Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Roughneck High Carbon Steel Swivel Skidding Tongs - 17 1/2in. Jaw Opening

Roughneck High Carbon Steel Swivel Skidding Tongs - 17 1/2in. Jaw Opening

Item# 38583
"These Roughneck High Carbon Steel Swivel Skidding Tongs are made with high carbon steel. They are ideal for dragging and skidding operations, thanks to a swivel hook that keeps the chain from twisting and the log from rolling. Jaw Opening in. 2 1/2-17 1/2, Material Carbon steel, Product Type Skidding tongs, Length in. 19 1/2. Durable high-carbon steel construction Swivel hook that keeps the chain from twisting and the log from rolling Fine-ground points for long-lasting sharpness Shaped to increase tip penetration and get the best grip"
Average Customer Rating:
4.364 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (11 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
10 of 11(91%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Roughneck High Carbon Steel Swivel Skidding Tongs - 17 1/2in. Jaw Opening
Review 1 for Roughneck High Carbon Steel Swivel Skidding Tongs - 17 1/2in. Jaw Opening
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

skidding tongs

,
January 26, 2016
By
from San Antonio, TX
works great on telephone poles. is what i expected, seems to be well built and gonna last a good long while. very easy to use.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Roughneck High Carbon Steel Swivel Skidding Tongs - 17 1/2in. Jaw Opening
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good heavy duty tool

,
January 4, 2016
By
from VA
Good quality heavy duty tool. Most of my trees are 12 to 14 inches across, so this works well. Hook a chain to my truck and it easy to move trees to a better cutting area.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Roughneck High Carbon Steel Swivel Skidding Tongs - 17 1/2in. Jaw Opening
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Roughneck High Carbon Steel Swivel Skidding Tongs

,
December 14, 2015
By
from Coatesville, PA
Solid too, works well, would recommend for logging.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Roughneck High Carbon Steel Swivel Skidding Tongs - 17 1/2in. Jaw Opening
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for moving logs

,
August 21, 2015
By
from maryland
EZ to use, works good, simple, slip over log, hook to tractor & away you go
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Roughneck High Carbon Steel Swivel Skidding Tongs - 17 1/2in. Jaw Opening
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than rope

,
November 16, 2014
By
from VA
Makes It quick and easy to pull logs from where they dropped to my cutting yard. No rope to tie then untie,
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Roughneck High Carbon Steel Swivel Skidding Tongs - 17 1/2in. Jaw Opening
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Spend a little more

,
July 31, 2014
By
from Covington La
This product will require another set
Of hands to keep it on the log etc until you have tension. I'm mostly by myself, so knowing what I now know, I would spend a little more and get the ones that have a spring to keep it in place so I can effectively work without assistance. If you have a work partner this one works well. On another note...I was very pleased with how quickly I received it after ordering. Standard ground. Good job NT.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Roughneck High Carbon Steel Swivel Skidding Tongs - 17 1/2in. Jaw Opening
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works better than expected

,
July 12, 2014
By
from Ohio
After reading other reviews I was expecting this to not work so well on smaller logs. Have used it on logs ranging from 7 to 16 inches and it cinches up very nicely. Heavy duty, well built tool. Am very pleased with both the product and the price from Northern Tool.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Roughneck High Carbon Steel Swivel Skidding Tongs - 17 1/2in. Jaw Opening
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Roughneck 17.5" Swivel Skidding Tongs

,
May 20, 2014
By
from Huntsville, TX
The tongs are extremely well made, but they wont grip small, 8"-12" diameter (or less) logs, or railroad ties, at all. The prongs that are supposed to bore into the wood and grip the log are at the wrong angle to penetrate the wood unless the tongs are close to their full opening width. So, they are useless for moving the small trees, and RR ties, that I wanted to move. They hold @ 15" + logs great, but I couldn't ever get them to work on logs smaller than that. IF they had a spring, or old inner tube for a rubber band, to hold them closed, you might be able to drag small stuff, but not the way they come from the store. I really need to return them.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Roughneck High Carbon Steel Swivel Skidding Tongs - 17 1/2in. Jaw Opening
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tongs

,
May 15, 2014
By
from Berea,KY.
Good tongs for light to med. logs. Used several times works great.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Roughneck High Carbon Steel Swivel Skidding Tongs - 17 1/2in. Jaw Opening
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid skidding tongs that move mad logs

,
February 4, 2014
By
from The wilds of upstate NY
We have used these log tongs to drag tons of logs to our truck, and then lift them into the bed, though they say not to lift with them.
They are also used to allow our tractor to drag logs out of our log pile for bucking, We have maxed them out many times and they just dig in and hold on.
After at least (more than) ten years of heavy use, they have only mild chipping of the paint at the tips of the sharp points, and no chipping elsewhere. We sometimes think about taking off the hook and just using the ring, but we use the hook at times too.
We wouldn't ever want to be without these.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Roughneck High Carbon Steel Swivel Skidding Tongs - 17 1/2in. Jaw Opening
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

handy tongs

,
February 4, 2014
By
from Colmesneil, Texas
Perfect for the use in which it was intended-----use with the tractors 3 point hitch to lift the front of the log slightly off the ground, and it works perfect
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.