Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty 3-Base Router Kit - 2 1/4 HP, 12 Amp, Model# DW618B3"

"FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty 3-Base Router Kit - 2 1/4 HP, 12 Amp, Model# DW618B3"

Item# 399558
"The DEWALT 3-base router is an excellent woodworking tool featuring a 12 Amp motor with the power to rout smoothly through the toughest hardwoods. Electronic variable speed with full feedback control for constant speed under load from 8000-24,000 RPM and soft start to reduce start-up torque for enhanced control. Adjustable, tool-free steel motor cam lock makes depth adjustment and base changes quick and solid-locking. Base Dimensions in. 6, Case Included Yes, Collet Diameter in. 1/4, 1/2, Amps 12, Speed RPM 8,000-24,000, Variable Speed Yes, Wrench Included Yes, HP 2 1/4, Pludge Stroke in. 2 1/2, Base Type D-handle. Micro-fine ring depth stop in 1/64in. increments Spindle lock Integral, through-the-column dust collection collects 95 of the dust Quick-release motor latches for fast and easy motor pack removal for bit and base changes Clear, LEXAN sub-base provides enhanced base durability, bit visibility, and accepts standard template guide bushings Rubber overmolded handles and low center of gravity design provide best-in-class comfort, balance and control Dust-sealed switch provides durability and long switch life Heavy-duty, precision-machined, die-cast aluminum base and motor housing for durability Nickel-plated motor housing for a smooth, long-lasting depth adjustment Right or left switch and cordset location provides the ability to have the switch in your right or left hand Self-releasing slotted collets for better bit retention and eliminating frozen bits 5-position adjustable turret stop assists in stepped or repeated plunge cuts Micro-fine depth adjustment on plunge base 5/128in. per turn for precise routing in veneer and inlays"
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 of 9(89%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty 3-Base Router Kit - 2 1/4 HP, 12 Amp, Model# DW618B3"
Review 1 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty 3-Base Router Kit - 2 1/4 HP, 12 Amp, Model# DW618B3"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great router

,
April 23, 2013
By Vonnybob
from Aurora, CO
" Love this router, It's a great product. I have already got my friend to buy the same one. No complaints at all. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty 3-Base Router Kit - 2 1/4 HP, 12 Amp, Model# DW618B3"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Everything There

,
October 15, 2012
By Torq38
from Tenn.
" Great product , you have the DEWALT name and everything there ready to go , no need to buy multable pieces. Great power the only drawback is to change bits you need to use wrenches the bit lock does not work good. The depth gauge is a little tricky to learn but easy once you get the hang of it. . Made several signs with this product and I love it. I did buy a seperate router for my table so I would not have to keep taking off. But for a hand held group this is the one to get. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty 3-Base Router Kit - 2 1/4 HP, 12 Amp, Model# DW618B3"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

the best router combo kit

,
July 21, 2009
By CarpentryPro
from Ventura, Ca
" I am a professional carpenter and have tried just about every brand of router. The DeWalt routers are my favorite. After purchasing this kit three years ago I haven't used any other routers. The DeWalt combo router kit takes care of everything I need to do. It is a great value, extremely accurate and well made. I couldn't recommend it more highly. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty 3-Base Router Kit - 2 1/4 HP, 12 Amp, Model# DW618B3"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

DeWalt DW618B3

,
July 20, 2009
By gts105
from Oatman, Az.
" I'm not really sure how to rate this router. The first time I went to use it, the arbor lock broke. I took it back and got a new one without any trouble at all. But..... I must admit I still wonder when it's going to brake again even though I realize it isn't likely. But then, now that I've had the router for a couple of years, the speed control has malfunctioned some how leaving me again with a sour taste. I like the multiple bases which is one of the reasons I bought this kit. Over all it seems to be a strong router but it has left me wishing I would have bought something else and that is the reason I wouldn't recommend this product. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty 3-Base Router Kit - 2 1/4 HP, 12 Amp, Model# DW618B3"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Versatility !!!!

,
August 19, 2008
By Chad911
from Twin Cities, MN
" I have to say that I am very finicky when it comes to working with wood and I want tools that will bring about the results I demand. When buying my router I hopped online and started doing my homework. I settled on the dewalt for a number of reasons most important being that from all accounts quality and ease of use. This router is easy to setup quickly and precise. I can get an exact depth in seconds on the plunge notch out for a mortise and a minute later using it in the fixed base or my router table for what ever else I need to use it for. With the 2 1/4 HP it can handle just about any bit you can think of and I have used with very large bits as a shaper with exceptional results. The variable speed is built in so no need for an external unit to plug into, the speed can be dialed in as you are testing it on scrap or on the fly if you are burning your work, all at your finger tips. Every shop should have one worth every penny, I have used many other "top brands" and Dewalt got this one right. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty 3-Base Router Kit - 2 1/4 HP, 12 Amp, Model# DW618B3"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent router set!

,
August 18, 2008
By Bullet
from Seattle, WA
" This set has everything a home handyman need for portable routing included. The motor is strong enough for most applicatons and the soft start feature makes it easy on the hands/arms. All parts (including the case) seem solid and of excellent quality. Please note: Neither the product description here nor on the Dewalt site tell you that it comes with a Dewalt DW6913 Router Edge Guide with Fine Adjustment and Vacuum Adaptor (a $38 accessory).
The only dissappointment: The "owners manual" is a VERY large single sheet with VERY small print, which appears to be a poor English translation from Chinese "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty 3-Base Router Kit - 2 1/4 HP, 12 Amp, Model# DW618B3"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

All you need and more

,
April 30, 2008
By khranicky
from Baltimore, MD
" I do a fair amount of routing and the adjustments with this kit address all my needs. I also like the multiple ways you can handle this unit (multiple bases). Also, since it takes both a 1/4 and 1/2 inch bits is what you want. Keep the pieces lightly oiled, guides especially, and they will work fine. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty 3-Base Router Kit - 2 1/4 HP, 12 Amp, Model# DW618B3"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

this was worth the money

,
April 22, 2008
By thatguychris
from dallas tx
" this router is more then i expected it to be. i have used a desent router for a few years and thought there wasnt a diffrence between routers. was i wrong? yes i was i went ahead and got this one when my motor on mine went out, and wow thats all i can say. so if you are looking at buying a router i would defenitly recommend this one. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty 3-Base Router Kit - 2 1/4 HP, 12 Amp, Model# DW618B3"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dwalt 3 base Router

,
October 29, 2007
By Allindsay
from San Diego, CA
" Easy to use, tough and reliable.
Quick base changing and single wrench bit changing.
Plenty of power for flush trimming and slot cutting.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.