Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L

Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L

Item# 38674
"This Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack innovative high carbon steel double hook gives you a solid hold on logs up to 16in. dia. The patent-pending 1 1/2in. dia. fiberglass handle with 3/8in. steel core rod and A-frame stand keep chainsaw chains from running into the ground for safer cutting, preventing chain damage, pinching and binds. Handle Material Fiberglass w/steel core, Length ft. 4, Handles Logs Diameter in. 16, Hook Material Carbon steel. High carbon steel double hook gets a solid hold on logs of all sizes Durable patent-pending 1 1/2in. dia. fiberglass handle with 3/8 in. steel core rod Patent-pending A-frame stand has two-bolt design for extra strength Textured rubber grip for comfort and secure grip"
Average Customer Rating:
4.688 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(61 Reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (61 reviews)
5 stars
47
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
59 of 61(97%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Review 1 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

the big hook

,
February 4, 2016
By
from Evergreen ,coloradoo
I tried it out when it came,really works well, it is sitting on my bench and my friends want to borrow it ,I have said that are on sale at Northern Tool ,buy your own.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Built tough

,
January 17, 2016
By
from Ripon, WI
Used on some larger logs with ease. Held up and not even close to the maximum it could take. I had been thinking of buying one for years, not sure why I waited so long.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

1st Time using a Log Lifter Timberjack

,
January 8, 2016
By
from Hot Springs Village, Ar.
I needed to cut up some downed Trees. Here in Arkansas, the soil is full of rocks. I dulled 2 chains in a hurry! So, I bought this product, and it worked great! One was an oak tree, had to cut it in about 10 ft. lengths so I could get one end off the ground. This product is easy to assemble and built out of thick steel, VERY heavy duty! The initial cost of it, will save me even more in chain saw blade sharpenings!! AAA+++.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjac

,
December 12, 2015
By
from Coatesville, PA
Solid tool, works well, a little on the heavy side.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Timberjack for larger trees

,
November 15, 2015
By
from GA
This product is heavy-duty and well constructed - not for anything under 8" diameter, this timberjack is designed for larger and heavier trees.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

One Tough Tool!

,
November 7, 2015
By
from North Carolina
The double hook works very well, especially on old logs with rotting bark, and has good leverage to raise the log for cutting into fireplace-sized chunks.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality tool

,
October 5, 2015
By
from Freeport, OHIO
Does exactly what's it's supposed to do. Have used on logs from 12" to 18" with no problems. A must have when cutting firewood by yourself. Used similar items to have them fail on larger logs. This unit might flex just a tad on the largest of logs, but no where near a failure. My last unit from another manufacturer actually folded in half on a 14" log.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rough Neck Log Tool

,
September 14, 2015
By
from Marl ton, NJ
This tool is fantastic, it grips and lifts the log to the right height for your cutting needs. The fiberglass is the best for tough logs with big knots. Great tool.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome help for cutting wood alone

,
July 23, 2015
By
from Michigan
I am very pleased with this as it makes cutting logs much easier when doing it alone.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Double hook timberjack

,
July 20, 2015
By
from Gualala, CA
It works well to lift trunks between 18 and 10 inches in diameter. It does NOTt work when the trunk gets thinner. It will not "grab" the trunk/log. It looks as if it had a third hook, it might work in a wider range of trunks. Also, it is a bit tricky to use in slopes. Always lift from the downslope side as it will not hold the trunk if the handle is uphill. The whole thing rolls down hill. The plastic caps at either end of the A frame are rather cheap and do not fit tightly. It looks like they will get lost in the field easily. The jack came hardware with no washers. When I put it together, I had to get 5 SS washers to get a sturdier build.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Quality control problem

,
June 23, 2015
By
from Southwest Colorado
I guess I just got a bad unit but I could not insert the stand into the handle. It did not fit. I tried pounding it in but gave up. I figured out that the thick black coating that they apply to the end of the handle was also applied inside the slot that the stand fit in. Once I scraped the coating out with a screwdriver, chisel, and file, the stand fit fine. However, I don't think anyone should have to spend 45-60 minutes fixing a new tool.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Response from Northern Tool:By Northern ToolJuly 1, 2015
Thanks you for your feedback on your Roughneck Timberjack. We absolutely agree that you should not have to fabricate a brand new product and apologize for the time spent on this. The information has been passed on in order to improve the manufacturing process in future.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Timberjack

,
May 23, 2015
By
from Weaverville, CA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This tool is built stronger/sturdier than I imagined!! A very nice surprise in this day & age of inferior products!! Works as should and I LOVE using it!!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Gift

,
May 9, 2015
By
from Marietta, NY
I bought this as a gift for my husband and he loves it. He uses it every time he cuts wood for our home. He says it works great.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
May 1, 2015
By
from Helena, MT
More than I expected. Sturdy and well made. Makes bucking logs easy.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Log jack

,
April 19, 2015
By
from N Stonington ct
Real chin saw. Saver keeps the log off the ground and the chin off the Forrest floor.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

quality

,
April 15, 2015
By
from hudson Wyo
very well made and heavy construction, will last a life time.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Log lift

,
April 4, 2015
By
from Enumclaw, WA
Great and heavy duty for sure. Doesn't work on 6" and smaller logs
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

ROUGHNECK DOUBLE HOOK A-FRAME 48inL

,
March 26, 2015
By
from Harrison, Ohio
We had no problem rolling logs 30" in DIA.
But the biggest we could flip on the "A" frame was 22" DIA.
Tool moved logs around a lot easier and with more control. Had some slip when the bark came loose.
But all in all a great tool to own if you are cutting up large logs for fire wood.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

48" Timberjack

,
March 25, 2015
By
from KCMO
Solid built - works great with lifting and positioning average size logs for cutting around the home.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Roughneck Double Hook Steel Core A-Frame Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Timberjack

,
March 13, 2015
By
from Green Bay, WI
Works Awesome! A must have tool for making firewood.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.