Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Heavy-Duty Park-Style Grill - Model# H-16 B6X2

Heavy-Duty Park-Style Grill - Model# H-16 B6X2

Item# 42958
This durable, authentic park-style grill is made of heavyweight 3/16in. plate steel. The square firebox has 8in. sides and a 16in. x 16in. cooking surface. Optional tailgate post is also available Item# 32571, sold separately. Made in U.S.A. Cooking Surface Area L x W in. 16 x 16, Cooking Surface Area sq. in. 256, Fuel Type Charcoal, Closure Type None, Material Type Plated steel, Product Style Grill, Vented Yes. 1/2in. bar grate adjusts to 4 cooking levels and tips back for easy fire starting Two-piece, 2 3/8in. dia. x 40in.L steel pipe base sets into the ground Swivels 360 for easy cooking access from any position
Average Customer Rating:
4.939 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(82 Reviews) 82
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (82 reviews)
5 stars
77
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
82 of 82(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Heavy-Duty Park-Style Grill - Model# H-16 B6X2
Review 1 for Heavy-Duty Park-Style Grill - Model# H-16 B6X2
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Buy

,
September 27, 2014
By jc777
from Havelock, NC
"This is a Great product, fast shipping and exactly how it was described. Will have years of enjoyment out of it!!!!! Always liked them when I saw them at the parks, now I own one of my own..."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Heavy-Duty Park-Style Grill - Model# H-16 B6X2
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

park style BBQ grill

,
September 25, 2014
By af7197
from crossville, tn
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Very nice. As advertised, it is indeed heavy duty. The grate is easily adjustable. I have other high-end grills but wanted something close to my fire pit - something that could withstand the weather - this ft the bill perfectly. I added a cover to keep it nicer during long periods of inactivity."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Heavy-Duty Park-Style Grill - Model# H-16 B6X2
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Back Yard

,
September 25, 2014
By Speters1
from Damon, TX
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I've only used this grill twice thus far but it is great. I'm surprised that the paint stayed after being heated up so hot. It is great for the small get together s so that I don't have to fire up the big pit."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Heavy-Duty Park-Style Grill - Model# H-16 B6X2
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

park grill

,
September 17, 2014
By mata
from pa
"Highest quality product, great addition to our outside patio!"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Heavy-Duty Park-Style Grill - Model# H-16 B6X2
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceeded my expectations!

,
August 29, 2014
By JeffreyRB
from Greenwood, AR
"The grill arrived in a well-packed heavy carton. It was in great condition and definitely "Heavy Duty" as described. I unpacked the grill, read the instructions, which were brief and "to the point." I hand dug a hole and used two 60lb bags of cement. There are many rocks and I could only dig about 18" deep, so I made it slightly bigger around. I mixed and poured the cement, set and leveled the post, and waited over night. The next day I set the grill on the post and it looks fantastic! It cleans easy and works great!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Heavy-Duty Park-Style Grill - Model# H-16 B6X2
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Park Style Grill

,
August 23, 2014
By ELO1
from Texas
"Great, durable grill. Just like the grills found at parks."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Heavy-Duty Park-Style Grill - Model# H-16 B6X2
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great grill for our weekend home.

,
July 13, 2014
By SK76435
from Houston
"We mounted a post in a 5 gallon bucket of concrete. The grill fits perfectly on the post and can be removed and relocated to various picnic spots on our family farm. It is simple to use and can be used with wood or charcoal. It was a great purchase."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Heavy-Duty Park-Style Grill - Model# H-16 B6X2
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

,
July 12, 2014
By Tc57
from Chattanooga, TN
"Exactly what I was looking for! Works wonderfully. Would recommend to anyone wanting a heavy duty grill."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Heavy-Duty Park-Style Grill - Model# H-16 B6X2
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Backyard grill

,
July 6, 2014
By Bob72751
from Trenton, Missouri
"This is a great BBQ grill. Heavy duty construction and well made. This product is well worth the money."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Heavy-Duty Park-Style Grill - Model# H-16 B6X2
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GRILL

,
June 24, 2014
By AJW54
from N.H.
"Only have used it a few times and love it.(Has been up only 3 weeks)Easy to set up and put together. I put it in about 14 inches of cement and this is going nowhere. Also put some river rock around the bottom to finish it off. Looks great"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Heavy-Duty Park-Style Grill - Model# H-16 B6X2
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Park, charcoal grill

,
June 22, 2014
By tkob
from Saint James, MO
"This is a robust, well-made product and has quickly become well-utilized in at our home. It also has the capability of being taken with us on camping trips, as it will plug into the receiver hitch on our camper/truck.
Thanks, Northern, for a product that will last and is well-worth the reasonable price it cost."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Heavy-Duty Park-Style Grill - Model# H-16 B6X2
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Park Style Grill

,
June 16, 2014
By Bobby60
from Birmingham, Ohio
"The grill is heavy duty but the cooking area is small. You can fit two steaks or 6 hamburgers but not much else. The mounting pole that comes with it is to short unless you can flip hamburgers with your feet. I replaced it with a 5' x 2 3/8" galvanized fence post. Putting the pipe in the ground 24" left about 36" above ground which is a nice working height for a grill. To get more of the charcoal flavor and speed up cooking it would be nice if they offered a matching grill hood or cover. I simply set a cookie sheet on top of the grill to help hold in heat and smoke."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Heavy-Duty Park-Style Grill - Model# H-16 B6X2
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Owner

,
June 14, 2014
By astro1
from MN.
"Love it one of the best grills i have used. Cleans so easy I would buy another one in a heart beat."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Heavy-Duty Park-Style Grill - Model# H-16 B6X2
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Grill !!!

,
June 2, 2014
By Snakester
from Virginia
"This is the Perfect Grill...Exactly as described , easy to install and works great !"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Heavy-Duty Park-Style Grill - Model# H-16 B6X2
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heavy Duty Park Grill

,
May 5, 2014
By CarverKnives
from Lake City, Florida and Zirconia, NC
"This is the same type of park grill found at many state and Federal parks. It is well made and will last a life time. I have one of these at both my Florida home and my NC Summer home and use them several times a week."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Heavy-Duty Park-Style Grill - Model# H-16 B6X2
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceptional Product

,
April 27, 2014
By gemtariusone
from Orlando, Florida
"It is what it is, but boy it is great, heavy duty and swivels 360, my only issue is that the pipe is to short, no biggie I inserted another pipe and bolted them together to extend, then I cemented it 36" deep, the original pipe went into the cement about 9" so it covered the bolts. I don't think we have stopped using it since we got it, nothing like BBQ on wood coals.. My little peace of heaven is almost complete... my back yard looks like a miniature little park.. Now If I could only put a water slide....lol..lol... the wife would kill me... lol...lol... Both the Fire Ring with grate and BBQ grill box are from Northern Tool.. that place is Fantastic..."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Heavy-Duty Park-Style Grill - Model# H-16 B6X2
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Grill!

,
February 10, 2014
By AlaJimmy
from Alabama
"How can you not give this grill 5 stars? We bought one 7 years ago and set it in concrete at a cabin where we weekend. Have cooked burgers, dogs, steaks, ribs and chicken. We couldn't be any happier. Of course there is some rust after that much time in the elements (just like at a park). But, it still cooks as good as the day we first used it. You can cover with heavy duty foil to hold in smoke and/or heat. This is a great product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Heavy-Duty Park-Style Grill - Model# H-16 B6X2
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Park grill

,
February 4, 2014
By NNCraig
from Virginia
"I have wanted this grill for several years - finally got it for myself as a Christmas present.
It is everything I wanted it to be - well made and heavy duty is an understatement.
Great addition to my campsite in the back woods.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Heavy-Duty Park-Style Grill - Model# H-16 B6X2
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Adjustable Park Grill

,
October 24, 2013
By FloridaBoy
from Florida
"All in all, a heavy, well made hunk of steel. Would be suitable for a public area installation. Construction doesn't allow people to walk off with parts Even mounting pipe is heavy duty, would weld grill to pipe in a public install. Only disappointment is that it is shipped banded in pieces with no protection. Mine received a few minor dings from banding & shipping handling to store. Touch-up paint will hide . . .. Highly recommend this as it should last a long - -long time.
Well worth th$40. over the cheaper unit.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Heavy-Duty Park-Style Grill - Model# H-16 B6X2
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heavy Duty Park Grill

,
September 18, 2013
By Haughk
from Las Cruces, NM
"After mulling over buying one of these for some time, I found Northern to offer the best price and shipping. Once I received the grill, I scrounged a wheel/rim from the salvage yard with an appropriate center hole and welded a short length of pipe inside the whole and closed the lower end. My grill's support post fits perfectly into this pipe and the assembly can be tilted and rolled to easily move it around. I simply roll it under an eve when not in use, and roll it out when needed. The assembly comes apart easily, making it portable for longer distance movement, including camping trips. The wheel might be considered a bit redneck by some, and a solid, circular base is available. To me, the wheel saved a wad of cash, and hammer-finish painted, looks kinda cool. I also cut, creased, and welded a sheet metal cover/lid for it which not only shelters the grille, but helps hold smoke for added flavor.
Few items that you purchase will last as long as one of these grills! I do advise brushing the grate with oil (olive, canola, vegetable, etc.) when you first heat it up (and perhaps periodically thereafter) to keep it from rusting. I usually cook with charcoal and use mesquite wood for flavor, but have also used just wood with great results. Great, versatile product that will last a lifetime if minimally maintained."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.