Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Storm 6in. Digital Caliper - Model# 3C301

Storm 6in. Digital Caliper - Model# 3C301

Item# 433301
Stainless steel caliper has easy-to-read digital display. Converts from inch to metric with push of a button. Caliper Type Universal, Case Included Yes, Display Type Digital, Jaw Size in. 6, Single, Pair, or Set Single, Length in. 9 1/4, Material Stainless steel, Measures Inside, outside, depth, step.
Average Customer Rating:
4.727 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (11 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 of 11(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Storm 6in. Digital Caliper - Model# 3C301
Review 1 for Storm 6in. Digital Caliper - Model# 3C301
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very accurate and consistent

,
February 4, 2014
By Peefman
from Hayward, Wi
"I use this primarily to measure the size of cork fishing rod grips that I turn down to size. Very accurate for getting consistent size down length of cork. Replacement batteries readily available."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Storm 6in. Digital Caliper - Model# 3C301
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pretty accurate where it counts

,
April 25, 2013
By zombieprepared
from Largo, Florida
"This is a good digital caliper. It's accurate down to 1/100th of an inch within a few clicks. I use it when I'm measuring for things like cylinder bore sizes and small parts measurement tolerances. It's close enough for what I do. Compared to really high end calipers that go for many times the price, I'd say it's accurate enough. When you go to use it, be sure you push it all the way closed first and TARE/reset it so the count remains accurate."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Storm 6in. Digital Caliper - Model# 3C301
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great value for the price - Accuracy? No problem.

,
April 23, 2013
By My2000vert
from Humble
"I recently purchased these digital calipers for my ammunition reloading work. I needed something to replace the old trusted Lisle mechanicals that were handed down to me. Sadly they were run over in my garage by my own fault.
At first I thought there was a battery drain problem with the set of calipers I got. I would often not use them for a couple of days or maybe a week and find the battery was on it's last leg. I began taking the battery out when I was done using them. Then I realized my problem. I was inadvertently turning them on by placing the paper "manual" back into the plastic box with them. That pamphlet originally came on the outside of the plastic case under the cardboard sleeve. I found this out when I forgot to take the battery out before storing them and then ended up remembering to go back to do that. When I opened the case the calipers were on. I tested it and found that the paper "manual" in there was enough to turn them on when the case was closed.
The only gripe I have had with this set of digital calipers is the plastic battery cover that I became a pro at using. It doesn't stay attached and with my bad eyes, I need reading glasses to put the battery in, hold it down and align the battery cover slots on both sides.
Accuracy doesn't seem to be a problem for my work with these at all. I'm probably like you in that before I buy something, I try to read the reviews. Well, let me tell you that I stood there in the store - opening and closing the calipers for 10 min to see if I could get them to return to something other than true 0.0. Wasted time on my part but I can tell you my watch band is exactly 0.8895 inches....every time.
The 4 stars instead of 5 are for my personal vendetta against caliper "manual" and self inflected battery loss. Take that you piece of folded paper! There, I feel better. Now we can all be friends again. 5 Stars."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Storm 6in. Digital Caliper - Model# 3C301
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Storm 6in. Digital Caliper - Model# 3C301

,
February 15, 2010
By Harley1949
from West Seattle, WA
"This caliper is the best tool I have found for my purpose ! I sell tiny antique
Italian beads, some as small as 1mm. I needed a very precise and reliable tool to measure and size the beads for my customers. The preciseness of this caliper meets all of my needs and, being built of steel I know it will last for a long long time. I am happy to have found it at Northern Tool for an excellent price.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Storm 6in. Digital Caliper - Model# 3C301
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dial indicator 6"

,
October 22, 2009
By CousinWill
from Southbury, CT
"This is a very good dial indicator. It reads consistently the same as it should. Easy to use, well balanced. I am very pleased with this item."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Storm 6in. Digital Caliper - Model# 3C301
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

storm 6in Digital Caliper July 20, 2009

,
July 20, 2009
By ihfarmall
from Leesville, LA
"Very good caliper for the amount of money spent. I find myself using it more and more everyday. So far has held up to the use and has worked well for me."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Storm 6in. Digital Caliper - Model# 3C301
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great set for a backup Caliper

,
August 18, 2008
By Monkeymn
from Kershaw, SC
"I purchased these calipers for a backup in the eventthat my original calipers got messed up or batteries had died and had no replacements handy. After some extended usage of the calipers, they have became my primary calipers for precise measuring of equipment since precision is required in my field. I manufactor Brass / Bronze / Copper fitting and Ball Valves and accurate measurements are to maintain tolerances given from the companies that I make these parts for. I true recommend this caliper for anyone doing any type of precise measurements or just to have handy as a backup pair of calipers."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Storm 6in. Digital Caliper - Model# 3C301
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A nice low cost caliper

,
August 11, 2008
By Graham
from Fox Island WA
"I bought this caliper to keep at my desk to verify dimensions of components while ordering or receiving items. This device is not intended for high precision work - 1 decimal position for the metric scale and 2 for the inch scale. Its material of construction is carbon fiber and so it is nice and light. If you are looking for a high precision instrument then go for one of the better known brands. if you want a quick look-see then this is a very economical option. Another nice feature is its large digits - easily 8mm tall."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Storm 6in. Digital Caliper - Model# 3C301
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Extreme Accuracy

,
April 20, 2008
By ChrisD
from Lebanon Mo
"I really like this Caliper. Easy to use and easy to get extremely accurate measurements."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Storm 6in. Digital Caliper - Model# 3C301
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Digital caliper

,
April 15, 2008
By Rhubobb
from N E Connecticut
"Prompt delivery, as usual. Product is better than I expected (purchased with gift card). Haven't run down the battery yet and there was another included."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Storm 6in. Digital Caliper - Model# 3C301
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

It measures...

,
January 14, 2008
By Harzley
from Detroit, MI
"I was surprised that it was as easy to use as the nice ones I have used at work. Buttons are kind of hard to push, but that may be a result of their small size."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.