Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L

Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L

Item# 38674
This Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack innovative high carbon steel double hook gives you a solid hold on logs up to 16in. dia. The patent-pending 1 1/2in. dia. fiberglass handle with 3/8in. steel core rod and A-frame stand keep chain saw chains from running into the ground for safer cutting, preventing chain damage, pinching and binds. Handles Logs Diameter in. 16, Length ft. 4, Handle Material Fiberglass w/steel core, Hook Material Carbon steel. High carbon steel double hook gets a solid hold on logs of all sizes Durable patent-pending 1 1/2in. dia. fiberglass handle with 3/8 in. steel core rod Patent-pending A-frame stand has two-bolt design for extra strength Textured rubber grip for comfort and secure grip
Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (16 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 of 16(94%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Review 1 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Timberjack

,
October 26, 2014
By lumbermanTim
from Ohio
"This tool is great for turning and lifting logs. Can handle larger logs as big as 20-24" dia.
only complaint was that the sharp hook mounted on the handle-part needs to be made out of thicker steel because I bent mine.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tool for woodcutting

,
September 30, 2014
By Gil7
from Idaho
"Easily turns a log and raises it for using a chainsaw without dulling your chain in the dirt. Great leverage. Solidly built. The double hook allows for use on both small and larger logs."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

48" TIMBERJACK

,
September 26, 2014
By doa411
from albany ny
"Excellent tool for lifting med/large logs for firewood. A sturdy and well balanced tool...should last a lifetime"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

"2nd man"

,
September 25, 2014
By Czqk
from Florida
"Cut down six trees and used this tool to cut them up into firewood logs. Tool is very strong and I used it on trees up to 20". Easy to use in lifting the timber to cut without fear of getting the ground.
Already paid for itself. If you are a home owner who cut your own trees you need this tool if for no other reason then safety in cutting the logs.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceeded expectations, excelent product

,
September 23, 2014
By Barry972
from Oro Valley, Az.
"More stability and support than anticipated.
Easy to use
Improved safety
Very satisfied
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

TIMBER JACK

,
September 22, 2014
By Gunnersmateguns
from MICHIGAN
"The first use of this tool I latched onto a 25' swamp ash 14" across weighing 1 1/2 ton or better! I'm 6'6" and closing in at 300lbs. I had to really lay into it but she rolled just as I wanted! I'm very impressed!! She's worked every time and it's a real labor saver. I could not be more happy in a logging tool! Worth every penny! USN(ret)"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

roughneck timberjack

,
September 21, 2014
By batman16
from new hampshire
"this item was as advertised and worked great I use it on my property and have not had any issues"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjac

,
September 4, 2014
By KJS1227
from Escambia, FL & Baldwin, AL
"I have used some sort of leverage or Peavey Pole for 54 years starting at my grandfathers knees holding a log in place for him to cut. I saw this after recovering an Oak Tree from my neighbors yard using a 6' bar and a jack. I tried it right out of the box without tightening the bolts - MAGIC. I moved one log around at ease and lifted it into a cutting position with no help. My help watched with a big smile on her face!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

logging

,
June 18, 2014
By wood6security
from mass
"I purchaced a roughneck logging tool and I am completely satisfied with the quality and workman ship of this tool. I wood recommend this company to all my friends"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Product is as advetized

,
May 5, 2014
By LLS2
from Nevada, MO
"I have not used as yet but it is easy to put to gather and is very heavy duty."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awsome 48" timber jack

,
May 3, 2014
By cj60
from RI
"The first time I used this tool I moved a 10 foot long 18 inch diameter log. I could roll the log with 1 hand.
This is an awesome product, a big improvement over wood handle peavy or cant hook. As a side note my grandfather owned a sawmill and I learned at a young age how to move logs.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Back saver

,
April 22, 2014
By Bourgelp
from Abita Srpings,La
"Just cut down a 16 -18 in. sweet gum tree, that stood 25 ft, tall, the Timberjack works as clamed, had tree cut up and cleared in 4 hours. A-frame stand kept chain saw chains from running into the ground. I would highly recommend it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very effective

,
April 21, 2014
By farmerlaw
from Greensboro, NC
"This tool is heavy, but strong. It works with logs of varying sizes, small to large. This tool is very effective to lift logs. It would not be especially effective to roll logs (i.e., not a can't hook)."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Everything I expected

,
April 18, 2014
By DaveInAr
from Arkansas
"This is a great product. Well constructed with quality materials. This takes a lot of the back breaking work out of cutting fire wood. I would highly recommend it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
February 14, 2014
By sprinterracer
from Indiana
"This Timberjack works very well, only problem is I wish it had a little more over center action with a largeer stop to keep the log from rolling down the handle."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Back & Time Saver

,
February 4, 2014
By zubasdaddy
from snellville, ga
"i just used this for the first time to cut up 4 downed trees on my property. 1 hickory, 1 birch and 2 red oak. No more breaking my back trying to lift long logs to prop them up or turn them to keep my chainsaw blade out of the dirt. I cut these up in record time and the timber jack handled them with ease. I pushed the diameter limit on about an 18-20" red oak. No problem. I was concerned that the weight of the oak might bend the handle--no chance. Tool is sturdy and does the job as expected."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.