Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"

"FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"

Item# 41587
"Work Sharp has partnered with legendary hall of fame knife maker Ken Onion to develop a new knife and tool sharpening platform with expanded features The Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener Ken Onion Edition is designed to sharpen every knife you own. Using a fully adjustable precision sharpening guide, variable speed and wide flexible abrasive belts, it sharpens pocket and hunting knives, serrated knives, kitchen knives and any other shape or type of blade you own. Professional blade makers like Ken Onion use flexible belts to put a razor sharp edge on their blades, and now you can have the same technology in your home or shop. The combination of Work Sharp engineering and Ken Onion's industrial design has created a fast, easy and stylish way to sharpen all your knives and tools with precision and repeatability. Amps 1.5, Angle Sharpening deg. 15-30, Speed RPM 6112-14,261, Storage Type None, Grit 120, 65, 22, 4, 6000, Volts 120. The 3/4in. x 12in. premium, flexible engineered abrasive belts sharpen virtually any shape or type of knife blade and use a precision sharpening guide to ensure that you get a consistent angle every time The sharpening guide is fully adjustable in 1 increments from 15 to 30 so you can sharpen any knife to the angle you desire to best meet your needs The variable speed control 1200 SFM to 2800 SFM provides you with the optimal belt speed for the task at hand"
Average Customer Rating:
4.711 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(90 Reviews) 90
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (90 reviews)
5 stars
69
4 stars
17
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
88 of 90(98%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 31 Answers
Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"
Review 1 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great.

,
January 30, 2016
By
from Manassas, Va.
I found with just a little practice I got good at sharping knives and scissors. Very easy to use. I think it is great.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Plumber

,
January 24, 2016
By
from VA
Works great. Worth ordering. Bought 2 for sons.....
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finer than Frog's Hair

,
January 23, 2016
By
from tX
This products is as described. Works very well, easy instructions and puts one heck of an edge on a knife. It will get your knives so sharp that you can shave the hair off of a frog.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Work Sharp Ken Onion edition

,
January 22, 2016
By
from Virginia
This appears to be a very useful tool based on the first couple of knives I have sharpened. Before use, I would recommend reading the instructions and watching the DVD. There are also some very good videos on YouTube.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great sharpener

,
January 18, 2016
By
from Green bay,wi
love the sharpener so much that I purchased the Ken Onion edition. this will sharpen anything you have.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple Sharpening

,
January 16, 2016
By
from Blue Grass Iowa
Over the years I have purchased and used many knife sharpening systems. Some worked some didn't. The ones that did work required obtaining some type of skill obtained by practicing with the equipment.
The Work Sharp system requires none of that. Read the directions - turned it on and obtained as sharp a blade as I ever have experienced.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Work Sharp Ken Onion Edition

,
January 13, 2016
By
from New Bruanfels, TX
I ordered this model with some trepidation having read some unflattering reviews. It turns out this is a top quality tool that performs wonderfully. You do need to watch the included video, read the very complete manual and practice with a knife or two that are not you best ones. Having done that, you will be very happy with the operation of the machine and the edge you can achieve with this outstanding tool.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener

,
January 13, 2016
By
from Frederick, Md.
I am very pleased with this tool. It is very simple to operate and performs a top notch job on sharpening.
I can't think of one negative thing about this tool.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Work sharp

,
January 5, 2016
By
from Indiana
So far so good. Limiting experience sharpenening but brought some scissors back from the grave with the sharpener and now they cut paper smooth by holding them steady. Improved a knife as well. Should probably watch the included DVD and read in more detail to get proficient. Easy to use out of the box and has handy quick reference from the box.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Little Sharpener

,
January 5, 2016
By
from Virginia
I really like the Ken Onion model because of the variable pitch for work knives verses kitchen knives. I went ahead and ordered replacement belts so I won't be without. Great product.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing product

,
January 3, 2016
By
from Mifflinburg, Pa
I got this for my husband for Christmas and I think I am the one who got the gift! He sharpened every knife in the house and it is an amazingly easy to use and my kitchen knives have never been sharper! It is a keeper!
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Reversing switch

,
January 3, 2016
By
from Michigan
This is a great tool. Only thing that could possibly improve it would be a switch to reverse the belt direction. If you could reverse the belt direction the blade would ground from the same direction from side to side with a flip of the switch.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tool

,
January 1, 2016
By
from PA
Does a great job at sharpening knives using the various angle settings. Takes 2-3 knives to become very familiar with the sharpening process, holding the knife, pull through and pressure. Literature and video good.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Work sharp Knife sharpner

,
December 30, 2015
By
from huntsville texas
I'm terrible at sharpening knifes, as a hunter that is not good. I received the Work sharp knife sharpener for Christmas. it takes a little practice but now all my knifes are sharper than ever before. Don't start with your good knifes, start with Kitchen knives and get comfortable with it.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

You have to have.

,
December 25, 2015
By
from Commerce, GA
This has to be the best sharpener that I have ever seen or heard of in a lifetime. My grandfather would like to have something like this machine. Simple and fast, haven't found anything it won't put a sharp edge on. Made a GREAT Deal on it, it was shipped fast, couldn't ask for anything more. My knives are sharper than they were new! Thanks Folks.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Well Appreciated Gift

,
December 23, 2015
By
from Upstate New York
The tool is very well made. This should provide years of service if maintained properly. Completely satisfied with this purchase.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fast and Easy

,
December 21, 2015
By
from Ellington, CT
I contemplated buying this knife sharpener when I first saw it, I made a decision to purchase after I saw it on sale. I was able to put it to use quickly with no problems. It is pretty much straight forward. The instructions are not complicated and easy to follow. A chart is included, depending upon the type of knife, condition and the type of cutting use, the chart details which belts to use and recommended amount of sharpening strokes. This unit is even capable of sharpening serrated knifes (as long as only one side of the blade is beveled). I also bought a spare set of belts Northern Tool sells for this sharpener.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ken Onion Work Sharp Knife Sharpener

,
December 20, 2015
By
from Fuquay-Varina
I purchased the Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition to sharpen my wife's ceramic knife. This sharpener works great. I like the Ken Onion Edition because it has a wider belt and the sharpening angle can be adjusted. The only hiccup I had is that Northern Tool does not sell the diamond belts needed to sharpen a ceramic knife. The belts are easily found on *bay. My wife has even become comfortable enough with the sharpener to sharpen her steel kitchen knives.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Ken Onion knife sharpener

,
December 13, 2015
By
from Cotter, AR
The sharpener worked okay after a bit of a learning curve! The instructions were not clear on just how to place the knife blade into the proper position to draw it through the machine. After trying to use it I figured out what the instructions were not so clear on. My concern is after sharping a couple dozen knifes that the abrasive belt are worn down and I'm not sure how long they will be doing the job. Small pocket knifes are hard to sharpen as the blade isn't long enough to use the guide angles.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

works well and flexable in its use

,
December 12, 2015
By
from Leona Valley, CA
The sharpener worked well out of the box and performed as stated. I am very happy.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.