Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "NPower Jumpstarter/Powerpack - 400 Watts, 18Ah, 500 Amps"

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

"NPower Jumpstarter/Powerpack - 400 Watts, 18Ah, 500 Amps"

Item# 39616
"NPower PowerTunes Jumpstarter/Powerpack is a rechargeable portable powerpack and jobsite FM radio/music player all in one handy multi-purpose unit The 400 Watt, 18Ah PowerTunes unit converts 12V power from the battery pack to one grounded AC outlet, delivering up to 400 Watts of portable power that is ideal for power tools, emergency lights, fans, video games, radios and more. It also has one DC socket for 12V appliances, plus 2 USB ports with 2.1 Amp combined output that are perfect for charging cell phones or running laptops, iPods, tablets and more. An AUX cable port with right-angled 3.5mm AUX audio cable allows you to plug in your iPod or MP3 player so you can have music right at the worksite. Jumpstarter function will start most 6-cylinder 3.0L engines without the need to connect to another car battery. Cable Length in. 24, Includes Air Compressor Yes, Handle Included Yes, Clamp Material Copper/aluminum, Dimensions L x W x H in. 14 7/16 x 9 x 13 1/2, LED Indicators Yes, Amps 500, Max. PSI 150, Display Type LED, Internal Battery Type Sealed lead acid, Reverse-Polarity Detector Yes, Polarity Reversal Protection Yes, Watts 400, Outlets qty. 2, Volts 12, Cable Gauge 6, Adapters Included qty. 1, Built in Inverter Yes, Amp Charge Rate 400mA, USB Ports qty. 2. Internal protection circuitry safeguards against overload and over-temperature conditions Reverse polarity detector adds safety Delivers 500 Amp jumpstarting power that will start most 6-cylinder 3.0L engines without the need to connect to another car battery Built-in FM radio with easy-to-read LCD screen, 4in., 5 Watt sound speaker and a holder for your MP3 devices that keeps the music at your fingertips 150 PSI air compressor is built in, enabling you to inflate tires, sport balls and accessories and more Includes AUX cable port with right-angled 3.5mm AUX audio cable to plug in your iPod or MP3 player AC adapter included recharges the unit from any standard wall outlet DC charging cable Item# 27345, sold separately enables you to recharge on the go Includes sealed lead acid battery for easy installation - battery can be replaced when needed replacement battery not included"
Average Customer Rating:
3.7 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (20 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
5
15 of 20(75%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for "NPower Jumpstarter/Powerpack - 400 Watts, 18Ah, 500 Amps"
Review 1 for "NPower Jumpstarter/Powerpack - 400 Watts, 18Ah, 500 Amps"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good value

,
June 11, 2015
By Tony57
from four oaks,NC
" good product great value good product to price ratio
works great don't know how durable it will be but good for now.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for "NPower Jumpstarter/Powerpack - 400 Watts, 18Ah, 500 Amps"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A MUST HAVE FOR EMERGENCY!

,
June 3, 2015
By HUESOS
from KERNERSVILLE,NC
" **please read this**
WoW!.i just bought it like 2 weeks ago and i use it when a heavy rain hits the town and the electricity whent out for more than 2 hours.my 2 year old son was scared and then i just remember that i have my new powerpack that have an outlet that i can use to connect the tv,dish receiver,1small lamp,internet box also my wireless modem,my laptop and 1 tablet. this powerpack give me all that i need for more than 2 hours!!.my son was happy no scared and i was the only one in my entire neigborhood to have some electricity..love this powerpack and now im ready to buy my 2nd powerpack!.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for "NPower Jumpstarter/Powerpack - 400 Watts, 18Ah, 500 Amps"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Got a Lemon

,
May 13, 2015
By Bobannski
from High Point, NC
" Dead out of the box. Charged it for 48 hours. Ran the compressor and it worked for 30 seconds. I gave it another 24 hrs. and, same thing, ran for another 30 sec. Meanwhile, the radio kept coming on even though the switch was off. I returned it to the store. No problem returning. I must have gotten a lemon. It seems like other people like it, from the reviews. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Response from Northern Tool:By Northern ToolMay 21, 2015
Thank you for your feedback. As you mentioned, most customers have been favorable with their reviews. We take great pride in our products and apologize for the issues experienced with your NPower Powerpack. We’re happy to hear that your return process at the store was to your satisfaction.
Review 4 for "NPower Jumpstarter/Powerpack - 400 Watts, 18Ah, 500 Amps"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very nice

,
May 4, 2015
By MHCG50
from NC
" First time I went to brag on my new toy, I opened on a camping trip to use the AUX jack to play some tunes, Still cannot get radio to go to AUX, other than that it appears to be a very nice tool, hope I can resolve this and give it a 5 star review, other wise may have to return as that was a key feature for me, Item is well built and could not pass up for the sale price. It will get used a lot as we camp a lot and the other features are great. Will also be used on the job. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for "NPower Jumpstarter/Powerpack - 400 Watts, 18Ah, 500 Amps"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent power pack for the price

,
May 2, 2015
By BigDaddyGoBucks
from Cedar Hill, MO
" Very happy with the unit so far. Already used it to jump a dead battery. Serves as a good alternate power source for 12 volt applications. Radio has good sound. Considering the price, I should have bought a second - both of my other jump-starter packs have dead batteries. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for "NPower Jumpstarter/Powerpack - 400 Watts, 18Ah, 500 Amps"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

,
April 30, 2015
By EP77
from Shawnee, KS
" It's exactly what I needed for out on the deck and outdoor activities. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for "NPower Jumpstarter/Powerpack - 400 Watts, 18Ah, 500 Amps"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

does what it says

,
April 30, 2015
By Lew66
from Iowa
" recieved my powerpack 3 weeks ago. Wiated until it was fully charged to use it and have listened to the radio and inflated two tires without any reduction of battery charge. Have not used any of the other features at length but they all tested fine. Only drawback is I do not think the radio has presets. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for "NPower Jumpstarter/Powerpack - 400 Watts, 18Ah, 500 Amps"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Product

,
April 29, 2015
By UncleDirty
from Memphis, TN
" I bought this because we wanted something to use for lighting, charging phones and a radio when we were camping, on the boat or during blackouts without dragging out the generator. So far we've mostly used it as a phone charger and speaker when grilling out and starting a car one time. It's worked wonderfully for all of that. I'll add some when we use it on the boat or camping. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for "NPower Jumpstarter/Powerpack - 400 Watts, 18Ah, 500 Amps"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Battery/radio

,
April 29, 2015
By jsm38
from roch, NY
" Delivery was great and its a beautiful piece of equipment and works just as advertised "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for "NPower Jumpstarter/Powerpack - 400 Watts, 18Ah, 500 Amps"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Won't Charge

,
April 11, 2015
By BR149
from San Antonio, TX
" It was totally dead when I took it out of the box. Charged it for 18 hours and it never went above "Recharge Immediately". I did notice the background light for radio was on when I last checked it and would not go off. The radio would play, just wouldn't turn off. The compressor also worked. I didn't use a volt meter to check actual voltage.
My guess is quality control issues forced them to sell this on sale for $100 off! I may try another one if they have them...not sure yet. Real hassle to return. Too bad since this looks real nice! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for "NPower Jumpstarter/Powerpack - 400 Watts, 18Ah, 500 Amps"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Back-up power

,
February 20, 2015
By DonQuixor
from Florida
" This product works. Dependable and easy to use.
Great for a lot of uses around the house and when there is no power.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for "NPower Jumpstarter/Powerpack - 400 Watts, 18Ah, 500 Amps"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

NPower Power Tunes Power Pack

,
January 16, 2015
By REFUND
from VA
" This would be the second NPower Pack I have purchased, the first one only lasted about 2 years and would no longer hold a charge. Battery was sealed in the unit but was able to open it up and test it. Replacement battery was more than the unit was worth. Junked it.
Bought the second NPower Power Tunes Power Pack in December 14 and the radio worked once and then quit. Was not a blown fuse, Northern was great about the return but I had to travel 2 hours round trip twice.
Will not buy another NPower Power Pack.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for "NPower Jumpstarter/Powerpack - 400 Watts, 18Ah, 500 Amps"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not impressed!

,
January 15, 2015
By Oatsman
from Minneapolis, MN
" I camp on an island on the Mississippi River quite a bit, so I bought this in June of 2014 basically for having a radio, charging phones and just in case I have to jump start the boat. First thing I noticed is it took a few days to charge the unit and it never got to full charge, only middle. Second thing, I was charging phone via the USB and it took FOREVER to charge. I then decided to utilize the inverter to charge phone. When you turn on the inverter it interferes with the radio and you get NO reception, just static from the inverter running. Third and fourth problems.. The blue background light for the radio dial NEVER shuts off for me, YES the radio is off but I see this as a power drain. Now the "Correct Connection" light stays on!!! It has NEVER been connected to a battery. I opened it last night to make sure their wasn't an issue with the battery connection inside and all was fine. It is stored indoors, so the cold isn't an issue and he unit hasn't been abused. Of course DUMB ME lost receipt so now I'm out of the dough I paid for this paper weight. I probably got a lemon according to other reviews of the product and I think It is a great idea. Hopefully I'll find something else like it, but that works! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for "NPower Jumpstarter/Powerpack - 400 Watts, 18Ah, 500 Amps"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Power Pack

,
December 8, 2014
By backhoe580
from Michigan
" I used this product to put air in the tire on my van because it keeps loosing air. I am also running my Christmas lights off of it. and I'm able to run my fridge or TV when the power goes out. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for "NPower Jumpstarter/Powerpack - 400 Watts, 18Ah, 500 Amps"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Power just not long enough

,
September 8, 2014
By Quilter
from Milliken, CO
" I was very hopeful. I wanted power to operate lights, i pad and laptop for my exhibit booth at quilting shows. Unfortunately, in my home trials, it only provided power for 6 hours with one light plugged in. I need 10 - 12 hours of power. So I had to return it. So, if your power needs are within 6 hours at a time, I would say get it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for "NPower Jumpstarter/Powerpack - 400 Watts, 18Ah, 500 Amps"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very poor radio reception

,
August 20, 2014
By Oley
from Rugby, ND
" Although I haven't used the power pack yet, the radio's reception is terrible. If a signal is found, it doesn't seem to stay locked in. It should have an external antenna, in my opinion. Where I live, the radio is useless. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for "NPower Jumpstarter/Powerpack - 400 Watts, 18Ah, 500 Amps"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

power pack review

,
February 4, 2014
By jd4646
from cape coral fl
" Bought this product for my son to keep in his truck for emergencies. He has used all components of this product except the cell phone charger, and he loves it. I highly recommend this power pack to anyone who wants the security of having a backup system just in case. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 18 for "NPower Jumpstarter/Powerpack - 400 Watts, 18Ah, 500 Amps"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ran my lights at the flea market

,
January 29, 2014
By TriviaGuy
from Lakeville, MN
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" “I recently tried out my new Powertunes by bringing it to an indoor flea market. Electricity wasn't readily available and the show actually charged $30 for it on top of the space. My Powertunes powered my lights all day long. I had other dealers coming up to me and asking how I had power. I happily showed them the Powertunes. They were impressed and told me they were going to buy one. With the radio and aux port for the iPod, that's just a bonus. This is one cool tool and it will be coming with me at all my flea markets from now on!” "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for "NPower Jumpstarter/Powerpack - 400 Watts, 18Ah, 500 Amps"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A quilter's dream come true!

,
December 8, 2013
By Sewgranny
from Burnsville, Mn
" We lose our electricity a lot, and I have to sew every day to keep up. This is a dream come true. I don't like using a 100 foot drop cord to the generator, this is wonderful. Plus, I get to listen to my favorite songs on my Ipod. I am going to tell all my friends that sew and quilt, they have to get one of these. We do outdoor craft shows, and now I can take my sewing machine with me, We can't wait to take this to picnics. I know I will have to fight my husband for possession of this, he has already been eyeing it, in fact he had to use it to jump start the neighbors car. I wish they came in more than one color, then we could each have own. (red would be nice). It would be nice if it had wheels.
Great product!
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 20 for "NPower Jumpstarter/Powerpack - 400 Watts, 18Ah, 500 Amps"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super cool and super useful!

,
October 31, 2013
By GeeBee
from Northfield, MN
" I bought this for the because I am always jumping stuff and charging my phone on worksight. The radio is actually pretty loud and the jumpstarter is pretty strong. Super cool product. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.