Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Pilot Rock Heavy-Duty Steel Park-Style Charcoal Grill - 16in. x 16in., Model# H-16 B6X2"

"Pilot Rock Heavy-Duty Steel Park-Style Charcoal Grill - 16in. x 16in., Model# H-16 B6X2"

Item# 42958
"This Pilot Rock Heavy-Duty Steel Park-Style Charcoal Grill is a durable, authentic park-style grill made of heavyweight 3/16in. plate steel. The square firebox has 8in. sides and a 16in. x 16in. cooking surface. Optional tailgate post is also available Item# 32571, sold separately. Made in U.S.A. Closure Type None, Cooking Surface Area sq. in. 256, Product Style Grill, Material Type Plated steel, Vented Yes, Cooking Surface Area L x W in. 16 x 16, Fuel Type Charcoal. 1/2in. bar grate adjusts to 4 cooking levels and tips back for easy fire starting Two-piece, 2 3/8in. dia. x 40in.L steel pipe base sets into the ground Swivels 360 for easy cooking access from any position"
Average Customer Rating:
4.914 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(105 Reviews) 105
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (105 reviews)
5 stars
98
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
104 of 105(99%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Pilot Rock Heavy-Duty Steel Park-Style Charcoal Grill - 16in. x 16in., Model# H-16 B6X2"
Review 1 for "Pilot Rock Heavy-Duty Steel Park-Style Charcoal Grill - 16in. x 16in., Model# H-16 B6X2"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Park grill

,
April 24, 2016
By
from Atlanta
A simple and solid piece for the back yard cooking.
We prefer real fire to gas - it gives food a great smoky flavor and we mostly use real wood instead of charcoal.
The grill is fantastic, no fancy stuff but comfortable and built to last.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Pilot Rock Heavy-Duty Steel Park-Style Charcoal Grill - 16in. x 16in., Model# H-16 B6X2"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Greeeeat Grill

,
April 15, 2016
By
from SC
This is exactly like the ones at state parks when I was a kid. It's super heavy duty. I didn't install the locks, so I could keep the swivel; I would recommend this for home use (unless rental property?) But with the 2 3/8" pipe buried in concrete, why would someone take it? I installed mine with a slight tilt forward, so water will drain easily.
Charcoal starts quickly. If windy, I have an aluminum (flashing) "cover" I put over it and rotate the back to the wind. Four lbs last about 45 minutes. the adjust ability is great; start high and bump down as coals cool. The grate is VERY big gauge with large spaces between bars. Don't expect dainty grill marks.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Pilot Rock Heavy-Duty Steel Park-Style Charcoal Grill - 16in. x 16in., Model# H-16 B6X2"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Park grill

,
April 14, 2016
By
from California
Got this to add with the other 2 I purchased. Nice heavy duty material - should hold up well for years. I put these out in my RV campground.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Pilot Rock Heavy-Duty Steel Park-Style Charcoal Grill - 16in. x 16in., Model# H-16 B6X2"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Charcoal Grill

,
March 15, 2016
By
from Florida
Just like the ones at all the parks. Sturdy and made to last.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Pilot Rock Heavy-Duty Steel Park-Style Charcoal Grill - 16in. x 16in., Model# H-16 B6X2"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

5thGenCracker

,
March 15, 2016
By
from Florida Gulf Coast, Brooksville
Great product; works fine. Used a few weeks ago for the first time since installation in backyard, and it did a fantastic job. No problem with rust, but I wouldn't cover it. The cover will only hold moisture and cause it to rust. Especially in Florida where it is so humid year round.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Pilot Rock Heavy-Duty Steel Park-Style Charcoal Grill - 16in. x 16in., Model# H-16 B6X2"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

,
January 13, 2016
By
from Texas
The grill is heavy and should last a long time! I mounted it in a bucket so it's somewhat portable.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Pilot Rock Heavy-Duty Steel Park-Style Charcoal Grill - 16in. x 16in., Model# H-16 B6X2"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

RUST?

,
December 11, 2015
By
from ORLANDO fl.
Bought a few years ago, love the grill. Keep covered when not in use, why is it rusting away? Rust everywhere, cannot figure it out. the grill never gets wet, does anyone have any suggestions, I'm open for any help.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Pilot Rock Heavy-Duty Steel Park-Style Charcoal Grill - 16in. x 16in., Model# H-16 B6X2"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great BBQ grill

,
September 13, 2015
By
from Smoky Mountains, NC
I have 5 of these grills, one at each of my mountain rental cabins. They are easy to install and last for years. The oldest is 7 years old and still in great shape.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Pilot Rock Heavy-Duty Steel Park-Style Charcoal Grill - 16in. x 16in., Model# H-16 B6X2"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

park style grill

,
August 22, 2015
By
from san Antonio, tx
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Great product but is not a real swivel grill. The swivel ( turning) is achieve by screwing and unscrewing the tube thdreaded part.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Pilot Rock Heavy-Duty Steel Park-Style Charcoal Grill - 16in. x 16in., Model# H-16 B6X2"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Park grill

,
August 14, 2015
By
from Atlanta
Well made. We use them in our pool area for our community. We bought two and they have worked so well we just bought a jumbo grill by the same manufacturer!
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Pilot Rock Heavy-Duty Steel Park-Style Charcoal Grill - 16in. x 16in., Model# H-16 B6X2"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product and fast delivery

,
July 20, 2015
By
from Coxsackie, New York
I bought this grill as a gift for Father's Day. It was ordered the Wednesday before and arrived in two days. It is a beautiful grill, very solid and well built. I also like the fact it is made in America. I also like the feature that you can tilt up the grill for adding charcoal, cleaning, etc besides just having the four height settings. With that said, I plan on ordering other products from Northern Tool in the future.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Pilot Rock Heavy-Duty Steel Park-Style Charcoal Grill - 16in. x 16in., Model# H-16 B6X2"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pilot Rock Grill

,
July 19, 2015
By
from Dickinson,NY
By far the best !! I wanted something for my money that will last.I wasnt looking for a bargain,I wanted quality,and I found it with this grill.Absolutely heavy duty,well built and good looking.Money well spent.No doubts this grill will last a long,long time.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Pilot Rock Heavy-Duty Steel Park-Style Charcoal Grill - 16in. x 16in., Model# H-16 B6X2"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heavy Duty

,
June 26, 2015
By
from Mass
Purchased two of these. They are heavy duty and are going to last for a long time. Has the nice park feel to it with the heavy grate and the adjustable grate slots....very nice ON! Looking forward to using these for many years to come!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Pilot Rock Heavy-Duty Steel Park-Style Charcoal Grill - 16in. x 16in., Model# H-16 B6X2"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Form followed the Function

,
June 12, 2015
By
from Jacksonville, FL
I've used mine for a couple of years now. I love the simple design and the ease of grilling with my grill. Less parts to assemble than a big box barbeque grill. This grill really cooks great with easy to establish cooking zones. I use charcoal and wood in combination. Way too easy to clean to ever leave dirty. I have paid a heck of a lot more for grills and gotten a whole lot less. Mount away from walkways and small children's hands (burns) and heads (hard edges).
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Pilot Rock Heavy-Duty Steel Park-Style Charcoal Grill - 16in. x 16in., Model# H-16 B6X2"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceptional Value

,
June 5, 2015
By
from Middle Tennessee
After camping in a couple State Parks that have similar grills we wanted one for the home. I immediately went to the Northern Tool website and found this model on sale. It's the smaller of the two from this company and is proudly Made in the USA. I chose the fast free shipping to my nearby store and in no time we were grilling juicy steaks - I would recommend this well engineered and thoughtfully designed grill for anyone looking for a durable charcoal grill.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Pilot Rock Heavy-Duty Steel Park-Style Charcoal Grill - 16in. x 16in., Model# H-16 B6X2"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good price and good product

,
June 5, 2015
By
from concord nc
Northern had the best price on the grills also with free shipping to store was a big savings. the grills were just what we wanted.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Pilot Rock Heavy-Duty Steel Park-Style Charcoal Grill - 16in. x 16in., Model# H-16 B6X2"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Park Style Grill

,
May 7, 2015
By
from Oklahoma
This is my second one of these park grills, one at our cabin and one at the home. With the heavy weight rods on the grill once heated up you get a very even cook on a steak or anything else. No more raw in the center and overcooked on the edge. I do all my cooking outside on this grill. I have a gas grill but for the meat flavor you just cant beat the flavors you get on this grill so I never use the gas grill anymore. Most places don't handle the park grills so Northern Tool is the place to go. Fast delivery and fair price, what more can you ask for.
CLF
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Pilot Rock Heavy-Duty Steel Park-Style Charcoal Grill - 16in. x 16in., Model# H-16 B6X2"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just Simple Good Grill

,
May 4, 2015
By
from SWVA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This Grill reminds me of times going to the Park with Family and grilling hamburger or Hot Dogs OR If the Budget allowed Steak.... Its very well made and easy to set up, Way its made I figure it to last a lifetime.... Its simple and works Great! If you got the place for it, I would recommend it. & ..You'll enjoy it...I bet...
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Pilot Rock Heavy-Duty Steel Park-Style Charcoal Grill - 16in. x 16in., Model# H-16 B6X2"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

My New Baby

,
January 21, 2015
By
from Springfield, Ga.
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I decided that my Phoenix charcoal grill needed a baby brother, I went online Monday and did some internet surfing, came across the Pilot Rock H-16 B6X2 and decided, after reading all the reviews that it was the one.
Some of the reviews suggested installing 21/2" conduit into the concrete footing, so I chose this method, since it is installed in my back yard and I don't have to worry about it being taken.
The grill arrived this afternoon (Wednesday)(yes only 2 days), it took only 5 minutes to assemble. I placed some gravel in the bottom of the conduit to help drainage, and then slipped the grill into place.
Steak and shrimp kabobs will christen the first bed of coals.
Thanks so much, I look forward to years of weekly use.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Pilot Rock Heavy-Duty Steel Park-Style Charcoal Grill - 16in. x 16in., Model# H-16 B6X2"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heavy-Duty Park-Style Grill - Model# H-16 B6X2

,
January 5, 2015
By
from Elko Nevada
Love the new Heavy-Duty Park-Style Grill - Model# H-16 B6X2 - BBQ time with the family and friends :-P
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.