Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Bench Grinder - 8in., 3/4 HP, Model# DW758"

"FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Bench Grinder - 8in., 3/4 HP, Model# DW758"

Item# 39982
"The DEWALT 8in. 3/4 HP Heavy-Duty Bench Grinder has the power to handle daily commercial grinding applications. Variable Speed No, Amps 4.2, Wheel Included Yes, 2, Wheel Diameter in. 8, Speed RPM 3,600. 3/4 HP induction motor provides superior power for industrial grinding applications Rugged cast iron base and motor housing provide durability and prolonged life Motor runs at 3600 RPM for high speed material removal Precision-machined aluminum tool rests allow the user to accurately position work Rear exhaust ports in wheel guards for smoother operation 12 1/2in. distance between wheels for larger and longer grinding applications Rugged cast iron base and loader housing"
Average Customer Rating:
4.565 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (23 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
22 of 23(96%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Bench Grinder - 8in., 3/4 HP, Model# DW758"
Review 1 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Bench Grinder - 8in., 3/4 HP, Model# DW758"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bench grinder

,
August 22, 2015
By
from Texas
" I have had this for about three weeks and have found it to be very useful in all my projects. I do a lot of welding so am grinding a lot of metal. This grinder works as good as my old one that I used for about 30 years. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Bench Grinder - 8in., 3/4 HP, Model# DW758"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Decent Grinder

,
August 17, 2015
By
from Salem, VA
" I have used the grinder to sharpen 6 mower blades, chisels and knives. The motor has plenty of power. The grinder wheels are not well balanced so it does vibrate. I removed the most unbalanced wheel and replaced it with a wire brush. For the price it is a decent grinder. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Bench Grinder - 8in., 3/4 HP, Model# DW758"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bench grinder

,
June 19, 2015
By
from ATHENS TX
" This grinder is really nice. Maybe to a fault it is so quiet you dont realize it is on. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Bench Grinder - 8in., 3/4 HP, Model# DW758"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

owner

,
April 27, 2015
By
from Ohio
" It's a very solid compact bench grinder with nice tool rest. We set it up with a wire brush on one side to de-burr parts that get cut on a band saw. It has plenty of power to do the job. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Bench Grinder - 8in., 3/4 HP, Model# DW758"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product, good value

,
March 3, 2015
By
from Waterloo, IA
" The rests and shields are sturdy and easy to install. The unit operates with minimal vibration compared to other grinders I've used, which is nice. The finer grit wheel works great, and leaves a good surface finish. I haven't used the coarse wheel yet because I immediately replaced it with a wirewheel, which this model has ample power to make this swap worthwhile (as opposed to a smaller motor that is easily bogged down when wirewheeling). "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Bench Grinder - 8in., 3/4 HP, Model# DW758"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

durable, tough product

,
July 22, 2014
By
from fl
" very nice bench grinder,had a few in my time. sharpen lawn mower blades with ease. over 3/8 thick no problem very well made!! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Bench Grinder - 8in., 3/4 HP, Model# DW758"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dewalt 8" bench grinder

,
June 8, 2014
By
from Houston, TX
" Just as advertised. Well balanced with very little vibration and comes up to speed quickly with lots of torque for grinding light to heavy metal. The only negative is that the cover screws are slightly difficult to access. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Bench Grinder - 8in., 3/4 HP, Model# DW758"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor quality

,
January 24, 2014
By
from Castro Valley, CA
" If you're lucky and you get a good one this may be a good grinder, but out of the two I received before I gave up I was very disappointed in the quality control for this product. First one had a cracked base and the wheels wobbled all over the place, none of the arbor washers nor the bushings behind them were straight or parallel, or even had centered holes. And a screw was missing to boot (holding the wheel covers on). The replacement one that I got had no cracks in the base and the wheels were surprisingly aligned (but not dead on), but the motor had something inside of it that was rubbing against something else. Sounded like a piece of sheet metal that was loose inside. It did stabilize once the RPMs picked up, but for a new grinder, that's a no go here.
IOW, no, I can't recommend this to anyone based on my experience.
Norther tools did a good job dealing with the exchange and return though. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Bench Grinder - 8in., 3/4 HP, Model# DW758"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

8" DeWalt Bench Grinder

,
April 23, 2013
By
from Beacon, NY
" This grinder in built to last. The 3/4 hp motor only slows down if I use a lot of pressure. It removes a lot of metal very fast. I replaced the course stone with a wire wheel. This allows me to grind and clean. The only reason I did not rate it 5 stars is because the wheels are a bit too close together. You have to be careful not to hit the other wheel when working with longer objects. And remember it has a 3/4 hp motor so it MUST be bolted down. I bolted mine to a 2' x 1' section of 3/4" plywood. This allows me to clamp it down with C clamps anywhere on my workbench. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Bench Grinder - 8in., 3/4 HP, Model# DW758"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great

,
May 18, 2012
By
from pa
" took mine to work. used for chisels and siccors. works great.smooth running grinder. grinding wheels hold up well.every body in the shop likes it. they even bring in lawn mower blades. etc. to sharpen. i would recomend it for work or home use. i will have to buy another one for at home. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
8out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Bench Grinder - 8in., 3/4 HP, Model# DW758"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent grinder

,
October 17, 2011
By
from Burton, ohio
" Have used to sharpen mower blades, and grind some misc. things. Overall seems very well built, it was definatly a heavy grinder. Seems like it should last a long time, and has plenty of power. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Bench Grinder - 8in., 3/4 HP, Model# DW758"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality

,
March 21, 2011
By
from No. California
" I own this same model it is powerful and vibration free. I don't think there is a better grinder made. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
-2points
7out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Bench Grinder - 8in., 3/4 HP, Model# DW758"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Bench Grinder

,
June 1, 2010
By
from Granville Tennessee
" This ginder is a good heavy duty grinder that does not bogg down when in heavy use. I would recommend it to anyone needed a good grinder. Best ginder on the market for the money. One down side is the instructions for putting it together. They are not very good at all but with a small amount of skills it takes about 1 1/2 hrs.
Moose "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Bench Grinder - 8in., 3/4 HP, Model# DW758"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

grinder review

,
February 23, 2010
By
from Silver City, NM
" Seems to be a good product. Product was back ordered and took a long time to arive (month). I have not used it yet but it seems to be well built and will meet my needs. Was a little confussing to assemble. I have a very old grinder that was my dad's and when I compair this one to it, it seems like it starts slower and makes some kind of wierd noises when it starts. I hope this does not indicate any problems in the long run. On the positive side, the safety features are good and it seems to have lots of power. I am looking forward to using it in my shop. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Bench Grinder - 8in., 3/4 HP, Model# DW758"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best ever had

,
November 24, 2009
By
from Domenican republik
" We Purchased one 10 Years ago and using it every Day, we Purchased now same again. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Bench Grinder - 8in., 3/4 HP, Model# DW758"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dewalt 8in. Bench Grinder

,
July 22, 2009
By
from Buffalo New York Auto Tech for 15 years.
" I had an older no name bench grinder that would stop when I would put some pressure on it. But now with the Dewalt bench grinder I can do my work a lot faster, because it doesn't stop and it is also safer to use than the older no name grinder. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Bench Grinder - 8in., 3/4 HP, Model# DW758"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

DEWALT 8" Grinder

,
July 20, 2009
By
from Iowa
" I bought this grinder for ruff sharpening plane irons, and general sharpening of other tools. So far I have been very happy with this grinder, and would buy again. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Bench Grinder - 8in., 3/4 HP, Model# DW758"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

8" Dewalt Grinder

,
July 20, 2009
By
from Pa
" Nice HD grinder. I looked at some others but they are made of too much plastic and not good for commercial application. Runs smooth and quiet. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Bench Grinder - 8in., 3/4 HP, Model# DW758"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

,
March 16, 2009
By
from California
" I have an older 6" grinder that would bog down. This grinder doesn't bog down and grinds way faster. This is a excellent product. "
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Bench Grinder - 8in., 3/4 HP, Model# DW758"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent grinder

,
May 10, 2008
By
from Jackson,MS
" Good quality grinder, plenty of power, runs smooth. Delivers what you would expect from a Dewalt tool. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.