Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Ironton Garden Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose

Ironton Garden Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose

Item# 41726
"Heavy-duty Ironton Garden Hose Reel Cart holds 300 feet of 5/8in. garden hose not included. Features strong tubular steel frame and foam-padded handle. Rolls easily on 10in. pneumatic tires with solid steel axles. Built-in basket for accessories. Reel Capacity Hose Length ft. x Hose Diameter in. 300 x 5/8, Frame Material Steel, Hose Included No, Wheel Size in. 10, Inlet Hose ft. 6, Dimensions L x W x H in. 43 15/16 x 24 13/16 x 33 13/16. Durable tubular steel frame Easy rolling 10in. pneumatic tires and solid steel axles for rough terrain Holds 300 feet of 5/8in. hose Integrated basket to store accessories Includes 6ft. leader hose"
Average Customer Rating:
4.02 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (50 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
16
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
3
41 of 50(82%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ironton Garden Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Review 1 for Ironton Garden Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hose reel

,
April 27, 2016
By
from Rhode island
Large, heavy duty, excellent value priced item, large pneumatic tires, and basket for accessories
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ironton Garden Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Hose Reel

,
April 10, 2016
By
from Fort Jackson,SC
The hose reel was easy to assemble. Good heavy duty equipment, not like the plastic box reels. Can move it easily form the house to the barn. Big tires make for easy off-road movement , can actually take it out to the garden area. Easy to control 250 foot of commercial grade hose.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ironton Garden Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

sturdy, easy to use

,
April 10, 2016
By
from ca
this hose reel is perfect, easy to put together, sturdy, keeps the hose off the walkway and makes using the hose 100% easier as your not dragging around a long hose or having to untangle it to find the end and rewinding the hose on the reel is fast and easy.
I will be buying another one for the back yard
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ironton Garden Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Its ok...

,
March 14, 2016
By
from Ga
It will do the job its meant for but the quality is lacking. I had to beef it up - 3 out of 5 only because it works... I doubt it will last all year - Professional user
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ironton Garden Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Garden Hose Reel

,
February 23, 2016
By
from Centennial, Colorado
This is a very sturdy hose reel. I rolled up all 150 feet of 1/2 " garden hose very easy. Can be moved with ease. Highly recommend. A little challenging to assemble but is well worth it.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ironton Garden Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
February 15, 2016
By
from Hamilton, OH
The hose reel has made my life easier and it is sturdy. But the instructions to put it together were not very helpful and some of the holes didn't line up and screws not correct. Other than that, love it.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ironton Garden Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Instructions still lacking, but great product

,
January 18, 2016
By
from Bloomington, MN.
Like all of the other reviewers before me, the instructions for this product are a complete waste of time. There are supports included that are not even mentioned in the instructions that need to be put on as well, and it takes awhile to figure it out. I am an engineer, so I should be able to read a plan well, but this was ridiculous... Other than that, once its together, it's a sweet hose reel, I think it will take years of punishment and I'm happy with my purchase.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ironton Garden Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
December 23, 2015
By
from Flat Rock, MI
Great hose reel, tired of the cheap plastic reels breaking under the weight of my 100ft. heavy duty rubber hose . This is a much better product of all metal construction and is good quality. The instructions could use updating to reflect product changes, but I was able to take my time and figure it out, so anyone should be able too !!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ironton Garden Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good buy

,
December 15, 2015
By
from Montgomery Texas
Nice hose reel - Appears to be strong and built to last.
Instructions will make you cuss a bit. Read them online
first and save your eyes. The photos help the best in assembly. Hardware list in the instruction manual doesn't
match whats provided. It's easy to assemble but the instructions make it confusing.
I'd buy it again.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ironton Garden Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Reel

,
November 16, 2015
By
from CA
I have had every kind of hose reel you can imagine and this one is the best. Easy to move around and does not disintegrate like the plastic reels. Holds a huge amount of hose. I have 4 of these and I just keep on purchasing them. Even our gardeners are impressed!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ironton Garden Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ironton Garden Hose Reel

,
October 31, 2015
By
from Cottondale, Al.
Product is as advertised for a good price and easy to use.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ironton Garden Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not bad for the price.

,
October 28, 2015
By
from Tampa
Instructions were not the best...but I did get it all together within one hour. Some of the hardware did not match up to the diagram. Handle was loose fitting and there was no braking mechanism to prevent cart from rolling as you unreel the hose. Other than that the product works as described. I like the wheels but again a braking mechanism would be nice. Easy to roll and store. Basket was a nice touch.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ironton Garden Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Metal supply line leaked. Directions a joke.

,
September 27, 2015
By
from Grain Valley, Mo
The directions are junk. After I put it together and put the hose on it. The metal supply line that the hose hooked to had a hole in it around the weld. I'm taking it back for an exchange. The cart seems ok but between the poor directions and the leaking supply line. This cart is a overpriced joke. Maybe the next one out of the box will be better.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Response from Northern Tool:By Northern ToolOctober 22, 2015
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the issues with this product. We appreciate the feedback & value the opportunity to improve on our products. If you have any questions or need assistance please feel free to contact us.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ironton Garden Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Large and very sturdy!

,
September 7, 2015
By
from Kansas City, MO
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I'd been looking for a hose reel for some time and just couldn't find anything that was suitable and affordable. I did an internet search and found Northern Tool. I'd driven past the store many times, but never thought to go inside. Anyway, this cart was perfect for what I wanted and was affordable. I ordered it and had it delivered to the store for free. I read the other reviews and I have to agree that the instructions leave some things out, but I got it put together in no time and was amazed at how sturdy it is and it will definitely hold 200 to 300 feet of hose. The basket is handy, too. The picture shows the cart with 100 feet of 5/8 inch hose.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ironton Garden Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

sturdy, big

,
August 28, 2015
By
from shelton, CT
Instructions, not counting the wheels and axles there are 10 parts to assemble-c'mon.
I wish the wheels were solid rubber and not split core rims with pneumatic tires. Split cores seem to rust quickly in my experience; these have zinc plated bolts holding them together.
The unit is larger than expected, about the size of a large stroller.
I have high water pressure in my area, cheap hoses and reels fail or leak. I've only had it a week, but no leaks or failures upon use.
The hand crank fits a little loose, but it doesn't appear it will fail.
Feels solid and well built. The notch in the metal nameplate at the handle for hanging the hose nozzle is a nice touch.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ironton Garden Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Product-Just poor instructions!

,
August 14, 2015
By
from Puyallup,WA
Like how well it's put together but the instruction are very poorly written. I'm a technical illustrator and create parts catalogs and these are some of the worst. But the product is strong, so if they would spend a little time on redoing the instruction it would be a #1 seller!! I even had parts left over and parts that aren't even in the parts list. So if they would have one of thier engineers put one together via their instruction maybe then they would understand.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ironton Garden Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

not bad for the price

,
July 27, 2015
By
from Md.
good for 1/2 hose not 3/4 hose works well used for a month..
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ironton Garden Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Product

,
July 9, 2015
By
from NJ
Excellent product, sturdy for home use. If you review the product, don't beat the product up because the directions are your issue. That does not accurately reflect the quality of the product. Some people cannot follow directions or are clearly not handy.Not a reason to give the product less of a rating.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ironton Garden Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Its Great!

,
July 6, 2015
By
from Taneytown, MD
works great. I can use up to 300 ft of hose. Makes life easer. it was hard to read the instructions at first but easey to put together. I have a far distance to go with the hose so this makes clean up a breeze.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ironton Garden Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

price

,
June 20, 2015
By
from chapel hill nc
was more than i had wish to pay for but other wise very durable
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.