Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Ironton Steel Log Bracket - Pair

Ironton Steel Log Bracket - Pair

Item# 42871
"Insert two 2 x 4s into the horizontal slots of this Ironton Steel Log Bracket to form the base and four more into the vertical slots to form the upright corners, and you have a log holder. Cut boards in lengths to suit your log storage needs. Black powder-coated, all-steel construction. Each bracket is 13 3/4in.L x 4 1/4in.W x 5 1/2in.H. Dimensions L x W x H in. 13 3/4 x 4 1/4 x 5 1/2, Material Steel. Form the base by placing two 2 x 4s into horizontal slots Form upright corners by placing four 2 x 4s into vertical slots Cut boards to suit log storage needs Black powder-coated, all-steel construction Each bracket is 13 3/4in. x 4 1/4in.W x 5 1/2in.H."
Average Customer Rating:
3.714 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (14 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
11 of 14(79%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Ironton Steel Log Bracket - Pair
Review 1 for Ironton Steel Log Bracket - Pair
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Rack!

,
April 28, 2015
By Logger567
from CO
" Very well built, sturdy, easy to set up. This product does what it is designed to do. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ironton Steel Log Bracket - Pair
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

log brackets

,
April 18, 2015
By exchief405
from florida
" The product was just as advertised. Easy to use, and well built. I ordered online and had it shipped to my local Northern tools store and saved $18 in shipping. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ironton Steel Log Bracket - Pair
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

log bracket

,
February 10, 2015
By jas699
from michigan
" it does what its suppost to but the slots are bigger then a 2x4 so there pretty wobbly thats my only complaint if they were i little smaller it would be perfect nothing a couple shims cant fix i sapose. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ironton Steel Log Bracket - Pair
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good wood rack

,
January 19, 2015
By RESjr
from Georgia
" When I inserted the 2X4 pressure treated lumber into the openings there was maybe a 1/4 inch of play around the lumber. I cut shims to tighten it up before placing firewood on the rack. Making the openings a little smaller is the only improvement needed otherwise a very strong and serviceable product. Much easier than building your own from scratch. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ironton Steel Log Bracket - Pair
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Which are better metal or plastic brackets?

,
January 1, 2015
By GWB1
from Texas, TX
" Bought this metal bracket pair thinking it would be an upgrade from the plastic brackets that are so common. Material wise it appears to be built very robust however their is one big catch. The 2x4 slots in each bracket are much oversize from a standard 2x4 board. This allows for a bunch of play with the cut boards once placed into slots. As you stack your split logs the 2x4 boards will begin to lean outward and eventually lead to the metal brackets inverting outward also. You can try and take some scrap wood and wedge the 2x4 boards into the slots for a tighter fit but this is at best just a half measure. Overall the wood crib is not very stable and leads to more work and frustration. I got all my split wood stacked with these metal brackets just to unstack everything once I realized how unstable and poor this product was.
Reviews with the common plastic brackets complain that the slots are to small for standard 2x4 lumber. In my opinion I would rather have the slots slightly smaller and get a snug stable fit versus slots which are to large with an unstable wobbly wood crib via metal brackets. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ironton Steel Log Bracket - Pair
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good bracket except uses actual size 2"x 4"

,
November 24, 2014
By Ed1950
from West Granby,CT
" these brackets are built around actual 2" x 4" lumber, so I used 3/8" pieces of plywood to scab onto the sides of a normal 1 5/8" x 3 1/2" (2x4) so the brackets would have tight lumber in it. It worked out well but an extra job on my part !!!! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ironton Steel Log Bracket - Pair
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Brackets Ever

,
November 6, 2014
By CDH50
from Somerset, PA
" I have purchased a variety of log brackets; from indestructible plastic / poly (NOT) to other metal welded units. I stack a 16' length by 5' to 6' high with split logs and puts great stress on the 2X4 end supports, usually breaking the weld on the metal units purchased in the past. These units are robust and designed in such a fashion to minimize weld breaks. I bought 3 pairs and plan to replace all my other brackets in the near future. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ironton Steel Log Bracket - Pair
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Working Fine!

,
October 30, 2014
By JAS2
from Buffalo, NY
" The slots are a full 2" X 4" which could be a set back for some. I cut 1/2" plywood to make up the difference to keep the fit tight. I also added stringers on top, for strength and to hold the tarp over the fire wood. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ironton Steel Log Bracket - Pair
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

How big is a 2x4?

,
October 29, 2014
By DKS1456
from NJ
" This product was made well, wonderfully strong and looks good. The only problem is that its supposed to be for use with a standard 2x4 and the slots to receive them are actually 2x4 (inside measurements), everyone knows a 2x4 isn't really 2x4 inches but rather 1.5 inches by 3 inches! So the boards wobble around and look silly. The company should re-do their advertising or correct the size. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ironton Steel Log Bracket - Pair
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Log Bracket Review

,
October 13, 2014
By RAMDAD
from Wilm, DE
" No Problems. They work fine and can be taken apart for storage during warm months. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ironton Steel Log Bracket - Pair
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Temporary wood crib

,
September 25, 2014
By Tiger1945
from Mineral, Virginia
" I live in rural Virginia. Snakes are common and are often found around fire wood piles. I have found a couple of copperheads in my woodpile. My grandkids visit, play with snakes and I decided to destroy the nesting place.
These cribs allow me to build temporary cribs at the end of my driveway that I can break down at the end of the season.
The 2X4s fit conveniently loosely so I don't have to fight them to construct the crib. Additionally, I elevated the metal parts by adding 2 - 2x4s on their side. I also extended the length of the crib by putting the same supports under the middles which also hold the 2x4s at the proper width. Now water and air can flow easily underneath for drainage and seasoning the wood.
I am using pressure treated 2x4. In the spring, I can break this all down taking up little space until next fall. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ironton Steel Log Bracket - Pair
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product

,
September 19, 2014
By TP47
from Minnesota
" This wood bracket is great for the tough Minnesota winters. The metal is better than plastic and can withstand greater weight from the logs. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ironton Steel Log Bracket - Pair
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Does not fit standard 2" x 4" lumber

,
August 3, 2014
By bg11
from Mass
" I got these brackets hoping to use standard pressure treated lumber. The slots in the brackets are true 2 inch by 4 inch openings. Standard "2 x 4" lumber is actually 3 1/2 inches by 1 1/2 inches and the fit is too loose to use. You would have to have a local sawmill custom cut lumber in true 2 inch by 4 inch dimensions to use it with these brackets. Even if you got 2 x 6 lumber at the store and cut it to 4 inches from 5 1/2 inches, it would still be 1/2 inch too thin, and very loose. (I tried it.)
Too bad northern's buyers did not know enough to specify the correct dimensions. Hope they will change to the right size in the future, as these brackets are fine otherwise, and would be useful.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ironton Steel Log Bracket - Pair
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

ironton log brackets

,
July 9, 2014
By shamm
from new hampshire
" did not know that the pockets were a true 2x4 thought they were made for todays 2x4 lumber. other than that they worked great. much stronger than others i have seen. next year i will use true rough cut 2x4s. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.