Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Compact Reciprocating Saw Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Compact Reciprocating Saw Kit

Item# 399986
"Cuts wood, metal, plastic, composites and more. Compact design for portability. Variable speed 0-2500 strokes per minute for control and versatility. Amps 5, Case Included Yes, Cordless No, Strokes Per Minute SPM 0-2,500, Variable Speed Yes. Quick blade-change system with no tools required Soft-grip front and rear handles Heavy-duty die-cast aluminum motor housing Compact and ergonomic design for getting into tight spots Includes wood cutting blade and metal cutting blade"
Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (28 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
28 of 28(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Compact Reciprocating Saw Kit
Review 1 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Compact Reciprocating Saw Kit
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product for the money.

,
October 9, 2012
By Hawaiionmymind
from Southern California
" Being a tinkerer/hobbyist, I decided not to invest a lot of money into a saw that might sit for a while between uses. This saw has done everything I've asked of it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Compact Reciprocating Saw Kit
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Saw for the Money

,
August 13, 2012
By ToolGirlJax
from Northeast Florida
" I wasn't sure about buying this saw because it wasn't a "name brand", but for less than $40, I figured what the heck. Boy am I glad I bought it - what an awesome saw! This baby powers through everything i've thrown at it so far. It's a little heavy and the case is totally cheap, but that's not a big deal IMO. I'll buy a Northern Tool brand again. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Compact Reciprocating Saw Kit
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern Industrial Compact Reciprocating Saw Kit

,
May 15, 2012
By RandyWC
from Dallas, TX
" I purchased 3 of these saws. They work as well as the ones costing over $100. I plan on buying more for my techs. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Compact Reciprocating Saw Kit
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Northern Industrial Compact Reciprocating Saw Kit

,
May 7, 2012
By stfndr
from Hillman, MN
" This thing is really slick, it is very easy to handle in any position, and takes on every job that I have with ease! If it ever does fail, I will probly just get another one just like it, for what I paid it cant be beat. Buy it you will like it. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Compact Reciprocating Saw Kit
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great saw at a great price!

,
October 10, 2011
By PAboy
from WAYNESBORO, PA
" I must admit, I was skeptical at first but I took a chance. Granted, I don't use it everyday but it does whatever i ask of it so far. Can't beat it for the money. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Compact Reciprocating Saw Kit
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Tool to Have

,
October 8, 2011
By danielmiz007
from Lafayette, IN
" I bought this saw soon after buying my first house. I didn't have any specific need for it at the time. I used it for the first time today while replacing some rotted framing. This saw was a lifesaver, especially because it came with both metal and wood cutting blades. It was easily the most used tool for the project, and it easily handled everything we threw at it. The carrying case is nice as well. My only complaint is that sometimes the button that locks the trigger in the on position would get pressed accidentally. Overall, an excellent saw to have on hand for the occasional project. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Compact Reciprocating Saw Kit
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great

,
March 23, 2011
By HiYou
from Livingston, MT
" Bought this saw a year or so ago. It has met my casual DIYer and garage rat needs. I cut both wood and metal with the saw - plenty of power and gets the job done. It's always nice to have a case, so this combo kit is worth the money. Any job that is hard to access or 15 minutes by hand is 1 or 2 minutes with this saw. A must-have in the tool shed! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Compact Reciprocating Saw Kit
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Saw, Cheap Case

,
February 24, 2010
By Norwegianrocket
from Raeford, NC
" This is a great saw for u do it yourself types. Not a professional constructional type, but did not buy it to be such. This baby does everything us handymen need it to do. Only down side is the case. As soon as u get it, take the case and put it in the trash. Mine broke the first time I opened it. However I did not buy this saw for the case. For the money the saw is worth it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Compact Reciprocating Saw Kit
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good product for a good price

,
November 2, 2009
By leel8845
from kasota,MN
" I bought this saw mostly because of the price but have been happy with it so far. It is well built and works very well. Easy blade changes which is nice. Would not recommend for severe use but at this price is fine for average handyman. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Compact Reciprocating Saw Kit
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good saw at a god price

,
July 20, 2009
By jr612
from kenewick Wa.
" I've used this saw mainly for cutting exhaust tubing while it's on the vehicles. It's worked as expected although the case it came in fell apart after the third use or so. The only drawback are the blades, buy some quality blades for it and you shouldn't have any problems with this saw. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Compact Reciprocating Saw Kit
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great tool

,
February 26, 2009
By Brad7
" this is the best reciprocating saw i have owned...its compact and fits into tighter locations..I especially like the simple and quick blade change(spring loaded lock chuck)...works like a dream "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Compact Reciprocating Saw Kit
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Compact Reciprocating Saw Kit

,
November 17, 2008
By LawnTech
from Chicago, Illinois
" I got this a couple of years ago thinking i am going to distroy it by cutting heavy gage steel to make a shop press. I have made about 50 cuts into this steel no stress no strain i am still using this tool and works the same as it did when I first opened the shipping box. Northern tools a name to be trusted.
Terry "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Compact Reciprocating Saw Kit
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

So good, i bought it again

,
November 17, 2008
By catdoc
from Georgia
" I had purchased this saw to prune landscaping. It cut through tough bamboo nicely. It did take longer on hardwoods and using an extra tough blade is a must. However, I misplaced mine. I purchased a budget model that is not as easy to operate so after dealing with the replacement for a while, I reordered the Northern one. The difference was great and I don't use the other one at all. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Compact Reciprocating Saw Kit
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Handy Helper

,
August 18, 2008
By myco
from Hawaii
" After 6 months of use I have had no problems with this saw. My primary use is the location cutting of metal pipe and tubing for on site welding. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Compact Reciprocating Saw Kit
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Compact saw

,
August 11, 2008
By Dave1215
from Aurora Co
" I bought the saw based on the shape, to get into small spaces, and it does. Light in weight, and powerful. I found the variable speed hard to achieve, but I like the tool over all. The blade clip/holder is very well done. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Compact Reciprocating Saw Kit
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

5

,
August 11, 2008
By skinner
from Iowa
" I do a lot of exhaust work on cars laying on a creeper so size is of importance. this saw is just about right size. Easy to hold,guide and fast. Noise is not bad either, borrowed one once and ear plugs were involved. I like the weight of unit also. Very pleased with purchase. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Compact Reciprocating Saw Kit
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Northern Saw Kit

,
April 22, 2008
By carandhomeguy
from Phoenix, AZ
" Like=Small lite weight size makes wood cutting easy, however, do not use on metal.
Dislike=Not strong enough to handle hard material.
The saw is good for light cutting, if you need to cut hard material, this is not the saw for you.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Compact Reciprocating Saw Kit
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Compact Saw

,
April 21, 2008
By Miner49er
from Battle Mountain, Nevada
" The quality of this saw was great, considering the price. I needed a reciprocating saw that I could handle working overhead for an extended period of time. This one "fit the bill". A needed addition to my tool room. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Compact Reciprocating Saw Kit
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

better then expected

,
January 21, 2008
By Dakoe
from PA
" With the price I expected something that was... subpar. well I didn't get what I was expecting. It performed better then I had expected and the feel of it is great. I was able to get into places that I couldn't get into before. It isn't the quality of a $200+ reciprocating saw but it's certainly worth more then what they charge for it here. So far after a few months its still going strong, and the quick change for the blade is a nice feature. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Compact Reciprocating Saw Kit
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

,
January 16, 2008
By Gripp
from North Carolina
" I purchased this saw a few days ago and went home and used it right away. I was pleased with the quality and it feels and performs great for the price. The saw had no problem while cutting a 2x4, sawed right through it without bogging down and had plenty of power. I am looking forward to using it again soon. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.