Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty VSR Drill - 1/2in., Model# DW235G

FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty VSR Drill - 1/2in., Model# DW235G

Item# 399787
The DEWALT 1/2in. Heavy-Duty VSR Drill is built extra tough with helical-cut steel gears and a metal gear housing to withstand rugged jobsite conditions and heavy-duty daily use. Amps 7.8, Speed RPM 0-850, Chuck Size in. 1/2, Variable Speed Yes, Case Included No, Keyless Chuck No, Side Handle Yes. Helical-cut steel, heat-treated steel gears for long life and durability Metal gear housing for jobsite durability and increased reliability Two-finger, rubber trigger for increased comfort 360 side handle for greater control and versatility Double gear reduction UL listed
Average Customer Rating:
4.811 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (37 reviews)
5 stars
33
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
35 of 37(95%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty VSR Drill - 1/2in., Model# DW235G
Review 1 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty VSR Drill - 1/2in., Model# DW235G
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Not exactly my model

,
September 23, 2013
By docjohnie
from Caldwell, Texas
"My model is a little older than this, but this is what mine has morphed into thru the years. Mine is 25 years old and has been thru the mill. Helpers and professionals both have abused this drill. But only the cord and trigger have had to be replaced (more than once). As I have said in other reviews, this one is going to retire with me to my farm real soon. It has been a dollar saving tool for me and my company."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty VSR Drill - 1/2in., Model# DW235G
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Makes quick work of concrete walls

,
September 18, 2013
By zombieprepared
from Largo, Florida
"After burning up several lower end hammer drills, I was happy to finally find a good deal on this corded high-power VSR drill. The chuck stays locked down, even on bits without the hex wall shank. Makes quick work of both steel and concrete. Heavy, but that's a product of being heavy duty. Whenever I've got to go through something thick fast, this is the drill I turn to."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty VSR Drill - 1/2in., Model# DW235G
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Packs a punch

,
September 17, 2013
By RSlater04
from Gwinn, MI
"This drill is absolutely amazing. It's easy to use, lightweight and has plenty of power to drill holes through absolutely everything. I had to install and new vent cover for our dryer and needed to drill new holes into the brick wall around it. This drill conquered the task without even breaking a sweat. The adjustable power handle is nice for being able to turn the drill at awkward angles when i needed to."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty VSR Drill - 1/2in., Model# DW235G
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Buy!

,
October 16, 2012
By jcav
from Florida
"This is a very powerful drill for the money. Excellent buy and gets the job done. I haven't seen a more powerful drill for the money out there. The lower rpms are also great for drilling stainless steel. Removeable side handle really gives you a firm grip and allows you to apply extra pressure when needed."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty VSR Drill - 1/2in., Model# DW235G
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drill on

,
October 8, 2012
By UCharlie
from Phila, PA
"This drill is a solid performer and the flexibility to adjust the handle makes it safe and easy to use. Well made. You know when you hold this that you have quality in your hands."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty VSR Drill - 1/2in., Model# DW235G
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tool with no complaints

,
October 17, 2011
By bigbadsnakeinMo
from Lohman, Missouri
"I bought this when I was in one of the stores in Texas and found it was the best thing to replace the 2 others I had which were Craftsman and Milwaukee brands. It's been dropped off a roof onto concrete and worked fine. Accidently left in the rain and it kept working without any problems. It's durable, well worth the money and when I need to get another drill, this is the first place for me to get another just like it. I love this drill."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty VSR Drill - 1/2in., Model# DW235G
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

ease of use

,
June 15, 2011
By 68mustangrod
from lake havasu city, Az.
"This drill is light weight easy to hold and use comfortable grip and plenty of power and torque the price and availibility of item and parts is extremely good! I purchased this drill for use on repairing a friends house and it worked well above our expectations."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty VSR Drill - 1/2in., Model# DW235G
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great drill

,
June 13, 2011
By slicknick
from carson, va
"i bought this drill because all i had was a cordless and it just wasnt strong anymore. this drill was more than i expected. the first thing i used it for was to drill some holes in a truck frame to mount a hitch. i was drilling 1/2" holes and it did it with no problem. it went right through like i was drilling into a 2x4. it never got hot or bogged down. it got the job done in the ammount of time it would have taken my craftsman 18 volt cordless to do one hole. i would deffinatly recomend this drill to anyone. i am a firm believer that anything made by dewalt is a great product."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty VSR Drill - 1/2in., Model# DW235G
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great, powerful tool

,
March 21, 2011
By usm11145
from Temecula, CA
"I wanted a drill motor that could handle almost any home use and this is it! It is strong yet not too heavy. I've got a couple of cordless drills but when I need one now (without waiting for one to charge) and want to make sure it does not get bogged down, this is the tool I grab. On top of its quality, you can't beat the price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty VSR Drill - 1/2in., Model# DW235G
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent corded drill!

,
November 23, 2010
By JerryFromDallas
from Dallas, TX
"I bought this drill because there are occasions where my 18V cordless drill doesn't cut it. I've owned this DeWalt drill for about 3-4 years and it always does what I need it to.
Some nice features are that the forward and reverse switch is above the trigger making it easy to switch 1-handed. It also has the grip on the front that can be clamped down at whatever position you need or removed entirely.
The only con is that the drill is a little heavy which may fatigue some people."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty VSR Drill - 1/2in., Model# DW235G
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not too good!

,
November 23, 2010
By pinelady
"Dewalt tools have not lived up to their hype. Poor construction and very short battery life."
-21points
1out of 23found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
ClamCove
Maine 
 
Please wait while more information about ClamCove is loaded.
Additional information about ClamCove could not be loaded.
Battery?
October 14, 2012
"Why the disparaging comment on the battery as this is a line cord product. Seems very odd."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty VSR Drill - 1/2in., Model# DW235G
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very sturdy drill

,
August 30, 2010
By DACTN
from Knoxville, TN
"Bought this for a specific purpose, to drill multiple holes through RR ties to rebuild a backyard terrace wall. It did the job well, my only minor complaint is that for someone with fat hands and not that much experience like me, the switch from forward to reverse slipped several times and caused me to wonder what was going wrong. Turns out it was mainly me, I just wonder if they could tighten up this switch or put it somewhere else on the drill. But truly, this is a serious tool and I could not have done this job without it. Will definitely be buying DeWalt products in the future."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty VSR Drill - 1/2in., Model# DW235G
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

1/2" Drill

,
June 1, 2010
By BarBK
from Idaho
"Has a lot of power, even when heavily torqued. Outer shell is very durable against drops and bangs. Have abused it for a lot of years and it is still going strong. Overall good product."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty VSR Drill - 1/2in., Model# DW235G
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

ELECTRICIAN

,
February 23, 2010
By trinickle
from north carolina
"Bought this tool several years ago and have been real pleased with it ever since -- best tool I ever owned."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty VSR Drill - 1/2in., Model# DW235G
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dewalt Corded drill

,
July 23, 2009
By RoyRogers
from Louisiana
"Very good drill powerfull, all most too strong, hard on the wrist. But it will get the job done."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty VSR Drill - 1/2in., Model# DW235G
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A new outlet outside

,
July 21, 2009
By MrTMan
from Silver Spring, Maryland
"I used this drill to make a hole through a wall of my house from the inside to the outside. I like how the switch variable speed control because it was necessary. I first drill through this mortar with no problem. I then had to drill thru a brick but at a lower controlled speed and it was great. The drill did not over heat even after going thru several bits and that allows the drill(y(yellow) power) easy. Thanks for a wonderful product and I look forward to possible a dewalt (multi tool) like the multimaster.
Mr.T Man
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty VSR Drill - 1/2in., Model# DW235G
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

DeWalt Heavy Duty Drill

,
July 20, 2009
By xrayBill
from Sun Valley NV.
"This unit has lots of torque. Very good for concrete drilling and large hole saws.
Was doing an room add on and needed 6" holes in the 1 3/4" flooring. The only improvement that could be done to the drill is a padded handle for long usage. The level on the back helps to keep the holes straight.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty VSR Drill - 1/2in., Model# DW235G
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dewalt Corded Drill 1/2in

,
July 20, 2009
By jwojtkow
from MI
"Great drill, always dependable. Would recommend to anyone and would buy again. Never any issues with it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty VSR Drill - 1/2in., Model# DW235G
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best

,
July 20, 2009
By MReid
from Gastonia, NC
"I've been in the construction business for over 40 years and DeWalt makes the best tools. I've owned a model DW235G for 4 years. It preforms excellent for me every time. I've abused it a few times using large bits in tough materials and it gets the job done. I highly recomment this drill."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty VSR Drill - 1/2in., Model# DW235G
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

good quality

,
November 18, 2008
By RussY
from Chatham, Illinois
"Like all Dewalt products, it is of good quality and works like it is supposed too."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.