Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L

Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L

Item# 38674
"This Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack innovative high carbon steel double hook gives you a solid hold on logs up to 16in. dia. The patent-pending 1 1/2in. dia. fiberglass handle with 3/8in. steel core rod and A-frame stand keep chain saw chains from running into the ground for safer cutting, preventing chain damage, pinching and binds. Hook Material Carbon steel, Length ft. 4, Handle Material Fiberglass w/steel core, Handles Logs Diameter in. 16. High carbon steel double hook gets a solid hold on logs of all sizes Durable patent-pending 1 1/2in. dia. fiberglass handle with 3/8 in. steel core rod Patent-pending A-frame stand has two-bolt design for extra strength Textured rubber grip for comfort and secure grip"
Average Customer Rating:
4.705 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (44 reviews)
5 stars
33
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
43 of 44(98%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Review 1 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

ROUGHNECK DOUBLE HOOK A-FRAME 48inL

,
March 26, 2015
By WCR111
from Harrison, Ohio
" We had no problem rolling logs 30" in DIA.
But the biggest we could flip on the "A" frame was 22" DIA.
Tool moved logs around a lot easier and with more control. Had some slip when the bark came loose.
But all in all a great tool to own if you are cutting up large logs for fire wood.
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

48" Timberjack

,
March 25, 2015
By Dawt
from KCMO
" Solid built - works great with lifting and positioning average size logs for cutting around the home. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Timberjack

,
March 13, 2015
By sobie
from Green Bay, WI
" Works Awesome! A must have tool for making firewood. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Item!

,
March 4, 2015
By o2bfree2
from Maryland
" Used this log roller the first day. Pricey but well constructed. Great product. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjac

,
March 4, 2015
By Dnelson
from Houston, TX
" The timber jack came in a long box and only required minimal assembly of the 3 parts included. Normally I use a tractor with a grapple to hold logs while we cut them up, but every now and then I am by myself and prefer to not keep hopping on and off the tractor. This timberjack works great. I have now used it over the past couple of weekends and can say it does make sawing logs much easier and keeps the chainsaw blade out of the dirt. I feel it is a must have for one person sawing especially if you don't have a tractor. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good helper, quality tool

,
February 19, 2015
By Theophob
from FL
" A heavy-duty timberjack. Grabs logs tight and foot is nice and wide. I wish there was one more hook on the arm for lifting slightly smaller logs, but that's not a deal breaker... just me being lazy and wanting to use it on the small timber. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Timberjack

,
February 18, 2015
By reallygam
from Oregon
" Sturdy, handle could be two feet longer, and the nonslip grip should be glued onto the handle. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very stout

,
February 6, 2015
By Capytan1
from Hallam, NE
" Used this just last week while clearing trees along a fence row. I Really liked how stout the handle is. Worked just like I hoped.
I simply hooked the log, pulled the bar over and, there it sat. No more chainsaws in the dirt.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

double hook timberjack

,
February 4, 2015
By dwilli
from michigan
" heavy duty, well made definitely better than the last one I owned . handles 30 foot long 16 inch logs no problem. excellent product. if you are looking for this kind of tool don't hesitate it will meet all expectations. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works Great

,
February 4, 2015
By RCFNGSO
from Greensboro North Carolina
" Fast Delivery
Easy quick assembly
Well made-
Works great- sure beats trying to lift logs by hand and cram something underneath to get off ground to cut!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great item

,
January 22, 2015
By 714TJ
from Tampa, FL
" If you cut your own firewood or trim your own propertty you need this. I am able to move large logs easily and set them up for cutting - so you don't mess up your chainsaw blade. This does it"s job perfectly. The only that's missing is someone to do the work for you. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great tool!

,
January 20, 2015
By MS04
from Cincinnati, OH
" This product does exactly what it says it will do. The Timberjack was easy to assembly. Handling logs for sawing is made easy by using this tool. Very sturdy construction. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Timberjack

,
January 9, 2015
By Foxfire1127
from Palmerton,PA
" Does just what I hoped. Saves me from continually having to sharpen my chainsaw because I no longer did into the ground with it and it also saves my back. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tool

,
January 9, 2015
By SophiesDad
from Pylesville, Maryland
" The Timber jack is the quality tool just as it is advertised. It saves a lot of energy and back strain and can extend work production. As good an investment as my chain saw. I will be back to Northern Tool to check out the rest of the products they carry from Timberjack and other manufacturers. Well worth the money and the time! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great purchase

,
January 3, 2015
By Bigdipper
from Northern, MN
" I purchased this Timberjack for a friend of mine. I had bought one for myself a few months earlier and we had used mine at his cabin to lift and cut up some logs. He was so impressed with it's ability to hook onto, lift and flip over a log that he wanted one for himself. We both heat our houses with indoor furnaces or wood stoves so we are working with logs quite a bit each year. This Timberjack this a great back saver. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A-Frame Timberjack

,
December 31, 2014
By Dave1955
from Dale, IN
" Heavy duty. Works Great. Saves the chain on chain saw. No way to break this thing. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tool

,
December 30, 2014
By mcats
from GA
" I used this timber jack yesterday and I don't know how I did without one. Very handy. Not real heavy duty but fine for most trees. I used it on a couple of 17 inch diameter with no problem. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

problems with my timberjack.

,
December 27, 2014
By jeffro72
from cinty.oh.
" right now,the problem is I can't remember which one of my neighbors borrowed it last. This thing is the most popular tool in the neighborhood. We have a problem with ash trees in this part of ohio and professional removal is so expensive,we usually do it ourselves.This tool is worth it's weight in gold. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Timberjack

,
December 22, 2014
By SFOR
from MD
" Works great, saves time how much more can I say. Cannot say anymore. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Well built timberjack

,
December 1, 2014
By JJor
from Oregon
" A solid built tool with a heavy handle. Great for jacking up a medium sized log for cutting away from the dirt to save your chainsaw. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.