Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NPower Portable Inverter - 400 Watts

NPower Portable Inverter - 400 Watts

Item# 457400
This high-efficiency NPower portable inverter converts virtually all of the battery's available power to AC current. Suitable for contractors who operate power tools near their vehicle. Features high surge capacity for devices that require more power to start. AC Outlets qty. 2, Cables Included Yes, Low Battery Protection Yes, Low Voltage Protection Yes, LED Indicators Yes, Overload Protection Yes, Continuous Watts 400, High Temperature Protection Yes, Power Supply 12V DC socket from vehicles or 12V batteries, USB Ports qty. 1. Delivers portable AC power for cars, trucks, RVs and boats AC outlets for connecting multiple devices Powers handheld power tools, appliances, TVs, computers, stereos and more Protections include overload and high-temperature shutdown, over-voltage protection, low voltage alarm and low voltage shutdown
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (15 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
12 of 15(80%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for NPower Portable Inverter - 400 Watts
Review 1 for NPower Portable Inverter - 400 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great unit

,
June 14, 2014
By cogp2145
from Phoenix
"Delivers more power than expected. The USB port allows us to charge multiple items at on time."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for NPower Portable Inverter - 400 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tool

,
February 4, 2014
By watkidw
from Birmingham, Al
"Use almost daily in service vehicle and have had no problems, keep my batteries charged for power tools and I like the USB plug for my cell phone"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for NPower Portable Inverter - 400 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product and Great Value!!

,
February 4, 2014
By Keoki
from Cocoa Beach, Fl.
"I purchased a few of these to put in our service trucks for our technicians to be able to power up their laptops and other equipment. Not one complaint on these. They have worked great for everyone!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for NPower Portable Inverter - 400 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Inverter

,
January 14, 2014
By Namvet
from Polaris, MT
"Northern tool hit a home run with this excellent priced inverter. Great to run coffee maker and small fridge when we travel. Works excellent off cite as well to run power tools. I highly recommend this product, you cannot beat its price or performance. Glad we purchased it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for NPower Portable Inverter - 400 Watts
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Ask the questions first

,
October 4, 2013
By Stevey54
from Rosemount, MN
"Two things discovered after opening the box.
1.) Max current from the cigarette lighter is 120 watts. There is a tag on the lighter cord indicating this.
2.) This unit isn't designed to work in the winter or Arizona (that is; below 32 degrees or above 104 degrees F).
Also there are a couple of inaccuracies in the Q&A section.
1.) I could not find nor did the manual reference
"two 25A mini slip fuses". Maybe disassembly is required to get to them? In the troubleshooting section of the manual, if there isn't any power output, it doesn't even suggest checking fuses. There is an 8A/250V slow blow fuse in the tip of the lighter cord however.
2.) In my case, the fan came on the instant a 10W load was applied, therefore not being "controlled by a thermostat".
A very good thing about the unit is that the two outlets grab plugged in cords really tightly."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for NPower Portable Inverter - 400 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rockstar that gets the job done

,
September 18, 2013
By boldar
from Atlanta, GA
"I first picket up of these units to connect to a car battery for a renegade power supply for music/lights/fan while camping and it got the job done. Since then I have increased the setup to a mobile cart with 6 12v SLAs for the total completely portable party solution. The PartyHardCart oficially endorses NPower inverters as a reliable cost effective device for getting AC power off the grid!
www.facebook.com/PartyHardCart"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for NPower Portable Inverter - 400 Watts
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

45 day failure

,
June 28, 2013
By Anonymous
from Cary, NC
"I bought this inverter to replace one I had for about 10 years which finally failed. I thought I'd try it for the price. It lasted about 45 days, actually less because I used it about 2-3 hours a day to power my laptop about 3 days a week for six weeks. I'd say it lasted about 45 hours. I would not recommend this product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for NPower Portable Inverter - 400 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Inverter

,
October 15, 2012
By reese424
from Aspen, Co
"Best little inverter ever. I keep with my camping gear for all my electrical camping needs. Thanks NTE!!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for NPower Portable Inverter - 400 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Npower 400 watt inverter

,
October 9, 2012
By Fris
from Iowa
"I wanted an inverter inside my pickup truck for chging cells and Kindles. I was given a bonus when I hooked it up to my lawn mower battery, and was able to plug in a jigsaw for an off site job. The alarm came on almost right away that I was draining the battery, I started the mower engine and sawed away. Very convenient and readable manual. I did buy the extra 1 yr. warranty. It's also small enough to store inside the truck cab with no problems."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for NPower Portable Inverter - 400 Watts
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works well, but a little loud

,
October 8, 2012
By SoloRX7
from DFW, Texas, USA, Earth
"Purchased this for charging batteries for track side support - electric impact, data aquisition, cameras, laptops, etc. Works fine, but doesn't have an alarm for a low battery in the 12v source. After 30 mins of admittedly hard use (without the truck running) it drew the truck battery down to where it needed a jump. There was no indication that the truck battery was getting low. Other inverters have this feature. Not a big deal to me, but be aware. It works fine if the source vehicle is running, and inside the truck the cooling fan is a little loud. If you can tuck it under a seat and maintain ventilation you don't hear the cooling fan much."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for NPower Portable Inverter - 400 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

camping must

,
May 7, 2012
By horserider
from mid tenn
"I ordered this inverter to run a coffee maker, but the instructions said that it would not work on anything that heats up so I used it for a fan in my camper and charging up cell phone and flashlights, It worked great. would recommend it to others. It is at a great price"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for NPower Portable Inverter - 400 Watts
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

1st use fail

,
January 10, 2012
By stonetooluser
from Duluth, GA
"The very first thing I tried with the adapter was a laptop. As soon as I turned on the inverter, red light beeping, then nothing before I could unplug it. The inverter is now completely dead. The laptop works fine plugged into a normal outlet.
It should have been able to handle the load with no problem. I suspect it has a blown fuse or breaker, but nothing is accessible from the exterior and it has a warning not to open the case.
I certainly won't buy anything else from NPower."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for NPower Portable Inverter - 400 Watts
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

NPower Inverter

,
October 17, 2011
By powerful123
from Idaho
"I needed to power my computer and cell phone along with the occasional power tool.When I received my Inverter all these problems were solved. Great tool! Now I can drive anywhere and have the power necessary to power up.Tne Npower is much more usable than the Inverter I previously had hard wired into my Pickup."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for NPower Portable Inverter - 400 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

120 volts in my Yard now

,
November 16, 2010
By PopRoper
from Blythewood, SC
"Hmmmm. How do I wire my yard to use my hand tools in the yard? I have an electric drill, electric saw, drill etc You name it. I could use a conduit and bury the cable but what if I dug through it one day? Ouch!
Solution: I used Velcro and attached this little jewel to my EZGO golf cart. I already had a cigarette lighter plug so other than using the Velcro there was no installation involved. Now I can use a paint sprayer, drill, or anything electric that I need in the yard. Plug and Go anywhere now.
I will probably upgrade the wattage in the future to allow bigger items to be used, but it's fine now."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
7out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for NPower Portable Inverter - 400 Watts
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not Recommended If...

,
August 8, 2010
By EMoe
from SC
"I bought this inverter for a road trip, to power a 15" TV, and DVD player. I bought this item, as a "last result", because I really wanted a "Pure Sine Wave" inverter, but no store in my area stocked one, and I didn't have enough time to order one. I plugged this inverter into my truck (using the cigarette lighter connection). The power adapter for my TV failed. I unplugged the adapter, from the inverter, took it inside, and plugged it into a wall outlet; same thing wouldn't work. The inverters signal, destroyed my adapter. I'm not sure what this adapter can be used for, but I wouldn't use it for devices with electronic adapters."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-14points
7out of 28found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.