Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Double-Bevel Compound Miter Saw - 12in., 15 Amps, Model# DW716"

"FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Double-Bevel Compound Miter Saw - 12in., 15 Amps, Model# DW716"

Item# 399553
"The DEWALT Double-Bevel Compound Miter Saw features a powerful motor with innovative gearbox and belt-drive design to deliver increased vertical cutting capacity. The double bevel design allows saw to bevel 0 to 48 with positive stops at 0, 33.9, 45 and 48 both left and right. The exclusive back fence design lets you cut 2in. x 10in. dimensional lumber at 90 and 2in. x 8in. at 45. Precise miter system and machined base fence support deliver increased cutting accuracy. Blade Diameter in. 12, Blade Included Yes, Dust Bag Included Yes, Amps 15, Bevel Double, Max. Degree Bevel Cuts - Left 48, Max. Degree Bevel Cuts - Right 48, Max. Degree Miter Cuts - Left 50, Max. Degree Miter Cuts - Right 50, Fence Sliding, Laser Guide No, Total Positive Miter Stops 11, Wrench Included Yes, Speed - No Load RPM 3,600, Total Positive Bevel Stops 4, Cutting Capacity - 0 Degree Miter 2 in. H x 8 in. D. Adjustable stainless steel miter detent plate Tall sliding fences support crown molding up to 6 5/8in. nested and base molding up to 6 1/2in. vertically"
Average Customer Rating:
4.824 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (17 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 of 17(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Double-Bevel Compound Miter Saw - 12in., 15 Amps, Model# DW716"
Review 1 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Double-Bevel Compound Miter Saw - 12in., 15 Amps, Model# DW716"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

GREAT SAW BUT?

,
June 15, 2011
By nitro69
"I have owned my Dewalt 12" Double Bevel Compound Miter Saw for roughly 7 years and it's by far the BEST miter saw that I have ever owned, and I've been a Finish Carpenter for 13 years. My saw is the previous model with the" Round Knob" that you turn to tighten and lock in place, rather than this model which you "push down" to lock it in place. I have a friend of mine who has this exact Dewalt saw which I used several times and set the saw at ODD degrees i.e. 44 and a half degrees on the miter and Locked it down but it just did not lock down as securely as mine did. However this is the only minor complaint that I have with this saw. I don't know why they chose to make that change. As the old saying goes "IF IT AIN'T BROKE, DON'T FIX IT''"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Double-Bevel Compound Miter Saw - 12in., 15 Amps, Model# DW716"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Miter Saw for trim and baseboards

,
November 23, 2010
By PuroCleanWI
from Madison, WI
"We purchased this Miter saw to allow us to better serve our customers with their trim and baseboards needs. It has worked great! Very easy to use and set up."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Double-Bevel Compound Miter Saw - 12in., 15 Amps, Model# DW716"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great saw

,
June 1, 2010
By Hometown
from Nebraska
"Have been using this saw for a while now. I have found it to be very well built and sturdy. I f I had to buy another one today it would be another 716."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Double-Bevel Compound Miter Saw - 12in., 15 Amps, Model# DW716"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great saw but kinda heavy to lug around

,
November 3, 2009
By CDubs
from Chicago, IL
"I've used this saw for about a year now and so far so good. Very good build overall, smooth operation, accurate table adjustments. My only beefs are... laser is not very accurate, my eye works better. The discharge bag catches about 50% of the wood shavings, the rest go all over the place. Very heavy for its' size."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Double-Bevel Compound Miter Saw - 12in., 15 Amps, Model# DW716"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

how do you pick just one?

,
July 23, 2009
By lindylou
from Dinosaur, CO
"I've never written a review before, so when this contest came up I thought I'd give it a go. How do pick just one item to review?
My husband is a handyman. I'm in charge of tool purchases. I always go to DeWalt tools first. DeWalt is premier when it comes to construction, warranties, ease of handling, performance and service.
Ordering from Northern Tool is just the best experience. They are fast on their shipping and the reps are always knowledgable and friendly. Whether I order online or over the phone, the service and products are reliable.
I go on many of my husbands jobs with him. I know how to use all his tools. The tool I like most to use is this miter saw. My husband built a stand to put it on that has wheels. I can move this so easily, room to room, to whatever spot he is working. I absolutely love the ease of finding the right degree and the slicing of wood is like cutting butter. It is so very easy to handle in every aspect.
I am a woman, yes, and I am sixty years old, but I grew up using my Dad's tools, so I have a lot of experience in this field. I would definately refer a friend -- in a heartbeat.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Double-Bevel Compound Miter Saw - 12in., 15 Amps, Model# DW716"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dewalt Mitre Saw

,
July 20, 2009
By dogg87
"Had this Dewalt saw for over 15 years and still running great."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Double-Bevel Compound Miter Saw - 12in., 15 Amps, Model# DW716"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great house warming gift!

,
March 23, 2009
By targett79
from Arvada, CO
"I purchased the Dewalt Double-Bevel Compound Miter Saw and stand as a housewarming gift for my fiance a couple of months ago. It's been FANTASTIC for our crown molding projects! He is really thrilled with it's performance, and I love the results! :) Wouls definitely recommend it to a friend or family member!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Double-Bevel Compound Miter Saw - 12in., 15 Amps, Model# DW716"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dewalt Compound Miter Saw

,
March 23, 2009
By topdeckman
from martinsburg,WV
"had the rest now i got the best, this saw takes a beating and keep on sawing, they will handle has much as you can cut, want a saw that will last and take a beating well this be the one to get, i cut 4x4, 2x12,2x4, and even pavers and concrete pads,, and this saw still does great,,"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Double-Bevel Compound Miter Saw - 12in., 15 Amps, Model# DW716"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great saws

,
November 18, 2008
By Preno5300
from Kansas City
"I am a novice and a woman - so my opinion is VERY valuable!!
This is the second compound miter saw I have owned. I Love this saw - I am ready to upgrade to the sliding 12".
I am remodeling the house and bought a load of 8" wide, hardwood crown moulding to put throughout the house (a lot of it). My former miter saw (a high-quality, high dollar, name brand saw - just sort of looked at the moulding - but could never quite get through it.
The dewalt cuts the miters in this moulding like butter! It is still not wide enough to
handle the whole width of the moulding in one cut - but I have little hand work to do on this moulding because of the great depth the dewalt can accomodate.
Since I am new and learning - it has been very frustrating to figure out exactly what tool I need to handle the jobs I am doing.
I wish I had gotten the Dewalt first. (By the way - I have a great miter saw for sale that has only been used a couple of times - it is rated #1 by consumer reports!!)
The Dewalt did MUCH better - it is rated #1 by me. IF I CAN DO IT - YOU CAN DO IT!!
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Double-Bevel Compound Miter Saw - 12in., 15 Amps, Model# DW716"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great all-around saw

,
August 18, 2008
By termiflyer
from Ithaca, NY
"If you are a non-professional and want a miter saw for many types of jobs (some that you don't even know about yet), I highly recommend this saw. I only say non-professional because I am not one and don't want to speak for them. Easy to use, change blades, accurate cute, though I would recommend the laser for fine tuning cuts."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Double-Bevel Compound Miter Saw - 12in., 15 Amps, Model# DW716"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

DW716

,
April 23, 2008
By nate21
from Strasburg, VA
"THIS IS THE MOST USED TOOL IN MY SHOP AND CONSTRUCTION TRAILER, I WOULD BE LOST WITHOUT THIS SAW AND I RECOMMEND ANYONE THAT UTILIZES THIS SAW TO SPEND THE MONEY TO BUY THE FOLD AWAY STAND FOR THE SAW. A MUST HAVE PRODUCT FOR ANY TRIM CARPENTER"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Double-Bevel Compound Miter Saw - 12in., 15 Amps, Model# DW716"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

To Heavy

,
January 22, 2008
By Dean431
from Alabama
"I have been using this saw for several years. The only problem I have found is the tool holder in the back doesn't hold very well and the wrench falls out all the time. If using this as a portable saw, like I do. I think it is to heavy. It almost breaks my portable roll away stand. Look of a lighter saw like Makita for that situation."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Double-Bevel Compound Miter Saw - 12in., 15 Amps, Model# DW716"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Saw !

,
January 21, 2008
By wirefeed
from Taylorville, Illinois
"I purchased this saw when I started remodeling my second home. The saw works great for everything that I need it for. I use it for everything from framing to cutting laminate flooring and even crown molding. This saw is great."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Double-Bevel Compound Miter Saw - 12in., 15 Amps, Model# DW716"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Combo-Saw

,
January 21, 2008
By Gmil
from Orlando, Fl
"The saw is easy to set-up and use. The blade is easy to replace and remove (although the blade supplied with the saw was narrow kerf carbide tooth). The only problem I had was setting between the 1/8th increments (for baseboards in a non-square home) and had to add a laser to mark during cut."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Double-Bevel Compound Miter Saw - 12in., 15 Amps, Model# DW716"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Accurate, portable and versatile saw

,
January 21, 2008
By Whitewash
from Richmond, VA
"The DeWalt 12" Double-Bevel Compound Miter Saw is a good solid saw.
Some background:
I received this saw as payment for making an oak handrail for my in-laws' stairs so they could sell their house (code issue). My background is in non-profit theatre scenic construction. This means a tight budget and a tighter schedule. Accuracy and repeatability of cuts are a must. There's no room for error in this field. That being said, this saw is for personal use (new home-owner of a "slight" fixer-up and side work). My budget is even tighter at home than at work as every mistake comes out of my pocket.
Now that you have a picture of my need of accuracy and efficiency, onto the saw.
Construction:
When I was looking over different saws to purchase, many parts of the construction went into the final determination of which model and brand to buy. Weight, angle locking mechanism, safety features, power, and general construction all came into play. This saw feels solid. The guard pieces had me worried, Plastic parts can shatter if abused, but these are pretty tough. I don't and won't abuse them, but accidents can happen when you're lugging tools around. That is the only weak point I see in this saw. The majority of the saw is made of aluminum (thick gauge, too) which makes it light yet still solid. The back fence is cleverly designed to slide off and the base of it is 1.5" high (same height as 2x stock which gives it the added crosscut that the company claims it can do. This is handy for being able to make that extra large cross-cut, but it'll require some extra setup. Not too bad, considering that it's rare to need to crosscut 10" (if that's a common cut, you should consider a sliding miter). The belt driven blade is also a huge bonus. It translates to smooth startup, very little vibration and it's much easier on the ears that a direct drive saw. The guard is easy enough to see through for lining up your cuts (it also pivots up which I love as it gives me the reassurance of being dead on my mark) and the electric brake on the saw is pretty much a must in my book. For comfort, DeWalt put the handle on horizontally which lends a much more smooth and natural feel than the vertical handles on other brands. (vertical handles cause a slightly awkward motion, which leads to fatigue and in some instances can cause the saw to shift the bevel of the cut just a hair due to the awkward motion your arm uses on that type of handle-think arm-wrestling).
Accuracy:
The detents are easy to find when you're swapping angles (on the miter) and the lever locking mechanism prevents the miter from "creeping" past the miter angle which you get with the turn lock (or knob) locking mechanisms. The detents alone will hold the angle on the more common angles. The bevel system is nice. You have to pull a pin to access the left bevel, which makes the saw stop at a dead 90 when using the right bevel (pin pulls itself back into position). The base of the unit has swing stops which stop the bevel at 45 which is good for quickly finding the angles, and if you need the little extra (50) it's easy enough to swing the stop out of the way and lock it down at 46-50 which ever you need. There's a three spoke turn lock for the bevel which doesn't cause the angle "creeping" that you find with the turn knobs on a miter lock. This all leads to being not only accurate, but efficient between multiple cuts.
Value:
I would have been hesitant to buy this saw for personal use if it weren't bought for me. That's taking into consideration that I have access to the saws in my shop at work. The price is a little steep for home-handyman use. I would caution against buying this one if only simple cuts (framing) or accuracy aren't terribly important. The double bevel mainly comes in handy for trim and detail work (think crown molding or furniture construction for example). For me this saw is perfect. For trim carpenters, this would be a great saw. It's light, easy to work with and accurate. More then worth it if those are your needs. I won't bring this one to work with me (no need to put wear on my saw when I can use the one in my shop) so I can't speak for it's use in a production environment. But from working with it, I think that as long as a little care is taken in it's setup and transport, this saw will last for years and remain accurate. (As a side note, this saw's guides can be fine tuned if it ever were knocked out of alignment. It's a tedious process, but it's there in case a hard bump were to ever come across this tool-- pretty much a standard feature on higher quality saws, but reassuring to know it's there none the less)
Overall, I would consider budget and your personal requirements before purchasing this saw. If mobile, accurate, easily setup work is what you're looking for, you can't go wrong with this saw. You can get away with a cheaper saw, sure but if you plan on using a miter saw often, you'll appreciate the features this saw has to offer. Consider the DeWalt stand as well. The pair match up quickly and make setting up a work site extremely quick. The stand has a few nice features of it's own, and sometimes they come with a discount if purchased together- absolutely worth shopping around for.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Double-Bevel Compound Miter Saw - 12in., 15 Amps, Model# DW716"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Smooth, clean and powerful

,
January 21, 2008
By Damon
from Bay area, Califonia
"As a general contractor I use this saw almost daily. It produces the smoothes most accurate cuts I have ever seen. From framing to high end crown mouldings and even picture frames, this is one of the best tools I have ever used. I would not only recommend this saw to others, I bought one for my father and I now own one for my cabinet shop. I only buy the best tools, period!
I research and test every tool I buy. Dewalt dominates my tool racks.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Double-Bevel Compound Miter Saw - 12in., 15 Amps, Model# DW716"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Miter Saw

,
October 29, 2007
By Drobertson
from Kokomo, Mississippi
"This is the best saw I have ever bought. It has saved me countless hours with all the angles I cut. I have even cut 4 x 6 post with this. I have used it just about every weekend on projects around the house for the past 6 months and the blade is still cutting perfect. My advise is to buy the Dewalt stand with it. It will help hold up lumber up to 18 feet in length. Worth every penny."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.