Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Field Tuff Tow-Behind Tiller - 36in. Width, Model# ATV-3665"

"Field Tuff Tow-Behind Tiller - 36in. Width, Model# ATV-3665"

Item# 41966
"This Field Tuff Tow-Behind Tiller has 24 12in. hardened steel tines for tilling compacted soil, with a manual lever for height adjustment up to 5in. Shock absorbing hitch and 15in. pneumatic turf tires for working on uneven terrain. Tine Type Hardened steel, Height Range in. Up to 5, Displacement cc 205, Disc Diameter in. 205, Engine Briggs & Stratton, Working Width in. 36, Depth in. 33.4, Overall Width in. 39.4, Tire Size in. 15, Engine Type I/C, Product Type Tiller, Tines qty. 24, HP 6.5. Powerful Briggs & Stratton I/C 205cc engine 24 12 1/2in. hardened steel tines for tilling compacted soil Manual lever for height adjustment up to 5in. Long handle lets you make height adjustments from your seat Shock absorbing hitch and 15in. pneumatic turf tires for working on uneven terrain Belt-driven with engagement lever Metal shield protects tires Replaceable tines Universal pin-style hitch Requires ATV/tractor with 16 HP minimum"
Average Customer Rating:
3.25 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (8 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
5 of 8(62%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Field Tuff Tow-Behind Tiller - 36in. Width, Model# ATV-3665"
Review 1 for "Field Tuff Tow-Behind Tiller - 36in. Width, Model# ATV-3665"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

GREAT as long as you are NOT using as TILLER

,
May 21, 2016
By
from Iowa
Ahhhhh, sigh, let me start off this wonderful journey with the first day of "Operation". This came straight from the warehouse, being as Northern Tool didn't have one in stock locally. Not an issue. Taking the "tiller" out of the box, I was all anxious to assemble, check fluids, fuel up, and get to work on my food plots. Upon many attempts, I discovered that someone at some point must have test ran the engine, LEAVING the fuel in it for who knows how long. Disassembling the carburetor I found it completely clogged and varnished. The entire fuel system had to be cleaned out. After getting this done, the "tiller" fired right up, but needed some adjusting. Getting the product out to the location, I could go 100-200 feet, and it would die because it didn't have the power to actually break the ground. As I said, it's not exactly a "tiller". That was enough for one day. Day Two: the engine seems to have figured itself out, and is running great, and then the bolt holding one of the sets of tines gets sheared off. Pulling the "tiller" back to the shop, I find a 3/8 bolt/nut, and fix the problem. Back out at the location, throw the belt. End of day two. Day Three: New belt, and back at it. 200 yards into work, shear off the other sides bolt holding the tines, AND throw the belt. Run back to the shop, get the parts needed, fix the tines and belt, back to work. 30 minutes later, sheared off the bolt again. It gets better. as I'm looking at the tines, I see that the bearing for the tines has now moved out of it's housing. Awesome, all I want to do is finish this ONE plot of 3. Pull start the motor and the pull rope breaks. Luckily, the engine fired up. I was so close to finishing this 1/2 acre plot that I ended up finishing it with half the tines working. I would recommend this "tool" to people looking to keep a floating pond/boat dock in place. It would probably make a GREAT anchor. Or for people that would like to get a good tall section of weeds grown by using it to stay in one place to remind them not to mow there.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Field Tuff Tow-Behind Tiller - 36in. Width, Model# ATV-3665"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Small framer

,
April 28, 2016
By
from Michigan
Great work for three days on my land .All done and with plants in.Work great done in half the time.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Field Tuff Tow-Behind Tiller - 36in. Width, Model# ATV-3665"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

,
June 8, 2015
By
from Pa
Used once since purchased, works well, has a lot of power, tears up hard soil and sog.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Field Tuff Tow-Behind Tiller - 36in. Width, Model# ATV-3665"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Field Tough tiller

,
April 29, 2015
By
from Jefferson county, MO.
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Before my first use I modified the lift handle to a 45 degree angle for better lifting leverage. I'm not a large guy and with the modification I am able to raise it without a great deal of effort. The easiest way for lifting is to lift while moving and before disengaging the tines. It did a very good job tilling my half acre garden. Be sure to oil/grease any moving parts on the frame to aide in lifting.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Field Tuff Tow-Behind Tiller - 36in. Width, Model# ATV-3665"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Tiller no tilling

,
April 2, 2015
By
from Canton GA
used it this machine behind my ATV lasted 2 days and the blades quite working
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
14out of 25found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Field Tuff Tow-Behind Tiller - 36in. Width, Model# ATV-3665"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good purchase

,
March 12, 2015
By
from SC
I have had this tiller for a little over a month now and have tilled both of my garden areas. One is 40x100 and the other is 40x50. All I can say is I wish I had one sooner. It works great. No problems so far. As one reviewer wrote it is VERY heavy to hook up, while not a sizable guy (a little under '6) I am no slouch. Teatering on the tines seems to be the best way and it can be awkward. Motor is great. Turning can be a job if you don't have room. The pto and lift arms come real close to my mower when turning tight. I like the adjustability. When breaking new ground go SLOW and SHALLOW. Make multiple passes going deeper each time. I made the mistake of trying to go too deep in fresh ground. It ended up pushing my mower out of the garden. It really is a beast.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Field Tuff Tow-Behind Tiller - 36in. Width, Model# ATV-3665"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor engine design. Air filtration system.

,
December 4, 2014
By
from El Paso, Texas
I read the operating manual and did as requested. About 6 hours into tilling my field (tiller worked fine) the engine froze up and part of the rod went through the crankcase (have not found the pieces). Note: the throttle was about 2/3 & the field dirt moist. I took the engine to a local Brigs & Stratton shop that handled warranty work. After they examined the engine they said the failure was because I did not clean the air filter and dirt got into the engine causing the situation. I called the tiller manufacturer to no avail. If this is truly the reason the engine failed my conclusion is a poor air filter design which allowed dirt to get past the filter. I would expect better engineering from Brigs & Stratton & would have expected them to stand behind their equipment.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+34points
40out of 46found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Field Tuff Tow-Behind Tiller - 36in. Width, Model# ATV-3665"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Well Built / Manufacturer rep very helpful

,
April 2, 2014
By
from Acworth, GA
This thing is a beast. Well built and strong. I would have given it 5 stars except for the fact that after 3 hours of use the transmission locked up. Manufacturer is sending a replacement.
I will warn you, this thing is very heavy, I am 6'3" 290 lbs and in very good physical shape, and it is heavy for me to hook up to my tractor. Drop the rear wheels, and let it "teeter" on the tines does make it easier. You will need a small hyd floor jack for setting the hitch height.
The raise / lower handle is a bit short, you'll need to dismount the tractor to raise and lower it.
The motor is plenty strong, easy to start.
Love the fact the unit has shields around the tines, and an adjustable shield on the discharge end. Keeps the dirt where it belongs.
Take your time when tilling virgin soil, follow the manufacturers directions of 1" cut at a time. Once the ground is broken up, this thing will pulverise the soil.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+29points
35out of 41found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.