Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"

"FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"

Item# 41587
"Work Sharp has partnered with legendary hall of fame knife maker Ken Onion to develop a new knife and tool sharpening platform with expanded features The Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener Ken Onion Edition is designed to sharpen every knife you own. Using a fully adjustable precision sharpening guide, variable speed and wide flexible abrasive belts, it sharpens pocket and hunting knives, serrated knives, kitchen knives and any other shape or type of blade you own. Professional blade makers like Ken Onion use flexible belts to put a razor sharp edge on their blades, and now you can have the same technology in your home or shop. The combination of Work Sharp engineering and Ken Onion's industrial design has created a fast, easy and stylish way to sharpen all your knives and tools with precision and repeatability. Grit 120, 65, 22, 4, 6,000, Product Type Sharpener, Belt Size in. x in. 3/4 x 12, Case Included No, Angle Sharpening deg. 15-30, Speed RPM 6,112-14,261, Material Type Tool strength plastic, On/Off Switch Yes. The 3/4in. x 12in. premium, flexible engineered abrasive belts sharpen virtually any shape or type of knife blade and use a precision sharpening guide to ensure that you get a consistent angle every time The sharpening guide is fully adjustable in 1 increments from 15 to 30 so you can sharpen any knife to the angle you desire to best meet your needs The variable speed control 1,200 SFM to 2,800 SFM provides you with the optimal belt speed for the task at hand"
Average Customer Rating:
4.787 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (47 reviews)
5 stars
39
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
45 of 47(96%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"
Review 1 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

things you will enjoy

,
May 25, 2015
By meadow
from MS
" makes sharping quick, easy, its fast and does a better job than you can do by hand. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally Sharp Knifes

,
May 13, 2015
By 1straightshot
from Bend,Or
" I have tried just about every type of sharpener on the market.I was constantly trying to find a sharp knife,and yes included my tackle box in my search!Now this tool really works.Fast simple,easy to operate with great step by step instructions.I have sharpened scissors,serratted,pocket&steak knifes with ease.Love it! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not a serious tool

,
May 6, 2015
By LA555
from Los Angeles
" The belts are very thin. This does not have a feel of a pro sharpener. Looks and feels more like a toy.
The tension on the belt is loose. The edge gets too much or a radius. It may keep the blade sharper for a longer period of time, but doesn't sharpen it as well as it should.
It does the job, just nowhere near the professional results on a bigger sharpener. The Chef’s Choice knife sharpener does a better job in my opinion.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Work Sharp WSKTS-KO

,
April 26, 2015
By Bigjohn50Cal
from Nashville, NC
" Makes all knives and blades shaving sharp. The Very Best knife sharpener that I have ever owned. Simple and Easy, Just follow instructions. I highly recommend this product. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Ken Onion knife sharpener

,
April 13, 2015
By Electro68
from Parrish, AL
" Easy to use and does a very good job. Once you have sharpened a knife it only takes a few passes to keep it sharpened. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Simple, Effective Knife Sharpener.

,
March 30, 2015
By KnifeSharpener1
from Kansas
" This review is for the Ken Onion Edition Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener. All of the shortcomings of the original Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener have been resolved with this Ken Onion Edition. I have used every knife sharpening method available. From cheap carbide sharpeners to Japanese water stones to expensive fixed angle sharpeners. This unit from Work Sharp is has made all those obsolete.The secret to using this or any belt sander is to start and stop the power with the knife on the belt. And NEVER let the heel or tip go more than half way across the belt. Anyone who complains about rounded tips hasn't learned this. And it is explained very well in the instructions.
It does take a little practice to get it right, but if I can do it anyone can do it. The hardest part was that even with the guide, you can easily forget to maintain the angle of the knife. If you don't maintain the angle, your edges will be uneven and your knives will not be as sharp as you'd like.
I am impressed with this tool. It is well made and am sure it will last for a long time. It's as well built as any other tool in my garage. I'm glad I bought it and would do it again in a heartbeat.
A couple of warnings. Being a belt driven sharpening system, the angle of the blade edge will change to a convex edge. If you go back to a stone, you'll have to reset the angle. Also, if you are not careful you can round the tips of your knives without realizing. And it being a motorized belt, you can remove a lot of blade in a short period of time. Just take your time, keep the belt on the lower speeds and you should be fine. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
8out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good

,
March 21, 2015
By Faqu2
from Livonia Mi
" Easy to use. Does a good job on different type of knifes. The directions were easy to follow. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Ed

,
March 18, 2015
By al4451
from Hernando, MS
" Does a very good job sharpening all knives. Would recommend this to others. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good tool.

,
March 14, 2015
By Twig15
from SW Florida
" I just got this so I haven't used it that much, but from what I have, it seems like a very good tool. As with all knife sharpening techniques, it will take some practice to fine tune, to get the ultimate sharp blade, but I feel that will come in time. A good unit for the home DIY'er ! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!

,
March 13, 2015
By BoilermakerDickie
from Monticello IN
" This knife sharpener is great! Very easy to use & does a very good job sharpening all types of knives, scissors etc. Would definitely recommend it to anyone. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Knives

,
March 10, 2015
By 1jbick
from Beulah, ND, United States
" This knife sharpener is a blast 2 use , the belt changer is a breeze, and i emptied the knife drawer about 40 knives, and had them all razor sharp in 1 hour or so.I will not be cut by a dull knife! Thank you Northern Tool and Ken Onion "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tool

,
February 5, 2015
By retired71
from Fort Myers, FL
" I have owned a lot of knife sharpeners through out the years (ie. stones, rods, electric, etc.) by far this is the best knife sharpener I have tried. It puts an unbelievably sharp edge on my knifes (kitchen, pocket, skinning, filet) and it does it with little effort.
The only thing that slows down the sharpening process is having to change the belts. But that is a small inconvenience for the great job that is does. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Knife Sharpner There Is Anywhere

,
February 2, 2015
By whistech
from Texas
" Man this is one product that does all it is supposed to and more. I can't believe the the honed edge I can put on a knife with this sharpner. I highly recommend it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

,
February 1, 2015
By GU162
from Bastrop
" Quick sharpening. Easy to use. Don't use it in the kitchen though, the belts shed grit making a mess. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally, a life sharpener that works well!

,
January 21, 2015
By Elrem
from South Florida
" Having owned many different knife sharpeners which have never met my expectations I finally found "the one". This is easy to use and performs beyond my expectations. The belts change easy and the angle adjustability is simple to change. I would definitely recommend and have done so already. I now have all knives in the house sharp and ready to cut with ease. Well worth the sticker price and extremely happy with no regrets. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-4points
2out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Sharpener

,
January 20, 2015
By Nneckguy
from Northern neck VA
" This sharpener does a great job and will take a totally dull blade and get it to razor sharpness. Remember to follow the directions. I started with some of the less abrasive belts first because I thought the knife was sharper than it really was and unless you get the right blade angle started correctly you will not get the best sharpness as you go to the finishing belts. This sharpener is very easy to use and really gets you to understand hands on how to get the correct blade angle and honing to blade. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy

,
January 9, 2015
By 08087
from NJ
" Easy to use knife sharpener Puts on a great edge
Makes filleting fish a dream
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best sharpener around

,
January 7, 2015
By CountryGirl710
from Austin, TX
" Bought this sharpener for my husband & he thinks it is best he has ever used. Gives a good blade on every knife. Easy to use & understand manual and changing belts is a breeze "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worksharp & Tool Sharpener

,
January 1, 2015
By pbr593
from Mint Hill
" Works well, easy to use, belt change is easy, pre-set sharpening angles work well, overall a very good product. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

knife sharpener

,
December 27, 2014
By LCKansas
from Ks
" Works best on blades that are long,short blades are hard to hold straight, great for different angle blades. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.