Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Planer with 3-Knife Cutter-Head - 12 1/2in. Width Capacity, Model# DW734"

"FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Planer with 3-Knife Cutter-Head - 12 1/2in. Width Capacity, Model# DW734"

Item# 399566
"The DEWALT Planer with 3-Knife Cutter-Head has a powerful 15.0 Amp and 20,000 RPM motor to handle larger, deeper cuts in hardwoods. 3-knife cutter-head with 10,000 RPM cutter head speed provides 96 cuts per inch, one of the finest finishes of any portable planer. Disposable, reversible knives deliver 30 more knife life and make knife change fast and easy. Four-column carriage lock drastically reduces the movement that causes snipe. Amps 15, Cutting Depth in. 1/8, Cutting Width in. 12 1/2, Rated RPM 20,000. 15 Amp, 20,000 RPM motor handles larger, deeper cuts in hardwood 6in. depth capacity Extra-long infeed and outfeed tables provide 33 1/2in. of material support Material removal gauge and extra-large thickness scale deliver accurate cuts with every pass Turret depth stop allows users to return to their most frequently used depths with ease"
Average Customer Rating:
4.933 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (15 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 of 15(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Planer with 3-Knife Cutter-Head - 12 1/2in. Width Capacity, Model# DW734"
Review 1 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Planer with 3-Knife Cutter-Head - 12 1/2in. Width Capacity, Model# DW734"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Impressive Planer

,
January 16, 2012
By cab6
from MIssissippi
" I have always recieved good service from DeWalt tools. This planer was impressive from the start concering it's efficency & easy setup. The double sided blades are a plus , they are easily changed. I recommend this machine to anyone looking for a compact planer that will do the job. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
9out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Planer with 3-Knife Cutter-Head - 12 1/2in. Width Capacity, Model# DW734"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dewalt Heavy Duty Planer

,
June 13, 2011
By 1102bv
from Brampton,ON.
" Always have had excellent results using this planer.
Easy to set up and use.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-7points
4out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Planer with 3-Knife Cutter-Head - 12 1/2in. Width Capacity, Model# DW734"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works like a champ

,
March 21, 2011
By spokanemike
from Spokane WA
" I believe this to be the best portable planer on the market, not only does it do high quality but it is easy to move from place to place. Make sure your bolts and screws are tight. It is also really easy to tear this machine down with the two tools that come atatched to the machine. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Planer with 3-Knife Cutter-Head - 12 1/2in. Width Capacity, Model# DW734"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Tool

,
March 21, 2011
By txhunter1
from Austin, Texas
" Dewalt has a great reputation for tools and this is no exception. Handled all sizes wood and various hardnesses and the motor never pulled down. I am very satisfied and would recomment to anyone. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Planer with 3-Knife Cutter-Head - 12 1/2in. Width Capacity, Model# DW734"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Greate value

,
March 21, 2011
By othy
" This planer was ready to use out of the box. I have planed purple heart, hard oak, various hard woods and this tool has done the job making nice smooth cuts. Had to reduce the amount of stock slightly with the purple heart. Recently replaced the blades which were easily found and replaced. This planer is an excellent buy. I wish it were 15 inches but you can't have everything for this price. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Planer with 3-Knife Cutter-Head - 12 1/2in. Width Capacity, Model# DW734"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great planer

,
August 30, 2010
By eddym
from Connecticut
" I use it with hardwood and it works exccelent. it leaves a very smooth peace of wood after passing it throu it.
But I wish it had tunsten steel blades
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Planer with 3-Knife Cutter-Head - 12 1/2in. Width Capacity, Model# DW734"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Low Price - High Praise

,
April 30, 2010
By Hobbssak1
from Gardner, MA
" This planer is very impressive. All I did is take it out of the box, put on the depth adjustment handle and started working. It is easy to use and works great. I am building my own custom fence from raw, green lumber from the mill. I have planed over 1,000 board feet in of hemlock in three days without a problem. The unit is powerful and the knives yield great result. The planed surface is much smoother than I would ever need for a fence and good enough for fine woodworking. Overall I am impressed and more than satisfied with my puchase. If you want a great planer for a great price by this unit. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Planer with 3-Knife Cutter-Head - 12 1/2in. Width Capacity, Model# DW734"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solid

,
February 23, 2010
By juju
from coventry, connecticut
" Just purcchased this planer after seeing it at a woodcrafting store and reading reviews online. This review is based on seeing and touching it at the woodworking store. This unit is a pull out of the box and use it unit. There was no set up required and the controls are easy to understand and use. Even a novice like me can intuitively figure out how it works and get busy with it. It is very well made and solid, nothing cheap. I am especially glad that it comes with reusable (after resharpening) blades. Something the others didn't offer. I also like the long feed table to cut down on snipe. It's compact enough that I can fit it on my shop table permanantly so I'm excited about it. I'm only giving four stars because I did not buy the floor model I bought one new in the box. I hope that the quality that I saw in that floor model will translate to the one that I bought. I have no reason at all to believe that it will not "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
-3points
3out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Planer with 3-Knife Cutter-Head - 12 1/2in. Width Capacity, Model# DW734"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dewalt planer is great!

,
February 15, 2010
By jasnms
from Asheville, NC
" Having cut down some white oak trees, I had a sawyer rough-cut it into pieces 4 inches thick. After letting the wood cure, I used this planer to plane some of it down into boards that I could use to build a bed. This was my first big project and the planer made it look like I was a professional and skilled furniture maker. I have used it enough now that the blades began to feel dull so I changed the double-sided blades and it was a breeze! The feeders work beautifully even with long (8 feet) boards. With the automatic stop I was able to plane multiple boards to exact thickness. The Dewalt planer has become an important addition to my small shop. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Planer with 3-Knife Cutter-Head - 12 1/2in. Width Capacity, Model# DW734"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Planer

,
November 3, 2009
By Trupp
from Joplin, MO
" I love to do wood working, but i am on a budget so i can't buy all the big toys. So after some research i bought this DeWalt planer and i have been extremely glad that i did so. It has great power and doesn't bog down even when your planer a 12in red oak board. It make almost finish quality cuts, all it needs is a little sanding and your ready for the stain. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Planer with 3-Knife Cutter-Head - 12 1/2in. Width Capacity, Model# DW734"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dewalt Planer

,
November 2, 2009
By pjmdy
from Wainwright, Ohio
" I have had this planer for just a few months. I primarily purchase boards that are only finished on two faces at 4/4 size, and then plane them down from there. I have planed oak, tulip, poplar all with minimal effort. I purchased a lot of rough-cut hickory and am planning to make kitchen cabinets with them. With this unit, I have all the confidence in the world that it will produce beautiful boards. I have taken some very rough cut oak and black walnut boards for a friend to make cutting boards. The planer did a great job, the three knives producing a very smooth finished surface. I have had a little bit of snipe issue but am getting a better feel for feeding the boards correctly. It is a quite powerful unit, and as has been mentioned earlier, can really throw the chips, so I have hooked up my shop-vac when using it. It also produces very precise cuts, getting down to the 1/32" if you want to be really critical. The dial indicator shows 1/64" , but I have yet to need that degree of accuracy. Definitely worth the money - just wish I had one years ago. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Planer with 3-Knife Cutter-Head - 12 1/2in. Width Capacity, Model# DW734"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

wow! blew me away!

,
March 23, 2009
By JOATMON1
from Glendive, MT
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" I bought this planer a couple of months ago to help me build some cabinets and I have to say...WOW! It is so quick and practically does the work for you. then when you move on to another step, it folds up and you can move it right out of the way. I made my cabinets out of recycled wood and the planer did an awesome job. I do recommend that you hook it up to a vacuum though, it makes one heck of a mess! I cannot say enough good things about this /planer...I planed oak down to 5/8 inch and had no need to sand when I was done...it was as smooth as a baby's butt. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Planer with 3-Knife Cutter-Head - 12 1/2in. Width Capacity, Model# DW734"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent shop planer

,
August 18, 2008
By surfwood
from Westchester,CA
" I have yet to be able to bog this planer down enough to blow a circuit. Although I run 20 amp circuits to my shop equipment, I still occasionally blow one with my table saw, but not yet with the planer. I've thrown 6X Walnut, Oak, and Maple no problems, slight fuzz with figured woods, but easily sanded out. Snipe is very minimal compared with the 5 hp large planer. This is the optimal planer for small shops with no room for a permanent floor mounted model. Blade change is a snap and blades are readily available, I recommend buy the extra set and when the factory installed set get dull, change 'em out with no down time. I changed my blades the first time in about 20 minutes. I have tried other planers in this class and there is no comparison. Can't recommend more. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Planer with 3-Knife Cutter-Head - 12 1/2in. Width Capacity, Model# DW734"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

dewalt planer

,
January 21, 2008
By earl27
from Lindsay, Ok
" I like the planer very much. I have had my planer for 10 years and have not had any problems with it. I have only changed the blades one time and I use it a lot. I would highly recomend it to anyone. I build porch swings and other odd jobs that require planing the wood so it is in use quite a bit. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Planer with 3-Knife Cutter-Head - 12 1/2in. Width Capacity, Model# DW734"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Planer for the Money

,
October 29, 2007
By skiddr
from Spring City, Tennessee
" I have owned this planer for two years. I have probably planed over two thousand board feet of lumber with it and it has never failed. I use it mostly on Eastern Red Cedar, White Pine and some Red Oak. The fold down infeed and out feed platforms give it a compact form for storage when not in use while providing one of the largest feed tables when folded down for use. The three knife cutting system offers a finish so smoothe it requires no sanding. The knives are extremely easy to change from the top by removing two screws holding the chip chute. The only tools needed to maintain this machine are provided and are held in place by clips so they are always with the machine when needed. Reverseable blades mean twice the blade life. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.