Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Bench Grinder - 8in., 3/4 HP, Model# DW758

FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Bench Grinder - 8in., 3/4 HP, Model# DW758

Item# 39982
The DEWALT 8in. 3/4 HP Heavy-Duty Bench Grinder has the power to handle daily commercial grinding applications. Amps 4.2, Battery Included No, Case Included No, HP 3/4, Length in. 16, Product Type Bench, Speed RPM 3,600, Spindle Thread Size 5/8, Variable Speed No, Wheel Diameter in. 8, Wheel Included Yes, 2. 3/4 HP induction motor provides superior power for industrial grinding applications Rugged cast iron base and motor housing provide durability and prolonged life Motor runs at 3600 RPM for high speed material removal Precision-machined aluminum tool rests allow the user to accurately position work Rear exhaust ports in wheel guards for smoother operation 12 1/2in. distance between wheels for larger and longer grinding applications Rugged cast iron base and loader housing
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (18 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
17 of 18(94%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Bench Grinder - 8in., 3/4 HP, Model# DW758
Review 1 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Bench Grinder - 8in., 3/4 HP, Model# DW758
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

durable, tough product

,
July 22, 2014
By hillbillymike
from fl
"very nice bench grinder,had a few in my time. sharpen lawn mower blades with ease. over 3/8 thick no problem very well made!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Bench Grinder - 8in., 3/4 HP, Model# DW758
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dewalt 8" bench grinder

,
June 8, 2014
By was7
from Houston, TX
"Just as advertised. Well balanced with very little vibration and comes up to speed quickly with lots of torque for grinding light to heavy metal. The only negative is that the cover screws are slightly difficult to access."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Bench Grinder - 8in., 3/4 HP, Model# DW758
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor quality

,
January 24, 2014
By j34st2
from Castro Valley, CA
"If you're lucky and you get a good one this may be a good grinder, but out of the two I received before I gave up I was very disappointed in the quality control for this product. First one had a cracked base and the wheels wobbled all over the place, none of the arbor washers nor the bushings behind them were straight or parallel, or even had centered holes. And a screw was missing to boot (holding the wheel covers on). The replacement one that I got had no cracks in the base and the wheels were surprisingly aligned (but not dead on), but the motor had something inside of it that was rubbing against something else. Sounded like a piece of sheet metal that was loose inside. It did stabilize once the RPMs picked up, but for a new grinder, that's a no go here.
IOW, no, I can't recommend this to anyone based on my experience.
Norther tools did a good job dealing with the exchange and return though."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Bench Grinder - 8in., 3/4 HP, Model# DW758
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

8" DeWalt Bench Grinder

,
April 23, 2013
By provo1
from Beacon, NY
"This grinder in built to last. The 3/4 hp motor only slows down if I use a lot of pressure. It removes a lot of metal very fast. I replaced the course stone with a wire wheel. This allows me to grind and clean. The only reason I did not rate it 5 stars is because the wheels are a bit too close together. You have to be careful not to hit the other wheel when working with longer objects. And remember it has a 3/4 hp motor so it MUST be bolted down. I bolted mine to a 2' x 1' section of 3/4" plywood. This allows me to clamp it down with C clamps anywhere on my workbench."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Bench Grinder - 8in., 3/4 HP, Model# DW758
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great

,
May 18, 2012
By 1sharpchisel
from pa
"took mine to work. used for chisels and siccors. works great.smooth running grinder. grinding wheels hold up well.every body in the shop likes it. they even bring in lawn mower blades. etc. to sharpen. i would recomend it for work or home use. i will have to buy another one for at home."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
8out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Bench Grinder - 8in., 3/4 HP, Model# DW758
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent grinder

,
October 17, 2011
By Kbecker
from Burton, ohio
"Have used to sharpen mower blades, and grind some misc. things. Overall seems very well built, it was definatly a heavy grinder. Seems like it should last a long time, and has plenty of power."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Bench Grinder - 8in., 3/4 HP, Model# DW758
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality

,
March 21, 2011
By Fordiron
from No. California
"I own this same model it is powerful and vibration free. I don't think there is a better grinder made."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-2points
7out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Bench Grinder - 8in., 3/4 HP, Model# DW758
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Bench Grinder

,
June 1, 2010
By Scoonover
from Granville Tennessee
"This ginder is a good heavy duty grinder that does not bogg down when in heavy use. I would recommend it to anyone needed a good grinder. Best ginder on the market for the money. One down side is the instructions for putting it together. They are not very good at all but with a small amount of skills it takes about 1 1/2 hrs.
Moose"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Bench Grinder - 8in., 3/4 HP, Model# DW758
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

grinder review

,
February 23, 2010
By gerr
from Silver City, NM
"Seems to be a good product. Product was back ordered and took a long time to arive (month). I have not used it yet but it seems to be well built and will meet my needs. Was a little confussing to assemble. I have a very old grinder that was my dad's and when I compair this one to it, it seems like it starts slower and makes some kind of wierd noises when it starts. I hope this does not indicate any problems in the long run. On the positive side, the safety features are good and it seems to have lots of power. I am looking forward to using it in my shop."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Bench Grinder - 8in., 3/4 HP, Model# DW758
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best ever had

,
November 24, 2009
By Domrep
from Domenican republik
"We Purchased one 10 Years ago and using it every Day, we Purchased now same again."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Bench Grinder - 8in., 3/4 HP, Model# DW758
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dewalt 8in. Bench Grinder

,
July 22, 2009
By Autodude
from Buffalo New York Auto Tech for 15 years.
"I had an older no name bench grinder that would stop when I would put some pressure on it. But now with the Dewalt bench grinder I can do my work a lot faster, because it doesn't stop and it is also safer to use than the older no name grinder."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Bench Grinder - 8in., 3/4 HP, Model# DW758
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

DEWALT 8" Grinder

,
July 20, 2009
By clint1
from Iowa
"I bought this grinder for ruff sharpening plane irons, and general sharpening of other tools. So far I have been very happy with this grinder, and would buy again."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Bench Grinder - 8in., 3/4 HP, Model# DW758
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

8" Dewalt Grinder

,
July 20, 2009
By LGTech
from Pa
"Nice HD grinder. I looked at some others but they are made of too much plastic and not good for commercial application. Runs smooth and quiet."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Bench Grinder - 8in., 3/4 HP, Model# DW758
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

,
March 16, 2009
By oldschooljeep
from California
"I have an older 6" grinder that would bog down. This grinder doesn't bog down and grinds way faster. This is a excellent product."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Bench Grinder - 8in., 3/4 HP, Model# DW758
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent grinder

,
May 10, 2008
By bigafly
from Jackson,MS
"Good quality grinder, plenty of power, runs smooth. Delivers what you would expect from a Dewalt tool."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Bench Grinder - 8in., 3/4 HP, Model# DW758
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very happy with this grinder

,
April 21, 2008
By Jaymo
from Stockbridge, GA
"I bought this grinder late last year out of frustration with my "travelling tool show" bench grinder and it's inability to maintain any kind of rotational speed under any load. I have not been disappointed in this DeWalt grinder. It has plenty of power for the job."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Bench Grinder - 8in., 3/4 HP, Model# DW758
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Dewalt Bench Grinder

,
April 15, 2008
By RockandDirt
from Gilmanton, N.H.
"This is a solidly built grinder that has worked well for me. It comes stock with two different solid grinding wheels, which I subsequently substituted one wheel for a wire wheel. The design for switching out attachments is cumbersome and could use improvement. Otherwise, quite a satisfactory purchase."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Heavy-Duty Bench Grinder - 8in., 3/4 HP, Model# DW758
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Smooth Grinder

,
January 23, 2008
By tvman1
from Johnson City, TN
"Great grinder for the price. No work light but was easy to install one from old unit. The larger 8" wheels make heavy grinding jobs go faster. Fits handily on grinder stand thus making room for more equipment."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.