Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for ProFusion Heat Electric Infrared Quartz Heater - 2700 BTU, Model# H-5511

ProFusion Heat Electric Infrared Quartz Heater - 2700 BTU, Model# H-5511

Item# 39718
This ProFusion Heat Electric Infrared Quartz Heater provides all the benefits of comfortable infrared quartz radiant heat in a compact design. Amps 6.7, Blower Included No, BTU Output 2,700, Dimensions W x D x H in. 13 1/4 x 6 3/4 x 13 1/4, Heat Settings 2, Heating Capability sq. ft. 86-108, Plug Type Polarized, Power Cord ft. 6, Product Style Portable, Product Type Radiant heater, Remote Included No, Thermal Cutoff Safety Device Yes, Thermostat Included No, Tip-Over Safety Switch Yes, Volts 120, Watts 400/800. Comfortable infrared quartz radiant heat in a compact design Heats areas up to 108 square feet Ultra-quiet operation Overheat protection Tip-over safety switch Two heat settings Sturdy base
Average Customer Rating:
4.217 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (23 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
20 of 23(87%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for ProFusion Heat Electric Infrared Quartz Heater - 2700 BTU, Model# H-5511
Review 1 for ProFusion Heat Electric Infrared Quartz Heater - 2700 BTU, Model# H-5511
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Portable Heater

,
April 27, 2014
By BB22
from Fredonia, New Yoek
"Compact. Quiet operation. Well built. Simple operation.
Power (800 Watts) should not overload circuit. Great for small areas.
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for ProFusion Heat Electric Infrared Quartz Heater - 2700 BTU, Model# H-5511
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quartz heater

,
April 19, 2014
By DX311
from Kansas City
"Good heater item as listed
Safe and handy to use.
Would be good for other to use.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for ProFusion Heat Electric Infrared Quartz Heater - 2700 BTU, Model# H-5511
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product

,
April 19, 2014
By Stickman1890
from Mooresville nc
"Works good. Better suited for smaller spaces like a bathroom or office."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for ProFusion Heat Electric Infrared Quartz Heater - 2700 BTU, Model# H-5511
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice and toasty

,
April 19, 2014
By tillerytech
from NC
"Heater works well, but since it is radiant, has no fan and is of relatively low wattage, you need to be fairly close to the heater to enjoy its warmth. Not a complaint, just an FYI for potential buyers. Perfect to keep you warm at your desk and has the tip-off safety feature in case you accidentally kick it over."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for ProFusion Heat Electric Infrared Quartz Heater - 2700 BTU, Model# H-5511
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

ProFusion Infared Heater

,
February 26, 2014
By SamT
from Delaware
"I bought 3 of these heaters. They are very well designed, and work nicely.
I like the choice of 400 or 800 watts, which allows me to choose an appropriate electrical load for any house circuit . They have a tip-over safety switch, and are low profile and stable on a carpet. Infared heaters are especially effective when aimed directly at you , from several feet away. They create a feeling of warmth greater than their actual wattage output.
These heaters do not have a room temperature thermostat , but most radiant heaters do not.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for ProFusion Heat Electric Infrared Quartz Heater - 2700 BTU, Model# H-5511
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great heater

,
February 9, 2014
By SA01
from Dallas, TX
"I bought this heater not long ago and I am so happy with it. I have already used it in camping and inside of a tent using a generator as the power source. It has two settings and gives you enough heat to feel comfortable. The price is great. I specially like the cut off function in case of a tip over. I recommend this product 100%."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for ProFusion Heat Electric Infrared Quartz Heater - 2700 BTU, Model# H-5511
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rave Reviewer- IR Heaters RULE

,
February 8, 2014
By gamename
from East Tx
"Not a salesman but I would if I could.
Saves money on electrical bills at my house- we no longer use our central heating for about 4yrs now.. Yep serious.
I adore these heaters and have purchased about 25 or more for friends and family after discovering them. This unit is one of many types I have purchased in that time ..and my favorite- Its the cheapest to purchase for my needs. I bought 3 to use in my home and 1 at work... We stopped using central heating almost immediately. Several friends-family near me - joined me and saved on their heating bils using this as their primary heat too - in Texas.
Sold under the names Profusion and OptiPlex - I have ran about 4 units of the original like this one..for about 3yrs without one issue. Of all the heaters- Profusion or OptiPlex (same heater) - I purchased - none have been defective from the box. Zero. This one being sold - has two degrees 400 and 800. No thermostat so IF it turns off on its own-- its defective. Make sure to plug it directly to the wall outlet - not on a extension cord for safety reasons. I place it on the floor, or a tv stand when sleeping :o) Its super light weight and no sound.
The IR heaters heat a person before heating a room. While traditional heating heats a room then you warm up. Weird but hey ..its instant! Granma can have this little heater directed on her 5 ft away ..and someone not in the path will hardly feel it until they get in the pathway of the zone its facing. Animals love it.
Im a believer!!! Pricing is going up as more discover this type heating... I give them as gifts to older family members - awesome product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for ProFusion Heat Electric Infrared Quartz Heater - 2700 BTU, Model# H-5511
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

On/Off switch is inconvenient

,
February 7, 2014
By pickyengineer
from Ft Worth TX area
"Heater operation is fine but the switch is inconvenient. The knob rotates in either direction and has six positions Off/800/400/Off/800/400. The problem is, you can't tell by feel which position is which. The markings on the switch are only readable from looking at the side of the unit. That's maybe not a problem if it's out in the middle of a room, but not so good if it's under a bathroom counter. And, since the quartz takes a few seconds to change color when turned on or off, you don't have any immediate feedback on what position you just turned it to. It would be easy for example to go from 800 to 400 when you intended to go from 800 to Off.
One other switch complaint, the tip-over switch is a simple contact switch on the bottom of the unit. It just detects "resting on a surface" not "tipped over". So, the heater turns off if you pick it up to move it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for ProFusion Heat Electric Infrared Quartz Heater - 2700 BTU, Model# H-5511
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Space heater

,
February 5, 2014
By Anonymous
from Liberty KY
"Puts out very substantial heat but after running about an hour on high it will shut itself off and need at least an hour's break before it will turn back on. Maybe an issue that could be fixed?"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for ProFusion Heat Electric Infrared Quartz Heater - 2700 BTU, Model# H-5511
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Quartz heater

,
February 4, 2014
By aarr
from pa
"Works well in small closed off areas. Low power consumption and silent."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for ProFusion Heat Electric Infrared Quartz Heater - 2700 BTU, Model# H-5511
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

warm heater

,
February 4, 2014
By McFarmer
from Houston
"Infrared on this heater works really well. Best part is that the heater is so quiet. No fan blowing. It could cause a problem because of it being so quiet and people forgetting and leaving it on, or putting things too close to it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for ProFusion Heat Electric Infrared Quartz Heater - 2700 BTU, Model# H-5511
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

large heat from small heater

,
February 4, 2014
By case1175
from West Newton, PA.
"This little heater does a fantastic job in my 7'x18' sunroom even when we get single digit temps in PA."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for ProFusion Heat Electric Infrared Quartz Heater - 2700 BTU, Model# H-5511
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Profusion Quartz Heater

,
February 4, 2014
By gaoprtr
from GA
"This little heater is great for using in outbuildings during colder temperatures. We have put them in pump houses to keep them from freezing on sub-freezing nights, and they have worked great. Good little heater for the price."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for ProFusion Heat Electric Infrared Quartz Heater - 2700 BTU, Model# H-5511
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great little heater.

,
February 4, 2014
By BIGBBBQ
from Springfield, TN
"I was just looking for a small heater to supplement my HVAC system so I could set my thermostat a little lower. I use this in my living room. Works great, no noise and is compact."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for ProFusion Heat Electric Infrared Quartz Heater - 2700 BTU, Model# H-5511
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good heater

,
February 4, 2014
By as19
from rochester
"Very happy with this product. Use it for additional heat source in bedroom and in the middle of the night I have to take covers off. Very quiet, no thermostat no problem I know when to turn it off."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for ProFusion Heat Electric Infrared Quartz Heater - 2700 BTU, Model# H-5511
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heater works fine

,
January 27, 2014
By rand52
from Plainville, MA
"I read some of the reviews and the main items I see with displeased customers stems from their lack of understanding of the features and application of the unit. First it is clearly mentioned that there is no thermostat which actually only functions to control the set point of the unit itself and in no way can be considered a room thermostat that holds the temp of the room at a given level. That being said I installed a LUX Win 100 thermostat plug-in outlet that has all the features of your normal furnace/boiler thermostat. Simply plug the heater into the controller and any heater that is plugged into the controller will control the room at the controller's set temperature. This addresses the no thermostat issue which in my opinion is a mute point since any free-standing space heater is not a true room temp thermostat. It merely controls the heat mass of the unit itself. Secondly, I read reviews from people that seem to have no understanding that any heater has to be properly sized to the room to be heated the same way a 5000 BTU AC will not cool an entire floor of a house, the heater has to be sized properly to the room for the heater to do its job. It won't heat an auditorium. This unit when properly utilized will heat a normal room using less energy that other types of electric heaters.I have one in each room of my house and each has its own thermostat control unit. The controller holds the temp in each room rock steady and shuts of the heater the way a normal wall thermostat does, thus resulting in unnecessary power consumption. Unless people fully understand how to size the heater to their room, they will never achieve satisfactory results, no matter what heater they use."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for ProFusion Heat Electric Infrared Quartz Heater - 2700 BTU, Model# H-5511
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great heater for the price!

,
January 24, 2014
By KS1413
from Grand Rapids, MI
"I work in shipping/receiving/packaging. Our warehouse is maintained at about 55 degrees in the winter, so the office has quite a chill to it with people going in and out all the time.
I bought 4 of these heaters - 2 for office use under the desks and 2 to keep next to our product packers. Everyone has been VERY happy with the amount of heat that comes out of this size heater.
Definitely recommended for personal/smaller space heating. You won't be sorry!"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for ProFusion Heat Electric Infrared Quartz Heater - 2700 BTU, Model# H-5511
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Heater for bathroom

,
January 23, 2014
By JDUB1
from Mississippi
"Bought this heater as a direct result of the unusually cold winter for central Mississippi. Needed a heater to "knock" the chill out of the bathroom for morning showers. This heater is POWERFUL for a radius of about 4 ft. Probably not good enough to heat a larger room."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for ProFusion Heat Electric Infrared Quartz Heater - 2700 BTU, Model# H-5511
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cheap but Good!

,
January 15, 2014
By Dog22
from Lancaster,Pa
"I was impressed with the heat this little heater put out.
We had another heater almost the same type but 700w/1400w but we mostly only used the 700 watt setting. So with this new heater turned up to 800watts we got more than enough heat from it. I hope to get many years of use from it as we got about twenty years out of our old heater. Great purchase for the money.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for ProFusion Heat Electric Infrared Quartz Heater - 2700 BTU, Model# H-5511
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

cheap heater that is cheaply made

,
January 13, 2014
By Outpost22
from Oregon
"Adequate heater but fairly flimsy. Heater has no thermostat. It's either on or off.
There are better choices out there
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
3out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.