Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Comfort Zone Portable Shop Heater - 1500 Watt, Model# CZ250

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Comfort Zone Portable Shop Heater - 1500 Watt, Model# CZ250

Item# 452851
This durable 1500 Watt shop heater is built in an all-metal housing with a mesh safety grill and is held by a heavy tubular base with an adjustable tilt feature. The thermal cutoff and tip-over safety switches mean that you can keep warm while you work without having to worry about a fragile or unstable heater. The heat is fan-forced for maximum coverage and comfort and is adjustable between two heating levels. Thermal Cutoff Safety Device Yes, Plug Type 2-prong, Heat Settings 2, Power Cord ft. 6, Dimensions W x D x H in. 9 7/8 x 11 3/16 x 7, Heating Capability sq. ft. 400, Thermostat Included Yes, Volts 110, Watts 900/1,500, Product Style Portable, Product Type Forced air, Blower Included Yes, Remote Included No, Tip-Over Safety Switch Yes. ETL approved
Average Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (9 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
6 of 9(67%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Comfort Zone Portable Shop Heater - 1500 Watt, Model# CZ250
Review 1 for Comfort Zone Portable Shop Heater - 1500 Watt, Model# CZ250
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome heater

,
August 20, 2012
By Steeliedave
from Jenison, Mi
"I have tried many electric heaters in my garage for wintertime hobbies with no success, well I love this heater for ecspecially spot on jobs. Works real well & has a great blowing fan. It is a must have for spot on jobs. I will buy another one when this one wears out."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Comfort Zone Portable Shop Heater - 1500 Watt, Model# CZ250
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Shop Heater

,
May 8, 2012
By Blgd43
from Arkansas
"Nice little heater. Warms small spaces well. Does not turn over easily like the milkhouse heaters do."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Comfort Zone Portable Shop Heater - 1500 Watt, Model# CZ250
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dissatisfied with this heater

,
May 7, 2012
By linkrit
from western NC
"We had it for a very short time and used it a total of maybe 6-8 hours (an hour or so at a time) when it stopped heating. We returned it for a refund."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Comfort Zone Portable Shop Heater - 1500 Watt, Model# CZ250
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

inexpensive heater

,
December 30, 2011
By interceptor
from southeast Alaska
"Sorry, even though this is inexpensive it is not worth the low price. I got five minutes from mine before the fan started rattling against something. I pried it apart and tightened some loose screws inside. I then plugged it in overnight to keep some glue warm on a project and it melted its plug into my extension cord. For me it would not be worth sending it back for replacement."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-3points
3out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Comfort Zone Portable Shop Heater - 1500 Watt, Model# CZ250
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Small area heating

,
December 30, 2011
By billymontrose
from virginia
"My intent with this heater is too make some comfort when working in crawlspace, or a passive solar garden shed. I also used it to warm the top parts in an engine while I worked on it. All of these small applications were made more comfortable by the heater.
If the fan worked hard it might create problems in my workspaces with loose light items.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Comfort Zone Portable Shop Heater - 1500 Watt, Model# CZ250
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good little heater

,
March 14, 2011
By marcus79
from Ankeny,IA
"Pros: light-weight, sturdy, adjustable base, fan
cons: amount of heat puts out
I would recommend this to anyone with a small shop or small room they want to heat. I use it in my 25 x 15ft garage. It is able to take the chill out of the room, but if you want to warm your garage I would recommend a larger heater."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Comfort Zone Portable Shop Heater - 1500 Watt, Model# CZ250
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

shop heater

,
November 24, 2010
By trh007
"If this heater is used in a small confined space it performs well. I like the thermostat control and the ability to position the flow direction with the adjustable base. The two stage (low & high) zones on the heater are a bit disappointing as the volume of warm air is not projected as well as I would like based on the small fan speed and there doesn't seem to be much difference in heat between the two set points. It is not efficient for a garage unless you have the unit on the bench and you are working directly in front of it."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Comfort Zone Portable Shop Heater - 1500 Watt, Model# CZ250
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Small, quiet, good for small spaces

,
November 16, 2010
By Bosk2420
from SW Montana
"This is not a large shop heater. It is small, and the fan is not especially powerful. I bought it to heat my RV trailer, just to keep the freeze off and assist the inadequate main heater that came with the trailer. For that purpose it is perfect. It is very light and fairly quiet. If you have the right expectations, this is a nice little fan."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Comfort Zone Portable Shop Heater - 1500 Watt, Model# CZ250
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Broken Instantly

,
October 7, 2010
By YamahaATV
from Minnesota
"Purchased this heater just to heat up the general area around my bench and warm up the atv to get it going on those -25 degree days. Within a second or two of the heater running the fan started rubbing on something making it excessively loud. But for the second or two it ran i was pretty happy but luckily I have the receipt"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.