Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L

Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L

Item# 38674
"This Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack innovative high carbon steel double hook gives you a solid hold on logs up to 16in. dia. The patent-pending 1 1/2in. dia. fiberglass handle with 3/8in. steel core rod and A-frame stand keep chain saw chains from running into the ground for safer cutting, preventing chain damage, pinching and binds. Length ft. 4, Handle Material Fiberglass w/steel core, Handles Logs Diameter in. 16, Hook Material Carbon steel. High carbon steel double hook gets a solid hold on logs of all sizes Durable patent-pending 1 1/2in. dia. fiberglass handle with 3/8 in. steel core rod Patent-pending A-frame stand has two-bolt design for extra strength Textured rubber grip for comfort and secure grip"
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(51 Reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (51 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
49 of 51(96%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Review 1 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Quality control problem

,
June 23, 2015
By Comweb
from Southwest Colorado
" I guess I just got a bad unit but I could not insert the stand into the handle. It did not fit. I tried pounding it in but gave up. I figured out that the thick black coating that they apply to the end of the handle was also applied inside the slot that the stand fit in. Once I scraped the coating out with a screwdriver, chisel, and file, the stand fit fine. However, I don't think anyone should have to spend 45-60 minutes fixing a new tool. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Northern Tool:By Northern ToolJuly 1, 2015
Thanks you for your feedback on your Roughneck Timberjack. We absolutely agree that you should not have to fabricate a brand new product and apologize for the time spent on this. The information has been passed on in order to improve the manufacturing process in future.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Timberjack

,
May 23, 2015
By blk1940
from Weaverville, CA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" This tool is built stronger/sturdier than I imagined!! A very nice surprise in this day & age of inferior products!! Works as should and I LOVE using it!! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Gift

,
May 9, 2015
By Choochoo99
from Marietta, NY
" I bought this as a gift for my husband and he loves it. He uses it every time he cuts wood for our home. He says it works great. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
May 1, 2015
By Mtlumberjack
from Helena, MT
" More than I expected. Sturdy and well made. Makes bucking logs easy. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Log jack

,
April 19, 2015
By Mh24
from N Stonington ct
" Real chin saw. Saver keeps the log off the ground and the chin off the Forrest floor. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

quality

,
April 15, 2015
By doler
from hudson Wyo
" very well made and heavy construction, will last a life time. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Log lift

,
April 4, 2015
By olddude1
from Enumclaw, WA
" Great and heavy duty for sure. Doesn't work on 6" and smaller logs "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

ROUGHNECK DOUBLE HOOK A-FRAME 48inL

,
March 26, 2015
By WCR111
from Harrison, Ohio
" We had no problem rolling logs 30" in DIA.
But the biggest we could flip on the "A" frame was 22" DIA.
Tool moved logs around a lot easier and with more control. Had some slip when the bark came loose.
But all in all a great tool to own if you are cutting up large logs for fire wood.
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

48" Timberjack

,
March 25, 2015
By Dawt
from KCMO
" Solid built - works great with lifting and positioning average size logs for cutting around the home. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Timberjack

,
March 13, 2015
By sobie
from Green Bay, WI
" Works Awesome! A must have tool for making firewood. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Item!

,
March 4, 2015
By o2bfree2
from Maryland
" Used this log roller the first day. Pricey but well constructed. Great product. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjac

,
March 4, 2015
By Dnelson
from Houston, TX
" The timber jack came in a long box and only required minimal assembly of the 3 parts included. Normally I use a tractor with a grapple to hold logs while we cut them up, but every now and then I am by myself and prefer to not keep hopping on and off the tractor. This timberjack works great. I have now used it over the past couple of weekends and can say it does make sawing logs much easier and keeps the chainsaw blade out of the dirt. I feel it is a must have for one person sawing especially if you don't have a tractor. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good helper, quality tool

,
February 19, 2015
By Theophob
from FL
" A heavy-duty timberjack. Grabs logs tight and foot is nice and wide. I wish there was one more hook on the arm for lifting slightly smaller logs, but that's not a deal breaker... just me being lazy and wanting to use it on the small timber. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Timberjack

,
February 18, 2015
By reallygam
from Oregon
" Sturdy, handle could be two feet longer, and the nonslip grip should be glued onto the handle. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very stout

,
February 6, 2015
By Capytan1
from Hallam, NE
" Used this just last week while clearing trees along a fence row. I Really liked how stout the handle is. Worked just like I hoped.
I simply hooked the log, pulled the bar over and, there it sat. No more chainsaws in the dirt.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

double hook timberjack

,
February 4, 2015
By dwilli
from michigan
" heavy duty, well made definitely better than the last one I owned . handles 30 foot long 16 inch logs no problem. excellent product. if you are looking for this kind of tool don't hesitate it will meet all expectations. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works Great

,
February 4, 2015
By RCFNGSO
from Greensboro North Carolina
" Fast Delivery
Easy quick assembly
Well made-
Works great- sure beats trying to lift logs by hand and cram something underneath to get off ground to cut!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great item

,
January 22, 2015
By 714TJ
from Tampa, FL
" If you cut your own firewood or trim your own propertty you need this. I am able to move large logs easily and set them up for cutting - so you don't mess up your chainsaw blade. This does it"s job perfectly. The only that's missing is someone to do the work for you. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great tool!

,
January 20, 2015
By MS04
from Cincinnati, OH
" This product does exactly what it says it will do. The Timberjack was easy to assembly. Handling logs for sawing is made easy by using this tool. Very sturdy construction. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Timberjack

,
January 9, 2015
By Foxfire1127
from Palmerton,PA
" Does just what I hoped. Saves me from continually having to sharpen my chainsaw because I no longer did into the ground with it and it also saves my back. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.