Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Ironton Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose

Ironton Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose

Item# 41726
Heavy-duty Ironton Hose Reel Cart holds 300 feet of 5/8in. garden hose not included. Features strong tubular steel frame and foam-padded handle. Rolls easily on 10in. pneumatic tires with solid steel axles. Built-in basket for accessories. Dimensions L x W x H in. 43 15/16 x 24 13/16 x 33 13/16, Frame Material Steel, Inlet Hose ft. 6, Reel Capacity Hose Length ft. x Hose Diameter in. 300 x 5/8, Wheel Size in. 10, Hose Included No. Durable tubular steel frame Easy rolling 10in. pneumatic tires and solid steel axles for rough terrain Holds 300 feet of 5/8in. hose Integrated basket to store accessories Includes 6-ft. leader hose
Average Customer Rating:
3.952 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (21 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
1
19 of 21(90%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ironton Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Review 1 for Ironton Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hose Reel

,
October 12, 2014
By 8509
from St Cloud, MN
"Overall the hose reel is just what I was looking for. The only reason I didn't give it a 5 star rating was because of the instructions. After I put the reel together I had a few extra parts that were not in any of the steps nor in the list of parts included. I figured out where they belonged and had to take apart the base and put it back together again."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ironton Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally A Hose Reel That Will Last

,
October 1, 2014
By Gardenmanelpaso
from El Paso, TX
"I have had terrible luck with the plastic hose reel carts I have bought in the typical franchised home maintenance superstores. None ever survived more than one summer without wearing out. Finally, with the Ironton Hose Reel Cart, I am confident I will never have to buy another for many years to come. Its durable, metallic design not only assure longevity, but looks terrific in my garden. Much better than expected!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ironton Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Poor Instructions

,
September 27, 2014
By cges11
from sioux falls, SD
"Functionality good. Instructions and hardware of poor quality."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ironton Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

If you like puzzles...

,
September 24, 2014
By res95
from Houston, TX
"If you don't mind trying to build a hose cart with parts that don't match the description, inaccurate instructions, missing pieces, and extra parts to work in, then this may be the hose cart for you. I DO mind, so I cannot recommend it, in spite of the fact that it may well turn out to be solid.
It's a shame that what seems like could be a sound piece of equipment at a good price should be saddled with such annoyances. Just a little bit of attention to detail could easily make it a winner."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ironton Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hose reel

,
September 19, 2014
By Steven002
from Ac, Nj
"Work great! Made well! I put 100' of 3/4" commural hose on it without any problem. Rolls good over soft dirt. When delivered I was missing the axles and hardware and they sent them to me in 2 days!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ironton Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Ugh!

,
September 16, 2014
By BigPig
from Dallas TX
"The IRONTON hose cart is a quality product and met my needs. That being said, it got 3 Stars from me because the instructions were so poorly written that it took longer than it should to assemble. Must of the time it was either a guessing game or cognitive deduction to figure out what bolt went where."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ironton Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

good reel bad tires

,
September 15, 2014
By flatheadvff
from Texas
"I like this hose reel, but the tires would not hold air more then couple of days when brand new. put four new tubes from northern tool, same thing. Put 4 new tubes from local tire store at much higher price and much thicker tubes, ended problem. I see another cart advertised with solid tires, and slightly higher price. If , and more likely when, I get another reel, I will pay the extra for the solid tires, as I already have paid more with this one."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ironton Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good Cart, not so good instructions

,
September 1, 2014
By Puterdood
from Sludge, MS
"The cart itself feels to be of reasonably good quality and is sturdy, although a few holes did not line up correctly but were easily fixed. The worst of it is the instruction booklet, as other people have pointed out. It is not very well written and leaves out the installation of the bottom frame clamps. It was not difficult to figure out what to do even if the instructions had been ok. I would suggest adding a few lines mentioning that you need both a flat and a phillips screwdriver and sockets for 3/8", 1/2", and 1". Also, to be able to tighten the axle nut, Vise-grip pliers would be good to have to hold the opposite side from spinning."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ironton Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's a keeper

,
August 29, 2014
By Trimmer1
from CT
"Yes,, the directions are mediocre but you actually have to read them from back to front and front to back. Additionally, my hose reel came with some extra parts that are not listed in the manual which are stiffening brackets for the bottom part of the frame. Eventually, I ignored the manual and used some common sense to assemble. Took about 45 minutes. Works great. Winds up hose effortlessly unlike the third plastic piece of junk I've been through. And it rolls nicely. One issue I had is with the tires. I was under the impression these were pneumatic tires not requiring air but not a big deal. On that alone I'd give it 4 stars but because it's all metal and nicely constructed. I'm giving 5 stars and I think the price is worth it too."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ironton Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hose Reel

,
August 24, 2014
By Darkhorse396
from California
"Overall a good unit. A little bulky and could use better support at the bottom and handle area where the tubes come together. Definitely a weak link and could pose problems over time. I will work on that to eliminate the looseness at those areas."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ironton Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Hose Reel Hassel

,
August 24, 2014
By Redholly
from Texas
"This was my 4th purchase of a hose reel cart. I bought this one because it was on sale and advertised as "heavy duty". The unassembled reel was packaged in a thick cardboard box that seemed to provide adequate protection during shipment. Delivery was as scheduled.
Only a plastic protective piece (discarded after assembly) on the hose connection was broken but it had prevented damage to the part. The assembly instructions are of poor quality and somewhat incomplete. Read what is provided carefully and examine all the various parts prior to beginning assembly. Screws and nuts have substitutes and there are no extras in case one is lost or stripped. You will need screwdrivers and a 1/4 "ratchet set and/ or wrenches for assembly.
After assembly the unit seems to be more solid than the typical plastic alternatives; however, the upright handle connection is held by a single screw on each side and is not a tight fit. Remains to be seen how it will hold up over time. Overall the hose reel seems to be a fair value and acceptable quality."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ironton Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hose cart

,
August 20, 2014
By Bigfish528
from Langhorne PA
"Great price appears to be better than more expensive models with other reviews reflecting the same as my own. Pretty easy to assemble works as advertised."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ironton Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

,
August 19, 2014
By VASteve
from Virginia
"This is how a hose cart should be made. Solid steel construction, not that plastic garbage. This will no doubt out last me."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ironton Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Hardware & Instructions are TERRIBLE!

,
August 12, 2014
By RP1310
from Louisville, KY
"The cart itself seems to be of questionable quality. The hardware and instructions are total JUNK. The instructions were inaccurate to say the least. They did not include information of various pieces that were included in the hardware kit, thus leaving me to have to figure out where they belonged. The parts list in the instructions also did not include these various parts and the quantities were not accurate for nuts and bolts. The hardware itself was of poor quality and most bolts were just long enough to allow the nuts to catch the bottom thread. I purchased all new stainless hardware from Fastenal and installed in their place.
As for quality of the cart itself, the metal is not too flimsy, but time and hose weight on the reel will tell this story."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ironton Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent Price Point

,
August 5, 2014
By HFSchober
from Toledo, OH
"I am very pleased with this hose reel; it was relatively easy to assemble, although the instructions could use more detail. The cart itself seems sturdy with the exception of a little wobble in the handle, and the reel movement is smooth. Other carts I've used in the past have leaked at the rotary union, but this one has not in 2+ weeks of daily use.
The only improvement would be to give more detail in the instructions, and make the connection between the handle and the base of the cart more robust."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ironton Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product for the money

,
August 3, 2014
By proboater
from Easternshore, MD
"I just put the reel cart together yesterday. However, it took me about 20-25 min. to put it together. The cart was made fairly well and what's really important is that the plumbing connections and parts were nicely built w/good welds.
I only gave it 4 stars due to the fact that it probably will rust quickly due just plain steel and not galvanize parts. The tires could be better if they were a solid tire or something that won't go flat. Holds a load of 5/8" hose comfortably and heavily built for the money.
The only thing better is that of an Eley cart which is 3 times as much and made of aluminum.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ironton Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Holds lots of hose!!

,
July 16, 2014
By Cwolvert
from Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
"I purchased this hose reel cart to replace an Ames plastic hose reel that traditionally last only three or four years. The assembly requires some time and the instructions are not as clear as they could be, the assembly wasn't difficult, just time-consuming. One of the axles not completely galvanized (as advertised) and one thread was damaged in shipment and I had to use my tap and die to re-thread the axle. When reeling in hose there is a squeak when using the handle. Other than those issues I hope I'll be satisfied with the product. Made in China."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ironton Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hose real

,
July 3, 2014
By Wi59
from St. Michael, MN
"The hose reel was pretty easy to assemble although the directions could have been clearer. The hose reel is beefy and seems like it will last a long time- well constructed with good components. It works great, manages my hoses perfectly, saves me time and effort."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ironton Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hose Cart

,
June 23, 2014
By TJBB
from Buffalo NY
"Love it once it was assembled. Instructions are a bit challenging. Extra parts came in the box making assembly a bit confusing. Overall, exactually what I wanted and I am ordering a second one."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ironton Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

RUNNING HOSE

,
June 9, 2014
By S818
from Nashville, TN
"EASY TO PUT TOGETHER, STURDY MADE,
ROLLS UP HOSE WITH EASE, AND UN ROLL
WITH EASE. WORKS GREAT, I CAN NOT FIND ANY
THING BAD TO SAY ABOUT IT.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.