Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Roughneck Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L

Roughneck Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L

Item# 38673
"This durable Roughneck Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack uses its patent-pending 1 1/2in. dia. fiberglass handle with 3/8in. steel core rod and A-frame stand to keep chain saw chains from running into the ground for safer cutting, preventing chain damage, pinching and binds. Handles Logs Diameter in. 12, Hook Material Carbon steel, Handle Material Fiberglass w/steel core, Length ft. 4. Patent-pending 1 1/2in. dia. fiberglass handle with 3/8in. steel core rod Patent-pending A-frame stand with two-bolt design for extra strength High carbon steel hook handles logs up to 12in. dia Remove the rigid stand for cant hook work Textured rubber grip for comfort and secure grip"
Average Customer Rating:
4.857 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (14 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 of 14(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Roughneck Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Review 1 for Roughneck Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A-frame Timberjack

,
April 9, 2016
By
from western NY
this is an excellent jack for cutting firewood. We own a remote, off grid cabin in the Adirondacks thats heated solely by wood. I have tried MANY different methods of cutting logs to size and I find the A-frame jack the easiest to use. I ain't getting any younger and anything that helps me get fire wood in, easier and quicker is worth every penny. Great product, heavy duty and rugged. Well made, well done
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Roughneck Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

timberjack

,
January 21, 2016
By
from northern michigan
order was easy, arrived promptly.was given as a gift to a friend who uses outdoor boiler for heat.so far has worked well and made cutting cordwood a lot easier on the back!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Roughneck Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Roughneck timberjack

,
June 6, 2015
By
from western Indiana
I finally got to use my Roughneck Timberjack and it does everything they said it would. The utility company wiped out about an acre of my woods. I asked them to save the logs for me and they did just that. I now have about 30 to 40 logs to move. My timberjack is going to come in very handy. Great product..
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Roughneck Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

timberjack

,
April 28, 2015
By
from Florida
This product is sturdy and does exactly what I bought it for...to help me cut up pine trees where I had to drop them in my yard. Lifts the trunk for space to buck it up.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Roughneck Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

RoughNeck TimberJack 48" Logcutting Rod/Stand

,
April 17, 2015
By
from Vienna, VA
I have for years been cutting logs and felling tree's and never had a log mover/stand to chainsaw them - until now. This device is super-strong, jacks-up and moves logs about 15" and below and works great to then chainsaw through them. Easy to use, and helps to keep the chainsaw blade from hitting the ground. My back thanks you !
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Roughneck Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very useful tool

,
October 25, 2014
By
from Nameless, TN
I bought one of these last year and used it all thru the winter. It is heavy duty, I feel no flex in the handle. It will roll and lift a fairly large log. This is my preferred method to cut wood to length, much easier than trying to lift a log and shove a piece under to keep it off the ground.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Roughneck Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Handy Tool

,
October 11, 2014
By
from Central Missouri
It works great. The handle is strong. I've tried lifting Missouri oak logs that were too heavy to raise and the handle didn't bow or bend. It would work better if the handle was a little longer but it does the job.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Roughneck Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Chain Saver

,
September 24, 2014
By
from Nebraska
Built solid. Rolls logs or lifts them to save my chain from dirt and dulling. I haven't had a chance to find out just how big a log it will grab, used on 8", but once I do I will update.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Roughneck Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Timber jack

,
August 21, 2014
By
from Mi
Bought this to save my bar an chain plus my back.Works great and is a very solid well built tool.Friends have it at moment cleaning up storm damage told them where it was purchased so they could get one.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Roughneck Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

back saving woodsman tool

,
August 2, 2014
By
from Roanoke, VA
This very sturdy tool is primarily for lifting medium logs off the ground to a level where they can be cut to firewood lengths with a chain saw without bending over as far. It also saves the chain saw from striking dirt or rocks, which in turn reduces chain maintenance. Second, the Timberjack can also serve as a cant hook for rotating trees that have been caught by other standing trees before they hit the ground during the felling process. Sometimes leaners can be rolled away from the tree they're resting against, provided the base of the tree has been cut completely through. Third, it will position and lift logs so that they can be easily wrapped with a chain and dragged with a tractor. The Timberjack is especially helpful when you're working by yourself. I think it's well worth the price.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Roughneck Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

as advertised

,
July 17, 2014
By
from cheshire,ct
product seems well constructed
and works as advertised
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Roughneck Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tool

,
July 6, 2014
By
from Westchester ny
This is a great tool! I used it on an old large ash tree that fell and was laying around for the last year. It was soaked from rain water and heavy. The timber jack rolled it over and picked it up no problem. This tree was so large and heavy at the trunk that I had to hang on the handle of the timber jack to get the tree up and surprisingly the tool did it's job. I definitely recommend this tool!
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Roughneck Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A-Frame Timberjack

,
February 6, 2014
By
from folsom La
The A Frame Timberjack Was Really a Great Tool For Keeping my Chain saw Out of The Dirt While Cutting My Firewood and Easy For My Bad Back Highly Recommended.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Roughneck Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Timberjack

,
February 4, 2014
By
from Columbia, MO
Strong, well-built timberjack. It makes cutting up large logs simple and easy. The steel core and fiberglass can handle the largest logs and is limited only by the user's strength to leverage the log.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.