once installed the cable for the camera was about 3' short for my truck. I called and a add on connector was sent and quickly received.
Every time I use the hitch camera it works perfect on the 1st try every time. Should have done this years ago.
Chuck "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Hopkins Smart Hitch Camera and Sensor System - 12.5in.L x 6.5in.H x 1.5in.D, Model# 50002"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hopkins Trailer Camera

,
September 21, 2014
By
from Pennsylvania
" Ordered and received in less than one week. Product works as stated and am very pleased with quality. Plug and play for my Silverado. Was able to hook to trailer without help within minutes of assembly. Very pleased with product and also like the audible alarm along with the visual. This combo of visual and audible was reason for my purchase of this product. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Hopkins Smart Hitch Camera and Sensor System - 12.5in.L x 6.5in.H x 1.5in.D, Model# 50002"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hitch Camera

,
September 8, 2014
By
from Raleigh, NC
" Arrived very quickly, easy to install especially due to the fact that a harness in included which avoids cutting/splicing into factory wiring. Great device to have on a rig in which you can't just move the trailer by hand. Saves a lot of time anf very safe item to have. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Hopkins Smart Hitch Camera and Sensor System - 12.5in.L x 6.5in.H x 1.5in.D, Model# 50002"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hopkins back up cam.

,
September 5, 2014
By
from Ga
" Just installed this today. It was so user friendly. Installed it in 30 minutes. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Hopkins Smart Hitch Camera and Sensor System - 12.5in.L x 6.5in.H x 1.5in.D, Model# 50002"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Seems OK

,
September 3, 2014
By
from Texas
" Installation was pretty simple and the unit works as advertised. Two changes I would recommend: add about 2' of cable to the kit and include instructions for hooking up on a separate switch rather than the reverse circuit. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Hopkins Smart Hitch Camera and Sensor System - 12.5in.L x 6.5in.H x 1.5in.D, Model# 50002"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

I Can SEE ! (when backing)

,
August 27, 2014
By
from Hickory, NC
" Bought this Back Up Camera to assist me, due to a spinal condition, that limits my ability to turn my head, when backing. Installation was straight forward, with plenty( 3" to spare) of cable for my 2010 Ford F-150 Super Cab. Moniter is very clear, with adjustments for Brightness, Contrast, Color, Sharpness as well as Volume for the alert. You can also switch between Hitch, and everyday mode. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Hopkins Smart Hitch Camera and Sensor System - 12.5in.L x 6.5in.H x 1.5in.D, Model# 50002"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Smart Hitch

,
August 14, 2014
By
from Fountain Inn, SC
" This was definitely a "Plug and Play" right out of the box. I noted the connector was made by Delphi who makes GM so it mated instantly to my Silverado. The screen mounting was excellent and the picture was very clear. From other reviews I knew I wanted a wired model vs. Bluetooth so as not to interfere with my hands-free cell device. The lens is perfectly focused so as to show the hitch ball and a good distance behind the vehicle. Excellent product. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Hopkins Smart Hitch Camera and Sensor System - 12.5in.L x 6.5in.H x 1.5in.D, Model# 50002"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Overall fantastic product

,
August 12, 2014
By
from Memphis, TN
" Bought this after viewing a YouTube video demonstrating it's capabilities. It met every expectation and am thrilled with the purchase. Has helped incredibly with backing up to trailers and even into parking spots. I installed it on my 2008 F350 crew cab, short bed and didn't have any issues with the wires reaching from monitor to camera. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Hopkins Smart Hitch Camera and Sensor System - 12.5in.L x 6.5in.H x 1.5in.D, Model# 50002"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

,
February 27, 2014
By
from Vicksburg, MS
" I purchased one of these for my company truck, because I have a long bed 4 door, the initial cable was short, but I called Hopkins tech help line and they sent me 2 extension cables. The thing works like a champ. I have no problem seeing behind when I am backing or hooking up a trailer. It works flawlessly. I am buying a second one for my personal truck. A++++++ rating. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+19points
20out of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.