Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Ironton Wooden Handle Timberjack - 48in.L

Ironton Wooden Handle Timberjack - 48in.L

Item# 38676
"This Ironton Wooden Handle Timberjack is a great tool for turning logs and holding them off the ground for safe cutting. Helps prevent chain damage, pinching and binds. Built with an ergonomically shaped lacquered hardwood handle and high carbon steel hook. Handles Logs Diameter in. 8-10, Hook Material Carbon steel, Length ft. 4, Handle Material Hardwood. Built to last with an ergonomically shaped lacquered hardwood handle Durable high carbon steel hook Remove the rigid stand for cant hook work"
Average Customer Rating:
4.273 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (22 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
21 of 22(95%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ironton Wooden Handle Timberjack - 48in.L
Review 1 for Ironton Wooden Handle Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

solid handle, decent build

,
December 23, 2015
By
from New Hampshire
This timberjack came in three pieces with some bolts/nuts. The handle is solid wood, thick as well. Great companion for homeowner logging projects and firewood.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ironton Wooden Handle Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

The third hand

,
December 23, 2015
By
from Charlotte
Used it a good bit on several trees we had dropped in our back woodlot. Works real good on smaller logs but not for the 15 inch and bigger.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ironton Wooden Handle Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent quality, Sturdy Construction

,
November 10, 2015
By
from Vermont
Simple assembly required, excellent quality. Works well at what it is intended for, to lift logs from ground before cutting. Protects chainsaw from hitting ground. Good value for the quality.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ironton Wooden Handle Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Timberjack

,
November 7, 2015
By
from Springfield, SD
I like it because it keeps my chain out of the dirt
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ironton Wooden Handle Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Does what it's suppose to

,
November 7, 2015
By
from Gorgia
It works as advertised , well built and has braces in the right places. The only thing I did not like is the handle is really big, and I wear a large glove. That said it is a better tool than my neighbor bought, and was cheeper too.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ironton Wooden Handle Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sturdy economical timberjack

,
November 5, 2015
By
from callaway, virginia
Product arrived as stated in description. Decided on longer handle due to increased leverage. I am shorter, older woman and this helped turn the larger trees. The stand bought the height up for sawing and didn't strain my back as much . Sturdy and reliable tool to help with seasonal wood chopping.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ironton Wooden Handle Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Timberjack

,
November 2, 2015
By
from House Springs, Mo
I bought the timber jack to help a friend who was cutting down some trees. It was very handy to lift the fallen trees up so we could section the tree with the chain saw. The trees were oak and very heavy but the timber jack had no problems lifting them up so the chain saw did not strike the ground.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ironton Wooden Handle Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good helper

,
July 29, 2015
By
from Georgia
I am 72 years old and I work alone at home. When I cut down trees the timberjace is almost like another peson helping. Good tool.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ironton Wooden Handle Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect tool

,
June 3, 2015
By
from Minnesota
Surprising a tool this well made that fits the purpose as well as it does is so economical. Used it last weekend for the first time and will never cut up a tree without it in the future.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ironton Wooden Handle Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Log lifter

,
March 19, 2015
By
from Dansville, MI
Looks good for the price. Handle seems light,compared to others, but working good for now. We'll have to see how it holds up over time. Was half the cost of others.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ironton Wooden Handle Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Timberjack

,
February 5, 2015
By
from Portland, Oregon
I purchased the timberjack to move and position heavy logs. It work great and is a quality tool.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ironton Wooden Handle Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Timberjack

,
November 19, 2014
By
from PA.
The Timberjack has improved in its design with the addition of a gusset and two bolts instead of one.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ironton Wooden Handle Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tool

,
November 10, 2014
By
from Barron, WI
This is a great tool that will save your back and time, as well as your chain.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ironton Wooden Handle Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of money

,
August 5, 2014
By
from California
Mine broke on the first day I used it. It wasn't a very large log and snapped right where the wooden handle enters the steel shank. The wood handle was very brittle and had little strength. The steel part seemed to be made OK, but I would pass on this one.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ironton Wooden Handle Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Timberjack

,
July 3, 2014
By
from Virginia
If you used a chain saw before you know as soon as you hit dirt your blade is done. This worked well in getting the logs off the ground hen cutting. Very strong but light and handy tool to have.
Added Bonus: Will work great as a weapon in a zombie apocalypse.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ironton Wooden Handle Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Log roller

,
April 17, 2014
By
from Cumming, GA
Struggled whether to buy this, since it was half the price of others, that were recommended. Took a chance. What a surprise. This worked great for rolling logs, so my chainsaw wouldn't cut into the ground. Was cutting fallen trees, some 15" diameter, and this tool worked great. Well worth themoney. Had shipped to store, for free, and showed up in a couple of days. Already recommended to a neighbor
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ironton Wooden Handle Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tool, great price

,
April 12, 2014
By
from Marshall, Mo.
this is a heavy duty tool at a light duty price. Heavy, thick handle. Well worth the money.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ironton Wooden Handle Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

sturdy for the price

,
February 4, 2014
By
from mn
I have had this product for close to 5 years now and it holds up to good use ever season.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ironton Wooden Handle Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Back saver

,
February 4, 2014
By
from Schenectady, NY
I have a bad back and this tool eliminates bending over and lifting the log to prop it up for cutting.Its a really handy tool.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ironton Wooden Handle Timberjack - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Save your back and your chain

,
February 4, 2014
By
from Michigan
This tool lifts the log out of the dirt and snow, saving wear on your chain and and your back. We use it on logs from 4 inches to about 16 inches in diameter. It is very durable and easy to use. I've thought about getting a heavier version because...well, bigger is better, right? Then I think, why? This one handles it all.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.