Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial 7 1/4in. Metal Cutting Saw

FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial 7 1/4in. Metal Cutting Saw

Item# 399984
The fastest, cleanest, most precise metal cutting system ever Cuts through aluminum, mild steel or stainless steel 4 times faster than abrasive cutter. Cuts dry, so no messy coolants are required. Chip collector contains any metal shavings. Battery Included No, Blade Diameter in. 7 1/4, Blade Included Yes, Blade Location Right, Amps 10, Cordless No, Depth Adjustment 2 1/4, Speed - No Load RPM 3,500, Spindle Lock Yes, Case Included Yes, Charger Included No, Wrench Included Yes, Arbor Size in. 25/32. Cuts through aluminum, mild steel or stainless steel 4 times faster than abrasive cutter Dry cut carbide blade limits flying debris and keeps sparks to a minimum Cuts dry - no messy coolants needed Metal chip collector with view window contains metal shavings Cuts up to 1/4in. thick metal plate Rip fence provides straight, parallel cuts Cushioned oversized front handle Blow-molded case keeps accessories organized and close at hand
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (21 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
21 of 21(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial 7 1/4in. Metal Cutting Saw
Review 1 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial 7 1/4in. Metal Cutting Saw
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

metal saw

,
April 16, 2014
By J1M1
from Northern NY
"I bought this saw to use for roofing tin. since then I have used it for cutting 1/4 in. steel. the saw performs very well, cutting steel like a hot knife trough butter!!!! this is really one of the best tools I own. no handyman should go without this in your garage.Excellent fathers day gift JM"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial 7 1/4in. Metal Cutting Saw
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

slice and dice metal

,
April 16, 2014
By heatmover
from winterset,iowa
"cuts through 3/16" like butter and leaves a clean edge. looking forward to see how it handles thicker stock. only one problem, can't see line to cut when it is a short cut of 2-3".."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial 7 1/4in. Metal Cutting Saw
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cuts thru tin like butter

,
February 6, 2014
By jb112454
from Prague, Oklahoma
"Got this saw to cut metal building tin for a horse shelter. I used a skill saw with the blade turned around before. With this saw it was like cutting wood a lot less noise and better cuts. I even cut 5 sheets at once with no problem"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial 7 1/4in. Metal Cutting Saw
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Super saw for the price!

,
October 16, 2012
By radbuilder1
from Hillsville, VA
"I bought this saw to use on metal roofing to avoid all of the hand cutting and the damage shears due to the panels. The saw worked great! It is extremely noisy and a little hard to see the cutting line due to the guards. But after I adjusted my marked lines to the side of the base I could easily follow them. the lack of sparks was a definite plus and the saw cut the metal with ease without rough or bent edges. I was even able to trim roof panels after they had been attached which is a big plus when working on out of square or irregular roof sections. I would definitely recommend this saw to anyone who hates the rough edges that shears can leave or the time and hassle hand cutting with snips takes."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial 7 1/4in. Metal Cutting Saw
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Saw

,
August 20, 2012
By ja1244
from Tucson, AZ
"I've used it on steel as well as T6 up to .25". I bought it in stead of a chop saw and love it. Be sure to wear ear protection."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial 7 1/4in. Metal Cutting Saw
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

metal cutting saw

,
January 9, 2012
By phips
from Mansfield Texas
"I originally was going to purchase a 14" metal chop saw to cut square tubing but my location was out of stock on the saw I wanted. I had seen the sale add for this circular saw and decide to purchase it because it was in stock. I only used it a short while but made about 20 cuts through 1 1/2" 11ga square tubing. This saw cut thru it like a hot knife thru warm butter. There were no sparks and the guard system worked really well. My friend was with me and he is a welder and this saw impressed him.The only draw back is the cutting depth is only about 2 1/4". I was so impressed I recommended it to my father and he purchased one and he is also impressed"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial 7 1/4in. Metal Cutting Saw
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

metal decking

,
October 17, 2011
By jwwhats
from dallas tx.
"this saw has been a very good buy. i made about 150 cuts througb 18 g. steel decking with no problems. the only thing is the gaurd could be redesigned. still got the same blade it came with."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial 7 1/4in. Metal Cutting Saw
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Saw

,
March 31, 2011
By Trinity
from Trinity Alps in northern California
"Bought this 6 months ago for a specific project. I needed to cut several 4 x 8 sheets of .075 aluminum to build a fume hood for a welding table. Worked like a champ, stacked 2 sheets and cut the panels I needed. Also have cut .06 CRS sheet with no problem. Cuts these thin materials like butter. Can’t wait for a project to be made out of thicker material!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
JDBuilt
San Diego, CA 
 
Please wait while more information about JDBuilt is loaded.
Additional information about JDBuilt could not be loaded.
AMAZING TOOL!
June 7, 2011
"5 stars....this is an awesome saw!"
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial 7 1/4in. Metal Cutting Saw
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A real Cut-up

,
March 14, 2011
By Robert231
from Fairfield, Connecticut
"As described, saw does a fast job of cutting through most metals, and the chip collector is a blessing."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial 7 1/4in. Metal Cutting Saw
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Impressive tool

,
December 6, 2010
By DWCO
from Rifle, Co
"This is my first "Northern Industrial" power tool; I had been looking at similar saws at much higher prices and decided to try out one of the line. I was a bit concerned about "Harbor Freight syndrome", wherein tools that are less costly are actually cheap rather than economical. I have been very pleased thus far, though the life of the blade does remain to be determined."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial 7 1/4in. Metal Cutting Saw
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing

,
November 16, 2010
By retiredplumber
from Phoenix, AZ.
"I used it the first time to cut through a 1/4" steel plate and it cut like it was a piece of wood and with very little effort. I was expecting it to jump all over but it cut nice and smooth and clean. The cut was about 4" long and the blade held up fine with no wear or damage."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial 7 1/4in. Metal Cutting Saw
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Metal Saw

,
August 30, 2010
By hchris
"I use this saw to cut up 200 Gal. oil drums, Fast clean cuts."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial 7 1/4in. Metal Cutting Saw
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

7 1/4 in. Metal Cutting Saw

,
August 23, 2010
By TPoya
"I have used this saw on 3/16 in plate and 3/8 in plate. I am amazed at how well the saw cuts through steel plate. There is very little heat generated which leaves the metal cool enough to handle immediately after cutting. The cuts are clean, unlike using a torche which requires grinding after the cut."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial 7 1/4in. Metal Cutting Saw
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cuts through metal like butter

,
August 23, 2010
By CWinva
from Alex, VA
"I had never used a circular saw to cut metal, but this one sure makes an easy job out of it. Nice clean cut."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial 7 1/4in. Metal Cutting Saw
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good saw

,
February 22, 2010
By majik247
from Tulare CA
"I'm a framing contractor I do a lot of metal framing , I purchased the saw to cut 1/4 steel ,metal studs etc, .
I like the chip collector, no more face shield
the adjustable handle and the blade are nice, however the one thing I don't like is that you can't see the blade/line while cutting you have to offset the cut line to the table.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
powdercoating
prairieville, la. 
 
Please wait while more information about powdercoating is loaded.
Additional information about powdercoating could not be loaded.
metal saw
August 13, 2012
"cuts better and cooler than chop saw.
it can be used in many applications because it is portable
"
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial 7 1/4in. Metal Cutting Saw
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Quality product. Cuts metal as easy as wood.

,
February 17, 2010
By CKDardar
from Gulf Coast, MS
"Feels heavy duty. The saw cuts nice. Feels good in my hand. Cuts 1 1/4" structural steel tubing just like it is wood.
I only have a couple of complaints:
1. The supplied blade did not last very long.
2. I can not see the blade to see if i am cutting on the line.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial 7 1/4in. Metal Cutting Saw
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tool

,
July 20, 2009
By Niles
"Bought to cut up some thick stainless steel counter top material. Worked great. I had previously tried using nibblers and material was too thick. Great and handy product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial 7 1/4in. Metal Cutting Saw
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tool for the price

,
November 17, 2008
By willsrr
from Charlotte, NC
"I ordered this to cut metal stock that I use in building large scale (1.5in/ft) trains. Along with my welding equipment, this allows me to quickly cut metal frame rails from various structural shapes (mostly angles, channels, rectangular tube) with 1/8 wall thickness. It certainly beats my old power hacksaw. and when I have to cut scale aluminum rail, it zips right through."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial 7 1/4in. Metal Cutting Saw
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding

,
August 11, 2008
By luth
from new york
"This product is outstanding, works great. I used it to replace the bottem of my outdoor furnace. I was very impressed how well it cut and how smooth it went.
I would recommend this product to anyone!!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial 7 1/4in. Metal Cutting Saw
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great saw

,
January 21, 2008
By Anonymous
from Ainsworth, NE
"Works very well all thin metal types that I have tried it on. Adjustable handle angle works well, saw seems to be very well made!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.