Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Ironton Garden Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose

Ironton Garden Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose

Item# 41726
"Heavy-duty Ironton Garden Hose Reel Cart holds 300 feet of 5/8in. garden hose not included. Features strong tubular steel frame and foam-padded handle. Rolls easily on 10in. pneumatic tires with solid steel axles. Built-in basket for accessories. Reel Capacity Hose Length ft. x Hose Diameter in. 300 x 5/8, Inlet Hose ft. 6, Wheel Size in. 10, Frame Material Steel, Hose Included No, Dimensions L x W x H in. 43 15/16 x 24 13/16 x 33 13/16. Durable tubular steel frame Easy rolling 10in. pneumatic tires and solid steel axles for rough terrain Holds 300 feet of 5/8in. hose Integrated basket to store accessories Includes 6ft. leader hose"
Average Customer Rating:
3.932 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (44 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
16
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
3
36 of 44(82%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ironton Garden Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Review 1 for Ironton Garden Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Instructions still lacking, but great product

,
January 18, 2016
By
from Bloomington, MN.
Like all of the other reviewers before me, the instructions for this product are a complete waste of time. There are supports included that are not even mentioned in the instructions that need to be put on as well, and it takes awhile to figure it out. I am an engineer, so I should be able to read a plan well, but this was ridiculous... Other than that, once its together, it's a sweet hose reel, I think it will take years of punishment and I'm happy with my purchase.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ironton Garden Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
December 23, 2015
By
from Flat Rock, MI
Great hose reel, tired of the cheap plastic reels breaking under the weight of my 100ft. heavy duty rubber hose . This is a much better product of all metal construction and is good quality. The instructions could use updating to reflect product changes, but I was able to take my time and figure it out, so anyone should be able too !!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ironton Garden Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good buy

,
December 15, 2015
By
from Montgomery Texas
Nice hose reel - Appears to be strong and built to last.
Instructions will make you cuss a bit. Read them online
first and save your eyes. The photos help the best in assembly. Hardware list in the instruction manual doesn't
match whats provided. It's easy to assemble but the instructions make it confusing.
I'd buy it again.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ironton Garden Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Reel

,
November 16, 2015
By
from CA
I have had every kind of hose reel you can imagine and this one is the best. Easy to move around and does not disintegrate like the plastic reels. Holds a huge amount of hose. I have 4 of these and I just keep on purchasing them. Even our gardeners are impressed!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ironton Garden Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ironton Garden Hose Reel

,
October 31, 2015
By
from Cottondale, Al.
Product is as advertised for a good price and easy to use.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ironton Garden Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not bad for the price.

,
October 28, 2015
By
from Tampa
Instructions were not the best...but I did get it all together within one hour. Some of the hardware did not match up to the diagram. Handle was loose fitting and there was no braking mechanism to prevent cart from rolling as you unreel the hose. Other than that the product works as described. I like the wheels but again a braking mechanism would be nice. Easy to roll and store. Basket was a nice touch.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ironton Garden Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Metal supply line leaked. Directions a joke.

,
September 27, 2015
By
from Grain Valley, Mo
The directions are junk. After I put it together and put the hose on it. The metal supply line that the hose hooked to had a hole in it around the weld. I'm taking it back for an exchange. The cart seems ok but between the poor directions and the leaking supply line. This cart is a overpriced joke. Maybe the next one out of the box will be better.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Response from Northern Tool:By Northern ToolOctober 22, 2015
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the issues with this product. We appreciate the feedback & value the opportunity to improve on our products. If you have any questions or need assistance please feel free to contact us.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ironton Garden Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Large and very sturdy!

,
September 7, 2015
By
from Kansas City, MO
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I'd been looking for a hose reel for some time and just couldn't find anything that was suitable and affordable. I did an internet search and found Northern Tool. I'd driven past the store many times, but never thought to go inside. Anyway, this cart was perfect for what I wanted and was affordable. I ordered it and had it delivered to the store for free. I read the other reviews and I have to agree that the instructions leave some things out, but I got it put together in no time and was amazed at how sturdy it is and it will definitely hold 200 to 300 feet of hose. The basket is handy, too. The picture shows the cart with 100 feet of 5/8 inch hose.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ironton Garden Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

sturdy, big

,
August 28, 2015
By
from shelton, CT
Instructions, not counting the wheels and axles there are 10 parts to assemble-c'mon.
I wish the wheels were solid rubber and not split core rims with pneumatic tires. Split cores seem to rust quickly in my experience; these have zinc plated bolts holding them together.
The unit is larger than expected, about the size of a large stroller.
I have high water pressure in my area, cheap hoses and reels fail or leak. I've only had it a week, but no leaks or failures upon use.
The hand crank fits a little loose, but it doesn't appear it will fail.
Feels solid and well built. The notch in the metal nameplate at the handle for hanging the hose nozzle is a nice touch.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ironton Garden Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Product-Just poor instructions!

,
August 14, 2015
By
from Puyallup,WA
Like how well it's put together but the instruction are very poorly written. I'm a technical illustrator and create parts catalogs and these are some of the worst. But the product is strong, so if they would spend a little time on redoing the instruction it would be a #1 seller!! I even had parts left over and parts that aren't even in the parts list. So if they would have one of thier engineers put one together via their instruction maybe then they would understand.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ironton Garden Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

not bad for the price

,
July 27, 2015
By
from Md.
good for 1/2 hose not 3/4 hose works well used for a month..
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ironton Garden Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Product

,
July 9, 2015
By
from NJ
Excellent product, sturdy for home use. If you review the product, don't beat the product up because the directions are your issue. That does not accurately reflect the quality of the product. Some people cannot follow directions or are clearly not handy.Not a reason to give the product less of a rating.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ironton Garden Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Its Great!

,
July 6, 2015
By
from Taneytown, MD
works great. I can use up to 300 ft of hose. Makes life easer. it was hard to read the instructions at first but easey to put together. I have a far distance to go with the hose so this makes clean up a breeze.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ironton Garden Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

price

,
June 20, 2015
By
from chapel hill nc
was more than i had wish to pay for but other wise very durable
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ironton Garden Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

strong hose reel

,
June 20, 2015
By
from Ninnekah, OK
Ordered this hose reel on line and picked it up in the store with no problems. When I got it home I laid out all the pieces to make sure I had everything. It was all there. Not one thing was missing. Graded a few hand tools and after about thirty minutes it was all together. Once again was very pleased with my purchase.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ironton Garden Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

sturdy & large capacity

,
January 16, 2015
By
from rtp, nc
Not as easy to assemble as it should be. The assembly instructions were lacking (parts in the box that were not mentioned AT ALL in the instructions) and identification of the parts was poor (difference between 5mm & 6mm bolts that were identical shape & length). Probably took 2x as long to assemble than it should have.
Overall, sturdy & can easily handle large capacity of garden hose.
A few suggestions for improvement:
- guide for hose when reeling in - know how hose gets lose on a reel cart that just holds 50'. Now imagine how it gets w/ 300'.
- catch / locking mech for reel when fully loaded. It rotates by itself under wt of the hose
- locking mech for wheels. while easy rolling wheels are great for moving the whole cart, winding hose is complicated by a cart that moves around too easily.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ironton Garden Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Hose Reel Cart

,
January 4, 2015
By
from Lawrenceville, GA
The instructions were poorly writen and hard to follow. If this had been the first thing I had ever put together, I don't know that I could have completed it. None of the wheels turn, so it is difficult to navigate. The tool basket is small.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-9points
2out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ironton Garden Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

HOSE REEL

,
January 1, 2015
By
from ODESSA TX.
GREAT HOSE REEL WINDS AND REELS OUT SMOOTH NO LEEKS AND NO KINKS IN HOSE I USE IT DAYLEY IN MY WORK SHOP
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ironton Garden Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

low water flow

,
December 4, 2014
By
from texas
due to small diameter metal hose maybe 1/2" for coil, does not allow high rate of water flow, does no good to have a 5/8" hose since metal hose is only 1/2", could not run small electric pressure washer and also worked poorly with regular nozzle.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ironton Garden Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Ironton Hose Reel Cart Beats Plastic Hands Down

,
December 3, 2014
By
from South Carolina
I bought this cart because the plastic ones fall apart and break to easily. As many have previously noted, the instructions are horrible, but if you take your time, you should be able to figure out how it goes together. Just don't tighten all the bolts/screws until you have it all together. Two of the frame bolts are shorter than required, so I had to leave the washers out. Other than that, it's much to early to see how long it will last in inclement weather and not rust. It's much sturdier a plastic cart. It's 1/4 the cost of an Eley hose reel cart - so, I think it's a better value.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.