Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Husqvarna 460 Rancher Chain Saw - 20in. Bar, 60.3cc, 3/8in. Pitch, Model# 460"

"Husqvarna 460 Rancher Chain Saw - 20in. Bar, 60.3cc, 3/8in. Pitch, Model# 460"

Item# 395180
"This all-purpose chain saw is ideal for landowners that demand optimal performance, easy starting, comfortable handling and superb safety. The 60.3cc X-Torq engine delivers maximum power and torque over a wide RPM range with reduced emissions and fuel consumption. This saw combines technology and ergonomics to create a reliable chain saw for all cutting conditions. U.S.A. Bar Length in. 20, Case Included No, Chain Pitch in. 3/8, Chain Saw Type Gas, Engine Displacement cc 60.3, Engine Speed RPM 2,700-9,000, Chain Brake Yes, Chain Gauge in. 0.050, Low Vibration Handle Yes, Noise Level dB 104, Oil Capacity oz. 11.2, Oil Pump Flow Adjustable, Fuel Capacity oz. 14.88, HP 3.7, Tool-Less Chain Tensioning No, Primer Bulb No, Tool Weight lbs. 13. 60.3cc X-Torq engine delivers power with lower fuel consumption and reduced exhaust emissions Three-piece crankshaft is forged in two halves and connected with the crankpin for extreme durability and long life Quick air release filter facilitates cleaning and replacement Centrifugal air cleaning system improves engine life by removing large dust and debris particles before they reach the air filter Easy to start with combined start/stop switch, Smart Start and fuel pump Side-mounted chain tensioner for easy access 7in. offset handle reduces fatigue Low vibe system reduces vibration levels to reduce operator fatigue Inertia-activated chain brake reduces the chance of injury due to kickback"
Average Customer Rating:
4.706 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (17 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 of 17(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Husqvarna 460 Rancher Chain Saw - 20in. Bar, 60.3cc, 3/8in. Pitch, Model# 460"
Review 1 for "Husqvarna 460 Rancher Chain Saw - 20in. Bar, 60.3cc, 3/8in. Pitch, Model# 460"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Husqvarna 20"

,
February 4, 2014
By LFS3
from Zachary, LA
"Starts up quick and has lots of power. I have had this saw for a year and I have never had any problems with it"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Husqvarna 460 Rancher Chain Saw - 20in. Bar, 60.3cc, 3/8in. Pitch, Model# 460"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great saw!

,
February 4, 2014
By Ideaman123
from Nashville,tn
"This thing does the job, works hard, no problems out of it, I've had mine for a couple months and worked the heck out of it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Husqvarna 460 Rancher Chain Saw - 20in. Bar, 60.3cc, 3/8in. Pitch, Model# 460"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

All Around Great Tool

,
September 17, 2013
By rph24
from Bemidji, MN
"I've been falling trees since I was a youngin' and boy does this saw hold its own. Runs on its side and upside down without problems. Reasonable weight, good safety features, great power, and made in the USA, can't complain about that."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Husqvarna 460 Rancher Chain Saw - 20in. Bar, 60.3cc, 3/8in. Pitch, Model# 460"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Saw!

,
October 15, 2012
By billyblak
from Idaho
"Bought new, added a 24 in. bar for more reach and the saw still performs awesomely! Starts first or second pull every time, warm or cold. Could not be more impressed for the money."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
8out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Husqvarna 460 Rancher Chain Saw - 20in. Bar, 60.3cc, 3/8in. Pitch, Model# 460"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

what a saw

,
August 20, 2012
By ianho
from west nyack, ny
"this saw never bogs down and it will cut through anything!!! This saw is great!! It will cut anything anytime!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Husqvarna 460 Rancher Chain Saw - 20in. Bar, 60.3cc, 3/8in. Pitch, Model# 460"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

the best saw

,
May 9, 2012
By 1wolfgang2
from Northern NH
"I bought a Husq. 455 in 2010, but was careless and put it in my unlocked shed. . . it got stolen, imagine that! Sooo I purchased a Husq. 460 this year and good lock for my shed! It just rus so darn strong, I've cut 4 cords so far for next winter without one problem, plans are to cut 4 more! This is an outstanding tool, it's power, makes up for it's weight. I truly believe that when buying a chain saw, bigger is clearly better and equates to less work."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
7out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Husqvarna 460 Rancher Chain Saw - 20in. Bar, 60.3cc, 3/8in. Pitch, Model# 460"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Purchased second Husquvana saw

,
January 16, 2012
By stratford
from Shelton ,CT
"I decided I wanted a second saw as I occasionally got my smaller saw stuck. I also found my self cutting 26 inch logs with my 40 cc 345 and was getting a sore back. The last time I buzzed through some oak with the
460 it took my breath away. I was was done in less than half the time, my back did not take a punishment and it makes cutting up the big logs fun again. Easy to start and handle. A great investment in a good tool.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Husqvarna 460 Rancher Chain Saw - 20in. Bar, 60.3cc, 3/8in. Pitch, Model# 460"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Husqvarna #460

,
October 17, 2011
By Marksteven
from Sonoma County
"Have a 40 acre property and go there every weekend. LOTS of trees and I heat my cabin with wood. The Husky is great for larger trees, a little heavy and small gas tank. Starts relatively quickly and no problems. Have had several Husky's before and would probably stay with this brand. The only serious problems seem to be that the chains get dull very quickly. I could go through a chain twice a month."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Husqvarna 460 Rancher Chain Saw - 20in. Bar, 60.3cc, 3/8in. Pitch, Model# 460"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Farm Use Saw

,
October 17, 2011
By TinkersWithEverything
from Michigan
"This is a great saw for farm use if you have land with good sized trees. Ours is fitted with a 24 inch bar/chain and it will rip thru any wood we have thrown at it. It always starts and is the most comfortable saw we have had yet. This coupled with a little 14' Poulin we have does all we ever need."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Husqvarna 460 Rancher Chain Saw - 20in. Bar, 60.3cc, 3/8in. Pitch, Model# 460"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Husky is husky on power

,
October 11, 2011
By kingscharter
from Northern Michigan
"Good heavy duty saw. Tons of motor, does not
bog down no matter what you're cutting. Hands
do not go numb from vibration after a running a
tank, or two of gas thru it like my Stihl .028.
Only drawback is it's a heavy saw to lug around.
Easy to start with compression relief valve is
another fine feature that made me a believer in
Husky saws.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Husqvarna 460 Rancher Chain Saw - 20in. Bar, 60.3cc, 3/8in. Pitch, Model# 460"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good machine

,
October 10, 2011
By LBFS56
from MI
"This is a great saw that will chew through wood with ease. I cut some 28" oak logs and the saw handled the job very quickly.
The only beef I have is starting. The manufacturer needs to come up with a more ergonomic position for the decompression button. I find it difficult to hold the saw and depress the button with one hand while starting with the other.
That said, once started, this saw is a great tool.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Husqvarna 460 Rancher Chain Saw - 20in. Bar, 60.3cc, 3/8in. Pitch, Model# 460"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

great Husky for your yard

,
June 15, 2011
By paisleyford
from Mason WI
"This is a very nice chainsaw, as I feel all Huskys are. I own a few actually. If you need an all purpose saw, this is a good one to pick. It is easy to start and not to heavy to use for a few hours. The 20" bar also keeps you from having to bend over so far to make the cut. That is especiallly helpful when you are really tall...really saves your back come the end of the day. The vibration is minimal, esp compared to cheaper saws, and it can really handle hardwoods without bogging down. It is a real good investment to buy a saw like this and it will last a long time too."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Husqvarna 460 Rancher Chain Saw - 20in. Bar, 60.3cc, 3/8in. Pitch, Model# 460"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Husky 460 Chain Saw

,
June 13, 2011
By Logmaker23
"I'm an average homeowner/handyman and bought this saw for my Alaskan Mk III Mini-Mill and to do some occasional logging on my property in TN.
This is a very good all around capable saw; some prefer a Stihl.
But this saw wont cost you a fortune and it will handle anything you throw at it. It will do commercial jobs too, but I think the reason some have problems is the fuel and 2-stroke mix dont get mixed correctly--that will end any saw.
I mill poplar, oak and ash with this saw and run it 4 to 6 hours straight without fail. If you mill with any saw, I would highly recommend a ripping chain. Your saw will "cog" its way through anything as long as you keep an eye on your chain oil and use good fuel and quality 2-stroke mix. I have excellent performance with Amsoil, but the dealer recommended I use the Husqvarna XP 2-stroke oil at least through the warranty period. I do notice the saw runs cooler with Amsoil though :-)
The only drawback to this saw is getting parts for it depending on if it was bought from a "big box" store or through a Husky dealer. Just like anything else you'll get what you pay for. Husky dealer engines are a little better.
If you're not a professional logger or groundskeeper--go for the "big box" Husky.
Very Happy Handyman
Boone, NC
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Husqvarna 460 Rancher Chain Saw - 20in. Bar, 60.3cc, 3/8in. Pitch, Model# 460"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Chainsaw

,
June 7, 2011
By JCOBY4
from South Texas
"I bought this chainsaw to supplement my Stihl farmboss. I had oak trees that were 30" in diameter and this saw worked like a charm. Powerful engine, easy start and easy to handle."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
jadp
VA 
 
Please wait while more information about jadp is loaded.
Additional information about jadp could not be loaded.
Please compare
October 6, 2011
"The Stihl FarmBoss is one of the most common mid level saw, and has a good reputation. However, over the thirty years that I've had them, starting has never been easy - 10 pulls or more ( I know that 93 octane helps, and ethanol hurts). How do the saws compare in performance? I'd appreciate your first hand knowledge."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for "Husqvarna 460 Rancher Chain Saw - 20in. Bar, 60.3cc, 3/8in. Pitch, Model# 460"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow!

,
March 18, 2011
By tgfdds
from Nebraska
"This is my second Husqvarna, wore out the first one. New features are awesome, especially easy start features: primer bulb and pressure relief button. I use it on my acerage so starting first time every time is important. I thought I was buying too much saw for my needs, but after using it, I'm convinced a bigger saw than you might need is SAFER than being underpowered. Chain tightening is effortless. Cuts green logs like a hot knife thru butter. Buy this one!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Husqvarna 460 Rancher Chain Saw - 20in. Bar, 60.3cc, 3/8in. Pitch, Model# 460"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best medium duty chainsaw there is

,
October 13, 2010
By weretherethelp
from anywere diaster strikes
"I along with the rest of the crew were headed down south the gulf coast to another huricane ravaged area. Our one support truck carrying 17 high end 20 inch bar saws sort of met the ditch and we couldnt stay to salvage through the truck to find them. As we were heading down the road we stopped and picked up 6(all of this model they had) and carried on.
Arriving to the diaster area around 4pm we put oil in, and fired them puppies up. They did not exactly meet our standards
-power lacks every now and then
-overheat to soon
-small fuel tank
-small oil capacity
-bar oil will leak
-does not do well in the least bit of mud
-no hook
In the end It worked, although by time we finished these babies were shot. We burnt one completly out and all others had problems. They are not tough enough for a search and rescue application but are more then plenty for a homeowner and light comerical user.
However of all the saws ive used these are the most reasonbly priced saws. The only saws that will beat this are well over a grand."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
18out of 30found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Husqvarna 460 Rancher Chain Saw - 20in. Bar, 60.3cc, 3/8in. Pitch, Model# 460"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Plenty of power!

,
August 30, 2010
By CoMan
from Colorado Springs Co.
"This saw slices through trees. Works great on hardwoods without slowing down.
It will leak some bar oil when stored. Manufacturer suggests you drain all fluids for storage."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.