Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for NPower Portable Inverter - 400 Watts

NPower Portable Inverter - 400 Watts

Item# 457400
"This high-efficiency NPower portable inverter converts virtually all of the battery's available power to AC current. Suitable for contractors who operate power tools near their vehicle. Features high surge capacity for devices that require more power to start. LED Indicators Yes, USB Ports qty. 1, AC Outlets qty. 2, Cables Included Yes, Overload Protection Yes, Low Voltage Protection Yes, Continuous Watts 400, High Temperature Protection Yes, Power Supply 12V DC socket from vehicles or 12V batteries, Low Battery Protection Yes. Delivers portable AC power for cars, trucks, RVs and boats AC outlets for connecting multiple devices Powers handheld power tools, appliances, TVs, computers, stereos and more Protections include overload and high-temperature shutdown, over-voltage protection, low voltage alarm and low voltage shutdown"
Average Customer Rating:
3.961 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (26 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
3
22 of 26(85%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for NPower Portable Inverter - 400 Watts
Review 1 for NPower Portable Inverter - 400 Watts
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

JUST RIGHT

,
December 22, 2015
By
from NORMAN OK
I ordered two of these 12V DC to 120V AC inverters. One for the van and one for the pickup. Shipping was prompt and the items were as advertised. They include both a direct connect cable and a "cigarette lighter" plug and cable. I say this inverter is just right because, at 400 Watts, it's about as large as possible and still be powered from the "cigarette lighter" plug in most automobiles. Be advised the instructions advise that, although it is rated at 400 Watts, powering a device that draws more than 140 Watts may blow the fuse in the power plug.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for NPower Portable Inverter - 400 Watts
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Worked for me

,
November 19, 2015
By
from Ft. Worth, TX
The fan is a little loud but it worked for me. Wanted to be able to charge my drone batteries in the truck. It was cheaper to do it this way than to buy the car charger. Now I can charge other things too.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for NPower Portable Inverter - 400 Watts
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

ok for the price

,
September 21, 2015
By
from san diego
the cooling fan runs all of the time whether under a load or not...can be annoying.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for NPower Portable Inverter - 400 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
August 8, 2015
By
from Lawrenceburg, TN
inverter works great. excellent price. i use it to charge my laptop on the road.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for NPower Portable Inverter - 400 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NPower Portable Inverter - 400 Watts

,
February 26, 2015
By
from Michigan
This is a great product, works with anything, great for camping, use it all the time.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for NPower Portable Inverter - 400 Watts
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

power inverter...

,
February 8, 2015
By
from western north carolina
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
nice, attractive unit...fan runs all the time while in operation mode...a persistent beeping sound has occurred while it was in operation one time (low voltage alarm?...)...is hooked up as a power inverter in a small solar-charged battery system in a storage shed...so, is being used to up the voltage on a 12 volt battery to 120...
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for NPower Portable Inverter - 400 Watts
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works

,
January 21, 2015
By
from Newport News, VA
This product was purchased for those times in between having enough battery power and needed to use the generator. First time the guys tried to use the shop vacuum it blew the 20 amp fuse in the truck. But that's not the fault of the product. My guys really like it for keeping batteries charged.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for NPower Portable Inverter - 400 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NPower Portable Inverter - 400 Watts

,
January 18, 2015
By
from Kansas City
Works great. Fits nicely into my minivan. I use it for recharging my laptop, iPhone and iPad. The 2 outlets are just the number I need. I would recommend this to others.
Jim
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for NPower Portable Inverter - 400 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NPower Portable Inverter - 400 Watts

,
December 9, 2014
By
from media pa
this is a great little setup if you need power for jobs or hobbies when you don't have just plug in to truck or hook up to battery with the cables
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for NPower Portable Inverter - 400 Watts
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

400 WATTS Not Enough

,
September 27, 2014
By
from Kankakee IL
I own an "ancient" power 400 WATT power converter that has worked fine for 20+ years and is still working. I thought I'd try newer technology with the same power rating and hook it through the cigarette lighter to make set-up much easier. We use the converter to power a 250W amplifier speaker system for our Dixieland Band when when we do several parades a year. Unfortunately, the new power converter did not hold up under pressure and cut in and out during our last engagement. We will attempt to hook it up directly to the battery next time and see how it functions. I hope it will work better for our needs. Otherwise, back to the old faithful.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for NPower Portable Inverter - 400 Watts
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good value in a compact package

,
September 23, 2014
By
from Imperial, TX
Chinese-made inverter, identical to inverters sold under the Cen-Tech brand and others. It has a compact design with on-off button switch and internal fan that cycles on/off as needed to cool the unit. I have been using this one for a couple of weeks in a 100-watt solar panel system with two marine batteries for power storage, powering a laptop PC (about 150 Watts) and a radio-based internet/telephone communications system (an additional 100 Watts). Good value!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for NPower Portable Inverter - 400 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great unit

,
June 14, 2014
By
from Phoenix
Delivers more power than expected. The USB port allows us to charge multiple items at on time.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for NPower Portable Inverter - 400 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tool

,
February 4, 2014
By
from Birmingham, Al
Use almost daily in service vehicle and have had no problems, keep my batteries charged for power tools and I like the USB plug for my cell phone
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for NPower Portable Inverter - 400 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product and Great Value!!

,
February 4, 2014
By
from Cocoa Beach, Fl.
I purchased a few of these to put in our service trucks for our technicians to be able to power up their laptops and other equipment. Not one complaint on these. They have worked great for everyone!!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for NPower Portable Inverter - 400 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Inverter

,
January 14, 2014
By
from Polaris, MT
Northern tool hit a home run with this excellent priced inverter. Great to run coffee maker and small fridge when we travel. Works excellent off cite as well to run power tools. I highly recommend this product, you cannot beat its price or performance. Glad we purchased it.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for NPower Portable Inverter - 400 Watts
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Ask the questions first

,
October 4, 2013
By
from Rosemount, MN
Two things discovered after opening the box.
1.) Max current from the cigarette lighter is 120 watts. There is a tag on the lighter cord indicating this.
2.) This unit isn't designed to work in the winter or Arizona (that is; below 32 degrees or above 104 degrees F).
Also there are a couple of inaccuracies in the Q&A section.
1.) I could not find nor did the manual reference
"two 25A mini slip fuses". Maybe disassembly is required to get to them? In the troubleshooting section of the manual, if there isn't any power output, it doesn't even suggest checking fuses. There is an 8A/250V slow blow fuse in the tip of the lighter cord however.
2.) In my case, the fan came on the instant a 10W load was applied, therefore not being "controlled by a thermostat".
A very good thing about the unit is that the two outlets grab plugged in cords really tightly.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for NPower Portable Inverter - 400 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rockstar that gets the job done

,
September 18, 2013
By
from Atlanta, GA
I first picket up of these units to connect to a car battery for a renegade power supply for music/lights/fan while camping and it got the job done. Since then I have increased the setup to a mobile cart with 6 12v SLAs for the total completely portable party solution. The PartyHardCart oficially endorses NPower inverters as a reliable cost effective device for getting AC power off the grid!
www.facebook.com/PartyHardCart
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for NPower Portable Inverter - 400 Watts
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

45 day failure

,
June 28, 2013
By
from Cary, NC
I bought this inverter to replace one I had for about 10 years which finally failed. I thought I'd try it for the price. It lasted about 45 days, actually less because I used it about 2-3 hours a day to power my laptop about 3 days a week for six weeks. I'd say it lasted about 45 hours. I would not recommend this product.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for NPower Portable Inverter - 400 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Inverter

,
October 15, 2012
By
from Aspen, Co
Best little inverter ever. I keep with my camping gear for all my electrical camping needs. Thanks NTE!!!!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for NPower Portable Inverter - 400 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Npower 400 watt inverter

,
October 9, 2012
By
from Iowa
I wanted an inverter inside my pickup truck for chging cells and Kindles. I was given a bonus when I hooked it up to my lawn mower battery, and was able to plug in a jigsaw for an off site job. The alarm came on almost right away that I was draining the battery, I started the mower engine and sawed away. Very convenient and readable manual. I did buy the extra 1 yr. warranty. It's also small enough to store inside the truck cab with no problems.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.