Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kettler CAT Backhoe Pedal Tractor

Kettler CAT Backhoe Pedal Tractor

Item# 45351
CAT tractor is for kids, but looks like the real thing Toy tractor will stir your child's imagination with fully functional front loader, backhoe digger with stabilizer foot and front hood that lifts. Kid-powered with fully enclosed chain drive system. Oversized resin tires with long-lasting rubberized tread strip. Adjustable seat. 65in.L x 21in. W x 30in.H. 75-lb. weight limit. Made in Germany of durable high-impact resin. Reverse Capable Yes, Material High-impact resin, Tire Type Resin w/rubberized tread, Recommended Ages years 3-7, Adjustable Fit Adjustable seat, Manual Pedal Yes, Dimensions L x W x H in. 65 x 21 x 30, Assembly Required Yes, Weight Capacity lbs. 85 for main unit/50 for backhoe, Enclosure Fully enclosed chain for safety, Tires - Rear 2, Typical Application Sandlot play, Tires - Front 2.
Average Customer Rating:
4.639 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(83 Reviews) 83
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (83 reviews)
5 stars
56
4 stars
24
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
81 of 83(98%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Kettler CAT Backhoe Pedal Tractor
Review 1 for Kettler CAT Backhoe Pedal Tractor
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cat Backhoe

,
February 4, 2014
By Backhoe44
from CHARLTON, Ma
"Purchased this for my 3 year son for Christmas.
The look on his face was priceless, as I have
a real backhoe loader and now he has his own.
Everytime I'm around the yard using it, he has to use
his too.
All his friends always want to play/use it.
Very realistic & well built.
Thank you
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kettler CAT Backhoe Pedal Tractor
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great but pricey

,
February 4, 2014
By Mlm770
from Oh
"Very we'll made and great exercise for the kids my son was 4 when he got it and should be able to use it for a couple years"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kettler CAT Backhoe Pedal Tractor
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good on Hard surface

,
April 23, 2013
By TCDB
from Keene, NH
"Our son got this as a present when he was two. It is hard to pedal on grass and all though. So it was a house toy for a long time. The bucket works great and it is very realistic. We have had MANY hours of fun with this toy and it is very durable."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kettler CAT Backhoe Pedal Tractor
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tractor and backhoe

,
December 17, 2012
By RayH6
from Alberta
"Very well built machine. Would recommend this machine to anyone with a little knowledge of assembling and reading instructions. There is fair instruction sheet.. Some assembly required is putting it mildly.
After an enjoyable assembly--WOW- what a great TOY. Very smooth operation.
Grandkids love it.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kettler CAT Backhoe Pedal Tractor
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fun In The Sun!!

,
August 20, 2012
By JoesGrandma
from Kernersville, NC
"Purchased this for my grandson, Joe, when he was 3. I've never pushed a toy more in my life! He's had a great time, but it was difficult for him to learn to pedal and it is rather hard to use in the grass. It's great on concrete, tho. He loves to wash it... loves to get it stuck in mud... loves when I pull him out with the riding mower! He loves to dig up the yard with a shovel and fill the bucket with loose dirt. It's definitely not sturdy enough to take on anything more than loose dirt and sand. But it's provided many, many hours of fun for him. He's 4 1/2 now and still enjoys riding and washing his tractor!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kettler CAT Backhoe Pedal Tractor
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

my son loves it!!!

,
February 6, 2012
By landoPBM
from PBM/SUR (Paramaribo, Suriname)
"I bought this for my son's 3rd birthday and he loves his 'dozer'; setting it up was easy although I think that it would be better to enhance the instructions/details in order to make it easier for 'beginners'. Adding text to the instructions might do it. For example, I did not notice first that you have to put the backhoe in a certain position in order to release the lock of the supporting leg. Would love to have additional 'trailer' to be bought separately to tow behind. Quality of product itself is good."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kettler CAT Backhoe Pedal Tractor
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect

,
January 16, 2012
By joe68
from Highlands, NJ
"We got this for our 3 and 5 year old sons for Christmas a few years ago and they play with it anytime they can. The construction is very solid and has withstood some serious useage. And, it was simple to assemble!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kettler CAT Backhoe Pedal Tractor
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Tractor

,
January 9, 2012
By coreyj
from Phoenix, AZ
"My 3 year old absolutely loves this tractor. The functionality is amazing and my yard has the holes to prove it. The shovel works well and the backhoe is fun to use once you get it set up. The set-up part is easy only after you know how to do it, it's not very intuitive. The biggest drawback is I really wish they made one of these in an electric model as my son has a very difficult time peddling it over rock, especially, once you get the trailer hooked up."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kettler CAT Backhoe Pedal Tractor
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Yoy of the Year

,
January 9, 2012
By Iggysoup
from Buffalo, NY
"My son got this from “Santa” this past Christmas and has already put some miles on it plowing our driveway and the neighborhood....
He’s almost four but needs some help pedaling on the grass but on the driveway and road it’s full steam ahead!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kettler CAT Backhoe Pedal Tractor
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
January 9, 2012
By bdgm24
from Knoxville, TN
"My 4 year old son and 2 year old daughter love this tractor they play with it all of the time. Very well made, not hard to put together. Recommend it to everyone."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kettler CAT Backhoe Pedal Tractor
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kettler Backhoe Tractor

,
March 16, 2011
By peicy
from Virginia
""My two-year-old boy (who's crazy about everything construction) and even six-year-old girl both love this loader and backhoe! He can peddle back and forth and operate the bucket & backhoe with ease, but he needs help to unlock the backhoe. When we have a neighborhood play day, every kid fights for a turn on this machine. Assembling was a pain though. Make sure you start early on Christmas Eve. I'd recommend it to all the little builders-to-be.""
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kettler CAT Backhoe Pedal Tractor
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

CAT backhoe

,
March 15, 2011
By ponchoA
from Trinity,Fl
"Perfect for a 3+ child. Probably the finest materials and construction for any toy I've ever bought. Very durable and works to perfection. I'm about to purchase the optional trailer to go with it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kettler CAT Backhoe Pedal Tractor
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Product

,
December 29, 2010
By NPreviewer
from Massachusettes
"The BackHoe, once put together, is a wonderful toy. My son went crazy with when he saw it, and hasn't stopped playing with it since. The assembly instructions are terrible, and only offer pictures with no dialogue, so they are difficult to follow, but I was able to work my way through it. Took me about 2.5 hours to put together. I would definitely recommend this as a gift for a child who loves his construction trucks."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kettler CAT Backhoe Pedal Tractor
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great toy for a growning boy!

,
November 24, 2010
By KarenandJoey
from New Baltimore MI
"I bought the Kettler CAT backhoe trailer for my son just after he turned 2. He loved the toy instantly and now at almost 4 years of age it is still his favorite toy. Although its digging capabilities are questionable at times it still gives my son hours of enjoyment. The only problem I have had with it is the stickers are peeling even though it is kept clean and dry and stored indoors.
I would recommend this for all those with little boys who love CAT machines!
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kettler CAT Backhoe Pedal Tractor
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

My son loves it!!

,
November 17, 2010
By Landan
"This backhoe is perfect for any child excited about construction equipment. The combination of a standard pedal tractor with a working front bucket and rear hoe will keep any child entertained.
The assembly took me about 2 hours to complete (stickers & labels included). There are many parts and hardware to assemble and the instructions are visual only (no text details).
The product is very sturdily designed and all of the motions are simple to operate. The steps required to unlock the rear hoe are fairly complicated and I doubt that most 3-year olds would be able to perform them.
Overall, a very good product and I would recommend it.."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kettler CAT Backhoe Pedal Tractor
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great, Sturdy Backhoe

,
November 16, 2010
By HappyParents
from Chicago, IL
"We bought this for our 4 year old son for his birthday. We did a construction theme party and him and all his friends had a blast playing with CAT Backhoe. They all took turns scooping, digging, plowing, and it survived without a scratch. Its a very solid product that can endure a lot of punishment from kids. And the kids love it too. I would recommend this to everyone who has a child that love construction. Just make sure you have the room for it. Its actually quite big."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kettler CAT Backhoe Pedal Tractor
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kettlet CAT Backhoe Tractor

,
August 30, 2010
By mommomjoan
from PA
"We bought this for our 4 year old grandson last Christmas. It was put together to have it under the tree in the morning and he has not stopped using it at least once a day since last Christmas. In addition to using it for digging and building things, he uses it to pick up his toys and put them back into the bins in the pay room. It's great for his Mom also because she doesn't have to keep telling him to pick up his toys. That's what so great about it. It is easy enough for him to operate and no one has to keep helping him to do so. He even had a construction birthday party and this was the center of it all. The kids as a party favor had their picture taken on it and we printed it out for them to take home. Best investment we ever made in toys. This backhoe creates hours and hours of fun without the kids getting bored. I would recommend this to anyone and everyone who has children."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kettler CAT Backhoe Pedal Tractor
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

cat backhoe tractor

,
February 16, 2010
By dlnbowser
from butler,pa
"I purchased the backhoe for my 3 year old son for Christmas and it is one of the best purchases I made this year. So far he has had hours of enjoyment digging things up in out basement, and we are looking foward to this summer so that he may dig in his sand area. The only thing I did not like about it was the assembly-it took several hours. But with that said, "I would still recomend this toy.""
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kettler CAT Backhoe Pedal Tractor
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cat Backhoe Tractor

,
February 15, 2010
By Treehouse
from Corvallis Oregon
"I would buy this product again in a heart beat, it is worth the price. Well made and easy to operate, but plan on spending time with assembly.
My 3 year old grandson got up at 4:00 am to hug his new backhoe tractor."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kettler CAT Backhoe Pedal Tractor
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

CAT Backoe tractor:)

,
February 15, 2010
By JENRN
from Farmington, NH
"This is a great kids' toy. My two and a half year old son received this for Christmas and really loves it! We can't wait to take it outside this spring. The backhoe moves up and down and the bucket adjusts easily. The pedals are easy to use as well. A bit difficult to put together, German? made product and directions, but overall a great product. Would be cool if it had buttons for sound effects. Quick shipping!:)"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.