Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Heavy-Duty Park-Style Grill - Model# H-16 B6X2

Heavy-Duty Park-Style Grill - Model# H-16 B6X2

Item# 42958
This durable, authentic park-style grill is made of heavyweight 3/16in. plate steel. The square firebox has 8in. sides and a 16in. x 16in. cooking surface. Optional tailgate post is also available Item# 32571, sold separately. Made in U.S.A. Cooking Surface Area L x W in. 16 x 16, Cooking Surface Area sq. in. 256, Fuel Type Charcoal, Closure Type None, Material Type Plated steel, Product Style Grill, Vented Yes. 1/2in. bar grate adjusts to 4 cooking levels and tips back for easy fire starting Two-piece, 2 3/8in. dia. x 40in.L steel pipe base sets into the ground Swivels 360 for easy cooking access from any position
Average Customer Rating:
4.934 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(76 Reviews) 76
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (76 reviews)
5 stars
71
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
76 of 76(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Heavy-Duty Park-Style Grill - Model# H-16 B6X2
Review 1 for Heavy-Duty Park-Style Grill - Model# H-16 B6X2
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great grill for our weekend home.

,
July 13, 2014
By SK76435
from Houston
"We mounted a post in a 5 gallon bucket of concrete. The grill fits perfectly on the post and can be removed and relocated to various picnic spots on our family farm. It is simple to use and can be used with wood or charcoal. It was a great purchase."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Heavy-Duty Park-Style Grill - Model# H-16 B6X2
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

,
July 12, 2014
By Tc57
from Chattanooga, TN
"Exactly what I was looking for! Works wonderfully. Would recommend to anyone wanting a heavy duty grill."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Heavy-Duty Park-Style Grill - Model# H-16 B6X2
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Backyard grill

,
July 6, 2014
By Bob72751
from Trenton, Missouri
"This is a great BBQ grill. Heavy duty construction and well made. This product is well worth the money."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Heavy-Duty Park-Style Grill - Model# H-16 B6X2
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GRILL

,
June 24, 2014
By AJW54
from N.H.
"Only have used it a few times and love it.(Has been up only 3 weeks)Easy to set up and put together. I put it in about 14 inches of cement and this is going nowhere. Also put some river rock around the bottom to finish it off. Looks great"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Heavy-Duty Park-Style Grill - Model# H-16 B6X2
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Park, charcoal grill

,
June 22, 2014
By tkob
from Saint James, MO
"This is a robust, well-made product and has quickly become well-utilized in at our home. It also has the capability of being taken with us on camping trips, as it will plug into the receiver hitch on our camper/truck.
Thanks, Northern, for a product that will last and is well-worth the reasonable price it cost."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Heavy-Duty Park-Style Grill - Model# H-16 B6X2
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Park Style Grill

,
June 16, 2014
By Bobby60
from Birmingham, Ohio
"The grill is heavy duty but the cooking area is small. You can fit two steaks or 6 hamburgers but not much else. The mounting pole that comes with it is to short unless you can flip hamburgers with your feet. I replaced it with a 5' x 2 3/8" galvanized fence post. Putting the pipe in the ground 24" left about 36" above ground which is a nice working height for a grill. To get more of the charcoal flavor and speed up cooking it would be nice if they offered a matching grill hood or cover. I simply set a cookie sheet on top of the grill to help hold in heat and smoke."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Heavy-Duty Park-Style Grill - Model# H-16 B6X2
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Owner

,
June 14, 2014
By astro1
from MN.
"Love it one of the best grills i have used. Cleans so easy I would buy another one in a heart beat."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Heavy-Duty Park-Style Grill - Model# H-16 B6X2
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Grill !!!

,
June 2, 2014
By Snakester
from Virginia
"This is the Perfect Grill...Exactly as described , easy to install and works great !"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Heavy-Duty Park-Style Grill - Model# H-16 B6X2
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heavy Duty Park Grill

,
May 5, 2014
By CarverKnives
from Lake City, Florida and Zirconia, NC
"This is the same type of park grill found at many state and Federal parks. It is well made and will last a life time. I have one of these at both my Florida home and my NC Summer home and use them several times a week."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Heavy-Duty Park-Style Grill - Model# H-16 B6X2
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceptional Product

,
April 27, 2014
By gemtariusone
from Orlando, Florida
"It is what it is, but boy it is great, heavy duty and swivels 360, my only issue is that the pipe is to short, no biggie I inserted another pipe and bolted them together to extend, then I cemented it 36" deep, the original pipe went into the cement about 9" so it covered the bolts. I don't think we have stopped using it since we got it, nothing like BBQ on wood coals.. My little peace of heaven is almost complete... my back yard looks like a miniature little park.. Now If I could only put a water slide....lol..lol... the wife would kill me... lol...lol... Both the Fire Ring with grate and BBQ grill box are from Northern Tool.. that place is Fantastic..."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Heavy-Duty Park-Style Grill - Model# H-16 B6X2
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Grill!

,
February 10, 2014
By AlaJimmy
from Alabama
"How can you not give this grill 5 stars? We bought one 7 years ago and set it in concrete at a cabin where we weekend. Have cooked burgers, dogs, steaks, ribs and chicken. We couldn't be any happier. Of course there is some rust after that much time in the elements (just like at a park). But, it still cooks as good as the day we first used it. You can cover with heavy duty foil to hold in smoke and/or heat. This is a great product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Heavy-Duty Park-Style Grill - Model# H-16 B6X2
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Park grill

,
February 4, 2014
By NNCraig
from Virginia
"I have wanted this grill for several years - finally got it for myself as a Christmas present.
It is everything I wanted it to be - well made and heavy duty is an understatement.
Great addition to my campsite in the back woods.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Heavy-Duty Park-Style Grill - Model# H-16 B6X2
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Adjustable Park Grill

,
October 24, 2013
By FloridaBoy
from Florida
"All in all, a heavy, well made hunk of steel. Would be suitable for a public area installation. Construction doesn't allow people to walk off with parts Even mounting pipe is heavy duty, would weld grill to pipe in a public install. Only disappointment is that it is shipped banded in pieces with no protection. Mine received a few minor dings from banding & shipping handling to store. Touch-up paint will hide . . .. Highly recommend this as it should last a long - -long time.
Well worth th$40. over the cheaper unit.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Heavy-Duty Park-Style Grill - Model# H-16 B6X2
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heavy Duty Park Grill

,
September 18, 2013
By Haughk
from Las Cruces, NM
"After mulling over buying one of these for some time, I found Northern to offer the best price and shipping. Once I received the grill, I scrounged a wheel/rim from the salvage yard with an appropriate center hole and welded a short length of pipe inside the whole and closed the lower end. My grill's support post fits perfectly into this pipe and the assembly can be tilted and rolled to easily move it around. I simply roll it under an eve when not in use, and roll it out when needed. The assembly comes apart easily, making it portable for longer distance movement, including camping trips. The wheel might be considered a bit redneck by some, and a solid, circular base is available. To me, the wheel saved a wad of cash, and hammer-finish painted, looks kinda cool. I also cut, creased, and welded a sheet metal cover/lid for it which not only shelters the grille, but helps hold smoke for added flavor.
Few items that you purchase will last as long as one of these grills! I do advise brushing the grate with oil (olive, canola, vegetable, etc.) when you first heat it up (and perhaps periodically thereafter) to keep it from rusting. I usually cook with charcoal and use mesquite wood for flavor, but have also used just wood with great results. Great, versatile product that will last a lifetime if minimally maintained."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Heavy-Duty Park-Style Grill - Model# H-16 B6X2
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

park grill

,
September 17, 2013
By pandc7
from newport nh
"The grill brought back great childhood memories. Spending the weekends in the summer at the park with my family. The food never tasted so good.
It's exciting to have the grandchildren over to start new traditions. Each time we light it up and start cooking the memory of the past combines with the memories we are making.
It is just as nice when we have our friends over and see their reaction as it takes them back in time. ."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Heavy-Duty Park-Style Grill - Model# H-16 B6X2
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

More than pleased

,
September 17, 2013
By GandM
from NC
"We wanted to find a "park grill" for an outdoor space we've cleared in the woods behind our house. We found this one online, ordered it, and received in just a couple of days. My husband got the post cemented in the ground one day and we used the grill the next. I cannot tell you how pleased we are with this purchase. It is the perfect addition to our outdoor area where we also have a swing, picnic table, and firepit. It's just like visiting one of the wonderful picnic parks in the mountains of NC, only it's right in our backyard. We love it and know we'll continue to enjoy using if for years to come because it is so durable and sturdy. And the price was much better than any of the other webisites we looked at."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Heavy-Duty Park-Style Grill - Model# H-16 B6X2
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fabulous Grill

,
September 12, 2013
By Newty
from Grand Haven Mi
"Received grill very quickly. Easy installation (Just Follow simple directions) This grill is made for a lifetime of grilling. Thick metal and very well USA made. Worth the time and money. Looked at other park style grills and settled on this one. Buying this product you for sure will not go wrong. The grill grate height adjusts very easily. Has an adequate grate surface for grilling."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Heavy-Duty Park-Style Grill - Model# H-16 B6X2
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A grill above all grills & made in the USA !!!

,
July 31, 2013
By doba
from florida
"WOW!!! Received my grill today, first to say it was fast shipping. Now to say the quality is superb. Looks like it will forever be with us. I purchased this grill for our needs. My husband was amazed at the quality. Hopefully we get to try it tomorrow. We will do the pvc pipe thing like another customer done, just in case we would decide to want to move it ."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Heavy-Duty Park-Style Grill - Model# H-16 B6X2
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

"Old Timey"

,
June 17, 2013
By Rodster8
from Ramer, Alabama
"Works like it was made with great pride. Old school quality, made like a battleship, and cooks perfect."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Heavy-Duty Park-Style Grill - Model# H-16 B6X2
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Park Grill - Just as I remembered them

,
April 23, 2013
By QUP2
from Raleigh, NC
"This grill is everything I remembered it was, but my own and cleaner when I showed up to use it. I deviated from the installation instruction. I dug a hole and put a PVC pipe in the ground for the grill's pole to insert in to. After all, I want to move it one day or if we ever find ourselves moving. I never put the wire in to keep it held in place.
I love this grill. I even smoke hickory wedges into it when I do cook my venison and burgers and hot dogs. It's a treat with the kids when i get them to do yard work. I highly recommend this grill! My wife purchased it and I absolutely loved it upon opening an still do."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.