Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"

"FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"

Item# 41587
"Work Sharp has partnered with legendary hall of fame knife maker Ken Onion to develop a new knife and tool sharpening platform with expanded features The Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener Ken Onion Edition is designed to sharpen every knife you own. Using a fully adjustable precision sharpening guide, variable speed and wide flexible abrasive belts, it sharpens pocket and hunting knives, serrated knives, kitchen knives and any other shape or type of blade you own. Professional blade makers like Ken Onion use flexible belts to put a razor sharp edge on their blades, and now you can have the same technology in your home or shop. The combination of Work Sharp engineering and Ken Onion's industrial design has created a fast, easy and stylish way to sharpen all your knives and tools with precision and repeatability. Grit 120, 65, 22, 4, 6,000, Belt Size in. x in. 3/4 x 12, Case Included No, Angle Sharpening deg. 15-30, Speed RPM 6,112-14,261, Material Type Tool strength plastic, Product Type Sharpener, On/Off Switch Yes. The 3/4in. x 12in. premium, flexible engineered abrasive belts sharpen virtually any shape or type of knife blade and use a precision sharpening guide to ensure that you get a consistent angle every time The sharpening guide is fully adjustable in 1 increments from 15 to 30 so you can sharpen any knife to the angle you desire to best meet your needs The variable speed control 1,200 SFM to 2,800 SFM provides you with the optimal belt speed for the task at hand"
Average Customer Rating:
4.807 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (57 reviews)
5 stars
48
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
55 of 57(96%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"
Review 1 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Ed

,
July 24, 2015
By mrmike36
from Cleveland, Ohio
" I wanted a good overall sharpener that was good for kitchen knives, regular knifes and a sharpener that could be used on lawn mower blades and yard tools.
The unit is a nice size and works easily. I followed the instructions and after a little practice found the tool very easy to use. All of my kitchen knifes came out really sharp and this seems to be a very good sharpener.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!!!

,
July 12, 2015
By catawbatree2
from Clintwood, VA
" Have the older smaller one. The extra power in this one make it a lot more veristile!!!!!!!!!!!! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

seems to work great

,
July 11, 2015
By WB100
from Henrico Va
" I have only used it one time and it worked great. I will need more time to give a better review. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The BEST

,
July 11, 2015
By gumshoe0000009
from Washington State
" I have many knife sharpeners such as Lansky's and Gatco and Arkansas stones but this Work Sharp Ken Onion sharpener is the best by far. The basic one speed model I would not recommend but this multi-speed model is incredibly useful. The last sharpener I ever buy. I also purchased the grinder attachment that makes this sharpener even more useful and indispensable. All my tools in my garage now have a very sharp edge. One cautionary note: Be careful in the kitchen as this sharpener will make your kitchen knives sharper than they ever have been before. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the $$$

,
June 23, 2015
By Anonymous
from MS
" This is a professional-grade tool, well thought out and built to last. I'm also happy with the quality of the belts. In a short period of time, I ended up sharpening every knife I had in the kitchen after I finished with my skinning kit. I'm very satisfied with the purchase. I can't wait to have it at the ready next deer season. I process all of my own kill and use to hate to take the time to re-sharpen multiple times. This tool will give me a better edge in a shorter time. In my opinion, it's worth the money. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

sharpner

,
June 19, 2015
By raz55
from Haubstadt,In
" Great tool it is ererything it says it is. Love it. Thanks a lot. Rick "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

knife sharp for ever

,
June 4, 2015
By kingmurph
from Montana
" so far have 7 knifes and 4 lawn mower blades that are very sharp using this product works well and is very easy to run. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best product of its kind

,
June 4, 2015
By Blancodoug
from Pagosa Springs, CO
" Unless you want to invest much more money into a knife sharpening machine, the Ken Onion model of the Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, is an excellent choice. It is easy to learn and can put a razor edge on knives. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent and versatile sharpener

,
June 4, 2015
By Worksalot
from NH
" I've had my Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition for a year now. I sharpen everything from very small scissors to mower blades. I't does an excellent job on all. Belts last well. Follow the directions and you will not be disapointed. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Great Sharpener On Steroids

,
June 2, 2015
By CrimsonNape
from Loganville, GA
" I've been using the basic model of this sharpener for over 3 years. The Ken Onion Edition takes you to a whole new level of sharpening capabilities. Infinite angle adjustment allows you to obtain the optimum angle for each tool to be sharpened. From a kitchen knife to an axe. . . or even the lawnmower blade. Having the ability to use accessories kicks up its usefulness for wood or metal finishing.
Not only do I have both the basic and the Ken Onion Sharpeners, but I have the 1/16-3/4" drill bit sharpener and their chisel and tool sharpener from thei company. All the tools from Workhorse have met or exceeded my expectations.
I did have one problem with the chisel and tool sharpener. Factory support immediately shipped a replacement and even supplied a prepaid return shipping label. Now, that's service!
The only downside to date is my wife complaining that our knives are "too sharp!". . . I can live with that. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

things you will enjoy

,
May 25, 2015
By meadow
from MS
" makes sharping quick, easy, its fast and does a better job than you can do by hand. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally Sharp Knifes

,
May 13, 2015
By 1straightshot
from Bend,Or
" I have tried just about every type of sharpener on the market.I was constantly trying to find a sharp knife,and yes included my tackle box in my search!Now this tool really works.Fast simple,easy to operate with great step by step instructions.I have sharpened scissors,serratted,pocket&steak knifes with ease.Love it! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not a serious tool

,
May 6, 2015
By LA555
from Los Angeles
" The belts are very thin. This does not have a feel of a pro sharpener. Looks and feels more like a toy.
The tension on the belt is loose. The edge gets too much or a radius. It may keep the blade sharper for a longer period of time, but doesn't sharpen it as well as it should.
It does the job, just nowhere near the professional results on a bigger sharpener. The Chef’s Choice knife sharpener does a better job in my opinion.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
4out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Work Sharp WSKTS-KO

,
April 26, 2015
By Bigjohn50Cal
from Nashville, NC
" Makes all knives and blades shaving sharp. The Very Best knife sharpener that I have ever owned. Simple and Easy, Just follow instructions. I highly recommend this product. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Ken Onion knife sharpener

,
April 13, 2015
By Electro68
from Parrish, AL
" Easy to use and does a very good job. Once you have sharpened a knife it only takes a few passes to keep it sharpened. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Simple, Effective Knife Sharpener.

,
March 30, 2015
By KnifeSharpener1
from Kansas
" This review is for the Ken Onion Edition Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener. All of the shortcomings of the original Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener have been resolved with this Ken Onion Edition. I have used every knife sharpening method available. From cheap carbide sharpeners to Japanese water stones to expensive fixed angle sharpeners. This unit from Work Sharp is has made all those obsolete.The secret to using this or any belt sander is to start and stop the power with the knife on the belt. And NEVER let the heel or tip go more than half way across the belt. Anyone who complains about rounded tips hasn't learned this. And it is explained very well in the instructions.
It does take a little practice to get it right, but if I can do it anyone can do it. The hardest part was that even with the guide, you can easily forget to maintain the angle of the knife. If you don't maintain the angle, your edges will be uneven and your knives will not be as sharp as you'd like.
I am impressed with this tool. It is well made and am sure it will last for a long time. It's as well built as any other tool in my garage. I'm glad I bought it and would do it again in a heartbeat.
A couple of warnings. Being a belt driven sharpening system, the angle of the blade edge will change to a convex edge. If you go back to a stone, you'll have to reset the angle. Also, if you are not careful you can round the tips of your knives without realizing. And it being a motorized belt, you can remove a lot of blade in a short period of time. Just take your time, keep the belt on the lower speeds and you should be fine. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
10out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good

,
March 21, 2015
By Faqu2
from Livonia Mi
" Easy to use. Does a good job on different type of knifes. The directions were easy to follow. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Ed

,
March 18, 2015
By al4451
from Hernando, MS
" Does a very good job sharpening all knives. Would recommend this to others. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good tool.

,
March 14, 2015
By Twig15
from SW Florida
" I just got this so I haven't used it that much, but from what I have, it seems like a very good tool. As with all knife sharpening techniques, it will take some practice to fine tune, to get the ultimate sharp blade, but I feel that will come in time. A good unit for the home DIY'er ! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener - Ken Onion Edition, Model# WSKTS-KO"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!

,
March 13, 2015
By BoilermakerDickie
from Monticello IN
" This knife sharpener is great! Very easy to use & does a very good job sharpening all types of knives, scissors etc. Would definitely recommend it to anyone. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.