Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Small Angle Grinder - 4 1/2in., 10 Amp, Model# D28402

FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Small Angle Grinder - 4 1/2in., 10 Amp, Model# D28402

Item# 399507
The DEWALT 10 Amp Small Angle Grinder operates at 11,000 RPM for faster material removal and higher overload protection. Dust Ejection System provides durability by ejecting dust particles that enter the tool through the air intake vents. Removable guard allows use in tight spaces. Image shown representational only grinder does not include wheel. Amps 10, Battery Included No, Case Included No, Length in. 11 1/4, Product Type Handheld, Side Handle Yes, Speed RPM 11,000, Spindle Lock Yes, Spindle Thread Size 5/8 in. x 11, Switch Type Paddle switch w/lock-off, Wheel Diameter in. 4 1/2, Wheel Included No, Wrench Included Yes. Dust Ejection System ejects dust particles for tool durability Quick Change wheel release for easy tool-free wheel removal Keyless adjustable guard for tool-free adjustment Low-profile Jam-Pot low profile gear case provides precise gear alignment for a smoother, quieter transmission while allowing access to tight spaces 1-pc. brush arm prevents brush hang-up Vibration-reducing removable side handle Paddle-switch lockoff prevents accidental start up Auto-off brushes shut tool down when brushes need replacing
Average Customer Rating:
4.867 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(75 Reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (75 reviews)
5 stars
65
4 stars
10
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
75 of 75(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Small Angle Grinder - 4 1/2in., 10 Amp, Model# D28402
Review 21 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Small Angle Grinder - 4 1/2in., 10 Amp, Model# D28402
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

dewalt grinder

,
June 13, 2011
By nsaidi1
"this grinder is great, i used it for multiple tasks. it is easy to handle and precise. i enjoyed using this product very much so."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Small Angle Grinder - 4 1/2in., 10 Amp, Model# D28402
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Greatest Grinder Ever

,
June 13, 2011
By don13
"I use this grinder around my farm for all types of uses from sharpening cutting blades on my hay cutting machines to the blades on my riding lawn mower. Also use it for grinding anything that needs grinding and it never fails to respond. Would not even consider anything other than DEWALT tools. This is experience talking for I have tried almost every brand on the market in my half century of farming. You can't go wrong with the best products."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Small Angle Grinder - 4 1/2in., 10 Amp, Model# D28402
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product. Good price.

,
June 13, 2011
By dualuser
from TN
"I have bought 3 of these for our business and we really put them through the mill. They are all excellent quality and really hold up well. Love them."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Small Angle Grinder - 4 1/2in., 10 Amp, Model# D28402
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

grinder

,
March 14, 2011
By careca
from ny ny
"Actually the grider was a milwake,and that son of gun cut thru anything without heating up.I,m am electrician and this baby saves me a lot of time.There insnt any thing that i dislike about it.So there i reconmend it"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
Concreteperfect
South Florida 
 
Please wait while more information about Concreteperfect is loaded.
Additional information about Concreteperfect could not be loaded.
Power and flexible
June 13, 2011
"I purchased this grinder to remove some imperfections from existing hardened concrete "stamped concrete", purchased an oversized grinding disk for the job. The job was a breeze, lots of power on this model, the shield is removable so the oversize disk was not an issue and made the job quicker. Will use the grider to cut through steel pipe..but that is my next project."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 25 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Small Angle Grinder - 4 1/2in., 10 Amp, Model# D28402
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Tool

,
November 23, 2010
By dhump
"This is a workkhorse for all your grinding needs. Will never die and comfortable to use."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Small Angle Grinder - 4 1/2in., 10 Amp, Model# D28402
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just Great!

,
November 23, 2010
By Timbok
from South Central, Kentucky
"I love this grinder it was a good design to begin with and recently they have updated it and made it even better. I have had an old one for years and the only complaint I have, and I have seen this same thing on friend's DeWalt grinders, is that the insulation on the cord cracks and splits all overt the place. I've had to replace whole cord. Hopefully they sorted that problem out and this new grinder will not have the same issue. Other than that I love the tool, and I'm excited about the new features... Like the safety switch that cannot be triggered by setting the grinder down. It is the same mechanism found on air powered grinders years ago, I don't know why it took so long to put it on the electric grinder? I also like the tool free guard removal! Just flip the lever and it releases the guard for adjustment or removal. Overall the new model looks and works great if it lasts 30+ years like the other one I still have it will be well worth It!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Small Angle Grinder - 4 1/2in., 10 Amp, Model# D28402
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tool

,
November 19, 2010
By BadBrainsHR
from Texas
"ive owned this grinder for over 5 years ive used it heavily at work and it although it looks old and beaten it still works like new
never have had any issue with it
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Small Angle Grinder - 4 1/2in., 10 Amp, Model# D28402
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Grinder That I Have Had

,
August 31, 2010
By Timely
from Smithville, MO.
"Iuse a grinder to sharpen my lawn mower blades, This grinder works the best on sharpening a curved blade on my deck. I have had another hand grinder and it lasted only one season. The DeWalt has the RPM and also the grinding power to do the job. A very good piece of equipment."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Small Angle Grinder - 4 1/2in., 10 Amp, Model# D28402
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dewalt Angle Grinder

,
June 1, 2010
By OscarMeier
from Northbrook, IL
"I use this grinder everyday on my welds, it works fantastic. It makes all of my welds cosmetically perfect and smooth. Not to mention, it is so easy to operate. I would recommend this grinder to anybody and everybody."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Small Angle Grinder - 4 1/2in., 10 Amp, Model# D28402
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best grinder I've ever used

,
June 1, 2010
By woodchips
from Vermont, USA
"I have had a couple of other grinders, but none as good as this one. The paddle switch has a really clever safety that works great but doesn't get in your way. Changing wheels is also very easy and quick. If you're looking for a new angle grinder, you can't go wrong with this one."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Small Angle Grinder - 4 1/2in., 10 Amp, Model# D28402
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Grinder

,
May 31, 2010
By DeltaBuilder
from Mississippi
"These Dewalt angle grinders or mini grinders are the most useful tool I own! It can grind metal with one blade, sand wood with another attachment and cut granite and stone with a different blade. Long lasting, they take the punishment dished out at job sites and in the dirty toolbox on the pickup. Be careful and put it in a locked toolbox because these are highly prized and will "walk off " the job site."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Small Angle Grinder - 4 1/2in., 10 Amp, Model# D28402
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Grinder

,
February 22, 2010
By Kmikeomc
from Colorado
"I have been a metalworking professional for over 40 years, using countless hand held grinders. This little powerhouse is a great tool and I own two of them. It has plenty of power and fits nicely in one hand for using at odd angles. I love the location of the switch and its ease of use. I would highly recommend this grinder for anyone who needs one."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Small Angle Grinder - 4 1/2in., 10 Amp, Model# D28402
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Powerful Dewalt

,
July 26, 2009
By kra123
from Metamora, Ohio
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"The DeWalt grinder saved me a lot of time removing bolts and staples when replacing the floor of my 1968 Airstream camper . This tool worked great with the DW8309 flap disk, which allowed me to grind my rusted frame down to the metal in a very short time. This grinder is not to heavy when working above your head,it is a great tool and has a powerful motor. The grinder saved me time and the tool did all the work with out me using a lot of arm strength."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Small Angle Grinder - 4 1/2in., 10 Amp, Model# D28402
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best!!

,
July 20, 2009
By kerryjonjon
from Algoma, Wis
"I use this grinder daily and it has out lasted 3 other brands I HIGHLY Recommend it. Just wish parts were a little cheaper. But still the best for home use. Great for buffing, sanding, grinding metal or wood or anything. I love it!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Small Angle Grinder - 4 1/2in., 10 Amp, Model# D28402
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

My best all around grinder

,
July 20, 2009
By c2guy
from Panama City, FL
"I am a hobby knife maker and do a lot of tinkering. I have two of the older model of the same grinder. I plan to buy 2 more so I don't have to switch wheels for different jobs. I have used this grinder for almost everything from cutting out 1/4 bench tops to cutting up railroad track to make custom smithing tools. It's very strong and light weight. The switch is easy on the hands for long periods of use and easy to use with gloves on.
I bought a much larger grinder for the big jobs from a major competitor. All it did for me was wear out my arms and get too hot to hold. When I was actually trying to use it, it was in the repair shop more often than in my shop. It now sits in the back of my shop collecting dust and I have gone back to using my Dewalts."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Small Angle Grinder - 4 1/2in., 10 Amp, Model# D28402
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

10 amp angle grinder

,
July 20, 2009
By JBW57
from West Point, MS
"I have three dewalt angle grinders in my shop . They have given excellent service and are used almost every day. I have one that`s close to 9 years old . It is still going strong. I think i have put one set of brushes in it since I bought it. Parts are easy to get with prompt service.
JBW57
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Small Angle Grinder - 4 1/2in., 10 Amp, Model# D28402
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent industrial grade tool you can depend on

,
July 20, 2009
By turbosniper
from Fruita, CO
"I have been using and abusing my DeWalt 4 1/2" Angle grinder with a paddle trigger for the last 4 years. I have put this machine through everything I could think of and it just laughed and kept going strong! I work with metal everyday and use the Dewalt 4 1/2" Angle grinder for everything from grinding with a wire cup to remove rust, to cutting 3/8" plate with a cutting wheel, and then the maximum punishment comes when I put the thick grinding wheel on and start working away on T-1 armor plate edges. It is a maximum strain on the machine and it just powers right through it!
I have had other name brands of 4 1/2" angle grinder in the past and they have all bit the dust within 6 months. This DeWalt I have had running strong for 4 years and it looks to have at least that much more in it!! This is quite simply the best angle grinder I have ever owned and I would highly recommend it to anyone!!!
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Small Angle Grinder - 4 1/2in., 10 Amp, Model# D28402
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little grinder

,
March 23, 2009
By BruceM
from Oklahoma
"Nice little grinder, sturdy and does the job well."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Small Angle Grinder - 4 1/2in., 10 Amp, Model# D28402
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

grinder/cutoff

,
March 23, 2009
By nmhowie
from nm
"I used the grinder to cut off rebar that was above railroad ties. It worked like a charm and held its charge throughout the chore."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Small Angle Grinder - 4 1/2in., 10 Amp, Model# D28402
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dewalt Grinder

,
December 24, 2008
By Hireahand
from Greenville, SC
"Great little grinder, guard is removeable to get into tight spaces, what else can I say, it's a Dewalt."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.