Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NorthStar Trencherman Towable Backhoe - 270cc Honda GX Engine

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

NorthStar Trencherman Towable Backhoe - 270cc Honda GX Engine

Item# 4065
The NorthStar Trencherman Towable Backhoe is built bigger, heavier and stronger for amazing digging power - over 4400 lbs. of ripping force at the bucket. Perfect for digging trenches, landscaping, backfill and other heavy lifting jobs. Easily towed to any jobsite, with 16 1/2in. x 8in. tires, and a 3500-lb. capacity 2in. coupler. Designed to be used independently, self-powered by a reliable Honda GX270 engine and its own hydraulic system. Stabilizers provide enough stability to ensure that you are able to complete the toughest jobs. Hitch Type 2-in. coupler, Engine Type Honda, Digging Depth ft. 7, Bucket Size in. 12, Overall Dimensions L x W x H in. 10.8 x 6.6 x 6.6 Feet. Powerful 270cc Honda GX270 engine with low oil shutdown Self-contained 3 GPM hydraulic pump, no additional hook-ups required Bucket swings 130 for real maneuverability Digs 7ft. deep with an 8ft. reach Dumps at 3 1/2ft. 12in. bucket 16 1/2in. x 8in. tires roll easily over soft ground Use the bucket action to pull it around job site Tows easily on 3500-lb. capacity, 2in. coupler 30 MPH max. towing speed Replacement parts are available through Northern Tool Parts Department 1-800-270-0810
Average Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (7 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 of 7(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NorthStar Trencherman Towable Backhoe - 270cc Honda GX Engine
Review 1 for NorthStar Trencherman Towable Backhoe - 270cc Honda GX Engine
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Go boldly where no other Backhoe can!

,
August 20, 2012
By DBWman
from Central Vermont
" When I bought this tool about 10 years ago I was a contractor. I would replace decks @ Condo. sites. The work was always in tight places...dig 4 holes for piers and backfill.
No that I am retired I have dug trenches on my farm, that have to be a total of 50 or 60 miles! No more water problems. The Trencherman dug us out from Hurricane Irene...over 100 trees out of the river, all new ditching. and even my new pond!
Only complaint...on the older models, welding was only place I had breakage....so...
Have reccomended it to people, and they are as pleased as I am!
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
9out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NorthStar Trencherman Towable Backhoe - 270cc Honda GX Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Digging and small jobs

,
August 31, 2010
By Anonymous
from Troy, Montana
" I found that the machine was easy to setup. It has the power needed to do the job exceptionly well. The only things that could be improved would be a claw attachment for lifting rocks, wood, or pipe. An smaller bucket for trenching, about six inches width. A longer hitch so the unit could be easly towed with an ATV. Over all the machine is wonderful and I love working with it. Thank you. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+19points
22out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 3 for NorthStar Trencherman Towable Backhoe - 270cc Honda GX Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Trencherman II

,
April 15, 2009
By Conis
from Michigan
" I have had one for 15 years, originally bought for a DIY drainfield. This machine has paid for itself 50 times over, has held together well. It would be one of the last pieces of equipment I would part with because it can do so many things.
Some will look at it and think it is a toy. It isn't. Don't underestimate what this machine can do. Nor does it make a mess like a full sized hoe.
Two years ago, dug a well line 550'x4' deep. 12 hours total. Do the math. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 4 for NorthStar Trencherman Towable Backhoe - 270cc Honda GX Engine
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Trencherman II

,
November 18, 2008
By Mosquito
from Monticello Florida
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" This unit is great for small jobs like i have to do. I Have a pet cemetery and it is just the tool i need to do the job.I also use it for many other jobs as shown in the photo`s i had to dig a sewer line for my Daughter and it saved me a big job and alot of money. I have also bought many other tools from NORTHERN TOOL all of witch i use and enjoy. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
10out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 5 for NorthStar Trencherman Towable Backhoe - 270cc Honda GX Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

FOR THE MONEY THIS RATES 5 STARS

,
August 1, 2008
By theweaz
from Quebec, CANADA
" I'm impressed and very satisfied with the way this little machine is built and performs...sturdier and more powerful than I had expected. The only thing I could improve upon is a kill button in the case of a hydraulic hose blowout and a throttle cable on the dash near the valves (rather than behind you where the throttle is now). Other than that, all's good! If I needed to I would buy another one tomorrow! - The weaz, Quebec CANADA "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for NorthStar Trencherman Towable Backhoe - 270cc Honda GX Engine
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Trencherman II

,
May 16, 2008
By Olpuppy
from Port Orchard, Washington
" Cleared brush, graded road, repaired septic lines, rented it out. Traded it for sawmill. Did the job, paid me cash, got me a band saw mill. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 7 for NorthStar Trencherman Towable Backhoe - 270cc Honda GX Engine
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Trencherman

,
October 31, 2007
By philydog
from Maplewood, MN
" Purchased this item early last year, Used to dig a foundation worked very well.Has plenty of ripping power. I dug two trenches 40' long by 18" deep in sticky clay in about 2 hours. Next job is a 75 foot trench for some underground wiring. I have also ripped out tree roots and picked up logs. I use this on a 20 acre lot, and easily pull this behind my ATV. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.