Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Genesis Power Tools Multipurpose Oscillating Tool, Model# GMT15A

FREE SHIPPING - Genesis Power Tools Multipurpose Oscillating Tool, Model# GMT15A

Item# 399456
Use the Genesis Power Tools Multipurpose Oscillating Tool as a detail sander, close-quarter saw, power scraper or grout removal tool. It is a versatile tool for home repair, remodeling and restoration. Features a 1.5 Amp motor that delivers 21,000 oscillations per minute. Has a sturdy die-cast aluminum gear housing. 4-pin flange holds accessories firmly in place. Great for trimming door jambs for flooring installation, removing old caulking, glue or paint, taking up vinyl flooring or carpeting, chiseling out door hinges or trimming cabinets for installation. Material Type Die-cast aluminum gear housing, Blade Included Yes, multiple, Blade Type Wood and drywall, scraper blade, and flush cut blade, Dimensions L x W x H in. 12 5/8 x 4 1/2 x 5 1/4, Volts 120, Pieces qty. 7, Amps 1.5, Movement 21,000 OPM, Wrench Included Yes, Storage Case Included No.
Average Customer Rating:
4.485 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (33 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
31 of 33(94%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Genesis Power Tools Multipurpose Oscillating Tool, Model# GMT15A
Review 1 for FREE SHIPPING - Genesis Power Tools Multipurpose Oscillating Tool, Model# GMT15A
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Genesis multitool

,
February 6, 2014
By rb1013
from Alabama
"This thing is awesome! It makes precise cuts and is easy to use. This one does not have a variable speed but I have found that I really don't use that feature much on my other one. The only suggestion I would make is to give it a quick change blade."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FREE SHIPPING - Genesis Power Tools Multipurpose Oscillating Tool, Model# GMT15A
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good multitiool

,
February 5, 2014
By Bo54
from Towanda, PA
"I gave this unit a try because of the price. It was much cheaper than other brands of multitools.I was a bit skeptical at first. Overall the unit performs well. I've had issues with some of the attachments being inferior quality, but overall the unit performs well. A good value for the money."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FREE SHIPPING - Genesis Power Tools Multipurpose Oscillating Tool, Model# GMT15A
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Multipurpose Oscillating Tool, Model# GMT15A

,
February 4, 2014
By Gatorfrank
from North Carolina
"Bought this on sale for a specific project, the cutting blade worked great on a section of molding that I had to remove. The sander option provided a nice finish in a hard to reach area. Great tool for the price and it came in a really nice, well made case."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FREE SHIPPING - Genesis Power Tools Multipurpose Oscillating Tool, Model# GMT15A
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great tool

,
February 4, 2014
By billbill
from neenah wi
"great tool cannot beat the price would buy again but cannot get this one to break"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FREE SHIPPING - Genesis Power Tools Multipurpose Oscillating Tool, Model# GMT15A
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tool for about anything

,
April 24, 2013
By handy13
from Maynardville,TN
"used this remodeling my house and found many different uses for this tool."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FREE SHIPPING - Genesis Power Tools Multipurpose Oscillating Tool, Model# GMT15A
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

oscillator power tools

,
October 15, 2012
By carlie
from nashua nh
"the genest oscillator tool is a good substitue for the much more expensive tools and does all the things I want it to do as a home handyman"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FREE SHIPPING - Genesis Power Tools Multipurpose Oscillating Tool, Model# GMT15A
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Genesis Multipurpose Oscillating Tool

,
August 14, 2012
By GSD39
from Rochester, NY
"My brother in law explained how to use a hacksaw to trim the door jambs so we could have a nice finished look when we installed laminate flooring. Are you kidding? I bought this tool and it accomplished the task in no time at all. Easy enough for a novice. I found that one of the other tools included was great for scraping some stuff that the previous owner had stuck to the floor. It's great to have the proper tools for the job. I'd recommend this to anyone."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FREE SHIPPING - Genesis Power Tools Multipurpose Oscillating Tool, Model# GMT15A
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This tool rocks!

,
May 14, 2012
By phil61
from Charlotte
"I recently recovered some of the stairs in our house. I had to use a hammer and chisel to take part of the bull nose off the old treads. When my wife asked me what I wanted for Valentines day,I didn't hesitate to ask for this tool!
I did a BUNCH of research on the Genesis,and it had remarkably high ratings! The only other tools that had higher ratings were MUCH more expensive.
While I still have more stairs to recover,I recently built some deck chairs. Not wanting to see the screw head,I bought a plug cutter and covered them all up. I was using a flush cut saw to trim them down when I remembered the Genesis oscillating tool! It took care of the plugs in no time! Definately a keeper!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for FREE SHIPPING - Genesis Power Tools Multipurpose Oscillating Tool, Model# GMT15A
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tool - works as good as expensive name brand

,
May 14, 2012
By JustBubba
from Atlanta, GA
"A friend of mine let me borrow his Dremel brand tool and I used it to do trims while installing hardwood floors. I loved it and when I decided to tile my bathrooms I opted to buy this less expensive one to trim wood molding and remove grout and excess mortar. It has worked FANTASTIC, no problems, every bit as good as the Dremel. I got it on sale at Northern and bought an attachment set as well for half of what I woud have paid for the Dremel."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for FREE SHIPPING - Genesis Power Tools Multipurpose Oscillating Tool, Model# GMT15A
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

very useful

,
May 14, 2012
By IslandJohn
from staten island, new york
"Great for flush cutting or notching. Used it to notch hinges and locks on several doors, flush cut nails, tight sanding."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for FREE SHIPPING - Genesis Power Tools Multipurpose Oscillating Tool, Model# GMT15A
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

genesis gmt15a

,
February 13, 2012
By tatertot
from north carolina
"this review is not about the great service at Northern tool, it's about the lack of service from Rich power industries the company that makes the tool.
I bought the tool to use as a sander to get into some tight spots on a sofa table i was refinishing. I only used it for a couple of hours on and off, over a 2 day period. the sanding attatchment is hook and loop where the sandpaper sticks to it for ease of use. well after this one use the velcro type material was worn to the point the paper wouln't stick to it anymore. I tried and left several voice mails at the companies office and never got a call back. then left emails and 2 days later they emailed me back saying the warenty doesn't cover accesories. i emaild back it is part of the tool, not an accesory. they never responded back. took the part back to Northern tool and they pulled it off of their floor model. bottom line Northern tool is comitted to customer satisfaction, i can only hope you don't have to contact the company as i did.
"
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for FREE SHIPPING - Genesis Power Tools Multipurpose Oscillating Tool, Model# GMT15A
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The tool you didn't know you needed.

,
January 18, 2012
By jefffromwapak
from Molalla, Oregon
"Ladies, if you're looking for a cool power tool for your guy, this is the one. My wife gave me one for Christmas last year and I love it. You can cut through an amazing variety of materials leaving a very clean edge. The flexible blade makes quick work of removing dried adhesive from flat surfaces. Blade changing and angle adjustment do require an allen wrench (included), but is easy to do. This is a great tool."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for FREE SHIPPING - Genesis Power Tools Multipurpose Oscillating Tool, Model# GMT15A
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Oscillating Tool

,
January 9, 2012
By Nonicknameused
from Hampton VA
"This is a great value as I bought it well over a year ago. I've used it to remove grout, take up tile, cut wood, cut holes for light fixtures in Trex, drywall and PVC. This is a great all around multi-purpose tool. This is a must have in your power tool arsenal."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for FREE SHIPPING - Genesis Power Tools Multipurpose Oscillating Tool, Model# GMT15A
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good tool

,
June 15, 2011
By jeabc
"This tool does everything they say it does. The cut is a lot smoother than a reciprocating saw and leaves a nice professional edge. Swapping out blades is easy."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for FREE SHIPPING - Genesis Power Tools Multipurpose Oscillating Tool, Model# GMT15A
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GMT15A

,
June 13, 2011
By Goatman04
from Saint Marys,Ga.
"Great tool to get in hard to reach places to sand and not harm adjacent areas...Great for smoothing out rough spots."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for FREE SHIPPING - Genesis Power Tools Multipurpose Oscillating Tool, Model# GMT15A
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Genisi Oscillating tool

,
June 13, 2011
By Dan0
from ky
"Great value! I bought the tool 2 months ago when I started a kitchen remodeling project. I also purchased some of the optional blades. I have used the tool 10x more than I thought I would. I prefer the tool to my rotozip for cutting in electrial boxes in drywall. The scaper blade has been handy in removing adhesive spots from subflooring. I had the need to flush cut a copper pipe and the metal cutting blade worked better than expected.
I was again surprised how quickly the saw made deep notches in 2X4 while doing elctrical and plumbing work. I would purchase this tool again.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for FREE SHIPPING - Genesis Power Tools Multipurpose Oscillating Tool, Model# GMT15A
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Early Father's Day

,
June 13, 2011
By JakesEscape
from Connecticut
"When my children asked what I wanted for Father's Day I sent them the link to Genesis on your website. It arrived early and I am glad it did. I had to do some modifications under the sink in the head of my sailboat. Without the Genesis it would have taken hours instead of minutes. I had to cut through fiberglass but not through the counter top from underneath. Saved the day."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for FREE SHIPPING - Genesis Power Tools Multipurpose Oscillating Tool, Model# GMT15A
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

will not accept most other attachments.

,
June 6, 2011
By Ray5028
from jackson, nj
"The tool works well, but the design & spacing of the attachment pins will not permit acceptance of most other attachments by other suppliers."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for FREE SHIPPING - Genesis Power Tools Multipurpose Oscillating Tool, Model# GMT15A
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

oscillating tool

,
March 22, 2011
By grannylulu10
"this tool is great for removing grout and caulking in small areas. I like the different attachments so I can do multiple jobs with the same tool. It is so easy to use."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for FREE SHIPPING - Genesis Power Tools Multipurpose Oscillating Tool, Model# GMT15A
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

It Really Works

,
March 21, 2011
By 9mmmark
from Rehoboth Bch. , Delaware
"got one of these units about 1 month ago and have used in many times since. It really does work and do everything it says and is a REAL time saver. Will buy another one as a back-up unit. Great price ,quality item really does work!!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.