Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty 5in. Random Orbital Sander Kit, Model# D26451K"

"FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty 5in. Random Orbital Sander Kit, Model# D26451K"

Item# 399500
"The DEWALT Random Orbital Sander features the Controlled Finishing System that maintains pad speed while sanding. Sealed bearings for long life. Dust Bag Included Yes, OPM 12,000, Amps 3, Case Included Yes, tool bag. 3/32in. dia. orbit Accepts 5in., 8-hole hook-and-loop paper Controlled Finishing System maintains pad speed Dual-plane counter-balanced fan reduces user fatigue Sealed 100 ball bearing design for longer life"
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (28 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
26 of 28(93%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty 5in. Random Orbital Sander Kit, Model# D26451K"
Review 1 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty 5in. Random Orbital Sander Kit, Model# D26451K"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

DeWalt orbital sander kit

,
June 3, 2014
By dalekno
from Las Vegas, NV
" Does everything you'd want from an orbital. Hook and loop pad holds securely and the unit leaves a professional finish. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty 5in. Random Orbital Sander Kit, Model# D26451K"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow! Does an amazing job of sanding.

,
April 14, 2014
By hallc
from NC
" Look, I hate sanding. I almost always make a cursory attempt at it then just move on. But on reading the description of this gadget I thought I'd try one out.
Wow! This is the ticket! Magically this device sands in all directions at once without leaving any scratches. Changing sandpaper grit is as easy as pulling off one pad and sticking on another (hook & loop, so no glue or tape). You just cut the thing on and let it wander over your workpiece with mild hand pressure.
Like I said, I'm no sand man, so my bar is set pretty low, but I think this machine is amazing. I didn't even see any dust come off it (although the little bag was full of it when I took it off to clean).
Everyone should have one of these, and this particular model seems esp. nice. GET ONE. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty 5in. Random Orbital Sander Kit, Model# D26451K"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

sander works great

,
February 4, 2014
By jimmycap4j
from albany , ny
" This sander for the money is a great value . I've owned multiple sanders over the years and I've had the best luck with this one . One issue that I've had and I can work around it but when the sander is on and not on a surface it will continue to speed up in rotation . "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty 5in. Random Orbital Sander Kit, Model# D26451K"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great sander

,
October 15, 2012
By jgarcia1115
from corrales,NM
" This sander is great and works very well. It has made a great addition to our shop. The second one is just as good. Ive had no problems with the sander. Its really durable. Its fell a couple of times but still works great. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty 5in. Random Orbital Sander Kit, Model# D26451K"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dewalt Orbital Sander

,
June 13, 2011
By ronniedev
" Great Sander for the money. I have owned and used several different brands of sanders. I like the Dewalt's dust collection and the hook and loop mounting for the sanding disks. I've put a lot of time on this sander with no problems and it does an excellent job of doing exactly what it is supposed to do... a great sanding job. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty 5in. Random Orbital Sander Kit, Model# D26451K"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great power, easy to control.

,
June 13, 2011
By nywvblue
from Syracuse, NY
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" After I had borrowed my contractor's sander to refinish my mantlepiece, I came to truly appreciate the beauty of a good orbital sander. His was a Porter-Cable and ran like a dream, blasting through century-old mahagony stain in hardwood in seconds. I knew I had to give it back, but my love affair had begun and there were plenty of refinishing jobs ahead of me. The next orbital sander I used was a fairly beat-up Ryobi with self-stick pad (NOT recommended -- the pad failed long before the sander -- go with hook and loop!). After the Ryobi's pad surface proved too used to use again, I bought this Dewalt little beauty. Within minutes of its arrival, I had it out of the box, hooked up to my ShopVac, and sanding down my stair treads to prep for floor paint. It was a breeze, with little vibration and not too noisy! If I have a complaint, it might be that it's SO powerful that it uses up each sanding sheet very quickly. Keep many of the same grits on hand because you WILL be reaching for them frequently. All this said, I am very pleased with this product and look forward to many fast and painless projects ahead of me. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty 5in. Random Orbital Sander Kit, Model# D26451K"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great orbital sander.

,
March 21, 2011
By palewalker
from South Dakota
" I have used this DeWalt random orbital sander to prepare walls and window trim for exterior painting. It has worked great for me. It is fast and does excellent work. The only problem I have had is that after two years of continuous use the base pad became worn and sandpaper would no longer attach to it. This part was available from my local hardware store and was easily replaced. I would highly recommend it to my friends. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty 5in. Random Orbital Sander Kit, Model# D26451K"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value - Does the job

,
March 21, 2011
By MicE
from Terre Haute, IN
" I found this sander to be one of the best I've tried. It has the power to do tough jobs, like sanding floor edges down or fine craft sanding. It was easily hooked up to my shop vac and is pretty much dust free used this way. Being lightweight, I can easily use this over my head with one hand and still get a quick finish smoothness when the job requires this. You won't be sorry you bought this sander - it will be one of the first tools you reach for to finsh any job. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty 5in. Random Orbital Sander Kit, Model# D26451K"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Sander

,
August 30, 2010
By Grem
" I have a small woodworking shop where I build a lot of small projects. I used a 5" orbital air sander quite often but the lengthly process of turning on the noisy air compressor and waiting to do a small job convinced me to try the Dewalt electric orbital sander. It turned out to be a great decision. The Dewalt sander does an outstanding job and is always ready. The tool is great quality and has given me no problems. I would reccomend it highly to anyone. "
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty 5in. Random Orbital Sander Kit, Model# D26451K"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

uncleron

,
February 22, 2010
By uncleron
from iowa
" i love to use these sanders,i can take off the dust bad and put it on mu vac. in my shop i use them for a lot of my sanding. i use them on my gourds,and my walking sticks that i make.they do a very good job. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty 5in. Random Orbital Sander Kit, Model# D26451K"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dewalt orbital Sander

,
November 2, 2009
By unclebuck
from Chicago, IL
" This item was delivered in perfect condition it has a nice case. I used it for the first time on a pine table top I was refinishing and I was amazed at how nice it worked. Not a lot of dust and the ease of effort to use was great. The table looks brand new now and it was an easy job because of this sander, I would highly recommend this sander to a novice or a pro. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty 5in. Random Orbital Sander Kit, Model# D26451K"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

good sander

,
November 2, 2009
By ratchet
from Mesa, Arizona
" This sander works very well. I shoped around and decided on this one and I feel I made a good choice.
It handles well, it's light and it doesn't shake my hand to death.
I used it to sand some benches that were very weatherd and with this sander the job went very fast.
The velco pad was cool. The sand paper is expensive but I did find it last a long time.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty 5in. Random Orbital Sander Kit, Model# D26451K"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Orbital Sander

,
July 21, 2009
By Bigking
from Columbus, Ohio
" This sander works great. The bag collects virtually all of the dust. I am thinking of using it inside the house. The kit is great because it comes with a good selection of grits. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty 5in. Random Orbital Sander Kit, Model# D26451K"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great sander

,
July 20, 2009
By Wozworker
from Saratoga, New york
" One of the best sanders I have ever used!! Sanded the whole house( cedar siding) with #80 sand paper and attached a vac house to the sander. No dust,no cleanup.Was able to stain and recoat in a couple of days. The 5 ' size and easy use handle made it tireless. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty 5in. Random Orbital Sander Kit, Model# D26451K"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tough Sander

,
July 20, 2009
By ts1960
from Cincinnati, Ohio
" The DeWalt sander is extremely durable. I run a mobile body shop and I use this sander everyday. It's performance is fast and good and very reliable. I have burned through quite a few other brand sanders, including Bosch, Ryobi and Black & Decker. None of these lasted as long as the DeWalt sander I am currently using. All of the other brands developed minor problems that forced me to stop working and make field repairs. I have had two DeWalt's and both have outperformed any other brand by a wide margin. The first sander I purchased had twice the life of the next best brand. That is the reason I purchased a second DeWalt and why I will cotinue to stick with this brand in the future. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty 5in. Random Orbital Sander Kit, Model# D26451K"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Sander!!

,
November 18, 2008
By Bubbychicken
from Northern KY
" This is the first orbital sander I've owned, but overall I've been very pleased with it. It's easy to control and does a phenominal job. The only thing keeping me from giving it a full "5 Stars" is the vibration. Granted, I realize that it's probably the nature of the beast.... but if you have a big job... you'll be switching hands and or taking a break. I still wouldn't trade it for anything.... It beats the heck out of a sanding block. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty 5in. Random Orbital Sander Kit, Model# D26451K"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

D26451K Sander

,
April 21, 2008
By Landy
from Okla.
" I recently purchased this sander and found it to be powerful and easy on the hand. It starts slowly which protects the wood. Provides and excellent finish with little effort. It is a quality sander. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty 5in. Random Orbital Sander Kit, Model# D26451K"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Orbital Sander

,
April 15, 2008
By LJH12
from Des Moines. IA
" This sander is excellant for the pojects I bought it for. The quality is great. It has become my favorite sander. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty 5in. Random Orbital Sander Kit, Model# D26451K"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

SANDER

,
January 21, 2008
By WALLEYEDAVE
from ADA, MI.
" THIS SANDER IS A GREAT LITTLE TOOL,SAVED ME A LOT OF TIME WHEN I REFINISH MY KITCHEN TABLE. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty 5in. Random Orbital Sander Kit, Model# D26451K"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dewalt Orbital sander

,
January 21, 2008
By jasnms
from Asheville, NC
" I am finishing the exposed timbers in a timber frame house. I used the Dewalt orbital sander to clean the timbers from nicks, mars and other imperfections received during construction. This was a heavy duty job and the sander was extremely efficient and easy to use. It is light weight and great to manipulate in tight spots. I had some very high sanding to do and the sander was great for the job. This Dewalt tool gets 5 stars from me. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.