Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Ironton Siphon Barrel Transfer Pump - 7 GPM

Ironton Siphon Barrel Transfer Pump - 7 GPM

Item# 40485
The durable Ironton Siphon Barrel Transfer Pump allows you to hand pump drum contents to a higher level. Heavy-duty, high-speed siphon pump helps you siphon contents to a lower level. Allows you to transfer water, diesel, kerosene, machine oil, lubricants, solvents, detergents and other materials that are noncorrosive to polyethylene and PVC. Not for pumping lacquer thinner. Outlet Port in. 1, GPM 7, Hose Length ft. 4 1/4, Includes Hose, clamp, Oz. Per Stroke 10, Inlet Port in. 1 3/4, Material Polyethylene, PVC, Works With 55-gal. drum. Delivers up to 7 GPM for fast performance Suction pipe fits a 55-gallon drum with a 1in. outlet port Flexible 51 3/8in. polyethylene hose allows the transfer of a wide variety of liquids Durable polyethylene/PVC construction for long life
Average Customer Rating:
4.412 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (17 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 of 17(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ironton Siphon Barrel Transfer Pump - 7 GPM
Review 1 for Ironton Siphon Barrel Transfer Pump - 7 GPM
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works

,
July 29, 2014
By Sensless
from Twin Cities, MN
"I bought this pump mainly to Siphon oil out of my boat motor since it was a such a pain to get the oil jug off. Have used it once and it pumped the oil out pretty quick. I imagine I will find multiple uses for it if lasts, but for the price, it seems worth it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ironton Siphon Barrel Transfer Pump - 7 GPM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

sturdy Functional Drum Pump

,
July 6, 2014
By Marc1970
from Glendale, AZ
"Very happy with this pump. I am using it with non corrosive soap and it does the job with easy install."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ironton Siphon Barrel Transfer Pump - 7 GPM
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for the cost, not great

,
May 5, 2014
By Justafarmer
from Western KY
"I bought this to rescue the diesel getting old in a gen set 55 gallon barrel. It's good for occasional use, but there's a reason it's as cheap as it is. Your wrist may get tired before you pull 5 gallons through it. Not a problem with me, though - it does what I figured it would."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ironton Siphon Barrel Transfer Pump - 7 GPM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

really works great

,
August 13, 2012
By 7xracing
from Northfield, NH
"This pump works great . We use it to refll our 5 Gallon jugs of METHANOL to take to the racetrack to refuel our SPRINT CAR . HIGHLY RECCOMENDED
:) :)
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ironton Siphon Barrel Transfer Pump - 7 GPM
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good Pump

,
May 7, 2012
By ves33
from Columbia, SC
"I use this pump to transfer soap from one container to a smaller one. it pumps good and better than others I've used. The hose seems to break down and start leaking over time from the chemicals but over all pretty good pump"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ironton Siphon Barrel Transfer Pump - 7 GPM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding product

,
June 1, 2010
By Driver28
from Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States Navy
"This product has lasted going on 6 years and still going strong. Have been using to draw racing fuel out of a 55 gallon drum. No problems at all.!!!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ironton Siphon Barrel Transfer Pump - 7 GPM
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Barrel Hand Pump

,
June 1, 2010
By tralrdr
from guffey, colorado
"Bought this item 4 yrs ago to pump h20 out of my 55 gal plastic barrel from my horse trailer to buckets while out in the wilderness in dry camps here in Colorado. Works well, best when the fluid level is high to keep pressure going, have to pump every drop when the level gets down to about 1/3 of the barrel. Keep it drained and inside in the winter. Looking to replace this, looks like I may just buy another just like it. EZ to use, EZ to repair, connected extension hose to it for additional length, that will get adjusted this next time but overall good product for the price."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ironton Siphon Barrel Transfer Pump - 7 GPM
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

DESCENT

,
December 8, 2009
By SunriseFarm
from Pittsburgh, pa
"I bought this to siphon water out of 55 gallon buckets to water chickens.
Even though the pumps are not high quality (cheap plastic.) they do the job and in my opinion- are definately worth the asking price.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ironton Siphon Barrel Transfer Pump - 7 GPM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Barrel Pump

,
November 19, 2008
By littled
from Lottie, LA
"Great siphon pump, i use it on diesel transfer from drum to tractor. qreat price as well. I've been using it for alittle over a year and still going strong."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ironton Siphon Barrel Transfer Pump - 7 GPM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pump for the price

,
November 18, 2008
By MEBN
from Maine
"I work in emergency response and purchased one of these pumps for my response truck. It works great at pumping small amounts of fluid from accident scenes and other oil mishaps when you don't need a larger cumbersom powered pump."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ironton Siphon Barrel Transfer Pump - 7 GPM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pool Chemical Pump

,
August 18, 2008
By PoolMgr
from Cambridge, MD
"Bought this pump to replace an old hand pump that finally gave up. This one is performing great. I use it to pump Chlorine & Muriatic Acid from their bulk drums and it works great. Easy to use and easy to clean. I would recommend to anyone using for simple transfer."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ironton Siphon Barrel Transfer Pump - 7 GPM
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Barrel Hand Pump

,
August 11, 2008
By looshmaster37
from Peabody, MA
"This is a good easy pump to use but don't expect it to last long. You don't want to leave it in any cold areas and you must be very easy with it. I have had the bottom come off and fall into the barrel a few times but overall for the price it is what I would expect."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ironton Siphon Barrel Transfer Pump - 7 GPM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great for the small jobs

,
August 11, 2008
By firedude26
from Carleton, MI
"Pump is perfect for the small jobs, siphons products great, easy to use and lasts."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ironton Siphon Barrel Transfer Pump - 7 GPM
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

plastic pumb

,
February 20, 2008
By AZredneck
from phoenix az
"over all this pump is good for race fuel. the only problem we have is that the hose breaks usually the upper half and you have to buy a new pump. So in order to solve that problem I am going to spray the hose with polyurethane to increase the life of the hose. I have wrapped it in electrical tape that helps"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ironton Siphon Barrel Transfer Pump - 7 GPM
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works well enough for most

,
January 14, 2008
By Anonymous
from Encinitas.CA
"I use these pumps to fill race fuel jugs from 55 gallon drums. The pumps are lightweight, cheap, and work fine for me. I by them 3 at a time and use them till someone gets it dirty or steps on it etc, then just grab another. If you need to move large volumes everyday, I'd look for another unit."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ironton Siphon Barrel Transfer Pump - 7 GPM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Barrel pump exceeds expectations

,
October 17, 2007
By notherntoolguy
from Opelousas, LA
"I originally ordered the barrel pump because there was a hurricane entering the gulf, and I didn't want to end up in the same predicament that we had in 2005. That is, no fuel for 80 to 100 miles for up to a week. So I got two 55-gallon drums, and put them in the shed. When the barrel pump arrived, I put it in the shed as well. Thankfully, the hurricane passed, but now that I had everything, I started putting it to use. I had been filling my tractor with 5 gallon cans which was cumbersome and heavy. I took one of the barrels to the bulk fuel distributor and purchased off-road diesel(which is about $.30/gallon cheaper than a filling station). Since then I have been filling my tractor with your barrel pump. Not only is it easy to prime, but it siphons really well and fills the tractor a lot faster than a 5 gallon can!! And I don't have to hold the thing up.
Thanks for a simple and effective solution!!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ironton Siphon Barrel Transfer Pump - 7 GPM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Barrel Hand Pump

,
March 6, 2007
By Handygirl
from Fitzgerald, Georgia
"This is a quick and inexpensive way to transfer fluid from one container to another or even to a vehicle. No more sucking to start a siphon hose. This is the third pump I have purchased in the last 5 years. I keep one on hand to pump water from our small fishing boat, one to transfer race fuel from a 55 gal. drum to the container we take to the track with us, and one to transfer gas to lawn equipment. Allows me to avoid heavy lifting while still getting the job done."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.