Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Single-Bevel Compound Miter Saw - 12in., Model# DW715

FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Single-Bevel Compound Miter Saw - 12in., Model# DW715

Item# 399521
The DEWALT Single-Bevel Compound Miter Saw boasts a 15 Amp motor with 4000 RPM that delivers extended power and durability. Adjustable stainless steel miter detent plate with 11 positive stops improves productivity and ensures cutting. Tall sliding fence supports crown molding up to 5 1/4in. nested and base molding up to 6 1/2in. vertically against the fence while easily sliding out of the way for bevel cuts. Cutting Capacity - 0 Degree Miter 2 in. H x 8 in. D, Total Positive Bevel Stops 4, Fence Sliding, Max. Degree Miter Cuts - Right 3, Total Positive Miter Stops 11, Speed - No Load RPM 4,000, Laser Guide No, Wrench Included Yes, Amps 15, Max. Degree Miter Cuts - Left 48, Dust Bag Included Yes, Max. Degree Bevel Cuts - Left 50, Blade Included Yes, Blade Diameter in. 12, Bevel Single, Arbor Size in. 5/8 or 1, Max. Degree Bevel Cuts - Right 50. Precise miter system and machined base fence support optimize cutting accuracy Bevels 0-48 to the left and 0-3 to the right for increased capacity 0-50 left and right miter capacity for greater versatility Cam lock miter handle with detent override deliver quick and accurate miter angles Four hardened steel bevel stops at 0, 33.9, 45 and 48 delivers versatility at most common bevel angles
Average Customer Rating:
4.737 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (19 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
19 of 19(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Single-Bevel Compound Miter Saw - 12in., Model# DW715
Review 1 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Single-Bevel Compound Miter Saw - 12in., Model# DW715
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

So Smooth

,
February 4, 2014
By RAJ08
from CA
"I had another inexpensive 10 inch saw for many years. Finally i stepped up to this dewalt 12in. Now I can cut my big crown molding with 1 cut. When you press the trigger to turn it on it doesn't jump. The motor is so smooth. Setup was a breeze I checked it but it came out of the box spot on."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Single-Bevel Compound Miter Saw - 12in., Model# DW715
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Product

,
June 16, 2011
By lone4215
from texas
"I have a small shop in my back yard where i use this saw and it has been great I have had it for about a year now and i have never had any problems with it. I use it alot to make chairs and table for family and friends. I had a other brand of saw before and i had a lot of problems with it i finally got fustrated with it that i returned it back to the store for a refund. Everything worked great on this saw i admit I had a little problem trying to get the blade off at first but i soon got the hang of it and also the bag that hold the saw dust had torn kind of quickly but i got that replaced right away. Other than the small problems with it this is a great saw."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Single-Bevel Compound Miter Saw - 12in., Model# DW715
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Saw!

,
March 21, 2011
By MMcRae
from Mobile, Al
"This is my first Dewalt power tool. Very well made and simple to use. Used it to put crown moulding in my house. No complaints yet."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Single-Bevel Compound Miter Saw - 12in., Model# DW715
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great saw

,
March 21, 2011
By jimmy2f
from MO
"Used it for everything from rough framing to building decks to intricate trim work. Very accurate and easy to use.
This saw is a must own for any homeowner doing any type of large construction project.
check out the available saw carts. makes storing and setting this saw up a breeze"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Single-Bevel Compound Miter Saw - 12in., Model# DW715
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Miter Saw

,
July 21, 2010
By DBK1033
from Minnesota
"I purchased this saw June 2010 because I was sick of the cheap ones. After I purchased it I order the laser. I have used it to rebuild my brothers 8 step, steps off his sun room and fill in a portion of his deck that had a hot tub removed from. I can not say how impresse I am with this saw. It cuts great and on the money. I am able to cut anything 10" or less. I would recommend the laser for sure. It saves a lot of time. I find that it works best in lower light situations. I found the laser to be most useful when I had a 12" board to cut. Since it will not do a 12" board I had to cut it and then flip the board to do the rest. The laser made it easy to line it up and cut on the same line. I am now looking to purchase the Dewalt table for the saw. My back is a little sore from getting up and down to cust the boards. Highly, Highly recommend this saw and lazer."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Single-Bevel Compound Miter Saw - 12in., Model# DW715
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

12" miter saw

,
June 1, 2010
By trigermortise
from colorado springs
"Howdey there, have used and abused this saw for 19 years. It has been left in the rain. from cutting 4x4/s all day or a blade change for crown molding this saw has never let me down. except for new brushes never a problym with this saw."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Single-Bevel Compound Miter Saw - 12in., Model# DW715
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great saw

,
November 4, 2009
By slr51
from Maine
"This saw has held up extremely well to a lot of bumps and bangs and it does the job very well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Single-Bevel Compound Miter Saw - 12in., Model# DW715
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Miter Saw

,
November 2, 2009
By Fallguy
from Raleigh, NC
"What a workhorse. I was concerned at first that it might not hold up under construction conditions, but I was wrong. I don't have anything negative to say. A lot of bang for a few bucks."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Single-Bevel Compound Miter Saw - 12in., Model# DW715
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mitre Saw

,
August 4, 2009
By Timothy117
from Connecticut
"I had been looking for a saw for years and finally decided on this one. I have not been disappointed. Cuts great and fast! I look forward to doing projects around the house so that I can use this baby."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Single-Bevel Compound Miter Saw - 12in., Model# DW715
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Overall Tool

,
July 21, 2009
By Johnee
from Lake Nebagamon, WI
"I have had this saw for a while now. I have used it to put all the windows in my rental house and it worked great from framing to trim work. I have built two decks with it and have even done shake siding with it. It was a wonder with the knotty pine car siding for the 45 angles I needed to make when I redid my master bedroom walk in closet. I could cut multiple boards in one pass and saved a lot of time. It has never failed me when I needed it and its portabilty makes it the first tool I grab from my garage. I have even preframed several enclosed deer stands with it. I would recommend for any do-it-yourselfer."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Single-Bevel Compound Miter Saw - 12in., Model# DW715
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Compound Miter saw

,
July 21, 2009
By louman
from Indianapolis, IN
"I have used this saw extensively over the last two years and have been extremely happy with it's performance. For the price, it is hard to beat. One thing I would like to see Dewalt add is a bolt on Laser marking system. Although not a "Must Have" it would make repetitive cuts faster."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Single-Bevel Compound Miter Saw - 12in., Model# DW715
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

compound miter saw

,
August 19, 2008
By nana711
from City of Central, LA
"My wife, son-inlaw, close friend and myself have used this saw for multipule projects. So far have had no problems, has traveled and been bumped around alot. Smooth cuts and the only ones that have come out wrong was not the saws fault. If you measure right this saw will do the job. Would be nice fixed onto a table, but then I wouldn't be able to share. The only problem I have with this saw is knowing who had it last when I get ready to use it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Single-Bevel Compound Miter Saw - 12in., Model# DW715
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Compound Miter Review

,
August 18, 2008
By Rockabye74
from Colonial Beach, Va
"I use this saw almost daily. I have found the blade easy to change. The saw is accurate right out of the box, but easy to adjust if it drifts. Not all saws take into account that metal will fatigue and sag over time, this one does and allows you all of the adjustments to make it run true again.
My only real complaint is that the support bar that came with the saw is not tall enough. It sits about 1" below the board being cut. Doesn't matter much to me since I have purchased the stand for this saw, but may affect others.
Accessories I have installed, laser indicator system, stand assembly."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Single-Bevel Compound Miter Saw - 12in., Model# DW715
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

DEWALT Heavy-Duty Single-Bevel Compound Miter Saw

,
April 21, 2008
By momsie
from Newport, NC
"Wonderful device for cutting my base boards (bottoms) and other pieces needed for the construction of my handmade baskets. Accurate cuts enhance the quality of my work and I like the consistency of this accuracy. It is easy for a lay person to use and even better when used by a professional."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Single-Bevel Compound Miter Saw - 12in., Model# DW715
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dewalt 715 Miter Saw

,
January 21, 2008
By Rateman
from Tulsa, OK
"I purchased this product in order to build a large playground for my kids. I had no idea at the time how much use I would get out of this product. It is an awesome saw with plenty of power. It is probably my favorite tool in my garage!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Single-Bevel Compound Miter Saw - 12in., Model# DW715
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good solid chop saw

,
January 21, 2008
By mrentz
from Shelby Township, MI
"I've had this for about one year and use it often. It's very accurate, I like the extension bar and the controls are easy and ergonomic. Upgraded from a 10", what a difference. Would recommend the 80 tooth blade, makes perfect cuts."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Single-Bevel Compound Miter Saw - 12in., Model# DW715
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

DeWalt 12" Compount Miter

,
October 30, 2007
By DIYinME
from Waterford, ME
"I bought this tool to build a new kitchen addition when they first came out. I was attracted to the size (12" blade) and the horizontal 'D' handle. The first time I plugged it in and squeezed the trigger I was in love! This tool never let me down. My only complaint was cutting our 10" shiplap siding took two passes but that wasn't the saw's fault. This tool was stolen from a recreation area project I was working on. After reviewing all the great tools out there I replaced it with the DW718 12" Sliding Compound saw. It is a little harder to carry around, but it will cut those 10" boards in one shot.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this saw, or any DeWalt saw to a friend. They have a lot of great features but most importantly, when you pull the trigger they put a smile on your face!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Single-Bevel Compound Miter Saw - 12in., Model# DW715
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Versitile Workhorse

,
October 29, 2007
By traveller
from Weimar, Texas
"I have used this saw for much cabinet work cutting hardwood plywood and oak as well as pine. It has even been used as a metal chop saw for cutting 3/8 steel rod for dowels in a stair railing. It keeps on cutting accurate angles for trim and shelving. For the cost, it has been a godsend for me."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Single-Bevel Compound Miter Saw - 12in., Model# DW715
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Battery

,
November 25, 2006
By Bogos30
from Qu?bec,Canada
"Tools are not bad,but Battery as very short life and to much expensive to buy without tool package."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.