Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Your Solar Home SolarSheat 1500G Solar Air Collector, Model# SH1500G-BL

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Your Solar Home SolarSheat 1500G Solar Air Collector, Model# SH1500G-BL

Item# 456300
Self-powered solar air collector provides space heat for rooms when the sun is shining. Can heat up to 300-750 sq. ft., depending on the building insulation. Air is drawn from inside the room through the bottom of the collector, heated and blown out through a duct in the top. Integrated solar panel provides electricity for fan operation. Unit is a supplemental heating system and does not replace existing furnace. Approved by the Solar Rating and Certification Corp. SRCC for SRCC OG-100 certification. Thermostat Included Yes, Insulation Polyisocyanurate, Dimensions L x W x H in. 87 x 43 x 3 7/8, Panels qty. 1, BTU Output 20,400 Btu/day-clear sunny day, Panel Type Air collector, Product Style Air collector, Heating Capability sq. ft. 300-750, Material Extruded and corrugated aluminum w/tempered glass, Mount Type Wall or roof, Watts 14.5, Air Delivery CFM 71, Color Black. Easy mounting on south-facing wall or roof Insulated back and sides with R 3.5 rating
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 of 8(88%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Your Solar Home SolarSheat 1500G Solar Air Collector, Model# SH1500G-BL
Review 1 for Your Solar Home SolarSheat 1500G Solar Air Collector, Model# SH1500G-BL
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

my solar heater

,
November 23, 2010
By 231stra
from Strafford NH
"This product works as claims . Any one with a little skill should be able to install . I installed on my home to heat kitchen area and love it but you must have sunshine to work ."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Your Solar Home SolarSheat 1500G Solar Air Collector, Model# SH1500G-BL
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Average Performance

,
February 15, 2010
By bgent73
from Rochester, NY
"After seeing that this product got 5/5 stars from all reviewers, I figured this must be a pretty awesome product. After installing in the Rochester, NY area, I discovered that this didn't perform nearly as well as I'd hoped. I am hoping that this works better in the Spring and Fall than it has in the winter months!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Your Solar Home SolarSheat 1500G Solar Air Collector, Model# SH1500G-BL
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Why don't they make these in the US?

,
November 3, 2009
By Buck44
from Nevada
"Great product, though the cost almost scared me off. I installed it horizontally on back of a new detached 900 sf stick built garage and it faces southeast. I put it on just to try and keep the garage from getting below 32 degrees during winter in Northern Nevada at 6500 feet. I only use electric heat if I'm in the garage. Last January it got down to zero and the inside temp. was near 40. I'm seeing a 5 to 10 degree increase in room temp. The garage is well insulated but the slab is always cold. I have a thermometer in the duct and with an outside temp. of 35 at about 9:00 am it was blowing 137 degree air. It works between about 9:00 am and 2:00 pm until the sun moves around the corner. I don't use the thermostat, once it gets cold I twist the wires together and it runs any time the sun is on it. It's impossible to get this garage too hot so I leave it on until the spring. Pretty simple to install although it takes two people to hang it. I had to construct some plastic spacers so it wouldn't crush the vinyl siding I installed it on. It's hard to beat free heat! I recommend it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Your Solar Home SolarSheat 1500G Solar Air Collector, Model# SH1500G-BL
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

solar hot air panel

,
October 14, 2009
By modelmaker
"this unit performs excellent. It heats the whole bottom of my house. I move the air from one room to another by ceiling fans. On average , it can be 30 degrees outside, and 72 to 75 inside. My heating bill has been almost cut in half, from just under 1000 gallons of oil per year to 625 . after a major ice storm, we had no power for four days. The house was well warm, and only used the generator at night to run the furnace. This unit is a well worth investment, and remember solar heat is free after breaking even form purchase"
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Your Solar Home SolarSheat 1500G Solar Air Collector, Model# SH1500G-BL
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solar Solutions

,
November 18, 2008
By automechanic78
from MN
"we have recently purchased this solar air collector, and in the last few months it has cut our heating bill by 30 - 40 %. the Solar air collector heats the house during the day and the furnace usually doesn't kick on until 10:30pm - 12:00am.
this saves dramatically on the fuel oil bill for the furnace.
I would recommend this product to anyone who wants to save a few $ on their heating bill, the solar panel pays for itself on heating bill savings."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Your Solar Home SolarSheat 1500G Solar Air Collector, Model# SH1500G-BL
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Free heat...well, almost free

,
August 11, 2008
By HaroldT
from Bloomington, indiana
"I had a professional install this for me, since we were ducting through cinder block wall. It took a day to get it fully installed, but the finished panel tested out beautifully. Everyone was fascinated by the heat that this throws off....I look forward to gathering stats for a full season to see what difference this makes in my total heat bill. I have 1500sqft of living area, and expect this to cut my gas heating bill by 25-30% this winter based upon the BTU output and comments from others on the web who have installed this in much colder climates. At that rate, I will break even in just a few years."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Your Solar Home SolarSheat 1500G Solar Air Collector, Model# SH1500G-BL
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

solar heat

,
January 14, 2008
By shadowfax
from coastal Maine
"The solar sheet was well packaged, well built and easy to install. I am still gathering data but indications are during December (the coldest and snowiest in a decade) it may have saved 50% on my heating costs. I may add a second (passive section) next year and double its capacity."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Your Solar Home SolarSheat 1500G Solar Air Collector, Model# SH1500G-BL
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

excelant addition for additional heat

,
October 29, 2007
By grayghost
from jamestown ny.
"we installed these units on our barn workshop so we would not have to burn the wood stove all of the time. this worked great and kept it at around 50 degrees and all we had to do was light the stove to bring it up to a slightly warmer temp. i recomend these to anyone that could use an unpolluting heat source ."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.