Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "NPower Jumpstarter/Powerpack - 400 Watts, 18Ah, 500 Amps"

"NPower Jumpstarter/Powerpack - 400 Watts, 18Ah, 500 Amps"

Item# 39616
"NPower PowerTunes Jumpstarter/Powerpack is a rechargeable portable powerpack and jobsite FM radio/music player all in one handy multi-purpose unit The 400 Watt, 18Ah PowerTunes unit converts 12V power from the battery pack to one grounded AC outlet, delivering up to 400 Watts of portable power that is ideal for power tools, emergency lights, fans, video games, radios and more. It also has one DC socket for 12V appliances, plus 2 USB ports with 2.1 Amp combined output that are perfect for charging cell phones or running laptops, iPods, tablets and more. An AUX cable port with right-angled 3.5mm AUX audio cable allows you to plug in your iPod or MP3 player so you can have music right at the worksite. Jumpstarter function will start most 6-cylinder 3.0L engines without the need to connect to another car battery. Includes Air Compressor Yes, Handle Included Yes, Clamp Material Copper/aluminum, Dimensions L x W x H in. 14 7/16 x 9 x 13 1/2, Display Type LED, Internal Battery Type Sealed lead acid, Reverse-Polarity Detector Yes, Watts 400, Outlets qty. 2, USB Ports qty. 2, Cable Length in. 24, LED Indicators Yes, Amp Charge Rate 400mA, Volts 12, Cable Gauge 6, Adapters Included qty. 1, Amps 500, Max. PSI 150, Polarity Reversal Protection Yes, Built in Inverter Yes. Internal protection circuitry safeguards against overload and over-temperature conditions Reverse polarity detector adds safety Delivers 500 Amp jumpstarting power that will start most 6-cylinder 3.0L engines without the need to connect to another car battery Built-in FM radio with easy-to-read LCD screen, 4in., 5 Watt sound speaker and a holder for your MP3 devices that keeps the music at your fingertips 150 PSI air compressor is built in, enabling you to inflate tires, sport balls and accessories and more Includes AUX cable port with right-angled 3.5mm AUX audio cable to plug in your iPod or MP3 player AC adapter included recharges the unit from any standard wall outlet DC charging cable Item# 27345, sold separately enables you to recharge on the go Includes sealed lead acid battery for easy installation - battery can be replaced when needed replacement battery not included"
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (10 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
7 of 10(70%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for "NPower Jumpstarter/Powerpack - 400 Watts, 18Ah, 500 Amps"
Review 1 for "NPower Jumpstarter/Powerpack - 400 Watts, 18Ah, 500 Amps"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Back-up power

,
February 20, 2015
By DonQuixor
from Florida
" This product works. Dependable and easy to use.
Great for a lot of uses around the house and when there is no power.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "NPower Jumpstarter/Powerpack - 400 Watts, 18Ah, 500 Amps"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

NPower Power Tunes Power Pack

,
January 16, 2015
By REFUND
from VA
" This would be the second NPower Pack I have purchased, the first one only lasted about 2 years and would no longer hold a charge. Battery was sealed in the unit but was able to open it up and test it. Replacement battery was more than the unit was worth. Junked it.
Bought the second NPower Power Tunes Power Pack in December 14 and the radio worked once and then quit. Was not a blown fuse, Northern was great about the return but I had to travel 2 hours round trip twice.
Will not buy another NPower Power Pack.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "NPower Jumpstarter/Powerpack - 400 Watts, 18Ah, 500 Amps"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not impressed!

,
January 15, 2015
By Oatsman
from Minneapolis, MN
" I camp on an island on the Mississippi River quite a bit, so I bought this in June of 2014 basically for having a radio, charging phones and just in case I have to jump start the boat. First thing I noticed is it took a few days to charge the unit and it never got to full charge, only middle. Second thing, I was charging phone via the USB and it took FOREVER to charge. I then decided to utilize the inverter to charge phone. When you turn on the inverter it interferes with the radio and you get NO reception, just static from the inverter running. Third and fourth problems.. The blue background light for the radio dial NEVER shuts off for me, YES the radio is off but I see this as a power drain. Now the "Correct Connection" light stays on!!! It has NEVER been connected to a battery. I opened it last night to make sure their wasn't an issue with the battery connection inside and all was fine. It is stored indoors, so the cold isn't an issue and he unit hasn't been abused. Of course DUMB ME lost receipt so now I'm out of the dough I paid for this paper weight. I probably got a lemon according to other reviews of the product and I think It is a great idea. Hopefully I'll find something else like it, but that works! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "NPower Jumpstarter/Powerpack - 400 Watts, 18Ah, 500 Amps"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Power Pack

,
December 8, 2014
By backhoe580
from Michigan
" I used this product to put air in the tire on my van because it keeps loosing air. I am also running my Christmas lights off of it. and I'm able to run my fridge or TV when the power goes out. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "NPower Jumpstarter/Powerpack - 400 Watts, 18Ah, 500 Amps"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Power just not long enough

,
September 8, 2014
By Quilter
from Milliken, CO
" I was very hopeful. I wanted power to operate lights, i pad and laptop for my exhibit booth at quilting shows. Unfortunately, in my home trials, it only provided power for 6 hours with one light plugged in. I need 10 - 12 hours of power. So I had to return it. So, if your power needs are within 6 hours at a time, I would say get it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "NPower Jumpstarter/Powerpack - 400 Watts, 18Ah, 500 Amps"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very poor radio reception

,
August 20, 2014
By Oley
from Rugby, ND
" Although I haven't used the power pack yet, the radio's reception is terrible. If a signal is found, it doesn't seem to stay locked in. It should have an external antenna, in my opinion. Where I live, the radio is useless. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "NPower Jumpstarter/Powerpack - 400 Watts, 18Ah, 500 Amps"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

power pack review

,
February 4, 2014
By jd4646
from cape coral fl
" Bought this product for my son to keep in his truck for emergencies. He has used all components of this product except the cell phone charger, and he loves it. I highly recommend this power pack to anyone who wants the security of having a backup system just in case. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "NPower Jumpstarter/Powerpack - 400 Watts, 18Ah, 500 Amps"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ran my lights at the flea market

,
January 29, 2014
By TriviaGuy
from Lakeville, MN
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" “I recently tried out my new Powertunes by bringing it to an indoor flea market. Electricity wasn't readily available and the show actually charged $30 for it on top of the space. My Powertunes powered my lights all day long. I had other dealers coming up to me and asking how I had power. I happily showed them the Powertunes. They were impressed and told me they were going to buy one. With the radio and aux port for the iPod, that's just a bonus. This is one cool tool and it will be coming with me at all my flea markets from now on!” "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "NPower Jumpstarter/Powerpack - 400 Watts, 18Ah, 500 Amps"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A quilter's dream come true!

,
December 8, 2013
By Sewgranny
from Burnsville, Mn
" We lose our electricity a lot, and I have to sew every day to keep up. This is a dream come true. I don't like using a 100 foot drop cord to the generator, this is wonderful. Plus, I get to listen to my favorite songs on my Ipod. I am going to tell all my friends that sew and quilt, they have to get one of these. We do outdoor craft shows, and now I can take my sewing machine with me, We can't wait to take this to picnics. I know I will have to fight my husband for possession of this, he has already been eyeing it, in fact he had to use it to jump start the neighbors car. I wish they came in more than one color, then we could each have own. (red would be nice). It would be nice if it had wheels.
Great product!
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "NPower Jumpstarter/Powerpack - 400 Watts, 18Ah, 500 Amps"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super cool and super useful!

,
October 31, 2013
By GeeBee
from Northfield, MN
" I bought this for the because I am always jumping stuff and charging my phone on worksight. The radio is actually pretty loud and the jumpstarter is pretty strong. Super cool product. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.