Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L

Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L

Item# 38674
"This Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack innovative high carbon steel double hook gives you a solid hold on logs up to 16in. dia. The patent-pending 1 1/2in. dia. fiberglass handle with 3/8in. steel core rod and A-frame stand keep chain saw chains from running into the ground for safer cutting, preventing chain damage, pinching and binds. Length ft. 4, Handle Material Fiberglass w/steel core, Handles Logs Diameter in. 16, Hook Material Carbon steel. High carbon steel double hook gets a solid hold on logs of all sizes Durable patent-pending 1 1/2in. dia. fiberglass handle with 3/8 in. steel core rod Patent-pending A-frame stand has two-bolt design for extra strength Textured rubber grip for comfort and secure grip"
Average Customer Rating:
4.72 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (50 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
49 of 50(98%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Review 1 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Timberjack

,
May 23, 2015
By blk1940
from Weaverville, CA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" This tool is built stronger/sturdier than I imagined!! A very nice surprise in this day & age of inferior products!! Works as should and I LOVE using it!! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Gift

,
May 9, 2015
By Choochoo99
from Marietta, NY
" I bought this as a gift for my husband and he loves it. He uses it every time he cuts wood for our home. He says it works great. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
May 1, 2015
By Mtlumberjack
from Helena, MT
" More than I expected. Sturdy and well made. Makes bucking logs easy. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Log jack

,
April 19, 2015
By Mh24
from N Stonington ct
" Real chin saw. Saver keeps the log off the ground and the chin off the Forrest floor. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

quality

,
April 15, 2015
By doler
from hudson Wyo
" very well made and heavy construction, will last a life time. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Log lift

,
April 4, 2015
By olddude1
from Enumclaw, WA
" Great and heavy duty for sure. Doesn't work on 6" and smaller logs "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

ROUGHNECK DOUBLE HOOK A-FRAME 48inL

,
March 26, 2015
By WCR111
from Harrison, Ohio
" We had no problem rolling logs 30" in DIA.
But the biggest we could flip on the "A" frame was 22" DIA.
Tool moved logs around a lot easier and with more control. Had some slip when the bark came loose.
But all in all a great tool to own if you are cutting up large logs for fire wood.
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

48" Timberjack

,
March 25, 2015
By Dawt
from KCMO
" Solid built - works great with lifting and positioning average size logs for cutting around the home. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Timberjack

,
March 13, 2015
By sobie
from Green Bay, WI
" Works Awesome! A must have tool for making firewood. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Item!

,
March 4, 2015
By o2bfree2
from Maryland
" Used this log roller the first day. Pricey but well constructed. Great product. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjac

,
March 4, 2015
By Dnelson
from Houston, TX
" The timber jack came in a long box and only required minimal assembly of the 3 parts included. Normally I use a tractor with a grapple to hold logs while we cut them up, but every now and then I am by myself and prefer to not keep hopping on and off the tractor. This timberjack works great. I have now used it over the past couple of weekends and can say it does make sawing logs much easier and keeps the chainsaw blade out of the dirt. I feel it is a must have for one person sawing especially if you don't have a tractor. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good helper, quality tool

,
February 19, 2015
By Theophob
from FL
" A heavy-duty timberjack. Grabs logs tight and foot is nice and wide. I wish there was one more hook on the arm for lifting slightly smaller logs, but that's not a deal breaker... just me being lazy and wanting to use it on the small timber. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Timberjack

,
February 18, 2015
By reallygam
from Oregon
" Sturdy, handle could be two feet longer, and the nonslip grip should be glued onto the handle. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very stout

,
February 6, 2015
By Capytan1
from Hallam, NE
" Used this just last week while clearing trees along a fence row. I Really liked how stout the handle is. Worked just like I hoped.
I simply hooked the log, pulled the bar over and, there it sat. No more chainsaws in the dirt.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

double hook timberjack

,
February 4, 2015
By dwilli
from michigan
" heavy duty, well made definitely better than the last one I owned . handles 30 foot long 16 inch logs no problem. excellent product. if you are looking for this kind of tool don't hesitate it will meet all expectations. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works Great

,
February 4, 2015
By RCFNGSO
from Greensboro North Carolina
" Fast Delivery
Easy quick assembly
Well made-
Works great- sure beats trying to lift logs by hand and cram something underneath to get off ground to cut!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great item

,
January 22, 2015
By 714TJ
from Tampa, FL
" If you cut your own firewood or trim your own propertty you need this. I am able to move large logs easily and set them up for cutting - so you don't mess up your chainsaw blade. This does it"s job perfectly. The only that's missing is someone to do the work for you. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great tool!

,
January 20, 2015
By MS04
from Cincinnati, OH
" This product does exactly what it says it will do. The Timberjack was easy to assembly. Handling logs for sawing is made easy by using this tool. Very sturdy construction. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Timberjack

,
January 9, 2015
By Foxfire1127
from Palmerton,PA
" Does just what I hoped. Saves me from continually having to sharpen my chainsaw because I no longer did into the ground with it and it also saves my back. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tool

,
January 9, 2015
By SophiesDad
from Pylesville, Maryland
" The Timber jack is the quality tool just as it is advertised. It saves a lot of energy and back strain and can extend work production. As good an investment as my chain saw. I will be back to Northern Tool to check out the rest of the products they carry from Timberjack and other manufacturers. Well worth the money and the time! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.