Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L

Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L

Item# 38674
"This Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack innovative high carbon steel double hook gives you a solid hold on logs up to 16in. dia. The patent-pending 1 1/2in. dia. fiberglass handle with 3/8in. steel core rod and A-frame stand keep chain saw chains from running into the ground for safer cutting, preventing chain damage, pinching and binds. Handle Material Fiberglass w/steel core, Hook Material Carbon steel, Length ft. 4, Handles Logs Diameter in. 16. High carbon steel double hook gets a solid hold on logs of all sizes Durable patent-pending 1 1/2in. dia. fiberglass handle with 3/8 in. steel core rod Patent-pending A-frame stand has two-bolt design for extra strength Textured rubber grip for comfort and secure grip"
Average Customer Rating:
4.692 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (39 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
38 of 39(97%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Review 1 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good helper, quality tool

,
February 19, 2015
By Theophob
from FL
" A heavy-duty timberjack. Grabs logs tight and foot is nice and wide. I wish there was one more hook on the arm for lifting slightly smaller logs, but that's not a deal breaker... just me being lazy and wanting to use it on the small timber. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Timberjack

,
February 18, 2015
By reallygam
from Oregon
" Sturdy, handle could be two feet longer, and the nonslip grip should be glued onto the handle. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very stout

,
February 6, 2015
By Capytan1
from Hallam, NE
" Used this just last week while clearing trees along a fence row. I Really liked how stout the handle is. Worked just like I hoped.
I simply hooked the log, pulled the bar over and, there it sat. No more chainsaws in the dirt.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

double hook timberjack

,
February 4, 2015
By dwilli
from michigan
" heavy duty, well made definitely better than the last one I owned . handles 30 foot long 16 inch logs no problem. excellent product. if you are looking for this kind of tool don't hesitate it will meet all expectations. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works Great

,
February 4, 2015
By RCFNGSO
from Greensboro North Carolina
" Fast Delivery
Easy quick assembly
Well made-
Works great- sure beats trying to lift logs by hand and cram something underneath to get off ground to cut!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great item

,
January 22, 2015
By 714TJ
from Tampa, FL
" If you cut your own firewood or trim your own propertty you need this. I am able to move large logs easily and set them up for cutting - so you don't mess up your chainsaw blade. This does it"s job perfectly. The only that's missing is someone to do the work for you. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great tool!

,
January 20, 2015
By MS04
from Cincinnati, OH
" This product does exactly what it says it will do. The Timberjack was easy to assembly. Handling logs for sawing is made easy by using this tool. Very sturdy construction. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Timberjack

,
January 9, 2015
By Foxfire1127
from Palmerton,PA
" Does just what I hoped. Saves me from continually having to sharpen my chainsaw because I no longer did into the ground with it and it also saves my back. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tool

,
January 9, 2015
By SophiesDad
from Pylesville, Maryland
" The Timber jack is the quality tool just as it is advertised. It saves a lot of energy and back strain and can extend work production. As good an investment as my chain saw. I will be back to Northern Tool to check out the rest of the products they carry from Timberjack and other manufacturers. Well worth the money and the time! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great purchase

,
January 3, 2015
By Bigdipper
from Northern, MN
" I purchased this Timberjack for a friend of mine. I had bought one for myself a few months earlier and we had used mine at his cabin to lift and cut up some logs. He was so impressed with it's ability to hook onto, lift and flip over a log that he wanted one for himself. We both heat our houses with indoor furnaces or wood stoves so we are working with logs quite a bit each year. This Timberjack this a great back saver. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A-Frame Timberjack

,
December 31, 2014
By Dave1955
from Dale, IN
" Heavy duty. Works Great. Saves the chain on chain saw. No way to break this thing. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tool

,
December 30, 2014
By mcats
from GA
" I used this timber jack yesterday and I don't know how I did without one. Very handy. Not real heavy duty but fine for most trees. I used it on a couple of 17 inch diameter with no problem. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

problems with my timberjack.

,
December 27, 2014
By jeffro72
from cinty.oh.
" right now,the problem is I can't remember which one of my neighbors borrowed it last. This thing is the most popular tool in the neighborhood. We have a problem with ash trees in this part of ohio and professional removal is so expensive,we usually do it ourselves.This tool is worth it's weight in gold. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Timberjack

,
December 22, 2014
By SFOR
from MD
" Works great, saves time how much more can I say. Cannot say anymore. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Well built timberjack

,
December 1, 2014
By JJor
from Oregon
" A solid built tool with a heavy handle. Great for jacking up a medium sized log for cutting away from the dirt to save your chainsaw. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L

,
November 20, 2014
By solarenergy4savings
from Aberdeen,SD
" Works great !!! Just like video in your advertisement showed. Just a little difficult to lift longer, heavy logs. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Heavy and Great tool when it is not broken

,
November 19, 2014
By sonofkittim
from Traverse City, MI
" I have maneuvered some really big and really small logs in the three times that I have used this tool and happy with performance. I was out in the forest last week and the entire head fell off the pole!
This is a heavy tool and there is only a small set screw keeping the whole thing together.
I as well added a couple hitch pins so that the jack portion of the hook can easily be removed because when bucking a large log the jack can get in the way.
Other then having to fix this tool after three uses, it is a pretty good tool. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Roughneck 48" timber jack

,
November 18, 2014
By flyboy65
from Florence,Alabama
" I works good for handeling logs. I just used it the other day to twist a tree to get it off the stump. It seems to be designed well and well made. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good tool

,
November 9, 2014
By Cann
from Katy Tx
" This is a very handy tool for getting firewood. My chainsaw agrees ;-) - gets the wood clear of the ground for dicing into fireplace sizes. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

a must have

,
November 5, 2014
By JT11
from MIchigan
" this is a very well built tool! Easy to put together, I wish the base was a little wider and thicker because it can sink in soft soils under heavy loads. Otherwise, it works perfect. It saves tons of time and prolongs the life of the chain by avoiding unintentional contact with the ground. An absolute must have for cutting up down trees. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.