Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Ironton Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose

Ironton Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose

Item# 41726
"Heavy-duty Ironton Hose Reel Cart holds 300 feet of 5/8in. garden hose not included. Features strong tubular steel frame and foam-padded handle. Rolls easily on 10in. pneumatic tires with solid steel axles. Built-in basket for accessories. Reel Capacity Hose Length ft. x Hose Diameter in. 300 x 5/8, Frame Material Steel, Inlet Hose ft. 6, Wheel Size in. 10, Hose Included No, Dimensions L x W x H in. 43 15/16 x 24 13/16 x 33 13/16. Durable tubular steel frame Easy rolling 10in. pneumatic tires and solid steel axles for rough terrain Holds 300 feet of 5/8in. hose Integrated basket to store accessories Includes 6-ft. leader hose"
Average Customer Rating:
3.853 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (34 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
2
28 of 34(82%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ironton Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Review 1 for Ironton Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

not bad for the price

,
July 27, 2015
By Guns1
from Md.
" good for 1/2 hose not 3/4 hose works well used for a month.. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ironton Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Product

,
July 9, 2015
By Ralph4427
from NJ
" Excellent product, sturdy for home use. If you review the product, don't beat the product up because the directions are your issue. That does not accurately reflect the quality of the product. Some people cannot follow directions or are clearly not handy.Not a reason to give the product less of a rating. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ironton Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Its Great!

,
July 6, 2015
By cashman7
from Taneytown, MD
" works great. I can use up to 300 ft of hose. Makes life easer. it was hard to read the instructions at first but easey to put together. I have a far distance to go with the hose so this makes clean up a breeze. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ironton Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

price

,
June 20, 2015
By wgc1
from chapel hill nc
" was more than i had wish to pay for but other wise very durable "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ironton Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

strong hose reel

,
June 20, 2015
By rollerl
from Ninnekah, OK
" Ordered this hose reel on line and picked it up in the store with no problems. When I got it home I laid out all the pieces to make sure I had everything. It was all there. Not one thing was missing. Graded a few hand tools and after about thirty minutes it was all together. Once again was very pleased with my purchase. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ironton Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

sturdy & large capacity

,
January 16, 2015
By handee
from rtp, nc
" Not as easy to assemble as it should be. The assembly instructions were lacking (parts in the box that were not mentioned AT ALL in the instructions) and identification of the parts was poor (difference between 5mm & 6mm bolts that were identical shape & length). Probably took 2x as long to assemble than it should have.
Overall, sturdy & can easily handle large capacity of garden hose.
A few suggestions for improvement:
- guide for hose when reeling in - know how hose gets lose on a reel cart that just holds 50'. Now imagine how it gets w/ 300'.
- catch / locking mech for reel when fully loaded. It rotates by itself under wt of the hose
- locking mech for wheels. while easy rolling wheels are great for moving the whole cart, winding hose is complicated by a cart that moves around too easily.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ironton Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Hose Reel Cart

,
January 4, 2015
By G3W7
from Lawrenceville, GA
" The instructions were poorly writen and hard to follow. If this had been the first thing I had ever put together, I don't know that I could have completed it. None of the wheels turn, so it is difficult to navigate. The tool basket is small. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-8points
1out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ironton Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

HOSE REEL

,
January 1, 2015
By JFRF1956
from ODESSA TX.
" GREAT HOSE REEL WINDS AND REELS OUT SMOOTH NO LEEKS AND NO KINKS IN HOSE I USE IT DAYLEY IN MY WORK SHOP "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ironton Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

low water flow

,
December 4, 2014
By pickingarb
from texas
" due to small diameter metal hose maybe 1/2" for coil, does not allow high rate of water flow, does no good to have a 5/8" hose since metal hose is only 1/2", could not run small electric pressure washer and also worked poorly with regular nozzle. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ironton Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Ironton Hose Reel Cart Beats Plastic Hands Down

,
December 3, 2014
By BubbaInSC
from South Carolina
" I bought this cart because the plastic ones fall apart and break to easily. As many have previously noted, the instructions are horrible, but if you take your time, you should be able to figure out how it goes together. Just don't tighten all the bolts/screws until you have it all together. Two of the frame bolts are shorter than required, so I had to leave the washers out. Other than that, it's much to early to see how long it will last in inclement weather and not rust. It's much sturdier a plastic cart. It's 1/4 the cost of an Eley hose reel cart - so, I think it's a better value. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ironton Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Kinda cheap

,
November 4, 2014
By unhappy123456
from westminster co
" not the best quality but it should work it looked much stronger in the pics "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ironton Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Well maybe...

,
November 2, 2014
By tlclla
from Texas
" Would I recommend should have a "maybe". Problem is that device's assembly instructions are flawed. There are missing steps to go with the additional parts. This also makes the assembly hardware set wrong. FYI, it contains 4 metal braces that fit over the connection btx the two halves of the main frame. These bolt through existing holes to stiffen and strengthen the frame. Good idea, just not in the instructions which shorts the hardware some bolt sets... Nor are a couple of other steps but at least the parts appear in the illustrations. And finally, reported problem to seller (Northern Tool) through CS email in early October (picked the thing up 2 October 2014).Several back and forths leave problem(s) still unresolved...So they get a D insofar as I am concerned... "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ironton Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very Pleased

,
October 28, 2014
By robmc5
from Valdosta, Ga
" I am a die hard researcher and I dont like buying something I have to replace in a year. I have been looking for one of these for a while and this was the best deal and had good reviews. I am pleased. Assembly was not too bad and I reinforced the bottom center connections, other than that I think it will hold up for a while. I gave 4 stars only because the instructions was very vague. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ironton Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hose Reel

,
October 12, 2014
By 8509
from St Cloud, MN
" Overall the hose reel is just what I was looking for. The only reason I didn't give it a 5 star rating was because of the instructions. After I put the reel together I had a few extra parts that were not in any of the steps nor in the list of parts included. I figured out where they belonged and had to take apart the base and put it back together again. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ironton Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally A Hose Reel That Will Last

,
October 1, 2014
By Gardenmanelpaso
from El Paso, TX
" I have had terrible luck with the plastic hose reel carts I have bought in the typical franchised home maintenance superstores. None ever survived more than one summer without wearing out. Finally, with the Ironton Hose Reel Cart, I am confident I will never have to buy another for many years to come. Its durable, metallic design not only assure longevity, but looks terrific in my garden. Much better than expected! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ironton Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Poor Instructions

,
September 27, 2014
By cges11
from sioux falls, SD
" Functionality good. Instructions and hardware of poor quality. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ironton Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

If you like puzzles...

,
September 24, 2014
By res95
from Houston, TX
" If you don't mind trying to build a hose cart with parts that don't match the description, inaccurate instructions, missing pieces, and extra parts to work in, then this may be the hose cart for you. I DO mind, so I cannot recommend it, in spite of the fact that it may well turn out to be solid.
It's a shame that what seems like could be a sound piece of equipment at a good price should be saddled with such annoyances. Just a little bit of attention to detail could easily make it a winner. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ironton Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hose reel

,
September 19, 2014
By Steven002
from Ac, Nj
" Work great! Made well! I put 100' of 3/4" commural hose on it without any problem. Rolls good over soft dirt. When delivered I was missing the axles and hardware and they sent them to me in 2 days! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ironton Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Ugh!

,
September 16, 2014
By BigPig
from Dallas TX
" The IRONTON hose cart is a quality product and met my needs. That being said, it got 3 Stars from me because the instructions were so poorly written that it took longer than it should to assemble. Must of the time it was either a guessing game or cognitive deduction to figure out what bolt went where. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ironton Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

good reel bad tires

,
September 15, 2014
By flatheadvff
from Texas
" I like this hose reel, but the tires would not hold air more then couple of days when brand new. put four new tubes from northern tool, same thing. Put 4 new tubes from local tire store at much higher price and much thicker tubes, ended problem. I see another cart advertised with solid tires, and slightly higher price. If , and more likely when, I get another reel, I will pay the extra for the solid tires, as I already have paid more with this one. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.