Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Multi-Cutter Saw - 15 Amp, Model# DW872"

"FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Multi-Cutter Saw - 15 Amp, Model# DW872"

Item# 39419
"The DEWALT Multi-Cutter Saw offers versatility by cutting a wide variety of materials including ferrous and non-ferrous metals, cutting 4X faster than chop saws and 8X faster than portable band saws in 2in. x 2in. x 1/4in. angle iron. Utilizing a carbide-tipped blade allows the depth of cut to remain constant throughout blade life. Wheel Diameter in. 14, HP 4, Max. Cutting Capacity - Round in. 5 3/16, Amps 15, Base Steel, Handle D-handle, Wheel Included Yes, Shaft Lock Yes, Speed - No Load RPM 1,300, Vise Tool-free adjusting, pivoting, Wheel Change Wrench Included Yes. Motor provides more overload capacity to increase performance and durability 14in. 70-tooth carbide tipped blade delivers a lower cost-per-cut compared to cutting with abrasive wheels Specially designed carbide teeth deliver fast, precise, virtually burr-free cuts reducing the need for preparation grinding, and finished cuts that are cool to the touch More capacity than a deep-cut portable band saw, allowing user to cut a wider variety of different size materials for more applications Patented Quick-Fence tool-free, 45 adjustable fence allows for fast and accurate angle cuts without using a wrench Quick-Lock vise allows for fast clamping on different size materials to increase productivity Ergonomically designed horizontal handle puts user's wrist in a more comfortable position to help reduce user fatigue and increase productivity Extra wide solid steel base provides increased stability when cutting longer material Heavy-duty lock down pin allows head of the saw to be locked in the carrying position without the use of a chain On-board wheel change wrench allows for convenient storage Spindle Lock allows user to make wheel changes quickly and easily Adjustable chip deflector allows user to channel chips away from hazardous materials and co-workers Easily accessible brushes allow for convenient servicing Heavy-duty compression spring provides smooth movement and greater durability than torsion springs Quick-retracting guard allows user to see the line of cut while protecting against chips"
Average Customer Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (7 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 of 7(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Multi-Cutter Saw - 15 Amp, Model# DW872"
Review 1 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Multi-Cutter Saw - 15 Amp, Model# DW872"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Saw

,
February 4, 2014
By RGWILL
from AR
" This saw will cut metal just like it was wood. It's a great saw and Dewalt is a great brand. I would recommend this saw to anyone that needs a metal saw for their home shop. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Multi-Cutter Saw - 15 Amp, Model# DW872"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Saw, Don't wait, buy one now!

,
March 5, 2010
By ScottyRotten
from South bend Indiana
" This saw is so nice I had to write a review. I didn't think it could live up to what the company said about it so I waited until someone else bought one and I could see it work.
After seeing one in action I bought one. It's unbelievable, It cuts so fast I don't use anything else anymore. Every time I cut something I'm still excited.
When you finally get one you'll wonder why you waited so long.
It requires starting slow, if you just jam it down you'll bust a tooth. I haven't but my friend has gone through several blades in one year. The employees of his shop just don't care enough to be careful with it.
I have a small fab shop with 2 employees and we all love it. We used to use the iron worker to cut angle iron now we use this.
The Bad stuff about it. The blade is costly. but you can have them re-sharpened and repaired.
The material Clamp is kind of flimsy. I'll eventually machine a nice one for mine.
Its Pretty heavy. I'm going to build a table just for this saw. it weighs twice as much as a abrasive saw.
The good stuff out weighs the bad by far. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Multi-Cutter Saw - 15 Amp, Model# DW872"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

DeWalt Dry Cut Saw

,
November 2, 2009
By LAB3
from St Petersburg, Florida
" I have used this saw on the job for cutting channel up to 4" and pipe up to 4" and it is amazing when compared to an abrasive cut / chop saw. The noise and sparks are reduced and gone! the saw cuts clean and accurate and the joint is ready for welding or fitting together with other parts. There is no heat build up in the cut parts as there is with abrasive machines. I would highly recommend this product. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Multi-Cutter Saw - 15 Amp, Model# DW872"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Cold Cut Metal saw

,
July 20, 2009
By mptecdir
from Des Moines Iowa
" In the last 15 years I have bought 3 of the DW872 saws. Not because they wore out but because I moved on and up to new jobs and at each one found the DW872 was the perfect tool for a particular job. In each case the savings in time, accuracy, and cost paid for the saw during the first use. As far as I know the first one is still in use at the Meadow Brook Theatre Scenic Shop where I used it to cut miles of square tube up to 3" and cold rolled shaft material 1.5" dia., all with precision and no burring or burning.
The second was at the University of Massachusetts Theatre scene shop where it still operates, turning out accurate cuts, safely and even with the inexperienced student technicians operating it.
The most recent purchase was for the company I now work for as a project manager for stage equipment installs, which requires massive amounts of cutting pipe, strut, square tube etc often on site. Unlike abrasive cut off saws the work requires no grinding or de-burring after the cuts. The cuts are cold so they can be handled immediately after cutting and the cut is finish grade, joints can be made with no additional work needed. On large projects, the cost of resharpening the blade is far cheaper than the cost of multiple abrasive blades.
Bottom line is the bottom line. I save money in time and materials and the quality of the product is better. A great tool and well worth the money. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Multi-Cutter Saw - 15 Amp, Model# DW872"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

The best saw

,
August 29, 2008
By lenbrand
from Truro, NS, CA
" I use this saw daily for the last eight months, it has not let me down. I was so impressed with the saw that I have purchased a second one. There is no need to deburr the cuts, this saves alot of time and money. I would recommend this to anyone who does a lot of cutting. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Multi-Cutter Saw - 15 Amp, Model# DW872"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Overall, Good Saw

,
January 21, 2008
By c334500
from Rancho Palos Verdes, Ca
" This saw a huge upgrade to abrasive chop saws. Here are the major advantages:
1. Cutting Speed. This saw cuts about 3-4 times faster than a chop saw.
2. Blade life. While the blades are more expensive, they will cut about 30 times more material than an abrasive. If you are disciplined enough to get the blades resharpened as soon as you start getting small burrs in the cut, your blade costs will be cheaper than abrasive over the long run. (If you make just a few too many cuts with a dull blade, you can chip teeth and those teeth can't be resharpened. A new blade runs between $100 and $250 while you can get one resharpened for $40-$60).
3. Deburring. A sharp blade cuts burr free enough to eliminate the need to deburr for welding. This a big time saver.
4. Heat. The blade cuts so efficiently, heat build up is eliminated.
5. No abrasive dust. The only cleanup are the small metal chips from the material, not the blade.
Disadvantages.
The only reason this saw is not a 5 is not so much the saw, but the limitations of the design. The miter system for chops are less than precise so you have to be careful to get 45 degree miters that are gap free and are truly 45.
While there is no abrasive dust, the metal chips tend to go places you dont want. You could build a capture system that would collect most though.
The saw comes with a quick release vise and material hold down clamp. the hold down clamp is recommended for larger round pieces but smaller round are square pieces can be cut with just the vise tightly clamped.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Multi-Cutter Saw - 15 Amp, Model# DW872"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Chopsaw Ever

,
November 1, 2007
By DennisJ
from West Virginia
" I purchased this saw 2 year ago on recomendation of a friend. It has been the best
chop saw i have ever used. The combination of the new carbon tipped blade and powerful motor has worked great. I had used other saws with composite blades and the blades did not last any time at all. This saw has worked great and blades last probably 20 to 30 times what old type ones did. I have used this saw not for personal use ,but for a coal cleaning plant in a fabrication shop. I could not be happier with it's performance.
THANKS DEWALT
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.