Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Husqvarna 455 General Needs Chain Saw - 18in. Bar, 55.5cc, 3/8in. Pitch, Model# 445

Husqvarna 455 General Needs Chain Saw - 18in. Bar, 55.5cc, 3/8in. Pitch, Model# 445

Item# 395186
This all-purpose chain saw is ideal for landowners that demand optimal performance, easy starting, comfortable handling and superb safety. The 55.5cc X-Torq engine delivers maximum power and torque over a wide RPM range with reduced emissions and fuel consumption. This saw combines technology and ergonomics to create a reliable chain saw for all cutting conditions. U.S.A. Chain Pitch in. 3/8, Chain Gauge in. 0.050, Engine Speed RPM 2,700-9,600, Fuel Capacity oz. 14.88, Chain Saw Type Gas, Case Included No, Bar Length in. 18, Low Vibration Handle Yes, Oil Pump Flow Adjustable, Oil Capacity oz. 11.2, Primer Bulb No, Engine Displacement cc 55.5, HP 3.5, Tool-Less Chain Tensioning No, Chain Brake Yes, Noise Level dB 104, Tool Weight lbs. 13. 55.5cc X-Torq engine delivers power with lower fuel consumption and reduced exhaust emissions Three-piece crankshaft for maximum durability in the toughest applications Air Injection centrifugal air cleaning system removes larger dust and debris particles to reduce air filter cleanings and improve engine life Easy to start with combined start/stop switch, Smart Start system and fuel pump Quick-release air filter for easy cleaning and replacement Side-mounted chain tensioner for easy access LowVib system reduces vibration levels for reduced operator fatigue Inertia-activated chain brake reduces the chance of injury from kick back 7in. offset handle reduces fatigue Combined choke/stop control for easier starting and reduced risk of engine flooding Air purge removes air from the carburetor and fuel system for easier starts
Average Customer Rating:
4.735 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(622 Reviews) 622
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (622 reviews)
5 stars
510
4 stars
88
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 star
13
597 of 620(96%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Husqvarna 455 General Needs Chain Saw - 18in. Bar, 55.5cc, 3/8in. Pitch, Model# 445
Review 1 for Husqvarna 455 General Needs Chain Saw - 18in. Bar, 55.5cc, 3/8in. Pitch, Model# 445
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

What more could you ask for

,
February 4, 2014
By Farmforfun
from Iowa
"Purchased this saw about a year ago and have used to for cutting firewood and tree removal in fence rows and field edges. I could not saw a bad word about this saw. It is powerful yet not so heavy that its a chore to run. It starts easy and runs strong. It works great from cutting brush to large logs. I have had no issues what so ever with this saw and I would not hesitate to buy any Husqvarna products if they are like this saw."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Husqvarna 455 General Needs Chain Saw - 18in. Bar, 55.5cc, 3/8in. Pitch, Model# 445
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Saw

,
April 24, 2013
By jrbigsky
from SW Montana
"I use this saw almost exclusively to cut pine/fir firewood.
I purchased this saw with a 20" bar to backup my existing saw. I have since made this my primary saw and my other the backup. This saw is amazing. Way lighter than my previous saw, more powerful, and way less vibration means I can cut a cord of firewood and not feel like I was running a jackhammer all day. I also like the efficiency, I can cut and block just about a chord of wood with one tank of fuel and oil. So far I have cut about 30 chords with the saw with no issues. In fact, I purchased another for my son and kept the original.
I have nothing to complain about with this saw"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Husqvarna 455 General Needs Chain Saw - 18in. Bar, 55.5cc, 3/8in. Pitch, Model# 445
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Saw

,
April 23, 2013
By Luvtoo
from WI
"Love this saw, works great and have been using it for a year now."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Husqvarna 455 General Needs Chain Saw - 18in. Bar, 55.5cc, 3/8in. Pitch, Model# 445
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing saw

,
October 15, 2012
By Heavyhauler
from Jonesboro tn
"I bought this saw at the beginning of the season and I have only had excellent outcomes of it. This is the best saw a man could ask for. It has the ability to cut through anything. I am very impressed and would recommend it to anyone in search for a power house."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Husqvarna 455 General Needs Chain Saw - 18in. Bar, 55.5cc, 3/8in. Pitch, Model# 445
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for use around house and woods

,
August 20, 2012
By WSylestine
from East Texas
"This chainsaw was a perfect size for me. I use it to cut firewood for my home and to clear land at campsite. It's size and weight is great and does not have the kickback oportunities as with light and flimsy saws. I use to have a Traoy Built saw and this one beats it by a mile."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Husqvarna 455 General Needs Chain Saw - 18in. Bar, 55.5cc, 3/8in. Pitch, Model# 445
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Makes My Life so Much Easier

,
August 13, 2012
By gbud
from Acton, MA
"I struggled with a Craftsman chainsaw for years (it was inexpensive, so it was right at the time), but now I'm kicking myself because I made my life so much more difficult. I heat with wood and buy log length, sometimes a grapple truck load at a time. The Husky goes through everything like butter. Really, should have done this years ago."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Husqvarna 455 General Needs Chain Saw - 18in. Bar, 55.5cc, 3/8in. Pitch, Model# 445
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Husquvarna 455R chainsaw

,
May 8, 2012
By Ozarks
from Las Vegas, NV
"This is a good chainsaw, you have to make sure the chain is tight though or the chain will jump the bar. Factory chains arent advisable."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Husqvarna 455 General Needs Chain Saw - 18in. Bar, 55.5cc, 3/8in. Pitch, Model# 445
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME TOOL

,
January 11, 2012
By MAKANESR
from SAN ANTONIO, TX
"I PURCHASED THIS SAW FOR MY BUSINESS. IT IS AN AWESOME TOOL. I HAVE TRIED OTHER BRANDS, BUT AFTER 3 YEARS THIS CHAINSAW STILL WORKS FLAWLESSLY."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Husqvarna 455 General Needs Chain Saw - 18in. Bar, 55.5cc, 3/8in. Pitch, Model# 445
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Husky 455

,
March 21, 2011
By cris1
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"In 2007 I bought 4 acres on a lake. After just happening to tell my girlfriend that I've always dreamed of building a log cabin, I got thinking- why not? My next purchase was the husky from Northern Tools. This saw was outstanding, plenty of power, consistent in all weather conditions, and after approx. 70 trees, there is no change in performance.
Great saw all around."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
6out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Husqvarna 455 General Needs Chain Saw - 18in. Bar, 55.5cc, 3/8in. Pitch, Model# 445
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect

,
June 9, 2010
By mln6
from Harlingen, TX
"I must admit I am a little chainsaw crazy as I own several makes and models. This saw is just about the perfect chainsaw. The weight is great, it is easy to start and easy to control. As for power. It has more than most people will ever need. It is just one tough chainsaw."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.