Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Small Angle Grinder - 4 1/2in., 10 Amp, Model# D28402

FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Small Angle Grinder - 4 1/2in., 10 Amp, Model# D28402

Item# 399507
The DEWALT 10 Amp Small Angle Grinder operates at 11,000 RPM for faster material removal and higher overload protection. Dust Ejection System provides durability by ejecting dust particles that enter the tool through the air intake vents. Removable guard allows use in tight spaces. Image shown representational only grinder does not include wheel. Amps 10, Battery Included No, Case Included No, Length in. 11 1/4, Product Type Handheld, Side Handle Yes, Speed RPM 11,000, Spindle Lock Yes, Spindle Thread Size 5/8 in. x 11, Switch Type Paddle switch w/lock-off, Wheel Diameter in. 4 1/2, Wheel Included No, Wrench Included Yes. Dust Ejection System ejects dust particles for tool durability Quick Change wheel release for easy tool-free wheel removal Keyless adjustable guard for tool-free adjustment Low-profile Jam-Pot low profile gear case provides precise gear alignment for a smoother, quieter transmission while allowing access to tight spaces 1-pc. brush arm prevents brush hang-up Vibration-reducing removable side handle Paddle-switch lockoff prevents accidental start up Auto-off brushes shut tool down when brushes need replacing
Average Customer Rating:
4.867 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(75 Reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (75 reviews)
5 stars
65
4 stars
10
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
75 of 75(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Small Angle Grinder - 4 1/2in., 10 Amp, Model# D28402
Review 1 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Small Angle Grinder - 4 1/2in., 10 Amp, Model# D28402
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dewalt angle grinder

,
August 8, 2014
By dc12345
from West End, NC
"Great tool with unlimited uses. Very reasonable price and easy to use."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Small Angle Grinder - 4 1/2in., 10 Amp, Model# D28402
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dewalt Grinder

,
February 7, 2014
By tan2
from Minneapolis, MN
"When in need of a power tool I always reach for my Dewalt. With its easy of use and safety features it has never let me down. When other product have failed, my Dewalt grinder always gets the job done. If I have to spend my money it will always be a Dewalt tool."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Small Angle Grinder - 4 1/2in., 10 Amp, Model# D28402
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best grinder hands down

,
February 6, 2014
By Barrold
from Colorado
"This is the best grinder that I've ever used hands down. 10 amp is enough power to use with almost all welding and grinding applications. I would expect this grinder to last as lifetime as it is well built. I've used it for masonry, welding, auto, and home improvement applications. It's more than enough!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Small Angle Grinder - 4 1/2in., 10 Amp, Model# D28402
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dewalt grimder

,
February 4, 2014
By 28459
from La Place
"In over 20 years in the petro/chem construction and maintenance industry, Dewalt grinders are tops on performance over all other brands that I have ever used."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Small Angle Grinder - 4 1/2in., 10 Amp, Model# D28402
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful small grinder

,
February 4, 2014
By Ridgerunner58
from Powell, TN
"Bought grinder to replace another brand of grinder that broke after a very little use. This grinder has exceeded my expectations in it ease of use and the built in safety features. Blades are extremely easy to change and it always performs great no matter what the task. Great little addition to the tool box."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Small Angle Grinder - 4 1/2in., 10 Amp, Model# D28402
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Angle Grinder!

,
February 4, 2014
By STLJeeper
from St. Louis
"This angle grinder is not only powerful and reliable, but tough, too. I've dropped it plenty of times and it keeps on going. I have a few of the cheap angle grinders from the local "cheap tools" store, but none of them compare to this one. The Dewalt feels better in your hands and sounds better and runs smoother than the others. I would recommend this to anyone as a good quality, reliable angle grinder for home shop use."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Small Angle Grinder - 4 1/2in., 10 Amp, Model# D28402
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Toughest angle grinder ever

,
February 4, 2014
By arc1
from houston, tx
"As a professional welder I have owned many of these grinders and you cannot tear them up. I have dropped them and used them until they were too hot to touch, and they still work after many years of this abuse. I have had some of these for over 15 years...simply the best"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Small Angle Grinder - 4 1/2in., 10 Amp, Model# D28402
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best investment I have made in long time

,
September 18, 2013
By smith78884
from Utopia, TX
"I bought this angle grinder about 2 years ago. I have to say it was one of my best investments. I have used it for all sorts of tasks. Things that used to take me forever and along with extreme frustration I can now accomplish in just a few minutes without raising my blood pressure. The Dewalt is solid, adjustable and very reliable. Excellent brand. This tool has made a believer our of me for Dewalt tools and I now look for Dewalt first for any other tools I purchase."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Small Angle Grinder - 4 1/2in., 10 Amp, Model# D28402
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

So pleased, I now have 4 of these

,
September 17, 2013
By zombieprepared
from Largo, Florida
"I burned up several of other brand's 4.5" grinders before I went to the tried and true Dewalt. Now I keep 4 of these set up, one for grinding, one for cutting, one for sanding (with a flap disc) and one for rust stripping (wire wheel). I only have to change cutting discs when they wear down but this unit keeps truckin'. Really quick spoolup time too and the power never bogs down."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Small Angle Grinder - 4 1/2in., 10 Amp, Model# D28402
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome grinder

,
May 6, 2013
By Masterwelder1991
from dunellon florida
"great grinder one of the tings I like about it is the keyless guard on all my older grinders I had to use a screwdriver to turn the guard where I wanted it also one thing I like is the trigger system when you take your hand off the grinder it automaticly shuts off on my old grinder I had to shut the switch off every time it wasn't being used and I didn't feel safe with it this one I feel totally safe."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Small Angle Grinder - 4 1/2in., 10 Amp, Model# D28402
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Power Tool

,
April 23, 2013
By Jmoney315
from Weedsport,NY
"This is one of the best grinders i have purchased and used.Its light weight,durable and powerful.The paddle switch is the best feature for any grinder."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Small Angle Grinder - 4 1/2in., 10 Amp, Model# D28402
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Grinder

,
April 23, 2013
By LightIndustrial
from Minneapolis, MN
"Have put hundreds of hours on this tool, sanding and cutting.
Was my favorite grinder because the flap switch is simple to use one handed.
Only complaint I have is the hold on switch. Can't use it one handed. Need to use my other hand to push it in. Have a Milwaukee, and it's hold on is by default. I use that more for grinding and this for cutting."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Small Angle Grinder - 4 1/2in., 10 Amp, Model# D28402
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Angle grinder

,
April 23, 2013
By LCSD
from WY
"Easy to use, handles well, highly recommended for small jobs"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Small Angle Grinder - 4 1/2in., 10 Amp, Model# D28402
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hands on the best.

,
October 15, 2012
By Victor747
from warner robins georgia
"Working with metal daily requires power tools that can perform and withstand continous use. The DEWALT D28402 angle grinder out performs the last 5 different brand models previously use to perform the same work. For the last 24 months this model is used 3 to 4 hours per day, four days a week. Never runs hot, power is constitent and the design allows for hard to reach surfaces. I don't expect to replace this one for yet some time to come and when I do, it will be for the same model. Life without DEWALT is a grind."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Small Angle Grinder - 4 1/2in., 10 Amp, Model# D28402
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dewalt Grinder

,
October 15, 2012
By PJ1967
from Simpsonville, SC
"Powerful grinder. Buzzed through some broken bolts very quicky. Much better than the small dremel I was using before. Wheels are resonable and much cheaper than dremel ones that break every couple minutes of cutting/grinding."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Small Angle Grinder - 4 1/2in., 10 Amp, Model# D28402
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Grinder

,
August 13, 2012
By RP76
from Roswell, NM
"True DeWalt quality. This is a heavy duty little grinder that will take a lot of abuse."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Small Angle Grinder - 4 1/2in., 10 Amp, Model# D28402
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good light use grinder

,
January 17, 2012
By ebug
from Chino, CA
"I don't do a lot of grinding, but it seems to work well for my use. The motor can keep up with all my work."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Small Angle Grinder - 4 1/2in., 10 Amp, Model# D28402
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tool

,
October 17, 2011
By Handyman83
from Texas
"I've always been a fan of Dewalt. This grinder gives you plenty of bang for your buck. I've had this model for a while now and I have no complaints. I use it for everything!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Small Angle Grinder - 4 1/2in., 10 Amp, Model# D28402
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gets the job done

,
June 13, 2011
By HuntinDawg
from Sharpsburg, GA
"What can you say about an angle grinder? Like all my other Dewalt tools it just gets the job done. I've used it primarily for grinding steel rods flush with concrete and it does it pretty quickly."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Small Angle Grinder - 4 1/2in., 10 Amp, Model# D28402
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

DEWALT Small Angle Grinder - 4 1/2in

,
June 13, 2011
By draw54
from SHOSHONE,ID
"I have the DEWALT Small Angle Grinder - 4 1/2in and it is one of the best tools that I have in my shop. I do a lot of metal work and this grinder gets a real workout,It is easy to handle and has plenty of power to do anything that I have to do. I would recommend this grinder to anyone that wants a good dependable tool for a great price."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.