Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Heavy-Duty Spade Handle Drill - 1/2in.

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Heavy-Duty Spade Handle Drill - 1/2in.

Item# 399415
"This heavy-duty 1/2in. spade handle drill from Northern Industrial Tools delivers the high torque you need for tough jobs like drilling steel and wood and mixing buckets of paint and drywall mud. Amps 9, Side Handle Yes, Speed RPM 0-850, Variable Speed Yes, Chuck Size in. 1/2, Keyless Chuck No. Lock-on button for extended use Adjustable rear spade handle for control in high-torque applications High torque for drilling steel, wood and mixing buckets of paint and drywall mud Externally replaceable brushes Die-cast aluminum housing"
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (20 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
18 of 20(90%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Heavy-Duty Spade Handle Drill - 1/2in.
Review 1 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Heavy-Duty Spade Handle Drill - 1/2in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Unstoppable!

,
October 23, 2014
By Michael7k
from Colorado
" I bought this drill to drive 10-inch lag screws into landscape timbers for the construction of a series of retaining walls at my home. My 1/2-inch 2-speed Dewalt hammer drill, which has served me well for everything else I've ever thrown at it, did not have the torque to reliably tighten the screws, and I feared I'd burn out the motor before setting a dozen timbers. By comparison, this drill, as I alluded to in the review title, seems unstoppable. It does not bog down in the least driving the screws, and it shows no sign of giving out after driving hundreds of them. I've had few purchases that I feel were as great a bargain for a quality tool as this purchase. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Heavy-Duty Spade Handle Drill - 1/2in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

half inch drill

,
April 16, 2013
By bobaloui
from central Pa
" Kicks my craftsman's butt! I use it with my tenon cutter and paddle for mortar in a 5 gallon bucket sweet! The fact you can change brushes so easy outstanding "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Heavy-Duty Spade Handle Drill - 1/2in.
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good drill

,
August 13, 2012
By dmike624
from Sylacauga, Alabama
" Very nice and strong drill for ocasional use, well pleased for what I am using it for "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Heavy-Duty Spade Handle Drill - 1/2in.
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good quality drill

,
October 10, 2011
By PatLB
from new york,ny
" This drill is a great buy for the price.If you are looking for a strong heavy duty drill this is it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Heavy-Duty Spade Handle Drill - 1/2in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern Tool 1/2" Heavy Duty Electric Drill

,
June 13, 2011
By Fastgramps
from Ohio
" This 1/2" electric drill is an excellent buy for the money, and has served me well for approximately 5 years. It has been used on some pretty tough drilling jobs, and handled them all, without a problem. With a trigger that allows you to both drill and reverse, simply by pressing either the bottom or top of the trigger, it is extremely handy. Extremely torquey! As good as any name brand drill at twice the price.
Great drill! I would recommend it to anybody! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Heavy-Duty Spade Handle Drill - 1/2in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome ! Spade handle Drill !

,
March 14, 2011
By tomtoot
from Providence, RI
" I Bought this 1/2 inch Spade Handle Drill From Northern tool, It Far Exceeds my Exspectations ! The Power From This Drill is Unbelievable ! Variable Speed Settings, Just a Great Drill ! Love It ! 5 stars ! ***** "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Heavy-Duty Spade Handle Drill - 1/2in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

,
November 23, 2010
By Lynn03
from Middle Georgia
" I bought this drill to use when I built some cattle guards here on my farm as my old drill burned up. This drill went the those heavy timbers like they were butter. I was very impressed. There is a lot of drilling on the timbers to put them high and wide enough that the cows can't jump or walk them. Around the farm I am always running into some type of heavy duty drilling and I have yet to run into anything that this drill has not been able to handle. I would highly recommend it for anyone who needs a good strong heavy duty drill. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Heavy-Duty Spade Handle Drill - 1/2in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great mud mixer

,
November 16, 2010
By cmco
" Have not used it for anything but mixing thinset and it does a great job. Seems like a sturdy tool and an affordable price! Only downside is that it does not have a keyless chuck...but it does have a little hole on the cord for storing the chuck. We'll see how long that lasts.. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Heavy-Duty Spade Handle Drill - 1/2in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

good drill does just what it is supposed to do

,
June 8, 2010
By thewoodententmaker
from Phoenix, AZ
" This drill has plenty of power and is well built. It will take a lot of hard use and keep going. I have not had a bad experience yet with Northern tools and it is nice to save so much money as opposed to name brands. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Heavy-Duty Spade Handle Drill - 1/2in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heavy Duty

,
May 24, 2010
By CWinva
from Alex, VA
" This is one strong drill. Lots of torque and built to last. I can't imagine it wearing out any time soon. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Heavy-Duty Spade Handle Drill - 1/2in.
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Hopeful

,
February 20, 2010
By jr1748
" Received drill and tried to put on spade handle. Plastic and metal housings did not mate well and could not get set bolt to seat. Used the drill without handle, not a big deal for the project I was doing, and drill performed well. I plan on a little tweaking to spade handle to seat since drill otherwise works well. I just hope this small problem is not an example of the build quality for the whole unit. I have never bought this brand before, and am hoping it lasts well. The drill will be used mostly for home projects my cordless can't do: mixing paint, drilling landscape poles and light metal work. "
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Heavy-Duty Spade Handle Drill - 1/2in.
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

almost old school

,
October 19, 2009
By AYCarumba
from Our Nayshion
" Its a big heavy unit. obviously lots of torque. I'm sure it will stir tar all day long. the reversing switch and trigger seem a little flimsy compared to the rest of the drill "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Heavy-Duty Spade Handle Drill - 1/2in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good heavy duty drill

,
July 20, 2009
By hwaltzer
from St. Jo, Texas
" I have been using this drill for a month to mix mud. It works as advertised, doesn't bog down and I expect it will last a long time. It isn't fancy but it is great value for the price. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Heavy-Duty Spade Handle Drill - 1/2in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

1/2 inch drill

,
November 17, 2008
By sgthardcore
from Colorado
" used this drill in tight places and through hard surfaces worked like a 'champ'
would recommend to anyone "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Heavy-Duty Spade Handle Drill - 1/2in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than I though

,
October 25, 2008
By uncamer1
from Riverside Ohio
" When I bought this drill I was in need of one like this for my old drill gave up.
I do a lot of heavy work and my old drill couldn't keep up very well anyway. After I
got my new half inch drill and started working it my son said this will take all I can through at it and more. We have to watch when we use it for I can find nothing with the power that this drill has it has a lot of power I cant believe how strong it works. I would not trade it for any other keep up the good work.
Thanks
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Heavy-Duty Spade Handle Drill - 1/2in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

1/2" Heavy Duty drill

,
August 18, 2008
By MARKSLOGS
from Duluth, MN
" I make log furniture as a side business which requires me to spin bits up to 2 inches in diameter into logs. (forstner bit) The holes I am drilling are usually 2-3 inches deep.
Being that this was a startup business for me, I didn't want to spend hundreds on a Milwaukee or DeWalt and decided to give this Northern brand a shot. For less than $70, how could I go wrong?
Wow this machine is impressive! It blasts through anything I throw at it. It's geared so low that it can handle just about anything. I've drilled 100's of huge holes and never once had even one problem. The forward/reverse lever is built right into the handle so switching directions is super easy- especially when you are buried in the wood and can't get release the bit.
Try it out!
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Heavy-Duty Spade Handle Drill - 1/2in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Drill

,
August 11, 2008
By jdsams
from Oregon
" Replaced a Craftsman expensive drill used spareingly, the Craftsman burnt up during recent job. I did the job with this drill with no problem. High quality & overall great drill, exceptional price. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Heavy-Duty Spade Handle Drill - 1/2in.
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

O.K. for do it yourselfers

,
April 23, 2008
By Apache
from Lonoke, AR
" We use a 1" auger bit to dril out houses in the electrical feild, though the drill has enough power to turn it the housing of the drill cracked the first two weeks of use and a week later the handle completely broke off. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Heavy-Duty Spade Handle Drill - 1/2in.
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great value for the Money

,
January 15, 2008
By leifab
from Cleveland,Oh
" You can't beat the performance for the price we paid. We had to put a couple hundred holes thru 1 1/4" wood and then thru 1/4" metal and it didn't get hot or strain the least bit.
Definitely recommend!
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Heavy-Duty Spade Handle Drill - 1/2in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Terrific buy

,
January 14, 2008
By spanky129
from Baton Rouge,La.
" This drill was everything it is billed as. I was able to drill holes in 1/4" steel all day with no problem. This drill is 5 stars. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.