Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Ironton Wooden Handle Cant Hook - 48in.L

Ironton Wooden Handle Cant Hook - 48in.L

Item# 38683
"This Ironton Wooden Handle Cant Hook is great for handling logs, cants and beams around the sawmill, as well as for rolling logs when cutting firewood. Holds a steel hook at the end of an ergonomically shaped hardwood handle with lacquered finish. Handle Material Hardwood, Handles Logs Diameter in. 8-10, Length ft. 4, Hook Material Steel. Durable steel hook Ergonomically shaped hardwood handle with lacquered finish Handles logs with 8-10in. diameter"
Average Customer Rating:
4.533 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (15 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 of 15(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ironton Wooden Handle Cant Hook - 48in.L
Review 1 for Ironton Wooden Handle Cant Hook - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

So Far So Good

,
March 23, 2016
By
from Maynard, MA
So far, so great. Well constructed at a reasonable price.
I now have a huge pile of wood in my driveway which needs to be separated and this is the tool to do it.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ironton Wooden Handle Cant Hook - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

,
February 29, 2016
By
from ohio
Ordered this tool online and received it 3 days later. The handle is thick and I imagine this tool will last me a lifetime. Great for rolling trees after the first cut to keep your chain out of the dirt and debris. Easily rolls logs that weigh in excess of 500 pounds.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ironton Wooden Handle Cant Hook - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Peavy

,
November 1, 2015
By
from Tenn.
Good heavy duty tool. Need big hands to be comfortable holding it. Hook point could have had a sharper, less angle end. That was solved with a hand grinder. Worth the money.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ironton Wooden Handle Cant Hook - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Back Saver

,
October 28, 2015
By
from San Diego, CA
Good quality for an affordable price.
Comparable to others priced higher.
Great finish, just keep out of too much damp.
Understand the length is for working in cramped areas and not as long as some others if you are going to be moving very heavy trunks.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ironton Wooden Handle Cant Hook - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

It works on smalller logs

,
October 24, 2015
By
from Advance NC
I need to roll larger logs and it will do it, but requires more effort. Really made for small logs as it describes in details.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ironton Wooden Handle Cant Hook - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Decent, but easily made better.

,
October 14, 2015
By
from Illinois
A overall good tool,with the exception of the hook. It's simply not long enough to allow a good bite on logs over 12" diameter. I lengthened mine 4" with a piece of 1/2" strapping, and now its a great hook. So it takes some modification, but for the price,you can't hardly beat it.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ironton Wooden Handle Cant Hook - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great buy!

,
August 23, 2015
By
from Pelham, MA
This cant worked perfectly for rolling 12-18" diameter, 16' oak logs for cutting cordwood. I was able to roll logs onto 4" diameter piece for halving and quartering without any problem. I've only used it for a month, but it seems bulletproof so far. Very pleased with price and performance.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ironton Wooden Handle Cant Hook - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Cant hook

,
March 12, 2015
By
from Buford,GA
I bought this cant to help with cutting down and sawing up 90+ pines. The lumber is being used in a post and beam building. The cant hook worked flawlessly and was a great help in turning the logs both on the ground and on the sawmill. Good heavy quality and reasonable in price.
thanks
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ironton Wooden Handle Cant Hook - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great can't hook

,
February 25, 2015
By
from Columbus , indiana
I just tried it once, and it worked great. Because of limited use I gave it 4 stars. It could be likley worth 5 stars.
After I use it more I will try to modified this review.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ironton Wooden Handle Cant Hook - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heavy Duty!

,
November 24, 2014
By
from Huntsville, AL
It works great. It works on larger logs as well. I used it on a log around 20" in diameter.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ironton Wooden Handle Cant Hook - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

PV

,
October 26, 2014
By
from NY
Good product for price, haven't used yet, time will tell.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-7points
0out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ironton Wooden Handle Cant Hook - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

cant hook-48" wood handle

,
September 21, 2014
By
from colorado
Nice product great price,works those logs like a pro gets them out of the dirt and ready to cut.Heavy duty handle and built tuffhooks on the log and gives you leverage so you can keep your chain sharp and free of rocks and dirt.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ironton Wooden Handle Cant Hook - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

well made product

,
September 4, 2014
By
from Kirkwood, PA
I have used this cant hook several times cutting firewood and it really does the job. The handle is very thick and the hook really digs in allowing you to rotate a log. I have used it to rotate a log that was about 20 inches in diameter. It has saved my chain from hitting the ground more than once. The only thing I wish is that the handle was about a foot longer for more leverage but for the price, it is fantastic.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ironton Wooden Handle Cant Hook - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Good Hook

,
August 10, 2014
By
from Jacksonville, FL
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This Cant Hook works great. The hook grabs easily and is easy to turn logs with the 2" diameter handle. The Handle is plenty long for leverage.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ironton Wooden Handle Cant Hook - 48in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great design

,
February 4, 2014
By
from connecticut
I have used several cant hooks this one works just fine.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.