Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NPower Portable Digital Inverter - 3000 Watts

NPower Portable Digital Inverter - 3000 Watts

Item# 4573000
"This high-efficiency NPower portable inverter converts virtually all of the battery's available power to AC current. Suitable for contractors who operate power tools near their vehicle. Features high surge capacity for devices that require more power to start. AC Outlets qty. 4, Continuous Watts 2,700-3,000, High Temperature Protection Yes, Low Battery Protection Yes, Low Voltage Protection Yes, Battery Included No, Cables Included No, Power Supply 12V lead-acid battery, USB Ports qty. 1, LED Indicators Digital, Overload Protection Yes. Delivers portable AC power for cars, trucks, RVs and boats AC outlets for connecting multiple devices Powers handheld power tools, appliances, TVs, computers, stereos and more Protections include overload and high-temperature shutdown, over-voltage protection, low voltage alarm and low voltage shutdown Informative LED indicators let you view status at a glance Uses NPower inverter cable, Item# 457103 Has a port for optional remote Item# 457107, sold separately which allows the inverter to be controlled remotely from up to 20ft. away USB port powers USB devices 4 GFCI AC outlets allow you to connect multiple devices Metal mounting brackets provide multiple mounting options Rugged outer housing stands up to the abuse of a work site"
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (8 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
6 of 8(75%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
39 Questions | 42 Answers
Customer Reviews for NPower Portable Digital Inverter - 3000 Watts
Review 1 for NPower Portable Digital Inverter - 3000 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

inverter

,
December 15, 2014
By gary812
from illinois
" everybody is trying to save money these days and the price of gas is rediculis. anybody that usees a chainsaw knows how much gas they use. i have hooked this power inverter up to my truck and with a electric chain saw i can cut all wood i need. i think i'm going to buy an electric lawn mower now, i know it will work. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for NPower Portable Digital Inverter - 3000 Watts
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worked For 3.5 Months.

,
July 15, 2014
By KingSparta
from North Carolina
" It Worked For 3.5 Months. Today The Voltage Out Dropped To 87.3 Volts, Burned Up My Microwave. The Small Fan Runs 24\7 If It Is Plugged In With No Load. I would never buy this product again. If you buy It Please buy A Warranty. I unfortunately did not And Not Sure Yet If I Can Even Get It Fixed.. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for NPower Portable Digital Inverter - 3000 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

powerful

,
April 5, 2014
By sunnyshine
from duluth ga
" I needed an inverter strong enough to power a 1 Hp air compressor. That is s herder task than I thought. After trying an aims 5000 watt and failing I wad about to give up.I bought this one to power 4 battery chargers for my impact tools and an a/c vacumn pump. I figured what the heck and truer the compressor. It runs it just fine. I am very impressed. Aims wouldn't to it with a higher rating. Peak(pep boys) 3500 watt wouldn't do it either. Overall this inverter seems a little fragile and it downy have any external fuses so if it ever quits your screwed. All that said it'd s very good product for the money. Make sure you are prepared to buy a couple deep cycle batteries to get the full potential out of this inverter. And use heavy gauge wire as well. Hope this review helps. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for NPower Portable Digital Inverter - 3000 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Good Results

,
March 19, 2014
By Curiosimo
from NY
" I originally bought this inverter to power a pellet stove during power outages. Pellet stoves have voracious power appetites (wish somebody had told me that), and will start smoking if there is not a fan drawing a draft. So I have several deep cycle marine batteries in my basement hooked up to this inverter and as soon as the power goes out I switch over to the inverter and start powering down my pellet stove and switch over to my fuel oil furnace which is an electrical miser compared to the pellet stove... so for about 1/2 hour this inverter is powering both the pellet stove and the furnace, which I am happy to say, it handles very well.
The only slight complaint I have is that I can tell a difference in the sound of the motors because this is not true sine wave. However, sound aside, this does the job.
I have also used this inverter to power a compound miter saw (15 amps) and a circular saw (12 amps) which is does very well off a single deep cycle marine battery which I keep topped off with a solar panel. Compared to a Xantrex 1500 watt, which barely could keep up, this inverter just works the way I would expect it to. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for NPower Portable Digital Inverter - 3000 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

self

,
April 23, 2013
By maf08
from Kentucky
" Great alternative for AC Power. We put these in pickups for crews to have on the road for running power equipment. Good to run grinders, drills, saws, etc. and don't have to worry about loading generator when power is needed on the road. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for NPower Portable Digital Inverter - 3000 Watts
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible

,
January 21, 2013
By PiotrO
from Vero Beach, FL
" Horrible, horrible, horrible
I bought this inverter from a friend of mine who bought it for his other truck in Northern store but did not use it. The fan ran all the time even when it practically did not draw any power. I had small refrigerator in my truck that drew very little power and only when compressor was running. The running fan created uncomfortable humm and I had to turn it off when the truck was turned off so it would not drain the batteries and I can have some good night sleep. It caused the refrigerator to warm up and I had to start it again when I was driving down the road. Then it finally quit - it sounded high pitch noise and the cooling fan stopped running for good.
My friend have a different 3000W inverter that he bought few years ago at Northern and he is very happy with it. The fan hardly ever kicks on. He turned the truck off for the weekend with inverter running and food in his fridge. Then he turned the truck back on and there was no problem.
But Northern does not sell this brand any more (it is black in color) and it is too bad because it is a good product.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-6points
8out of 22found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for NPower Portable Digital Inverter - 3000 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Road Trip Ready

,
October 8, 2012
By sojourner3
from new Paltz, New York
" This 3000 watt unit is mounted on the inside wall of a small travel trailer with two deep cycle batteries attached from the outside in. This 3,000 watt unit is actually two-1,500 watt units, and one deep cycle battery is attached to one side of the inverter only. All done to run a microwave to heat water to bathe with on The Road. The fans in the inverter hum when on, so sleeping inside the travel trailer means the inverter will be "off". It's a 7,000 mile trip, and this is what I bought because USA made inverters were NOT getting good review. A pity. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for NPower Portable Digital Inverter - 3000 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great!

,
November 23, 2010
By whitjohn
" I purchased this inverter to do some fencing work far away from any electrical power source. I chose the 3000 watt to insure that I would have plenty of power to operate a large drill and circular saw.
I installed it permanently on my F250 diesel truck that utilizes two batteries.
With the first use, I drilled 3/4" holes through 6x6 pressure treated posts.
The drill performed as well as it would plugged into standard power.
"
+32points
69out of 106found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.