Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L

Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L

Item# 38674
This Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack innovative high carbon steel double hook gives you a solid hold on logs up to 16in. dia. The patent-pending 1 1/2in. dia. fiberglass handle with 3/8in. steel core rod and A-frame stand keep chain saw chains from running into the ground for safer cutting, preventing chain damage, pinching and binds. Handles Logs Diameter in. 16, Length ft. 4, Handle Material Fiberglass w/steel core, Hook Material Carbon steel. High carbon steel double hook gets a solid hold on logs of all sizes Durable patent-pending 1 1/2in. dia. fiberglass handle with 3/8 in. steel core rod Patent-pending A-frame stand has two-bolt design for extra strength Textured rubber grip for comfort and secure grip
Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 of 8(88%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Review 1 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

logging

,
June 18, 2014
By wood6security
from mass
"I purchaced a roughneck logging tool and I am completely satisfied with the quality and workman ship of this tool. I wood recommend this company to all my friends"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Product is as advetized

,
May 5, 2014
By LLS2
from Nevada, MO
"I have not used as yet but it is easy to put to gather and is very heavy duty."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awsome 48" timber jack

,
May 3, 2014
By cj60
from RI
"The first time I used this tool I moved a 10 foot long 18 inch diameter log. I could roll the log with 1 hand.
This is an awesome product, a big improvement over wood handle peavy or cant hook. As a side note my grandfather owned a sawmill and I learned at a young age how to move logs.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Back saver

,
April 22, 2014
By Bourgelp
from Abita Srpings,La
"Just cut down a 16 -18 in. sweet gum tree, that stood 25 ft, tall, the Timberjack works as clamed, had tree cut up and cleared in 4 hours. A-frame stand kept chain saw chains from running into the ground. I would highly recommend it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very effective

,
April 21, 2014
By farmerlaw
from Greensboro, NC
"This tool is heavy, but strong. It works with logs of varying sizes, small to large. This tool is very effective to lift logs. It would not be especially effective to roll logs (i.e., not a can't hook)."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Everything I expected

,
April 18, 2014
By DaveInAr
from Arkansas
"This is a great product. Well constructed with quality materials. This takes a lot of the back breaking work out of cutting fire wood. I would highly recommend it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
February 14, 2014
By sprinterracer
from Indiana
"This Timberjack works very well, only problem is I wish it had a little more over center action with a largeer stop to keep the log from rolling down the handle."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Back & Time Saver

,
February 4, 2014
By zubasdaddy
from snellville, ga
"i just used this for the first time to cut up 4 downed trees on my property. 1 hickory, 1 birch and 2 red oak. No more breaking my back trying to lift long logs to prop them up or turn them to keep my chainsaw blade out of the dirt. I cut these up in record time and the timber jack handled them with ease. I pushed the diameter limit on about an 18-20" red oak. No problem. I was concerned that the weight of the oak might bend the handle--no chance. Tool is sturdy and does the job as expected."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.