Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for P3 International Kill A Watt EZ Electricity Usage Monitor, Model# P4460

P3 International Kill A Watt EZ Electricity Usage Monitor, Model# P4460

Item# 457007
Connect your appliances into the Kill A Watt EZ and measure how efficient they are. LCD display counts consumption by the Kilowatt-hour just like utility companies. Application Electricity usage monitor, Battery Included Built-in, Display Shows Kilowatt-hour, Measures Voltage, line frequency and amps. Large LCD display counts consumption by the Kilowatt-hour Automatically calculates electrical expenses by the hour, day, week, month, even an entire year Monitor the quality of power by displaying Voltage V, Line Frequency Hz, and Amps A Accurate within 0.2 Built-in battery to save data if unplugged
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (9 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 of 9(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for P3 International Kill A Watt EZ Electricity Usage Monitor, Model# P4460
Review 1 for P3 International Kill A Watt EZ Electricity Usage Monitor, Model# P4460
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

kill a watt

,
October 10, 2011
By mjs52
from selah,wa.
"this meter is very easy to use, it let me know how much power my eq. uses and the cost.i am very happy with this buy!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for P3 International Kill A Watt EZ Electricity Usage Monitor, Model# P4460
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Electrrical Usage Monitor

,
May 24, 2010
By Awright
from Polk City, Florida
"As a part time home inspector, I bought this monitor to save me time and work but I never would have guessed this would soon become my best friend. This has saved me so much time that I can now do an extra inspection a day, and in todays real estate market where people are pushing paperwork thru at n alarming rate, this is truly fantastic. Probablt the best tool Ive ever bougfht in 40 years of being in construction/ maintenance trades. Its truly awesome, easy to use, quick answers and can actually show my bustomers what used appliances can do to their electric bill and savings. Very well worth the investment. Even better than my more expensive amp probes and a whole lot cheaper and took no time in receiving it thru the mail too from Northern Tools. Highly recommend this for home inspectors, electricians, maintenance people and appliance repairman, A meter none of the above tradess people should ever be without. Thank you Northern for carrying such worth while tools and Im sure we will be doing more business in the future"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for P3 International Kill A Watt EZ Electricity Usage Monitor, Model# P4460
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Tool for Calculating Storage and Capacity.

,
July 13, 2009
By Tripp2153
from Helena, MT
"The P3 International Kill A Watt Electricity Usage Monitor was a good tool for the purpose that I bought it for. I was able to measure the amount of power used by diffierent items and then calculate what size of inverter and what battery capacity would be necessary to run them for a week and for a month. Even though it does not store the information gathered, it worked quite well for the basic purposes for which I used it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for P3 International Kill A Watt EZ Electricity Usage Monitor, Model# P4460
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Proved my point

,
November 18, 2008
By montesa247
from Dawsonville, GA
"I purchased this monitor in preparation for planning a microhydro generator installation, but it more than paid for itself in a different way. Our power company changed the utility meters in our area and our power bill was about normal the first month. Then the bill went to more than 3 times the normal amount. When we complained, they just said that we had a problem. I turned off all the breakers in our house except for one. Then connected the Kill-A-Watt monitor to that outlet with an electric heater set to run without cutting off. After a two hour test, the monitor reported exactly what the heater rating was for that time period. The power company meter reported 4.1 times as much. With that information, they finally agreed to test our meter (which they replaced) and adjusted our bill to what it should have been."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for P3 International Kill A Watt EZ Electricity Usage Monitor, Model# P4460
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Really like this item

,
November 17, 2008
By fwaid
from Victor, NY
"Purchased this from Northern Tool some months ago and have used it several times to determine true power usage of my appliances. Eventually purchased a whole house power monitor. I recommended this item to a neighbor and he also likes it. It has really helped me to understand my energy consumption and the devices that are using the most energy. As a result I've cut my electric bills by at least 10% over the last several months."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for P3 International Kill A Watt EZ Electricity Usage Monitor, Model# P4460
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kill A Watt

,
November 17, 2008
By soulecologist
from California
"Purchase this product to determine which electrical product was using the most electricity. I was able to determine that my Garage Door opener was using a huge amount of electricty. I unplug the Garage Door opener and my electricty bill was reduce by 60 percent. I am currently looking to buy a rated energy efficent garage door opener to replace my old non effienct garage door opener. Kill a Watt saved me a tremendous amount of money."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for P3 International Kill A Watt EZ Electricity Usage Monitor, Model# P4460
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good

,
August 14, 2008
By Beta
from Montana
"Works as described, easy to set up. A good way of learing how you can cut your energy usage."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for P3 International Kill A Watt EZ Electricity Usage Monitor, Model# P4460
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Trivet

,
April 14, 2008
By geokal
from Oak Harbor, WA
"I purchased an electrical trivet some time ago, so that I didn't have to heat the tea. I make a large pot of tea that last all day.
My electricity bill has been high lately, so I used the device to check the power usage. According to the monitoring device it only uses about ten cents a week. That may be about the cost of heating tea in the microwave.
I am going to connect it to my computer's uninterruptable power supply to see how much power I waste with my day long computer usage. I don't expect that cost to be favorable.
geokal
I cannot think of any other way to monitor power usage other than to believe advertising or nameplate data.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for P3 International Kill A Watt EZ Electricity Usage Monitor, Model# P4460
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Give you the knowledge to save money

,
January 21, 2008
By SecurityGuy
from MN
"I bought one of these about 6 months ago. There are 2 different models, the kill a watt and the kill a watt EZ. The advantage of the EZ is that you can enter your electricity cost and it will calculate your actual costs for you. The basic one just tells you the KW usage and you multiply that by your cost per KW to figure out your cost in dollars.
Basically you can plug what ever you want into it (within reason) and turn that device on. It will calculate the total power use by that device and then will estimate how much the cost would be over time (daily, monthly, yearly). For something that draws constant power (a light thats always on for instance) you can just plug it in and see how much it will use over the years. For something that is turned on and off (like a TV) it is best to leave it hooked up for a few days so it can figure out how often it is left on.
Because of this I have started turning my computer off at night, unplugged unneeded devices, etc. I have also seen how little some things cost that I thought was expensive (my TV only costs about $20/year with my current usage).
My only complaint is that you can't unplug it from the wall and look at the results from your testing. if they had a battery in there that would be nice because often I can't read the display from where the outlet is, so I have to use an exention cord just to get the Kill A Watt to a location that I can read it. Other than that it would be rated Excellent.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.