Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Roughneck Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L

Roughneck Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L

Item# 38673
This durable Roughneck Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack uses its patent-pending 1 1/2in. dia. fiberglass handle with 3/8in. steel core rod and A-frame stand to keep chain saw chains from running into the ground for safer cutting, preventing chain damage, pinching and binds. Handles Logs Diameter in. 12, Length ft. 4, Handle Material Fiberglass w/steel core, Hook Material Carbon steel. Patent-pending 1 1/2in. dia. fiberglass handle with 3/8in. steel core rod Patent-pending A-frame stand with two-bolt design for extra strength High carbon steel hook handles logs up to 12in. dia Remove the rigid stand for cant hook work Textured rubber grip for comfort and secure grip
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 of 9(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Roughneck Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Review 1 for Roughneck Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very useful tool

,
October 25, 2014
By Farm987654321
from Nameless, TN
"I bought one of these last year and used it all thru the winter. It is heavy duty, I feel no flex in the handle. It will roll and lift a fairly large log. This is my preferred method to cut wood to length, much easier than trying to lift a log and shove a piece under to keep it off the ground."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Roughneck Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Handy Tool

,
October 11, 2014
By SDH65452
from Central Missouri
"It works great. The handle is strong. I've tried lifting Missouri oak logs that were too heavy to raise and the handle didn't bow or bend. It would work better if the handle was a little longer but it does the job."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Roughneck Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Chain Saver

,
September 24, 2014
By Dodsworth
from Nebraska
"Built solid. Rolls logs or lifts them to save my chain from dirt and dulling. I haven't had a chance to find out just how big a log it will grab, used on 8", but once I do I will update."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Roughneck Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Timber jack

,
August 21, 2014
By Bertbud
from Mi
"Bought this to save my bar an chain plus my back.Works great and is a very solid well built tool.Friends have it at moment cleaning up storm damage told them where it was purchased so they could get one."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Roughneck Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

back saving woodsman tool

,
August 2, 2014
By EZ2do
from Roanoke, VA
"This very sturdy tool is primarily for lifting medium logs off the ground to a level where they can be cut to firewood lengths with a chain saw without bending over as far. It also saves the chain saw from striking dirt or rocks, which in turn reduces chain maintenance. Second, the Timberjack can also serve as a cant hook for rotating trees that have been caught by other standing trees before they hit the ground during the felling process. Sometimes leaners can be rolled away from the tree they're resting against, provided the base of the tree has been cut completely through. Third, it will position and lift logs so that they can be easily wrapped with a chain and dragged with a tractor. The Timberjack is especially helpful when you're working by yourself. I think it's well worth the price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Roughneck Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

as advertised

,
July 17, 2014
By treechopper
from cheshire,ct
"product seems well constructed
and works as advertised
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Roughneck Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tool

,
July 6, 2014
By Fred7657283485
from Westchester ny
"This is a great tool! I used it on an old large ash tree that fell and was laying around for the last year. It was soaked from rain water and heavy. The timber jack rolled it over and picked it up no problem. This tree was so large and heavy at the trunk that I had to hang on the handle of the timber jack to get the tree up and surprisingly the tool did it's job. I definitely recommend this tool!"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Roughneck Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A-Frame Timberjack

,
February 6, 2014
By jkw123
from folsom La
"The A Frame Timberjack Was Really a Great Tool For Keeping my Chain saw Out of The Dirt While Cutting My Firewood and Easy For My Bad Back Highly Recommended."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Roughneck Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Timberjack

,
February 4, 2014
By Flip47
from Columbia, MO
"Strong, well-built timberjack. It makes cutting up large logs simple and easy. The steel core and fiberglass can handle the largest logs and is limited only by the user's strength to leverage the log."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.