Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L

Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L

Item# 38674
"This Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack innovative high carbon steel double hook gives you a solid hold on logs up to 16in. dia. The patent-pending 1 1/2in. dia. fiberglass handle with 3/8in. steel core rod and A-frame stand keep chain saw chains from running into the ground for safer cutting, preventing chain damage, pinching and binds. Handles Logs Diameter in. 16, Length ft. 4, Handle Material Fiberglass w/steel core, Hook Material Carbon steel. High carbon steel double hook gets a solid hold on logs of all sizes Durable patent-pending 1 1/2in. dia. fiberglass handle with 3/8 in. steel core rod Patent-pending A-frame stand has two-bolt design for extra strength Textured rubber grip for comfort and secure grip"
Average Customer Rating:
4.72 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (25 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
24 of 25(96%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Review 1 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Well built timberjack

,
December 1, 2014
By JJor
from Oregon
" A solid built tool with a heavy handle. Great for jacking up a medium sized log for cutting away from the dirt to save your chainsaw. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L

,
November 20, 2014
By solarenergy4savings
from Aberdeen,SD
" Works great !!! Just like video in your advertisement showed. Just a little difficult to lift longer, heavy logs. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Heavy and Great tool when it is not broken

,
November 19, 2014
By sonofkittim
from Traverse City, MI
" I have maneuvered some really big and really small logs in the three times that I have used this tool and happy with performance. I was out in the forest last week and the entire head fell off the pole!
This is a heavy tool and there is only a small set screw keeping the whole thing together.
I as well added a couple hitch pins so that the jack portion of the hook can easily be removed because when bucking a large log the jack can get in the way.
Other then having to fix this tool after three uses, it is a pretty good tool. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Roughneck 48" timber jack

,
November 18, 2014
By flyboy65
from Florence,Alabama
" I works good for handeling logs. I just used it the other day to twist a tree to get it off the stump. It seems to be designed well and well made. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good tool

,
November 9, 2014
By Cann
from Katy Tx
" This is a very handy tool for getting firewood. My chainsaw agrees ;-) - gets the wood clear of the ground for dicing into fireplace sizes. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

a must have

,
November 5, 2014
By JT11
from MIchigan
" this is a very well built tool! Easy to put together, I wish the base was a little wider and thicker because it can sink in soft soils under heavy loads. Otherwise, it works perfect. It saves tons of time and prolongs the life of the chain by avoiding unintentional contact with the ground. An absolute must have for cutting up down trees. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

exellent

,
November 1, 2014
By badpuppy92
from ida
" After wrestling wood around for years, I decided to purchase the rough neck timber jack and am loving it. It has made my work load light. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Even my wife can use it!

,
October 30, 2014
By Icehawk
from Mio, MI
" This log jack meets and exceeds advertising. I've used it for as big as 18" logs. As long as you've got the weight to flip it the jack will support it. If they make a handle extension for more leverage then I'll get it. Otherwise, I'll just have to put my wife on the end of it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

up and out of the dirt

,
October 28, 2014
By strech
from michigan
" Worked very nice,keeps the log up so not to be on your knees,also keeps chain saw bar away from ground. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Timberjack

,
October 26, 2014
By lumbermanTim
from Ohio
" This tool is great for turning and lifting logs. Can handle larger logs as big as 20-24" dia.
only complaint was that the sharp hook mounted on the handle-part needs to be made out of thicker steel because I bent mine.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tool for woodcutting

,
September 30, 2014
By Gil7
from Idaho
" Easily turns a log and raises it for using a chainsaw without dulling your chain in the dirt. Great leverage. Solidly built. The double hook allows for use on both small and larger logs. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

48" TIMBERJACK

,
September 26, 2014
By doa411
from albany ny
" Excellent tool for lifting med/large logs for firewood. A sturdy and well balanced tool...should last a lifetime "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

"2nd man"

,
September 25, 2014
By Czqk
from Florida
" Cut down six trees and used this tool to cut them up into firewood logs. Tool is very strong and I used it on trees up to 20". Easy to use in lifting the timber to cut without fear of getting the ground.
Already paid for itself. If you are a home owner who cut your own trees you need this tool if for no other reason then safety in cutting the logs.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceeded expectations, excelent product

,
September 23, 2014
By Barry972
from Oro Valley, Az.
" More stability and support than anticipated.
Easy to use
Improved safety
Very satisfied
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

TIMBER JACK

,
September 22, 2014
By Gunnersmateguns
from MICHIGAN
" The first use of this tool I latched onto a 25' swamp ash 14" across weighing 1 1/2 ton or better! I'm 6'6" and closing in at 300lbs. I had to really lay into it but she rolled just as I wanted! I'm very impressed!! She's worked every time and it's a real labor saver. I could not be more happy in a logging tool! Worth every penny! USN(ret) "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

roughneck timberjack

,
September 21, 2014
By batman16
from new hampshire
" this item was as advertised and worked great I use it on my property and have not had any issues "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjac

,
September 4, 2014
By KJS1227
from Escambia, FL & Baldwin, AL
" I have used some sort of leverage or Peavey Pole for 54 years starting at my grandfathers knees holding a log in place for him to cut. I saw this after recovering an Oak Tree from my neighbors yard using a 6' bar and a jack. I tried it right out of the box without tightening the bolts - MAGIC. I moved one log around at ease and lifted it into a cutting position with no help. My help watched with a big smile on her face! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

logging

,
June 18, 2014
By wood6security
from mass
" I purchaced a roughneck logging tool and I am completely satisfied with the quality and workman ship of this tool. I wood recommend this company to all my friends "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Product is as advetized

,
May 5, 2014
By LLS2
from Nevada, MO
" I have not used as yet but it is easy to put to gather and is very heavy duty. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awsome 48" timber jack

,
May 3, 2014
By cj60
from RI
" The first time I used this tool I moved a 10 foot long 18 inch diameter log. I could roll the log with 1 hand.
This is an awesome product, a big improvement over wood handle peavy or cant hook. As a side note my grandfather owned a sawmill and I learned at a young age how to move logs.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.