Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Ironton Wooden Handle Timberjack - 36in.L

Ironton Wooden Handle Timberjack - 36in.L

Item# 38675
"This Ironton Wooden Handle Timberjack is a great tool for turning logs and holding them off the ground for safe cutting. Helps prevent chain damage, pinching and binds. Built with an ergonomically shaped lacquered hardwood handle and high carbon steel hook. Handle Material Hardwood, Hook Material Carbon steel, Handles Logs Diameter in. 8-10, Length ft. 3. Built to last with an ergonomically shaped lacquered hardwood handle Durable high carbon steel hook Remove the rigid stand for cant hook work"
Average Customer Rating:
4.316 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (19 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
17 of 19(89%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ironton Wooden Handle Timberjack - 36in.L
Review 1 for Ironton Wooden Handle Timberjack - 36in.L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Log turner

,
February 22, 2016
By
from Sandy or
It work for what I needed to do I've used it to cut 5 cords of firewood and it has not broke
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ironton Wooden Handle Timberjack - 36in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's flippin' good

,
December 26, 2015
By
from Groveland, CA
Well-built timberjack for use as an old-school logging tool. No need to ruin the back if you use this tool!
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ironton Wooden Handle Timberjack - 36in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Timberjack

,
December 11, 2015
By
from Los Alamos, NM
My Son in Law and I go into the Jemez Mountains for wood every fall. This little tool helped us keep our chainsaws from hitting the dirt by not having to cut on the ground. It's leverage is quite good for having such a short handle. I am buying another one for a gift this Christmas.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ironton Wooden Handle Timberjack - 36in.L
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Get the 48 inch version of this product

,
October 31, 2015
By
from Valparaiso, FL
Consider the fact that you are trying to rotate a log up onto the jack stand which is almost a foot long in itself; 36 inches just doesn't give you that much a mechanical advantage. I bought this on sale and if I had waited a week or two the 48 inch version went on sale, seems the sales rotate around so be more patient than I was and get the longer handle when its at a good price. BTW, very strong design making it slightly heavy but sure to last a long time.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ironton Wooden Handle Timberjack - 36in.L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Ironton Timberjack

,
October 29, 2015
By
from Indian River, MI
I am satisfied with the product as advertised and delivered. I do find the handle to be a bit short (my mistake in ordering). The hardwood handle is heavy duty and cleanly finished. I find the linkage between the parts to be a bit loosly toleranced which impact performance. I would rate the product a good value for the price.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ironton Wooden Handle Timberjack - 36in.L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

How to save your chain saw chain

,
June 4, 2015
By
from WA state
This works really good for elevating a log to cut so you are not running your chain in the ground when you cut it off ; it's very stout, could use a longer handle for more leverage on the big stuff, but works very well.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ironton Wooden Handle Timberjack - 36in.L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

36" Wooden Handle Timberjack

,
May 18, 2015
By
from New Hampshire
I recently purchased the 36" Wooden Handle Timberjack, I wasn't to sure about the short handle for rolling some of the Oak logs I cut for firewood, but I have had good luck with it, handle is very strong it doesn't flex when you put your back into it, Very well built, I would definitely recommend this product.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ironton Wooden Handle Timberjack - 36in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Timberjack to the rescue

,
January 29, 2015
By
from State College, PA
I fell approximately 5-6 cords worth of firewood each year. I have been searching for a good Timberjack type product for the past two years. I finally found the perfect one.
I was initially worried about a wooden handle on such a product - but don't worry - this is one solid thick beautiful handle. It is so impressive I can't imagine it breaking if used properly.
I have used the product now on three different oak and cherry trees that were approximately 24 to 30 inches in diameter. This Timberjack was extremely helpful in cutting through the logs once on the ground. I use a 24 inch chainsaw - so I need to roll the logs two or three times to cut through them. The Timberjack allowed me to do this so easily. In the past I used a 40 pound six foot metal shaft to help roll the logs. The difference is night and day. I can easily move the logs using the Timberjack.
I would highly recommend this device to any amateur lumberjack.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ironton Wooden Handle Timberjack - 36in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cant Hook

,
December 10, 2014
By
from McEwen, TN
The cant hook that I purchased was a quality piece of tool. The handle is of great size eliminating the possibility of breaking. The metal hook seems to be sturdy enough for the toughest jobs. After using the tool I was convinced that I made the right choice. Sure saves the chain on the saw and makes wood cutting easier. Will highly recommend!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ironton Wooden Handle Timberjack - 36in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wooden Handle

,
October 21, 2014
By
from Eastern Nebraska
If you have any misgivings about the strength of a wooden handle, don't worry. It does not bend or creak when I use it. A strongman contest contestant might be able to find a way to break the handle. But if you're an average guy like me, that will never happen. My first impression of the handle when opening the box was that it was like a belaying pin on sailing ship, sturdy and unbendable.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ironton Wooden Handle Timberjack - 36in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

log roller

,
September 4, 2014
By
from north carolina
works well with clean up from fallen trees. a must when cutting logs by yourself. just hook it roll it over and its off the ground for easy cut and no digging in dirt with your chainsaw
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ironton Wooden Handle Timberjack - 36in.L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Ironton wooden handle timberjack 36"

,
August 31, 2014
By
from Maurepas, La
It does the job, but it is kinda loose where it is suppose to sit on the ground (t-bar). Sturdy construction; but could be tighter like I say where it is suppose to sit on the ground and let you cut a long piece of wood.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ironton Wooden Handle Timberjack - 36in.L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

It works

,
August 10, 2014
By
from Houston, TX
This timber jack works awesome. All of the parts are of high quality. The only reason this did not get 5 stars is the handle. It is very large in diameter and seems to be made of a middle weight wood. If it were synthetic or possibly a more common size it would have been better. Would definite suggest this item.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ironton Wooden Handle Timberjack - 36in.L
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

36" Northern Ironman Timberjack

,
May 1, 2014
By
from Richmond, VA
Handle is 12" too short making it harder to make it work as a lever. the horizontal part is the fulcrum but the handle needs to be longer so it is easier to manage the log. Tractor supply has it with 48" handle
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
4out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ironton Wooden Handle Timberjack - 36in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Get ur done

,
April 27, 2014
By
from Blairsville, GA
hey this tool is great no more dulling your chain saw chain it keeps the wood up off the ground as you cut wish had one years ago
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ironton Wooden Handle Timberjack - 36in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great

,
February 7, 2014
By
from Frederick, Md
Cheap price and does the job of the more expensive ones.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ironton Wooden Handle Timberjack - 36in.L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Timberjack

,
February 5, 2014
By
from Northern California
Great item for using around the homestead. I do alot of milling of homestead timber. A one man operation that owning a timberjack makes so much easier. Very easy to use, very affordable, should last quite awhile. The only reason to give it four stars is that it wasn't made in the USA.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ironton Wooden Handle Timberjack - 36in.L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good description

,
February 4, 2014
By
from N WI
Good product for the money. Grips most logs and does a good job keeping them off the ground while cutting.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ironton Wooden Handle Timberjack - 36in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very impressive

,
February 4, 2014
By
from Gagetown, MI
I was thoroughly impressed with the quality and robust design.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.