Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Klutch Benchtop Belt/Disc Sander - 1/2 HP, 2200 RPM

FREE SHIPPING - Klutch Benchtop Belt/Disc Sander - 1/2 HP, 2200 RPM

Item# 426246
The Klutch Benchtop Belt/Disc Sander is ideal for grinding, sanding, finishing, polishing, deburring and contouring all types of material, including metal, plastic, wood and composites in either horizontal or vertical positions. Belt Speed ft./min. 1,318, Case Included No, Disc Diameter in. 6, Dust Bag Included No, Amps 3, Sanding Surface in.x in. 7 1/2 x 5, Speed RPM 2,200, Tool Length in. 19.68, Tool Weight lbs. 37 1/2, HP 1/2, Noise Level dB 82, Belt Size in. x in. 36 x 4. Work table angles for beveled sanding 0, 15, 30 and 45 80-grit belt 80-grit disc The actual color of this item may vary from what is shown it may be black/red or all black 7in. x 5 3/8in. work table
Average Customer Rating:
3.929 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (14 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
12 of 14(86%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Klutch Benchtop Belt/Disc Sander - 1/2 HP, 2200 RPM
Review 1 for FREE SHIPPING - Klutch Benchtop Belt/Disc Sander - 1/2 HP, 2200 RPM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Benchtop belt/disc sander

,
September 30, 2014
By MJD66
from Lake of the Ozarks Missouri
"Works great right out of the box, I use this almost everyday with my business. We build country furniture and wooden crafts, requiring lots of sanding and material removal. We use course belt 40/60 grit, sanders pulls it with no problem. I did a lot of research before I picked this belt sander, as I have had bad experiences with others. I made sure this one didn't have a tooth belt drive, where I would have to continue to replace the belt. this one uses a v belt, so no worries. Don't think you can go wrong with this one."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FREE SHIPPING - Klutch Benchtop Belt/Disc Sander - 1/2 HP, 2200 RPM
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Sander

,
July 7, 2014
By wd0521
from Lowell, VT
"This is a nice compact unit. Easy to use. Does not take up a large footprint. That is important when space is a factor working out of a small shop. Just wish it came with more than 1 piece of sandpaper material for the disc and belt. Overall, very good product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FREE SHIPPING - Klutch Benchtop Belt/Disc Sander - 1/2 HP, 2200 RPM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Overall great product.

,
May 30, 2014
By straightline
from New York Mills, MN
"This is an overall great product, well built and sturdy. Very little vibration and even though this can be mounted to bench there is really no need to because it petty much stays in place. From rounding corners to sanding edges it is just another great addition to my woodworking projects. The only problem I have had is the motor pully fell off the the first time I used it (which did not make me very happy). This was not the result of a bad machine but a result of the pully not being tightened at the factory."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FREE SHIPPING - Klutch Benchtop Belt/Disc Sander - 1/2 HP, 2200 RPM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Handyman home shop hobbyist essential

,
September 18, 2013
By Biggestpapanumber1
from Mineola, N.Y.
"I have done many home projects with this tool and found it to work very well for the dollar value. I've built picture frames, made replacement legs for broken furniture and a lot more. It is not a large industrial machine. I don't push it hard and It performs very well!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FREE SHIPPING - Klutch Benchtop Belt/Disc Sander - 1/2 HP, 2200 RPM
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pretty decent bang for the buck.

,
August 14, 2012
By Bear51
from Piedmont Area, NC
"I'm a machinist and an instructor. I purchased this machine for the home shop I have. It's not the high-powered stout professional grade machine but for the price tag it's a pretty good buy for the home shop. A bit underpowered, but other than that I've no major complaints about this machine."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FREE SHIPPING - Klutch Benchtop Belt/Disc Sander - 1/2 HP, 2200 RPM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Benchtop sander

,
August 13, 2012
By UncleLar
from Huntsville, AL
"I make custom knives as a hobby. This sander is very helpful for that work. The ability to orient the belt both horizontal and vertical along with the round disk give me all the options I need in shaping the knife handles. The only downside is that the available grits are too coarse for blade work. Still do that by hand or on a grinding wheel."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FREE SHIPPING - Klutch Benchtop Belt/Disc Sander - 1/2 HP, 2200 RPM
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Reasonable for the price

,
May 7, 2012
By JeremyW
from Woodacre, CA
"As others have noted, this does not have much power. I did find that the stalling problem was somewhat remedied by tightening up the belt. The belt was VERY slack upon arrival. And it is also true that the overall build of this thing is pretty flimsy. But again, for the price, it does a reasonable job."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FREE SHIPPING - Klutch Benchtop Belt/Disc Sander - 1/2 HP, 2200 RPM
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Junk

,
April 26, 2012
By Woodheadnewyork
from Rochester NY
"The ad says 1/2 horsepower. I don't think so. Belt stalls when barely loaded.
Guards are sheet metal. Things had be forced to be assembled. Table is very small and made from the thinnest cast aluminum I have seen in any tool. Instructions were very poor. I'm sorry I ever bought this. Now I am VERY skeptical of Norhtern's quality on everything.
For those who rated this item good, WHAT WERE YOU THINKING?
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
12out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for FREE SHIPPING - Klutch Benchtop Belt/Disc Sander - 1/2 HP, 2200 RPM
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

benchtop sander

,
January 12, 2012
By Palio
from Caledonia, NY
"This sander is a great benchtop model as it does not take up much space and has a connection for dust collection. It does not have as much power as a larger floor model, but works great in my small woodshop."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for FREE SHIPPING - Klutch Benchtop Belt/Disc Sander - 1/2 HP, 2200 RPM
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

pretty good for the money

,
January 9, 2012
By offroad1963
from licking,mo
"over all its good it needs more medal it has alot of plastic parts but for the money its worth it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for FREE SHIPPING - Klutch Benchtop Belt/Disc Sander - 1/2 HP, 2200 RPM
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

pretty good, but maybe not great

,
December 29, 2011
By WoodChipCharlie
from Laguna Beach, CA
"I started out with high hopes for this sander- my old craftsman now sleeps with the fishes and the horse power of this machine is better than others in it's price range. It came nicely packaged and I soon started to work. Seemed strong at first, then became progressively slower and weaker. I was within a couple hours of running it back to the post office to return it when i noticed a hole on the opposite side of the switch. I took and chance, inserted a allen wrench (6 mm) and tightened up the drive belt- problem solved, but you'd never know how to do it from reading the instruction manual. I'm back to enjoying the machine. An OK deal from my money."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for FREE SHIPPING - Klutch Benchtop Belt/Disc Sander - 1/2 HP, 2200 RPM
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not so great

,
March 16, 2011
By addicrous
"I purchased this product and am not overly pleased with it, but it does function. It has minimal power, it cannot spin the belt when it starts up unless you give the belt a little push and then if you push down too hard when you are sanding, the motor stalls out. Also, when I tried to change the belt, the plastic cap you remove snapped in half. The broken cap does not effect functionality though, unless you had a dust collection system."
-1point
8out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for FREE SHIPPING - Klutch Benchtop Belt/Disc Sander - 1/2 HP, 2200 RPM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

BENCH TOP/BELT SANDER-1/2 HP

,
March 14, 2011
By boomertime
from Jupiter Fl.
"Product is well constructed solidly built.Has enough weight to stand on it's own, mine isn't fastened to my bench and the weight holds it in place, As for power it has plenty, I have sanded all typer of products ie. various woods and corian {man made product], Sander handles them all with ease. Power switch has a safety cover for extra protection. Sanding angles can be changed easily for the price this machine is an excellent buy. I wouldn't give mine up for anything, just a great product at a great price."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for FREE SHIPPING - Klutch Benchtop Belt/Disc Sander - 1/2 HP, 2200 RPM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

bench sander to my needs

,
September 13, 2010
By handymadea
from san antonio , texas
"i purchased the bench sander , witch has a belt and disc sander on it. this really is a super tool to the ones i have had in the past. the price is great too. this tools will do the home owner and the handy man worker a life long projects to do. you will be very happy if you get your hands on this tool. dave"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
12out of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.